Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    paul bester

    breath-taking, in both senses

    having done a few mountains before, I was just hoping to get a view of Everest, but was amazed at just how unexpectedly-beautiful the route was. the initial lush green valleys were replaced with breath-taking views of majestic mountains. every turn produced another stunning vista. i found it really difficult to relay just how big those mountains are to anyone who hasn't been there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the sheer size of the Himalayas gives a humbling sense of ones place on earth. I simply could not go through life without seeing the "big one" up close- (relatively speaking).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a true gem. he is an experienced and confident leader, beyond his years. besides his general information, I learned so much about Nepalese culture from the one to one chats, while ambling at the back of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    it's a challenging trip, but certainly not limited to the super-fit.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Hughes

    Everest Base Camp - a journey to heaven!

    This trip met and exceeded my expectations by miles! I have never seen scenery so beautiful in my life , it was truly wow! It was the hardest thing (trek wise ) I have ever done and breathing at times in the higher parts was tough but it was more than compensated by the experience. A big shout out to Bikash T ( TNT190427) who was a brilliant leader and encouraged us a long the way and ensured we paced ourselves the result of which we all made it to Base Camp! His team were all brilliant too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Base Camp after such a long journey to get there. I never thought in my lifetime I would see this and it literally took my breath away and was very emotional when I arrived!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated above Bikash was a great leader and was certainly always reassuring me whenever I had any nervous moments and was easy to talk to and great sense of humour too !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how tough this trip is. The more preparation you put into this , the more you will enjoy it. It is worth it! Also , it gets expensive to buy snacks the further you go up, I would recommend bringing energy bars etc from home it save you money. And, finally , when the leader says pace yourself , take notice, as walking too fast is not a good idea at that altitude!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip and life changing experience!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Hayley Kennedy

    Fabulous! Holiday of a lifetime!

    Fabulous trip. Great Guide (Bikash T, TNT190427) great staff. Great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp as I’d been doing the trip for charity so felt such a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Legend! Fab guy! Had a great team around him as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you need, electricity, wifi etc are expensive Train hard and get fit, you will enjoy it more! Work as a team to Ensure you all get there and achieve together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Susan Goodrich

    Amazing adventure

    This was the most wonderful trip. Words really can’t describe it. The Himalayas are awesome, the walking wonderful. Going over the tharong la pass was immensely challenging and we all made it. We saw wonderful sights, a baby vulture still with its white down, magnificent mountains, the sun rising over Poon hill, isolated villages where we were welcomed as we walked through, temples and monasteries. The food was freshly cooked throughout. The only down side was that some walking involved going along the road which is being build along the trek. If you’re thinking of going on this trek, I would recommend going sooner rather than later as this road continues to be built. It was lovely walking in the company of like minded people and we had a lot of laughs and supported each other throughout. Gun, our leader and his fellow guides could not have done more. They were kind, supported where needed, acted as nature leaders, made sure we had everything we needed. One final point. This is graded at a level 5 and it feels harder than that. We had 19 days walking, starting usually at 7.30am (usually up by 6.15-30 ..... Gum only let us have an extra 30 mins sleep after crossing the tharong la pass 😀😀) and finishing at 4-5. So in summary. Tough and extraordinarily wonderful !! Go for it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole thing. Seeing a baby vulture, the mountains, eating a lovely Dahl baht in a mountain village, the wonderful walking, crossing the tharong la pass, the laughs in the group, the fun. I could go on ......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He could not have done more to make the experience better. He was knowledgable, instilled confidence as we were going over the pass, generous with his time, fun. I have nominated him as a guide of the year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As I said above I think this trek should be rated higher as it is far harder than others I’ve been on, also rated 5. So get fit as you’re walking for 19 days up / along challenging terrain. We crossed the tharong la pass in snow and it took 11 hours. Don’t get too hung up about toiletries, tablets, loo paper. It can be bought most of the way around. There’s plenty of time when you get to Nepal to change money / get permits.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sophie Daubeney

    An experience you’ll never forget...

    Overall an amazing experience. Beautiful views. A unique, friendly group of fun people! There was a real team spirit, and I was never in doubt that anyone wouldn’t make it to Base Camp. The guides were fabulous, and enhanced a really special experience! Would definitely recommend this trek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up in Kyanjumar lodge and seeing Ama Dablam towering overhead. A real pinch me moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was amazing! Such a kind, patient and fun leader! Felt very supported and encouraged throughout the trip, particularly on the tougher days. He was also incredibly knowledgeable about local culture and history. Can’t recommend him enough. It must be said that all the guides and the yak man were awesome too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare, prepare, prepare! Be of a good level of physical fitness- this trek is no walk in the park! Don’t forget the essentials; loo roll, hand sanitisers, lip balm and sun cream (don’t underestimate the importance of these small luxuries)!! And enjoy!! This trip will be once in a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Griffiths

    Fabulous!

    This trip had everything I could've wished for. Fabulous mountains, magnificent scenery, picturesque villages, friendly locals, great company and physical challenge. What I love about trips like this is the point when you forget about everything back home and properly switch off, maybe day 6 on this trip. Your whole focus is on eating, hiking, sleeping. Back to basics, perfect!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Always the mountains; the reason why I choose to do these big hiking trips. Mountains aside, I fell ill with a vomiting bug and had to take a motorbike ‘taxi’ as I was too poorly to hike one day. I was petrified, but at the same time, the exhilaration of riding along a high altitude dirt track in the Himalaya was quite awesome and something I will never forget. We also spotted a few vultures flying at eye level, which was cool! Of course, crossing Thorong La Pass was fabulous; the whole event. Getting up so early, the anticipation and excitement, hiking by torchlight, the snow and ice; a very special day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous, as I’ve come to expect on all Exodus trips. Chandra and our two local guides, Hemant and Jumba, worked tirelessly to make sure everyone had a great trip. Evening briefings were always a joy, were we learnt about Nepalese culture, traditions and card games, as well as the plans for the next day. Tour Leaders and local guides take care of everything, even the simple things like advising when to put on a your waterproof, and when it’s time to take off some layers! We didn't really see much of our porters during the hike as they would set off really early, but it lovely that they joined us for dancing and few beers in Jomsom.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your visa in advance, the queues at Kathmandu can be horrendous! Take a pillow case to avoid using those provided by the tea houses. Prepare to be pleasantly surprised by the quality of some of the tea houses, however brace yourself for some pretty basic facilities in others. Buy yaktrax in Kathmandu if your Tour Leader recommends them for your departure. Don't be put off by all the negative talk of the road!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    James Smith

    Annapurna Sanctuary Trek TNS

    Original trekking itinerary was changed and notice was given just several days before we began the trek. We did not trek to Annapurna Base Camp due to snow, avalanche danger, and damaged structures. An alternative was provided that included climbing Punhill and also Khopra in Ridge. For me it was a physically challenging trip, partially due to my age. I felt I did well in spite of my replaced knees. I was offered encouragement at times which helped. The weather was not the best as a pre-monsoon weather pattern prevailed particularly during the latter part of the trek. This trip for me was primarily a time to bond with my son, Kevin, and I think we did a good job at that. Food was somewhat bland, but new dishes allowed us to get a real taste of what Nepalese eat. Ten years ago, I did the Everest Trek to base camp and Kala Patar. I would say this trip was every bit as physically challenging even though we did not achieve high elevations. The scenery did not include as much high alpine, but this trip traversed through rhododenron forests that were in full bloom.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views from Punehill and Khopra Ridge, of the high peaks jutting up above the clouds. Crossing the long spectacular suspension bridge near Jhinu Dandara.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Milan Tamang did not impress me at first. However, with the passing of each day, I realized that first impressions aren't always true. Milan was truly interested in me as a trekker and an American. I can say now that I have high regard for him as a group leader and an administrator of other guides. He's a man that's true to his word, has empathy for others, and is simply there in times of need. I don't believe our group had any negative incidents such as injury of health problems that he did not know how to successfully handle.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Call two weeks in advance to find out if there have been any changes in the itinerary. My son and I were disappointed that we could not trek all the way the Base Camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a very good trip for my son, Kevin, and I to bond. We do not live close to each other, and this was a time for us to simply chill out and have good times together. I lost my camera on the airplane in Kathmandu, and in one way this might have been a good thing. Consequently, Kevin took all the pics, and there wasn't a spirit of competition between us concerning photo shoots. I think that was good. Neither of us seemed to bond with the rest of the group as we have in the past on other trips.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Laura Grealish

    An extraordinary trip to Everest Base Camp

    This is a fantastic trek to Everest Base Camp, made even more extraordinary by the two nights spent in EBC, taking in the unique atmosphere as climbing season gets underway. Valerie and the rest of the Exodus team were fantastic, and looked after us so well, ensuring an unforgettable adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many amazing moments. The first view of Everest and the other Himalayan giants at sunrise was certainly very special. Our acclimatisation walks where we reached altitudes of 5100m and 5545m left me with a real sense of achievement, and confidence ahead of going to stay in Base Camp. It was also very interesting to meet some of the different mountaineering groups along the way who were aiming for the summit of Everest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie's knowledge and experience of the Himalayas is second to none, and it was fantastic to hear of her adventures and to learn about trekking and mountaineering in the area from her. Her leadership ensured that everybody achieved our objective of safely reaching EBC and back. I would definitely travel on one of her trips again in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to trek to Everest Base Camp, do this trip, it is so special to spend time in the camp itself, while it is a privilege to travel with such a knowledgeable and enthusiastic team. Bring an open mind, drink lots of water on trek and embrace the adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    jacqueline walton

    Excellent trek

    As expected, an excellent trek. Fantastic scenery; lovely insight in to Nepali villages and epic mountains!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get our select group of ’Trevor’s Angels’ to the top of Kala Patar!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He was extremely personable and knowledgable but also very aware of how we were all doing. At the slightest sign of anyone not being 100% , he would check how they were doing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely get your visa beforehand - we did the online bit but still had a huge wait. The only way to avoid the wait is to send passport off for visa in UK. Sadly, if others in the group don’t you will still have to wait but outside! Stock up on anything that will help counteract the Khumbu cough - lemsips, throat sweets ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although not an easy trip, taking it slowly and mental determination will see you through!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Claire Walls

    Incredible and life-affirming adventure

    The holiday was absolutely fantastic: well planned, well executed and a magical experience. I couldn’t have asked for a better break!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Thorong-La pass in the dark wearing head torches and seeing my breath in the freezing air!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. The best Exodus tour guide I have had, and that’s saying a lot!
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106