Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea Stewart

    First trip with Exodus

    First day of walking was straight up. Not a very interesting route. I suggest you rethink this option. Sight-seeing day was fun, informative and well paced. Tiscali was a fabulous day. An alternative hotel would be a significant improvement. The accommodation was simple, but with 4 hours post walk before dinner, the ‘lounge’ was minimal. Meals were simple and far from expectations- dining in Italy should be a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great day going to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous! Energetic and personable. Alexi worked hard to ensure participants were happy and doing well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A different location for the base of this trip should be considered. Why not reside in the seaside town 20 minutes away? How sad to have 4 hours after walking but to be no where near a beach? There are beautiful areas of Sardinia, but I don’t feel this trip includes them. I feel this itinerary needs a serious over haul.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Lesley Waud

    Great trip

    One of the best trip leaders I’ve seen in almost 20 holidays with Exodus; lovely family run hotel; amazing gelato and great walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch on the beach - great barbecue food and awesome views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was knowledgable, caring, considerate and good fun to be with. He was one of the best trip leaders I have come across.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Paul Jefferies

    Cycling in Sardinia

    A very enjoyable week of cycling in Sardinia's south west coastal area with a lovely group. Some long climbs which were rewarded with equally long descents. The weather was sunny for the first couple of days, thereafter overcast and occasionally rainy, but this did not dampen the spirits of the group. The leaders - Michele and Simone were excellent, ensuring all the group had an enjoyable time. The hotels and agriturismos we stayed in along the route were all very good with excellent home cooked food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    it has to be the long climbs on days three and four and the equally long thrilling descents! Cyclists consume a lot of calories and there was no shortage of delicious food from breakfast, snack stops, lunch and dinner. Not to mention the re-hydrating with local beer and wine at the end of a long day cycling!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Simone were excellent. They supported all of us on the daily rides making sure everybody had an enjoyable time and took it in turns to cycle and drive the support van. They provided snacks during the rides and ensured we arrived at lunch stops on time for pre-booked lunch. Nothing was a problem for them - from fixing the occasional puncture to ordering food for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have your own pedals/cycling shoes and saddle then I strongly recommend you take them. I did not take mine and cycled in trainers, I managed ok, but it would have been a lot easier, especially on the hills if I had my own pedals and cycling shoes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to have a reasonable level of fitness tailored to cycling and have some off-road experience as there is a small amount of non-technical off-road cycling.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Margaret Edwards

    Walking in Sardinia

    We had a super time on this holiday. Sardinia is a beautiful island, the walking was very enjoyable and the hotel used was perfect for this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Dorgali to find a 2 day festival taking place. It was a joy to behold. Also, walking to Tiscali high in the mountains and discovering this ancient place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is an excellent leader. He guided us with great care, fun, expertise and consideration for all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles as they can be very useful on the stony paths. Be prepared for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd highly recommend this holiday to those who enjoy walking, good food and drink and the opportunity to explore local village life.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rex Yetton

    A lovely Island

    I went with four friends which made for good companionship and plenty of laughs, We made sure that we mixed with the group and made some good friends, and hopefully enhanced their enjoyment. We were lucky with the weather which threatened to have some storms but we seemed to have sunshine most of the time. I loved the morning coffee stops and the daily beach stops for a swim. Some of the rides were quite challenging and surprised the first timer in our group. The resulting downhill sections were fabulous. Most hotels had swimming pools which were very welcome at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long downhill rides after the steep climbs. The nice beaches and hotels with swimming pools. Having a beer with the group at the end of the ride. The final night as a group in Cagliari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leaders. Simone and Giovani were excellent. Giovani was very knowledgeable about the island and its history, which he was keen to tell us about. He was quite strict but we soon warmed to him and brought out his softer side by using some banter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hills on day 2 and three are very challenging. I have done grade 3 climbs on previous Exodus trips and these were long and challenging. Knowing that the hills would be a challenge and no longer a spring chicken, I had an e bike. I have embraced e mountain biking at home on the South Downs and it is fabulous. Although the e bike I had wasn't an ideal design, it certainly helped and enhanced my enjoyment. My advice would be to have one if you have any doubt. Why suffer? the e bikers were able to chat on the hills and enjoy the scenery, whereas the normal bikers couldn't talk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like coffee stops, nice beaches and swimming pools, this is the trip for you. Beware of the hills!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jennie Pickstone

    Island of wonders

    This was an excellent trip! The walking was quite hard occasionally because of some rocky terrains but I am in my 60's and not the fittest for my age ....so no problem! The weather was very changeable- I believe more than usual- so waterproofs are a must in September. The sights we visited were stunning! Tiscali and the Stalactites were amazing. Our guide Alexis was superb. He clearly takes his job very seriously and has a good knowledge of the region. He is also very sociable and humourous. Like all holidays a lot depends on the group...this group were exceptionally nice. I can really recommend this holiday if you want a good mix of interesting archeological sights and walking. The food and wine was rather good too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose but either Tiscali or the cave with the stalactites etc. It was like walking into Gormenghast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Already said....Outstanding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have good footwear suitable for a rocky terrain. Take walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Glenda Cornwell

    Review

    Very well organised and enjoyable trip taking in some amazing scenery both coastal and inland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the variety of the cycling, especially the off road bits. Learning about how Sardinia's past was related to the monuments we passed and the food and culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lovely, friendly, patient, friendly and jovial hosts who always tried to please everyone, all the time. Great fruit breaks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some hills were quite long and steep. If you want to enjoy more, consider getting an electric bike! However, the van was available all the time allowing you to hop on and off throughout the day giving a great flexibility.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Watch out for the mosquitoes! Take repellent with you.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Liz Leonard

    Brilliant - but really glad we had e-bikes

    Great way to see the beautiful Sardinian West coast, including salt pans, flamingos, the dramatic coastline & turquoise seas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Costa del Sud was truly spectacular; the annual San Salvatore festival in Cabras; the giant sand dunes of the Costa Verde and the islands of San Pietro & Sant’Antioco. All of it really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Alessandro & Simone were superb: multi-tasking, great local knowledge, dealing with logistics, accommodation, restaurants, fixing bikes, making us a superb lunch. And they were brilliant when one of our group had a bad fall. They are both passionate about their country & it showed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My knees are knackered (little/no cartilage) and although I cycle at home, my knees would never have coped with this trip without an e-bike. There are some very challenging hills. Even the keen cyclists in our group felt that it would be better described as Moderate/Hard. With an e-bike it was still a challenge but a very satisfying one. Also it was incredibly hot - if the trip was offered mid-late September/early October, I think it could be even more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our only criticism was that the days were often long, starting at 9am & arriving at our next hotel at around 5ish. Personally I think the days should have ended at 4pm so you had a bit more time to either explore or have a swim before dinner. It’s a pretty full on itinerary!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rob Rogers

    Sardinia ticked all of the boxes

    From the initial booking of the holiday to arrival in Sardinia, from the first greeting of our Exodus Rep to the final goodbye, Exodus delivered. We were well fed (Italian like to feed you, and you'd certainly not go hungry at Hotel S'adde), we were organised, informed and cared for. Our Exodus Rep was knowledgeable of the area, he had scoped out restaurants, bars and gelato establishments and was available to assist and make our trip relaxing and enjoyable. Sardinia delivered on many fronts too, exciting landscapes, mountain tracks, beaches and caves, boat trips, wine tasting and local cuisine - it has something for all. For us the holiday was made memorable because of the location and because of the group of people also on the trip, always someone interesting to talk to. So well done Exodus, another excellent holiday delivered - in the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger "I'll be back"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape The local people -warm and friendly The local wine - great tasting and plenty of it
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Robert and Wendy Mann

    Well organised

    The tour was well organised and Michaela, assisted by Ado, dealt with everything very well. The bikes are very good but be prepared for some stiff climbs on the first two days and the Mistral at any time. Don't forget your Camelbak or your sunblock.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of any hill then flying down the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, he managed everything superbly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some preparation.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A printout of each day's travel, as with the trip in Sri Lanka, would be good.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106