Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Tom Roberts

    Highlights of Central Europe

    This was a fast paced tour that covered features and cities of 5 countries. I found this tour to be very interesting and gave one an insite into this part of the world. I would recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard question, but I would say the time we spent Vienna. The history ,as we all know, is amazing and it was great to see firsthand thus very beautiful city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I found Peter to be excellent. He tried very hard to make our holiday as memorable as possible. Being a native to Slovakia, his knowledge of the history of the countries we visited was first rate. He was most helpful to everybody in this tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fast past tour covering some of the highlights of 5 Central European countries. This tour will provide you with a broad brush look and knowledge of these countries . In my case it has given me a reason for visiting some of the cities again to get a greater look at what they have to offer.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    jennifer turnbull

    highlights of central europe

    An excellent introduction to the countries visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tour leader, Peter, plying and explaining the flute.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant knowledgeable man, with a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No, everything was as expected. In my case Not a critiscm but a personal choice. I like to make early morning tea, only 2 hotels had a kettle and 2 had coffee machines in the rooms, so a kettle could be handy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tour ran Saturday to Sunday, I think an extra day would be useful, possibly in Vienna or a small place not easily accesible by 'weekend flights'
  • Reviewed August 2018
    David Hill

    Brilliant ... but

    I will deal with the 'but' first. This is definitely not a 1; leisurely; more a 2, moderate. The distances to walk are comparatively large and the surfaces (cobblestones mainly) are not conducive to fast walking even if you can, and, of course, as always, the speed of the group is governed by the speed of the slowest person. That said, it's a wonderful introduction to the cities and towns visited, their history and how their infrastructure works. The Tatra mountains are beautiful and welcome break. I will definitely go back to most of the cities. Each has a feel and charm of its own and, except Vienna, are cheap (for a Londoner) to stay, eat and travel in. This trip is great if you want to get a feel for central Europe; you see loads albeit the pace and itinerary don't allow time to dwell and ponder what you are looking at. You are in a region of wonderful and gory history and there are massive amounts to take in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No particular inspirational moment, but the feel of the central market area in Krakow and the salt mines do stand out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter our guide was brilliantly knowledgeable (much more than the usual excellent Exodus guides), very personable, was always there to resolve the inevitable issues but not firm enough on timing leading to people wandering off to the shops etc. thus delaying the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a couple of good comfortable walking shoes; there's a lot of it, and a good water bottle. The tap water is fine and freely available. Its difficult to work out what cash you'll need; and there are several currencies. If you travel abroad check out the right debit card with no commissions and commercial rates and credit card for the same reasons. There are lots of ATMs and that way you can pull cash as you need it (always use a 'bank' atm to avoid the 3rd party charges) and decline 'their' exchange rate; and/or use your CC where you can (charged in local currency). It'll save you sizeable amounts and not leave you with unnecessary cash you have to swap around.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Catherine Ellwood

    Highlights of Central Europe

    A great tour around really interesting capital cities and some lesser-known parts of the countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Prague, Budapest and Vienna in particular were really lovely, especially the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, cruising down the Danube and going to a classical concert in Vienna. Cesky Krumlow in Czech Republic is also beautiful, as is the Znojemska Rotunda Chapel and Szentendre in Hungary. You see a lot of castles!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was a really good leader, helping us out with activities on our free afternoons and making sure a restaurant was always booked for dinner, for those who wanted to go. He obviously has so much knowledge about all the countries that he wanted to share with us, although this sometimes made his explanations a little convoluted!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Temperatures varied (July) from really hot in Prague to raining in Bratislava, so take the right clothing! You can change money to the different currencies as you go along; I took Czech koruna and Euro, then changed the leftover Czech money into forint and that into Euro again. In Hungary most places advertised that you could pay in Euro although they would give change in forint. It might be worth getting some zloty in advance as you don't get to Poland until the evening of day 12 and banks are closed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really interesting trip, do go.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Paul Treece

    Highlights of Central Europe

    We picked this trip to pack the best of five countries we had never previously visited into two weeks, and were not disappointed. The tour gave us a taste of everything from grand palaces and capital cities to pretty market towns and high mountains. Our guide and driver were excellent, as were the hotels, and most of the food too. It was a hectic schedule with so much to see, but very enjoyable, and highly recommended if you appreciate discovering history and architecture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights for us were the excellent and entertaining concert in Vienna, the hugely impressive Schonbrunn Palace, and our visit to the High Tatras National Park (helped by the beautiful weather).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very knowledgeable, friendly and extremely dedicated to making the tour the best it could be for all of the group, some of whom often wanted to do their own thing. He tried hard to accommodate the different personal interests and attitudes within the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to pay most of your food and entrance fees in cash - and take some of each of the four currencies. Four wallets would be a good idea for this tour. Also take shoes that are comfortable as there is lots of walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our second very successful trip with Exodus. There is so much to see around the world, but all the best of central Europe in one trip is good going by anyone's standards.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Gyan Fernando

    Fast-Tracking Central Europe

    We all met up in Prague, a lovely city, and very soon (too soon!) found ourselves in Bratislava. Supposed to be the smallest of the capital cities that we saw, Bratislava was never-the-less surprisingly nice. We then moved on to the Fairy-Tale town of Cesky-Krumlov....Ahhhhh! Then we got to Vienna and first sailed down the Danube before listening to "Sailing Down The Beautiful Danube" by Strauss as the finale at an evening concert (optional extra). Then there was the spectacular Schonbrunn Palace (optional extra) Rapidly moving on to Buda-Pest we found the Danube again. Our time in this lovely city seemed to be too short! We then moved into Slovakia again but this time to the striking Tatra Mountains with mountain railways, funicular railways, treks and even a waterfall. Our final city was Krakow, Poland. What a nice city! I was glad that I had booked an extra two nights in this lovely city.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I suppose sailing down the Danube and later in the day listening to "Blue Danube" and in Vienna was probably the most inspirational moment!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Apart from being a group leader, Peter Gbur also happens to be a ski instructor and a keen photographer. Being a Slovak and from the Tatra Mountain region, he was enthusiastic about his country. Although he could have left us to our own devices on the free afternoons, he always organised somethings for us and also accompanied the majority sub-group. Most of us were very grateful to him for this as it was beyond his remit, particularly because different people had different ideas. He always had his meals with us explaining the menu and sorting out difficulties with our bills caused by our ignorance! He was very considerate about the weaker members of the group and tolerant of the boisterous!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to walk for a long time on the walking tours of the cities. In the Tatra Mountains, although it is a leisurely walk, it is best to wear suitable footwear. If you have the time and the money, do book extra nights at the start and at the end of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As mentioned before, some of the walking tours in some cities (Prague) was strenuous. Knowing this, our leader Peter suggested that we buy 24 hr Metro tickets. That helped us a lot.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Maureen Honeyman

    Highlights of Central Europe

    Great trip, gave an overview of several capitals and could not fit much more in really. Wished I had visited this part of the world long before now. Hotels better than expected and well situated for sightseeing. Happy and interesting trip with nice group of fellow travellers. Plenty of activity too and a superb walking day in the Tatras.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Impossible to say as architechture, sights and scenery all rich in history and scenic - lights at night gave a different dimension to cities and camera buffs in group loved this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really spot on! Well organised. Understanding of individual preferences regarding options and meals. He made the trip really because he was so knowledgeable, reliable and competent in several ways - spoke local languages, fit physically and also made me a walking pole for going downhill. Got on with everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Trip good but not restful! Too much to see and do.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Catherine Bryan

    Highlights of Central Europe

    This tour has it all, palaces, castles, stunning cities, incredible scenery and amazing food, wine and beer! You pack a lot in, however it never felt rushed, and it has left me with a great desire to go back and investigate further. The hotels were good with those in Cesky Krumlov and Krakow really standing out for their fabulous views. I'm so glad I did this trip. Central Europe has so much to offer and it gave me a real insight into the region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is probably a three way split between the concert in Vienna, listening to Strauss and Mozart, the walk in the high Tatra mountains and standing at the top of the Petrln Tower in Prague with it's amazing views out over the city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of the region and combined this with the ability to accommodate requests for additional sightseeing in a seamless manner. He also had a great ability to find fabulous restaurants with amazing food that captured the flavour of the countries and cities that we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please remember that you will need four different currencies and to order this in advance of your trip as this really helps the trip to go smoothly. ATM's and banks are plentiful but not always available when you really want them and the exchange rate can be less favourable!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only other thing to be aware of is that central Europe not only has fabulous food and amazing beer but also no portion control, servings are generous and dessert can be a stretch!!!!
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF CENTRAL EUROPE

    The tour takes in five of Central Europe's historic capitals, allowing you to see as much as possible in the time available. Hotels and breakfasts are good. A few of the travelling days are longish, but by comfortable coach. An excellent mix of Culture (music everywhere in Prague and Vienna and assorted museums), superb Mountains, Castles and Fortresses, beautiful Cities and many lovely Villages and Towns passing through green farmland as well as the sombre Jewish quarters What a wonderful trip This was a really interesting, busy holiday that did exactly what it said in the brochure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite stop was Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic, where  the view from our room was breath taking. Seeing the peaks and lakes and walking in the Tatra mountains was exhilarating.   This trip is for people who enjoy visiting historical cities with revitalising breaks along the way.  Visit to the wine tasting was fun..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was a charming guide, well informed and so pleased to pass on all the information about his country.He was very enthusiastic over all the activities  whether in cities, towns, or mountains. He catered for different interests  while making the entire group gel.  Peter spent all his time with the whole group and could not have been more helpful.  He always found traditional restaurants for the whole group  so that we could sample the local delicacies and at a cheaper price than in the main tourist areas.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

      Holasovic and Znojemska for me  are quite frankly, not worth it. More time could have been spent in Cesky Krumlov, allowing a walk along the river.The small town and mountain breaks contrasted with the walks through the cities, with the local guides giving us a potted history on our walking tours., Prague and Budapest were beautiful and could be revisited. ,Just a taster for Vienna and Krakow. .This trip is for people who enjoy visiting historical cities with revitalising breaks along the way. There is not much time for browsing or shopping on this trip Expanded trip notes with some city guides, details of the small stopping places and a road map of the bus journey would have been interesting to browse on the bus, perhaps from the day before . A sketch of the town showing the location of the most important buildings + other highlights + good cafes would have been useful: Peter gave us a map,marked with the hotel when we arrived but it would have been nice to have had it earlier although it was impressive to just stroll, I would have preferred to have seen a map when doing so (e.g. Cesky Krumlov, Sopron, Mikulov). I also enjoyed 2 days in Prague before the trip began, the highlight being Ivan Lendl's poster collection of Mucha and attending a Prague chamber orchestra recital both in the Municipal House, an Art Nouveau building. 
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF CENTRAL EUROPE

    I enjoyed this trip very much.  It was my third Exodus trip and I pretty well knew what to expect.  We had a very good group, all very good to travel with.  The trip is fairly fast paced.  You visit 5 countries in 14 days so you are not in any country very long, but what a great opportunity to visit so many places.  However, some of the small village stops did not seem like good uses of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Auschwitz was very meaningful for me personally.  It is part of why I chose this itinerary.  I have been to the Holocaust museum in Washington, DC and the Ann Frank house/museum in Amsterdam.  If I was going to be in Krakow, I had to go to Auschwitz. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was very good.  He is serious about his job, tries hard, and is very personable.  He had not done this particular tour before, but he did a good job.  He was not familiar with sending people to Auschwitz and we almost missed the bus, but they waited for the three of us and we made it.  He did a good job arranging group meals when we wanted that, which was most nights.I wouldn't hesitate to travel with Peter again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A big deal for me was the amount of walking involved.  I am 68 years old, somewhat overweight and have back issues.  The trip notes describe this as a leisurely trip with some walking involved on a few days but the walking is gentle and is optional.  It is more correct to say walking is required everyday, some of it with longish uphill sections (several) and it is not optional, because the tour is a walking tour.  If you opt out of walking, you opt out of the tour.  Most people did not have any problems with the walking, about 3 or 4 did.  I just think the material should more accurately describe the walking required.Dealing with currency was a chore.  I continuously got too little because I didn't want to get stuck with it.  When I left Poland, very early, I did not see a foreign exchange window so I brought home a little more foreign currency than I wanted to.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotels were good, breakfasts were good.  Most hotels had a bar or at least sold beer and wine at reception.  I enjoyed having a single room to my self.The bus was perfect.  Most people got 2 seats to themselves.  The driver was excellent.All of the food that I had was good to excellent, beer always very good.The visit to the wine cellar was fun.  Huge platters of sausage, cheese, olives and bread with plenty of wine.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106