Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pamela Marshall

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    Hi - as a single female traveller over 60 years of age I really enjoyed this holiday. Accommodation was quite basic, but this was too be expected and food showed much creativity but the company was enjoyable and activities varied and very interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite activity was the husky sledge rides and seeing all the dogs in their natural surrounding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great - she couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be wary of your own capabilities. On my free day off I chose to do a 6KM hike with a younger and fitter member of the group ; I think I would have been okay had we not cover the distance up to the highest point of the resort in 2 hours - however I've since suffered a repetitive calf injury and am still suffering 5 weeks later. Great views though and wouldn't have missed the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If booking this holiday think about the weather - winter months means cold weather, shorter days and a better chance of seeing the Northern Lights. April is early spring, the snows are melting, lighter, longer days but probably no Northern lights.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alice Nimmo

    Finnish Wilderness Week 14th-28th

    I really enjoyed the trip and it was Greta to see the transition from winter to spring as we were the last trip of the season. The most enjoyable part was the husky ride, so much I went twice. But also, Elina and Ismo really took care to make sure we enjoyed Finnish traditions, and we cooked pancakes and bread on an open fire as well as quinzee building and first aid in the wildness. I would definitely recommend this trip of you want a jam packed holiday and to tick off a few things from your bucket list. The guides are fantastic and you really feel a sense of being in the wilderness, especially of you are staying in the loggers lodge

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do selling and baking bread on the fire

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was fantastic, so friendly and knowledgeable, she loves the first and nature and is so open minded. Ismo who helped her was also fantastic and he had a lot of knowledge about Finnish traditions and nature

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect 5 star accomodation as one of the people did when I went, she was shocked, bit I was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting mountain hut standard

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was spectacular and it was fantastic to experience delicious traditional Finnish food and drink
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Peter Talfourd

    Accurate

    Different from most cycle trips but group kept together well and no moans or groans Also guide and assistant very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Generally feeling of isolation and proximity of Russian border.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good different from usual guides being older but group age older

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Open mind as to accommodation
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Matthew Handford

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    I loved this trip. It was a chance to head to the frozen north (Finland/Lapland) in April and take part in a range of outdoor activities such as snowshoeing, x country skiing, downhill skiing and dog sledding. It was also great to go out in the wilderness and have a chance to see wildlife and perhaps the Northern Lights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What was special was a combination of things - a social group, feeling I could at least begin to get the hang of activities such as skiing and dogsledding, generally travelling around the Oulanka National Park area by road whilst seeing all of it covered in snow and getting to meet the huskies and reindeer. I also had the chance to take off on my own in the afternoon into the wilderness which gave me a sense of exploration!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina is a very good leader and had us clearly organised everyday. She took us out snowshoeing and showed us cross country skiing. Else kept us well fed from the kitchen and took us out on a night walk with the snowshoes. Both have a lot of local knowledge and were very social, as part of the group. Elina also organised us with the most outdoor kit I have ever been given on a trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a week where there is a lot of choice as to what one can do. Hence, perhaps, it helps to have some preconceived ideas as to what one would like to experience from the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a rare trip in that I would really like to do it again. There is always the argument that there are too many places in the world to visit and hence it is not worth returning to the same one. However, this trip takes place in different locations in the National Park and it is possible to do different activities over the course of the week.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Green

    Fantastic fun in the snow

    I was looking for a trip that I could go on with my wife who is not happy with camping and wishes to have some degree of comfort. This trip seemed to tick all the boxes with a great balance of activity, plenty downtime and a relative degree of comfort compared to a freezing tent and basic toilet facilities at over 5000 metres up a mountain. The area of Oulanka National Park is one of outstanding beauty, peace and cleanliness with zero pollution. The easy snowshoe walks mainly in pristine forests were enchanting and did not require much in terms of effort or bravery. All instruction and a safety briefing was given and we all felt very secure. Our group of 12 mixed well staying in the comfortable and well heated logging cabin after Exodus changed the accommodation due to an issue at Basecamp Oulanka. Our guides Ismo and Mary Louise were absolutely fantastic. They conveyed their enthusiasm for the beautiful environment and we learnt so much from them in such a short space of time. There was much raucous laughter as our group got to know each other all encouraged by Ismo’s gentle humour. Everything to make us comfortable in the cold in the way of clothing and hot food and drink was provided and the food was tasty, plentiful and varied during the week. The cabin was really warm even when the outdoor temeperature dropped to -26C, hot water for showers was unending, the sauna and an outside roll in the snow was invigorating and the WiFi was good enough to catch up with the news back home and watch content on Netflix when relaxing in the room. Snowshoeing requires no special skills and is a wonderful way to spend a fun week in this enchanting place. We also experienced other optional activities on the 2 free days, including a visit to a reindeer farm, snowmobiling and husky riding, however these are an expensive add on but worth trying. Everything was so well organised that we found our week both relaxing and refreshing. We even ventured out to walk at night on a number of occasions under the light of the moon, hearing the amazing forest sounds and saw the Northern Lights. I can not recommend this trip highly enough.... really great fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in such beautiful surroundings surrounded by nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ismo was funny, helpful and worked tirelessly to ensure that we all had a great time. He was funny and interesting with a great sense of humour and it was such a pleasure to have spent a few days with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes.... just go without any preconceptions, appreciate the amazing environment and enjoy every minute. Oh, and be prepared to spend some more money on the optional activities.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Vicky Chamberlain

    Biking in a winter wonderland

    A really well run week of fat biking - a good introductory day, fun times at the Russian end lodge, never short on food or humour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the biking - my favourite day though was the ride back from the Rusiian end lodge, really lovely trail through the trees, late lunch back at the lodge and then a fabulous show shoeing trip after dinner - complete with the northern lights - a totally amazing day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorma was organised and calm and clearly got on well with his team mates. I thought he was a great leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went with a massive suitcase of clothes as was worried about getting cold. The last minute advice we had, to take a balaclava was worth following. But generally speaking all the clothing and equipment they supply is great - you really don't need to take much of your own - unless you want to. Boots were great!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a regular biker and fit this is not a difficult trip. Generally we wre out from 10am til 2 pm. They suplied food for snacks adn a thermos of hot water/juice. I would thoroughly recommend it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alex Davids

    Superb weekend introduction to arctic activities

    In our two active days there the area experienced the heaviest snow fall this year, so we did not get to see the Northern Lights 😕, BUT I still had an unforgettable weekend driving a husky sled and snowmobile, being pulled by a reindeer in a sled, having lunch in the ice hotel, and spending a night in a wilderness cabin. I definitely want to go again next winter for longer so that I can indulge in some of those activities for a longer time. Amazingly I was never cold despite a low temperature of -13C. They provided arctic clothing and you had to make sure that you had on a few layers below: long johns, thermal vest, a fleece or two, a beanie and a pair of warm socks were mine. They gave you boots, gloves, balaclava and arctic outer suit. The trip was superbly run and is highly recommended

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We started with the husky sleds and after that some of our group already felt that if that was all we did, the trip had been worth it. That evening's snowmobile drive in falling snow and wind was unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Darra was superb: he clearly communicated changes in plan due to the weather and put the group's safety foremost. He was informative, friendly, organised - just what a group leader should be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are travelling on your own, you are not allowed to share a husky sled or snowmobile. If you feel uncomfortable driving one of these on your own, you can always be a passenger with the group leader or activity leader. Bring layers to wear: it is better to be too warm than to be cold.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Liz Colyer

    Snowshoeing in Finland

    Fantastic holiday with stunning Narnia scenery. So beautiful! Great week of fairly easy snoeshowing with lovely people and a great guide. Food was good, although fruit a little sparse. Accommodation was good , except due the exceptionally cold weather (-30’s), an extra warm jumper required for the evening. Would love to go back!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning scenery, and the Northern lights performed brilliantly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Else was great! Very informative and kept the group together well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a warm jumper
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106