Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

527 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2020

    Fabulous

    I loved very moment of this trip . Jordan is a country full of great sights and great people - lots of variety. Hard to know what was the best bit - Petra featured highly as did Wadi Rum but then so did Jerash. Tour leader Ibrahim gets it exactly right - gentle and guding leadership with expert knowledge of the history , archaeology and culture of his amazing country. A great Guy !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    that first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra was then surpassed by the Monastery - after 800 steps up!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    100% great guy !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers - 4 seasons in a day. Desert nights are cold !
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Excellent trip and guide

    Booked very late and was lucky enough to have single room option still available. The trip is superb. More than Petra. So much in one week and very well organised. We had every season going including snow on our week, and still had a dip in Dead Sea at the end of our holiday. Pack layers for jan feb trips, and a warm jacket! Our guide, Ibrahim was superb. Great knowledge, good fun, and helpful with useful advice. Pick your choice of walks in Petra as it is massive. My highlight was the walk to high sacrifice in Petra, stunning ,even with my dislike of open heights on one spot. I would recommend Jordan for it’s friendliness, people, culture and it’s a short haul flight to a completely different landscape/culture. Brilliant trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra high sacrifice walk. Jerash? So unexpected.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim is a real credit to exodus. His passion for his country and history is authentic. He loves his job. Something to be envious of. He is really knowledgeable about all the sites we saw. He knew how to bring the best out in the group. One of the best guides I’ve had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plan for four seasons in winter. I thought I was ridiculous taking a padded jacket to Jordan. Nope. I needed it for three days . Feb tour 2020. Lightweight walking shoes are a must.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Amanda Johnson

    Beautiful. Fascinating. Enjoyable.

    Excellent trip that covered the major sites in a short amount of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was always going to be the highlight for obvious reasons and it is everything I thought it would be and more but I was surprised at how big a site Jerash was and how little I knew about it. It was really surprising and fascinating. The mosaics in the churches dotted throughout Jordan are just breathtakingly beautiful. Wadi Rum was always going to be special too and the stars at night are amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a true gentleman. He was funny, passionate about his country, caring and patient. He was always concerned that everyone was ok and enjoying the experience. He tried to ensure everyone's needs were catered for in quite a diverse group. He was always available to listen and help and ensured that any problems were resolved quickly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To be honest the trip notes cover it and other travellers comments too help ensure you are prepared. I wouldn't be put off by others experiences of optional trips - I decided I was only here once (I would go back but too many other countries I need to visit) so did the camel ride at sunset at Wadi Rum and also the Petra at night and thoroughly enjoyed both. Basically you get out of them what you put into them - enjoy it! Also did the hike up the monastery at Petra and the hike behind the tombs to look down on the Treasury from above - both were worth it and a good workout!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a beautiful country with beautiful, friendly people. The landscape can be starkly beautiful and the historical sites are amazing. The first few days are a bit full on but if you are of an average fitness they are not hard going at all and you can take it at your own pace. It is nice to relax at the end and do a bit of snorkelling or floating the dead sea.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Sandra Taylor

    fine

    This was an excellent holiday - well organised, a good mixed variety of activities and sights, not overly much travelling, good hotels and the leader took us to nice restaurants. And in particular I liked the 'free time' element given at the actual sights not provided as these lame ' a free afternoon in your hotel' business when it's difficult to access the places you want to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding group leader. Ibrahim had that prefect combination of being highly organised but appearing laid back and relaxed. I recommend him to any group. He dealt with any issues that arose from group members well so they never became 'issues'. He was a so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Jordan but never 'over- informed'. We didn't have to listen to lengthy lectures standing looking at endless Roman and other remains - instead he gave us the outlines and left us to explore or ask questions as we wanted. And above he was fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Heed well the advice given in the comprehensive notes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks Exodus - I'll be back! BUT please Exodus get your act together regards feedback - it took you a week to send me the feedback email by which time I'd lost interest in feedback.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Stephanie Scollard

    Jordan loves you!

    This was a fantastic trip. I loved Jordan. Ibrahim, the Guide, was excellent and had everything perfectly organised. The food was amazing, and hotels were nice. Petra was unforgettable. Hiking boots are a good idea. The weather was hot in the middle of the day and quite cold at the beginning and end of the day. (T-shirts, with lots of layers, and a coat required, for December trips.) I have done several trips with Exodus and would thoroughly recommend this one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim is lovely.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take hiking boots.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Douglas Robertson

    A week in Jordan ........ if Carlsberg made a week anywhere ..this would be it!

    I knew all about Petra before travelling but Jordan is about so much more than that as I discovered. A fantastic week with history, culture, food and experiences that I will never forget. People queried how safe Jordan was before I left for the trip and I can honestly say I haven't felt safer on any trip I've been on before. The people were the kindest, friendliest and most open people you could hope to meet. The trip can be as active as you want with plenty of free time in Petra to trek around or just take it easy. Our guide Ibrahim was a brilliant leader who typified the hospitality of Jordan and spoke knowledgeably about history and culture. I would happily return again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Petra up close was amazing but spending a night in the desert was a surprising highlight for me - the stars and the peace and tranquillity were amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was brilliant!!!! He was knowledgeable, kind, attentive and fun. He shared Jordan past and present with us opening up about history and culture - past and present. He was always there for us and made sure we knew where to be and when and what to make sure we saw or tried. A true ambassador for both his country and Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont think twice just go there!!! if you go later in the year it is cooler at night so do bring layers ..... and dont forget water shoes for the beaches!
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Raji Rajasingham

    An informative week

    The trip was packed full of activities, which was great, but it could benefit from the odd afternoon of downtime here and there to take a breather and reflect on the activities and places seen. It is a comprehensive tour of the ket sights of Jordan - loved the the inclusion of both the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. Petra was, of course, without a doubt the highlight of the trip, but little Petra was lovely too and the night in Wadi Rum viewing sunset by four wheel drive and sunrise by camel (optional) was great fun. All in all a good trip, which I would recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up past the monastery to sit on the rock's edge and take in the view plus having tea and enjoying the view at the High Place - both at Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Organisationally competent, but extremely and unacceptably rude and unprofessional in his behaviour - he stood up in a restaurant and shouted at me all because a few of us wanted to clarify what the facilities at Wadi Rum and at the Red Sea beach were going to be like. He was incapable of providing simple answers to simple questions and saw any request for information or question as an opportunity to attempt at being comedic, which frustrated many amongst the tour group, and led to others just not asking anything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a room with barely any natural light at the hotel in Petra, which was quite unpleasant given we were there for 3 days and nights during which we had to constantly have the lights on whenever we were in the room. Still despite this the room was very dim and a tight fit for two adults with a suitcase each. Following this we found oursleves in an inside room with no natural light at all at the very next hotel at the Red Sea, although at least that room was larger and brightly lit.
  • Reviewed December 2019

    Team Jordon 23 Nov-1 Dec

    An amazing week with a fabulous group of people and great guide. The trip is planned to take you through that gentle build up of activity on the first and second day to the much more strenuous exertion of days 4,5 & to a lesser degree day 6, before bringing you back down to the more restful experience of swimming/snorkelling in the Red Sea then floating and mud bathing at the Dead Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra came high up on the list but there was something everywhere (don't do a trip with only one day at Petra if you can avoid you will miss so much). The most fun was had with the mud at the Dead Sea (an experience never to forget)!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal is full of knowledge about his country that he is more than happy to share with all to enhance our understanding and help appreciate what we were seeing. He took care when needed and I am sure did more behind the scenes to keep the trip flowing smoothly but also gave us that bit of space. I am sure he knows everyone in Jordon personally and knows all of us in the group too after our week!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In late November it goes from comfortably warm during the day to quite cold at night, because of the sudden drop in temperature when the sun goes down (still warmer than UK!), so don't forget to bring warm clothes, for those who feel the cold, gloves, hat, maybe even a hot water bottle for Wadi Rum Camp (plus Jeep and camel ride).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For those thinking of this trip the walking in Petra can be a little tricky for those with a fear of heights or steep drops to the side of you. Be prepared to have to put in some serious strenuous effort to the climbs in Petra if you want to see some of the most spectacular views down on the hidden city. My thanks to all those who were on this trip for being great company.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Sharon Caton

    Excellent

    Great trip, only went to see Petra but Jordan is so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi rum, the people are amazing. Sleeping under the stars and the sunrise and sunset are spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He made the whole week exciting, his enthusiasm and sence of humour made the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need, guide took care of everything Thank you Ibrahim Isbitani.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Chris Pope

    Lots of treasures to see but some oddities in there too!

    A very good trip, November is after the clocks go back in Jordan so the days are shorter and the first couple of days felt a bit rushed whereas perhaps the summer hours would have enabled more time in each place. Thereafter settled into the pace of the tour and enjoyed it. Petra is huge and I could have done with more time there to see the museum. Covered about 40km walking in 2 days! (You don't have to!) Personally I could have left out Wadi Rum camp but that might have been the overnight 4c weather, uncomfortable bed, and the camp fire "meal" which left us all smelling like a smoked kipper. I didn't do the camel ride but feedback was it was a waste of time - hopefully someone will cover that in their review. The entire Aqaba day where we were trapped on a beach resort with competing music around the various pools waiting for the rooms to be ready, then whiled away the day waiting to get back to archaeology in Amman on the final day. Aqaba is very odd choice for this tour. Therefore (or despite the moans) 4 stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had a good build up to Petra visiting various "castles" but nothing can prepare you for walking down to Petra. I didn't do any research before going so it was all a surprise for me including the walk in and out - best not give away too much! Various optional walks inside Petra allows each person to do as much or as little as they wish. Jerash is excellent and Amman Citadel a great surprise too. Jordanians are happy tolerant people, there are no pushy people selling you things.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal was very knowledgeable and well organised, I think he had a bit of a challenge getting everything done on the summer schedule with sunset being around 4.30 but he kept us organised and it didn't feel overly rushed other than the first two days which were a lot of coach time compared to visit time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a water bottle, the coach has a fresh supply which is also taken into the hotel when staying more than one night. Lunches are really cheap! a falafel wrap or something from the bakery costs about 40p, packaged food and drinks are UK prices. You really need a sleeping bag liner for Wadi Rum!!! Take a hard copy of your passport and travel insurance - the passport is needed to go with the Jordan Pass and they do check it at Petra especially. Taking a copy will save time on day 1 briefing. Should be in the trip notes. Pack light the mini-coach isn't that big and you can wash and dry in the hotels very easily or use their laundry service. Read the other reviews for more tips!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Evening meals were usually a set menu priced at 15JD which was cited as the trip note budget - cant help but think this was either a bit of a rip off or, judging by the amount of left over food, they cooked up to the budget. Either way I eventually opted out and just had a single main course for around 5 to 8JD - should have done it sooner in the trip. Aqaba is an odd destination for this tour and one I could have done without. Those who wanted to had about an hour to snorkel at the out of town beach "compound", we were searched on the way in for food and drink! Those who didn't want to snorkel had to try to find a quiet spot to wait for the rooms to be ready. A huge amount of time out of the schedule just for that one hour. I would have preferred a return visit to Petra museum and then back to Amman or insert another destination. I know I have moaned a bit but really don't be put off! The two bits I didn't like were far outweighed by the rest of the tour.