Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

590 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Elizabeth Gladin

    A happy time with new friends, lots to do in a glorious place. Very special week.

    Whats not to like? Dog sledding on a snowy christmas morning, the fabulous walk we took just the two of us on the Bear Trail, the group snow shoe hike up in the Riisitunturi National Park or the laughing tumbles practicing our cross country skiiing, or the group dinners with lots of joyful tales of our days, and a sip or two of Cloudberry Liquer? Elina always ready with a grin, a story or some good advice. The Oulanka Basecamp staff with their smiles at all times of the day, and hearty offerings of food and drink. We will return!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What to choose? All of it, really.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Everyone of our guides were brilliant - helpful, friendly, informative and professional. Elina especially was great and contributed to making our activities such fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. A brilliant way to spend a snowy unchristmasy but very special Christmas

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing to add except we want to go back. Or do another Exodus trip......
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Claudia Radaelli

    Wilderness Adventure

    The experience overall was very good on many lelvels. The basecamp was not luxorious but the people are very welcoming and it is very clean. My only criticism is about the food, I cannot understand how it one can serve frozen berries with ice cream as dessert when it is -20 outside!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Northern Lights and the Husky sledging

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very nice indeed, lovely person

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    yes, bring warm undergarments!! the rest they provide.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not at this stage, just better food please and more warm choices.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    HELEN GLYNN

    baltics

    Great holiday and guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    traditional dinners in local restaurants

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Dina Stylianou

    Enjoyable week of snowy activities

    A wonderful week in beautiful surroundings and well organised activites by the team at basecamp. An opportunity to experience the full beauty of Finland and try a variety of snowy activities. Comfortable warm lodge, varied and plentiful wholesome food, a welcoming and client-oriented basecamp team and a great mixiture of snow sports and actiivites. One of my favourite Exodus holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I love everything, but in particular the dogsledding. It was very unexpectd to walk into someone's home and be so welcomed. A great experience all round. The dogs are so well looked after and well behaved. The owners were adorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fab. The Exodus leader was great. Our team leader at Basecamp was brilliant. She did all the right things and ensured that everyone had equal experince of activities regardless of level and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it. It's a great experience, and take a dressing gown to get you from your apartment to the sauna.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Millie Reeves for answering all my questions (even the silly ones) and taking time out to talk me through (on email) the itinerary. It really helped.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Pru Goudie

    A Fantastic Finnish Wilderness Adventure!

    Just returned from a fantastic week in Finland, a country I've always wanted to visit. I travelled over Xmas and it really was a snowy wilderness with very limited daylight hours. However the tour was very well balanced between outdoor activities and downtime and we made the most of the daylight hours. We stayed in a comfortable and cosy lodge called Basecamp Oulanka set in truly stunning surroundings. The food was fantastic and they kitted us all out with all the outdoor gear and all our equipment which we got to keep for the week. We tried our hands at husky sledding, snowmobiling, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and went on many wonderful walks throughout National Parks. The trees were laden with snow, we had many campfires along the way, the guiding was excellent and the food & wine was gorgeous! I totally recommend this week away, I felt so refreshened and invigorated by the time I returned!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The natural environment we were in, all the snow and the activities were great fun - I loved all of them!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a local leader called Eleni and she was wonderful, very friendly and knowledgable and passionate about her country. Couldn't have asked for a better group leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for a great trip, it's my first trip with Exodus and I wouldn't hesitate to do another one. Maybe Japan or Argentina .... two more bucket list destinations for me!!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    AnneFleur van Diem

    Fab Holiday!

    I loved everything about this trip. The accommodation was cozy and the beds incredible. The food was delicious, fresh and plentiful and the surroundings stunning as they only can be in Norway

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the plateau, in the high w8nds, snowshoeing through the wilderness. It was too dangerous to ski so Ilse and Mary took us out for a snowshoe instead and it was a brilliant hike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The local guide for this trrip is simply incredible. A true coach, she knows exactly how to get the best out of people, always being patient and working with everyone individually, even in a group environment. She's very attentive and just a lovely person. She should be guide of the year as I have yet to meet anyone that would surpass her in guiding, teaching and general personality..

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go. You'll love it!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Paul Curtis

    Cross country skiing Kamben

    The trip could not have better, excellent tour leader, outstanding food and hospitality at the hotel for the whole week. Sunsets and sunrises beyond compare and plenty of route options for the skiing to keep novices to experts content for the duration. I would, and have, recommend this trip to anyone and everyone. Although this was my first trip with Exodus I’m certain it won’t be my last. One very satisfied customer here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunset on the first day. The colours just kept on getting richer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was superb. Competent, experienced, knowledgeable and very encouraging. Keen to share his love of skiing and Norway without fuss or drama.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Norway. Book the trip, you’ll have a great time and come back refreshed, energised and raving about the country, the hotel, the food, the skiing and Exodus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus for such a well thought out trip.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Kieron Kilgannon

    First class

    Excellent holiday no complaints

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good leadership skills
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Caryn Long

    Awesome Finnish Wilderness Week

    One of the best trips I have ever been on! Superb location, excellent accommodation with amazing food, well hosted by friendly guides. Choice of activities was brilliant and the trip was relaxing as well as moderately active. Would recommend!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky sledging, river floating, quinzee building and the night time walk with the peaceful moment for reflection.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, good English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't over pack. All clothing and equipment provided of good quality.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it!!
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Great fun

    A great fun trip full of new experiences in a beautiful environment. The guides and all the staff where friendly, helpful and very passionate about nature

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending a night in a quinzee that I helped to build on a frozen lake was a great experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both of the group leaders were awesome. Very passionate about nature

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your thinking about booking this trip..... book it, you'll love it