Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kristen Sinclair

    Wonderful time! ALOT of walking!

    Myself and my 13 year old son had a wonderful time in Japan with Exodus. Each day was action packed and we saw many more sights than if we travelled independently. My only advice is to remember it is a tour, not a holiday. It is a constant 12 days and there is ALOT of walking involved. However, the experience is a time we shall never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the river ride in Kyoto, the monkey park, the 1000 vermillion gates, the floating Tori gate, Hiroshima A-Dome, peace park and museum, Mount Fuji, Hakone and all of Tokyo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miyuki was very friendly and Popajin was very knowledgable and went out of his way to take us to the robot restaurant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To remember it is a tour, not a holiday, and the amount of walking and activities can be quite intense, especially if travelling with children.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a wonderful time, memories for the rest of our lives! A rest day in the middle would have been nice.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gordon Goldsmith

    Taj Tigers & Temples

    Amazing trip , well organised & staff where very reliable & friendly Day to day changes in the Itinerary or timetable did not effect our enjoyment too much But changes were partly due to a larger group than expected , (25) Having met our initial group, about 10 joined up later on the first day which we where not expecting & the dynamic's of the group where somewhat affected for most of the trip ! An example to highlight this happened when the second group ( who also previously knew each other )wanted to go Elephant riding . The 'original ' group had to seat it out as we all did not approve & had not asked for this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gurudwara Sikh Temple in Old Delhi ALL the early morning starts … great

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay Gupta was a very good guide Knowledgeable , witty ,very accommodating with some overbearing aspects of certain group members He also managed to be diplomatic at all times & showed lots of patience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No not really If you have never traviled before , its all in the notes supplied Do not feel concerned about things like water , safety etc... India is changing very fast !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Possible inclusions for the trip A few more walk-a -bout's at times in interesting areas & suburbs Reduce group size so there can be a few more ,'smaller & interesting hotels , some in the city centres Rather than on this trip where they were predominately 'out of town' , so no opportunity to eat out
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sally Clayton

    Brilliant family trip to India

    I was slightly apprehensive about taking the other half and my daughter to India, but it was fantastic. We were very well looked after, didn't get sick and had an action packed adventure - taking in the sights and scenes of a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taj and Tigers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Ajay was very informative, great with the kids and full of information and gave good context to historical, religious and modern day living in India. He also was calm and helpful sorting out the return travel when the originally booked Jet flights all got grounded!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about getting really sick, its very unlikely that it will happen. Take a waterbottle to fill up on the bus to avoid unnecessary one time use plastic waste. The trip is fast paced especially at the beginning - but go with it, there will be some great hotels and swimming pools along the way for you to rest up!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Maggie Harman

    Amazing India

    Our trip was a whistle-stop tour of both North and South India which gave the most amazing taste of the different cultures, food and people in both areas. Brilliantly put together and fabulously organized by in the UK and by the local team. We were looked after so well - they got us to everywhere we needed to go on time, safely and in one piece!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many things it is hard to pick one so limiting it to the top 3: 1. Seeing the Taj Mahal for the first time gleaming in the sunshine. 2. The most amazing food 3. The friendly, helpful and kind people everywhere we went.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had different tour guides in each location and without exception they were very helpful, knowledgeable, interesting and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind. Be respectful of the different cultures and religions so as not to offend. Be prepared to do lots of walking and climbing of steps!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just the most amazing trip I've ever been on - I wish I'd done it years ago, so if anyone is even thinking of going to India don't put it off until you're retired. Do it while you are mobile enough to explore and enjoy all the sights.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Bernie Abromaitis

    Camels and sand dunes

    Exodus gives you tours that are interactive with the local culture - up close and personal. We had a wonderful time sampling the different areas of Morocco - from the city of Marrakesh to the dunes of the desert, from ancient towns to mosques, universities and modern movie sets. We sampled local cuisine (tajine), we haggled in the markets (souks), we wandered through the old towns and learned the history of how the cities evolved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After riding camels in the desert we camped overnight. We took our beds outside and slept under the stars! I tried to stay up all night to see the incredible number of stars; the milky way and shooting stars. Then in the morning we climbed the sand dunes to watch the sunrise. What a memory! We also did a fashion photo shoot in the dunes!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sheena was awesome! She made everyone feel welcome and led the pack with fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! Morocco is such a diverse country with so much history: The Desert, the camel ride, Atlas mountains, a donkey ride, experiencing a traditional hamam (spa), having tea in a local home, visiting ancient fortresses and haggling in the souk (market). And the food is fantastic! You'll come back refreshed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm looking forward to my next Exodus trip already!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Anne Paterson

    Red sand dunes, game drives, new friends

    African adventure with something for all family members: climbing the sand dunes in the early hours to sit and watch the sun come up, desert colour palatte, sand-boarding at speed, the contrasts of colonial Swakopmund, township tour and an education in Herero history, game drives in Etosha - hearing jackals howling whilst in your tent at night, sitting through dark hours watching the animals at the water hole, searching for those elusive leopards, closing windows at Waterberg lodge to stop the baboons climbing in and sharing a terrace with the warthogs, watching an orphaned baby oryx being fed from a bottle. And of course Jonas' famous BBQ dinners - with stories around the fire from Jack afterwards! Hundreds of photos and a travel diary to try and store the memories in a more organised fashion. Thank you again for a fantastic holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to choose, but probably sitting atop the sand dunes or star gazing in the desert

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Steffan was very knowledgeable about all aspects of the trip - especially the wildlife. But, you had to ask him questions to learn things, rather than him teaching us about Namibia. So, I just asked lots of questions!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For those with younger children, I'd caution that some of the drives are long, and that it gets very cold in the early mornings both for breakfast and the first few hours on the bus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just another thank you!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Phillip Heap

    Pompei and Amalfi Coast

    A great trip well organised. On the family trip, but with a teenager she was a little board. Very suitable for young children. Felt the walk was too short for adults around Vesuvius crater, so that was disappointing. Capri was spectacular, but again the tour around the island was very short, so you felt you didn't full see the caves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pompei was sensational. So was Capri

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought he was superb for adults, but not necessarily for kids. Very helpful and sociable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check carefully. Not a lot for teenagers. I chose the trip specifically for that reason, but nothing for them to do. The adult trip, walking, seem to have a more adventurous trip. This family trip is for younger children, my daughter, age 14, didn't enjoy it much. Make sure there are lots of other travellers the same age, otherwise they will be bored in the evenings, nothing to do in the village
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Chantal Sargent

    Inca Trail Challenge and Amazing Amazonia

    An experience of a lifetime, but definitely not for the faint hearted! The Inca Trail is stunningly beautiful, with incredible wild flowers and birdsong, offset by incredible challenging, unrelenting steep and uneven steps up, followed by deep, slippery and very steep steps down... whatever anyone says otherwise, however fit or athletic, coupled with altitude and decreased oxygen levels, this trip is a challenge! The porters are incredible- so encouraging and happy as they run up (and down!) the steps, singing! The wonderfully refreshing and beautiful Amazon sights and sounds was a reward beyond compare! Take a good set of binoculars to the Amazon and ‘video’ the sounds....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing alone on the last morning of the Inca Trail, looking out over the incredible panorama below- listening to the birdsong, admiring an overhanging wild orchid, with a lama munching in the bush behind me. In the Amazon, seeing a female jaguar on the riverbank, being teased by a male, whilst we rowed into the sunset, on the Tambopata river, on our last evening- what an absolute privilege!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bobbie was simply outstanding! His knowledge of Inca history was superb, but more importantly, his understanding of people, his positive psychology and his humour, helped us get to the top of Dead Woman’s Pass alive! His gentle encouragement, with no pressure to rush, but also his ability to make us feel safe, in some desperate moments where we felt we couldn’t go on, need commending- thank you Bobbie!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough trip- certainly not for the faint hearted and I would suggest, a significant challenge for younger teenagers. One needs to be athletic and be able to walk up steep hills ( as a training exercise), without getting breathless. No amount of fitness training in a gym can prepare one for the altitude, coupled with unrelenting, steep uneven steps up, and very deep, slippery and steep steps down. If one feels uneasy being at a height looking down, this is not the trip for you! The best advise is to have good Leki walking poles with rubber tips, and descend the steps sideways, like a crab, to save ones’ knees! Keep poles very long when going down, and short for going up! When packing the duffel bag, pack your stuff in a big see through bin liner first. Take lots of layers and thermals for the night- it is sub zero, wet and lonely at the top, without a proper, thick 4 season sleeping bag! I would recommend hiring a sleeping bag. Day pack: do not use a bladder- they leak! Keep a water bottle round your neck- (buy a bottle holder at the shop where you have breakfast, before the trail starts), and a bottle of lucozade or similar in the side pouch- do not let your sugar levels go low! Take sucking sweets that are easy to unwrap and suck whilst walking- chewing and walking and breathing, up those steep steps is impossible! Take some bars of chocolates- you will crave chocolate! Keep a bag of small change (1soles) for the toliet stops on parts of the Inca trail (no toilets higher up). Take acetazolamide ( ask your GP) to prescibe 250mg tablets (not modified release). The recommeded dosage is to start taking it in Cusco the day before the trail starts ( if one feels dizzy, nausea/ vomiting, breathless and as if head is going to burst) An adult should take half a tablet (125mg) twice a day until the last moring if the trail, and a young teenager a quarter of a tablet twice a day. This was recommended to me by a Professor of Pulmonology, I chanced upon in our Cusco hotel. He was a Godsend! One can buy ‘Oxyshot’- small cannisters of Oxygen at the pharmacies- go to a pharmacy if one feels one may need advise- they were excellent! A good tip to acclimatise, is to go a few days early, before the trail starts, and stay in Pisac. (which is slightly lower in altitude to Cusco). We stayed at La Casa del Conde, just outside Pisac, overlooking The Sacred Valley- superb accomodation and views, and one has to take a ‘tuk tuk’ to get to it from the town, as it’s up a track! Pisac has a fantastic market and quaint restaurants- well worth spending 2 days there at least. Do an open top bus tour from the Place d’Arma in Cusco which takes you to various ruins- Saksaywaman- brilliant experience! Take a good headtorch on the trail and for the Amazon. Use a ‘bumbag’ to keep your camera/ iphone, lipice, tissues in- for easy access whilst walking. Take a daypack that fits: waterproof trousers and light waterproof jacket, rain poncho, beanie and waterproof gloves for the top of Dead Woman’s Pass. Wear good polarised sunglasses for the glare. Take a small memory foam pillow in your duffel bag- will make your camping experience much better!! Wear waterproof trousers to sleep in if you get cold and put your duffel bag under your mattress, at the foot of your tent, to prevent slipping down your tent! Take a power bank to recharge camera/ phone to take photos. Wear hiking liners- to prevent blisters. One needs to adhere to the tipping guidelines for the porters especially- they are brilliant- you need at least 230 soles per person for the Porter’s kitty, then additional tipping money in the Amazon for the Amazon guide, the Posadas lodge staff, the boatman and then your main guide for the trip. ( recommended $5 per person per day) The tipping is a hidden extra which definitely needs to be acknowledged prior to taking this trip. There is no cash facility in the Amazon but we could pay for our extras/ drinks using Visa. Have a pisco sour and lomo saltado in Cusco at ‘Baco’s’- both to die for! Take lots of videos both on the Inca trail and especially in the Amazon- the sounds are quite spectacular- especially the jungle call! Most importantly, enjoy every moment, take in every sight and sound as if it were your last, and ENJOY the beauty and the freedom! Don’t rush to get to the campsite- you’ll miss out!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did this trip as a 50th birthday family adventure and fundraising challenge, for a Conservation charity in South Africa, for leopard rescue. Seeing the jaguar on our last evening was a ‘spiritual’ moment for me! And as our guide said at the outset of the Inca trail, heading to Machu Picchu is ‘a pilgrimage’! It is a challenge which needs careful planning, both for the fitness, the equipment and gear, but more importantly the mental challenge as a whole- the travel there and back is a challenge in itself! Make it a lifetime event- share your experience... write a blog.... it’ll make you feel whole.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Fiona Crawford

    Peru

    Trip to Inca trail/Machu Picchu was amazing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inca ruins on inca trail & Amazon Lodge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader from Peak DMC was 10/10. Frank dealt with lost luggage, last minute bookings, questions on environment, fauna, flora, everything with a smile and a giggle; nothing was too much. He and his colleagues from Peak made this trip, every aspect of it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Jane Trevorrow

    Trip of a lifetime

    A trip of a lifetime and a dream come true to visit Peru, Machu Picchu and the Amazon rainforest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blessed with the most amazing sunshine during our trek to Macchi Picchu and left with beautiful photos of the Andes and wonderful memories.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Frank, was everything you could wish for - as an advocate for Peru and as a guide. There could not have been a more perfect person for the job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t take the category 4 rating lightly in terms of the challenge. Whilst some people trotted up and down like mountain goats, my lungs and heart really, really struggled. I did a lot of cardio and strength training in advance, but it was still very, very hard work.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106