Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    David Hill

    Disasterous week 1; OK 2&3

    Supplied with the wrong vehicle which was both unsafe and very uncomfortable and guides who didn't know where they were going. It took a week to replace both.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wonderful Africa

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First week useless, second and third weeks brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask questions : 1) is the vehicle safe?; 2) is there 'working' air con?: 3) how old is it?; 4) has the guide/driver done the trip before?; 5)are the trip note 'driving' times reasonably accurate?; 6)if you are tall, how much leg room is there? 7)is there room to move on the bus?.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Potentially a brilliant trip ruined by Exodus' attitude to our complaints.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Julie Knuckey

    Trip from Johannesburg to Cape town

    This was a very memorable trip which took in so much of South Africa's wild life, past histories and south Africa as it is now. Our guides were excellent in their information about South Africa, the animals and the cultural and political shaping of South Africa. We traveled very long distances and experienced several game drives where we saw most of the larger animals including several close sightings of lions. Visits to Lesotho and Swaziland were a pleasant contrast to the seemingly more affluent and efficient South Africa. Rouke's Drift visit brought the film Zulu to life, The landscape changed from fertile farm estates to scrub land and desert, everywhere though needed rain, they hadn't had good rains for several years. We traveled by minibus and a larger more comfortable safari bus and the air-con didn't work, so it was hot & tiring , however all the accommodation was different but comfortable and adequately equipped. Food was mainly very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A horse ride in Lesotho through the villages. Seeing the penguins and a visit to Robben island to see and learn about Nelson Mandela's incarceration there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader & driver for the 1st week tried hard to give us an enjoyable experience, however having not lead a trip to where we were travelling before, she and her driver were replaced in the 2nd week by excellent group leaders with fantastic knowledge of all aspects of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very long drives, the roads are good but it is important to remember that this is Africa and things do not always go to plan! Take plenty of sun screen etc. enjoy all the experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think if I did it again I would stay longer in some areas as there was so much more to see.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Nigel Brereton

    Johannesburg to Cape Town

    A great 3 week trip for those who like a mixture of wildlife, history, African culture, Wine areas and views, with time to take in the sights and atmosphere. Some walking enhanced the scenery views which most managed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wildlife parks and Enclosures, seeing a warden stroking a Hyena and the Hyena enjoying it. Seeing the kill of a Leopard hung up in a Tree and 20 minutes later seeing the Leopard. Cape Town, Table mountain. Seeing Whales off shore out of season, the viewing boats had stopped running.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A great guide with excellent knowledge of wildlife, with good knowledge of South Africa. Tireless in cooking and clearing away, always cheerful. Coped with electricity cuts well, using gas ring to cook and battery lights. Tried to please all and adapted tour to suit the majority.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Trip notes covered most points. A head troch and troch was most useful in the early mornings and evenings. Insect spray was required. Take money and exchange in Bank or Money Bureau. An ATM 'scam' cost one over £400! Take care walking on loose stones, a leg gash needed treatment and 3 stiches. An attempt at handbag robbery in Cape Town was annoying on the final last day. Warnings to be 'street wise' were given. Seek travel advice from locals, as local busses were inexpensive, fast, but crowded. My mini bus took me to the Hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were some Navigation issues, in Cape Town, the guide had to call a local to find where the Boat departure point was for Robbin Island, it was on the Map! A map I obtained enhanced my day in Cape Town, visiting the most of the top ten sights. Some took photographs of the Map, which should be handed out by the Guide. Better to know and pick which are your likely best choices. I was the only one who knew of the Castel, pleased I made the organised history tour. Some meals were basic with little flavour, Bolognese sauce does have a tomato and beef flavour. The second African trip where Spaghetti Bolognese was on the Menu, however the sauce was only minced beef with its bland natural flavour! This time I did not write out the ingredient's for the cook
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jinny Pohl

    Johannesburg to Cape Town

    It was a great trip with varying landscapes, climates and packed with new experiences. The route specially captures the wide landscapes and the wild life of South Africa. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone. However, Exodus should look into the cleanliness and the conveniences each accommodation provides as some did not meet even the basic standards.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the big five in Kruger was very special. A visit to Kruger has been on my list for a long time and to be there was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Colly Mohlabine and driver JoJo Molekoa were the best people I have had so far on Exodus trips. They went out of their way to make our trip a memorable one. Even after a long drive, Colly and JoJo made wonderful food and looked after all of us. Colly especially was a great cook. He had extensive knowledge on the flora and fauna and the history of South Africa, which contributed to our experience of the country. JoJo was an excellent driver. We were always made to feel safe, comfortable and well looked after by these two people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Long hours are spent on the bus that can be tedious. But that way, we got to see various landscapes, towns and villages, which enriched the whole experience for me. There were also early morning starts but were necessary in order to follow the itinerary. Especially the 4 am start in Kruger enable us to see the big five. A treat!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to make a complain about the Malealea Lodge in Leotho. It was the dirtiest place I have ever seen and totally unsuitable for tourist groups although the place seem to have bus loads of groups coming to it all the time. The kitchen allocated to us was terrible and had not been cleaned for a long time. The fridge where the food for the group was kept had black mold, the oven stank and had cockroach carcasses, the cupboards contained rotting food left behind by other groups, and the shelves of cupboards were rusty and were dirty. Especially the cupboards where drinking glasses were kept were terribly rusty and we were supposed to take the glasses and drink from them!!!! There was no hot water or sometimes no water to do the washing up. My shower cubicle had dirt caked on and had not been cleaned for awhile. I complained to the owner Mike on behalf of the group and showed him the state of the kitchen. Exodus must make sure that groups are taken to places that are clean (no one expects them to be luxurious but they need to be clean) as these can be a health hazard. I am going to review this lodge on Trip adviser asking people not to go there.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Jinny for taking the time to complete a review of her trip.  While we are pleased to read that she enjoyed the trip and would recommend it, we are sorry that she was disappointed with the accommodation at Malealea Lodge in Lesotho.  We have used this property on various trips in Southern Africa for a number of years, and have received generally very positive feedback, this being the first time we have received comments regarding hygiene standards at the lodge.  We were, therefore, very concerned to read Jinny’s review, and have passed them on to our local team to discuss with the mangers of the property.  We remain confident that this accommodation is suitable for our trips, but will continue to monitor the feedback we receive to ensure that our clients do not encounter similar issues on future trips.  Frances Spowart – Product Manager

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Susan Richards

    Could have been brilliant!

    Let down by inappropriate vechicle, poor logistics and frequent changes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the end of Table Mountain on hike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant , excellent flora and fauna knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives .

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Susan for her feedback, although we regret that she was disappointed by some aspects of her trip in South Africa.  While we usually get positive feedback for our Johannesburg to Cape Town trip, we have reviewed the comments we have received from customers who travelled on this departure, and have discussed the transport and logistics with our local team.  On this trip there were an unusually high number of accommodation changes, due to limited availability at the properties we usually use.  Although the alternative hotels and lodges were of a higher quality than those we normally stay at, regrettably we understand they had an impact on the ordering of the itinerary.  We do not anticipate future trips being affected in this way, and also feel it is worth mentioning that out of 24 reviews on our website, clients have given this tour an average of 4.3 stars out of a possible 5 (on the date of publishing) and we feel this is reassuring, however we are genuinely sorry that Susan’s experience was not so positive. John Penge - Product Manager

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Susan Richards

    Could have been brilliant!

    Let down by inappropriate vechicle, poor logistics and frequent changes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the end of Table Mountain on hike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant , excellent flora and fauna knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives .
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Dave Stroud

    A comprehensive and very enjoyable trip in this incredible country!

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip! This trip is pretty full on and many hours are spent on the bus, travelling from place to place. However, as the scenery is constantly changing this adds to the whole experience. Whilst not as wildlife rich as some other countries I've visited it still had it's wonderful moments. I didn't expect to see so many hyena's, an animal which I've never understood the reaction of many people; that being "they're so ugly". I've always found them to be beautiful! Lions eluded us but we did manage to see a leopard and African painted dogs, which felt very lucky indeed. Also spotted two young male giraffes squaring up to each other and practice fighting. That also felt like a rare privilege to see. If you want wide ranging experiences from a holiday this is definitely for you! I loved it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Exploring the Drakensberg mountains, where we did a small walk. I could very easily spend a whole week (or longer) in this one area alone. I actually felt this way many times during the trip so pinning down a single inspirational moment is an impossible task for me. As South Africa is such a large country, this trip was always going to a taster for me. I will definitely return and hopefully spend more time in the areas I most liked.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro was a fantastic guide and was always there to help; full of information, particularly that of South Africa's history, ensures that you'll always find the longer journeys interesting. I must also mention Joel, who was not only the driver but did many other jobs such as preparing the meals, particularly the braais (South African barbeque). We never went hungry! Even people who didn't like certain foods were catered for! Both guides worked extremely hard and I often felt that especially after the long drives the group could easily have eaten out. This would have meant that the guides, after the long driving days, wouldn't have to cook for the group!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I travelled in August and underestimated how cold it was going to be, particularly in the coastal regions. I should have packed a couple more thicker jumpers and some thicker trousers too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this trip if you want a fully rounded experience and something to give you a taste of this amazing country! This trip has certainly renewed my faith in Exodus as previously I'd had a couple of very disappointing trips, which I learnt were run by another company, based in Tanzania. Trips in the Southern African countries (at least the ones I've been on) have been run by Mask; these encompass all the best trips I've ever done. You'll not be disappointed!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Lizzy Hannah

    An awesome experience!

    I was so excited about this trip and was not disappointed as I thought it was outstanding. The pace was good, the scenery very varied, there were a lot of new experiences especially viewing the wildlife, and every day was different. The accommodation also varied but never disappointed. I loved the feeling that we were often away from the main tourist routes, even when we weren't, however there are a lot of long driving days with breaks to stretch our legs and take photos. The accommodation was very comfortable and every place we stayed was different, sometimes even with a fridge and kettle or occasionally a swimming pool. It was exciting arriving at each new place to explore what was special and different.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many moments it is hard to pick one. I woke up in a tented camp one morning to loud birdsong and heard a rustling beside me. It was a pair of zebras grazing. Seeing a snake eat a huge toad was exciting, and seeing a family of hyenas on the road in the Kruger National Park. Later we saw a pair of lions mating. I also loved the penguin colony at Betty's Bay and the seals lying about by the fish market in Cape Town. The view from our cottage looking out of the Drakensberg Mountains was stunning as well, especially watching a storm brewing up and then clearing later.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders and they were both great. They had so much knowledge about everything, the wildlife, the scenery, things of interest, bits of history. They were so dependable and good to be with, making sure everything went smoothly for everyone and keeping us well informed about what was going to happen day by day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of travelling and I was pleased I had plenty of audiobooks so I could listen and look at the scenery at the same time. I was also glad I took my hiking shoes as some of the hikes were on rough ground and they were more sturdy in wet conditions too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our first bus broke down and we got a replacement that was a bit smaller. My legs are short but it wasn't fun for people with long legs sitting at the back. I really liked the fact that most food was included because it was fun to eat together as a group and made budgeting much more straight forward.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Penelope Westmoreland

    Johannesburg to Cape Town AZJ

    The game drives were fun as we never knew what we would come across, e.g. white rhinos crossing the road and elephants with calves... There were beautiful national parks but different highlight(s) every day with ever-changing scenery - amazing views e.g. at Cape of Good Hope and panorama from Table Mountain. Swaziland was charming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing hippos play-fighting in Lake St Lucia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marvellous - Petro was hard-working, fun, patient and more, ably assisted by Andrew, equally good, and both good cooks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We drove well over 4,000 kms so, some days, long hours were spent in the rather small seats of the minibus but I wouldn't have wanted to miss anything we did see - luckily reference books and drinking water were provided, and stops fairly frequent. It was hot and humid in almost all regions we visited in February (fewer mosquitoes than I'd expected, lucikly) but there would no doubt have been lots more vehicles in the game parks in the dry, high season when there is less vegetation in a few months' time, so pros and cons. A couple of optional walks were tough-ish (I later heard) but I had opted out as there were alternative easier walks to do and nice places to wait.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing special to add - do go!
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Geraldine Yates

    Johannesburg to Cape Town

    A great trip, having thoroughly enjoyed the Cape Town to Victoria Falls some years ago, I was keen to experience a different part of South Africa. I was not disappointed. This was a great trip saw and experienced so many different and wonderful views of wild life including whales, good walking , a variety of accommodation and great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing leopard on one of our first game drives.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was great he has been leading this trip for many years and his knowledge of the countries the people and the animals was amazing. He kept the trip running smoothly and never seemed to get tired despite the early mornings and long drives.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lots of early starts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One last the best Exodus trips l have done enjoyed every moment of it. Thank you.