Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Nicki Ashenden

    Cycling through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam

    This was our third cycling trip with Exodus. It was an amazing journey and adventure and we loved every single moment of it. It was a fantastic way to see some ‘highlights’ of three beautiful countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt Cambodia - its such a beautiful country; cycling through villages in Cambodia and Vietnam; the wonderful night in the homestay; the food and the border crossings!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut - what we can we say, he is an absolute star and gave us such a wonderful holiday from start to finish. We have been really lucky to have had fantastic group leaders in our previous trips but Nut just stands out there. He has a wonderful sense of humour, makes you feel incredibly safe and well looked after, has such patience when he has to tell you for the third time as you are so tired when and where we are meeting for dinner or the morning, his knowledge is incredible. He’s amazing!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat - this has been said in previous reviews about the heat and this cannot be under estimated. We went early March and the cycling in Thailand was tough due to the heat. Nut was brilliant and shortened the distances between refreshment stops due to this but it is hard going. Don’t however let this put you off, the cycling is relatively flat apart from a few rolling hills, take padded shorts, there are plenty of opportunities for washing so pack light. Insect repellent is also a must. Be also prepared for long days - it’s a tiring trip but definitely worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful cycling holiday - we were a group of 5 and became a “cycling family” very quickly even spending our free evenings together. We laughed our way round and supported each other through three different countries. We can not recommend this trip enough.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Walker

    A fantastic adventure!

    The trip was great from beginning to end, the cycling was great, the guides were knowledgeable, the support crew looked after us, the other adventurers were class acts and it was an amazing way to see Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the children of Cambodia cycling to school was amazing, in a country that has suffered so much this was heartwarming to see. Cycling through the rural Vietnam and seeing village life was a privilege and put the rest of the country into context.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Seen was outstanding, his knowledge, helpfulness, caring attitude and sense of humour got us all through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some sun sleeves, they’re like arm warmers but just keep the sun and uv off during the heat of the day, they’re like £6 on Amazon. Drink plenty of fluid, there’s always some on offer, don’t take clip on pedals you don’t need them. (IMO) take something to clean your water bottle and do this every night. Enjoy the company of your fellow travellers and don’t pack to much on our trip the lightest packer packed 6kg and the heaviest around 30kg. I came in at 12 and took way too much stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was nervous about booking this trip, but it was the best decision I’ve made in a year, there was no reason to worry. I did no prep and had a fantastic time.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Mills

    Cycling across Cambodia and Vietnam

    The trip took us through some rural scenery in the Far East. It was a treat to see the real country as well as the big cities. I was pleasantly surprised by the level of back up from the support team. They seemed to have thought of everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It had been a bucket list thing for me to visit Angkor Wat. It was a serene moment when we first set eyes on the temples and even more so when a buddhist monk blessed our cycling team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Seen was outstanding. His professionalism, helpful nature and positive attitude was inspirational. Does this man ever have a bad day?!? He handled the situations presented by our group with discretion and efficiency. I give him top marks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My best advice is to pack only the basics. The bikes are suited to normal street shoes/trainers and there’s only a need for one water bottle on the bike as there are plenty of refreshment stops along the way from our snacks kitty. They even supplied electrolyte powder for the water. I took a tumble in Vietnam and destroyed my crash helmet in the process. Thankfully, my skull survived.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’m glad that the Exodus philosophy to responsible travel extends to home stays and stopping for lunch with local families. It’s great to support these communities with our custom. As a bonus, the food was delicious and authentic. I hope that you enjoy the experience as much as I did.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Marie Longworth

    Great trip!

    Great opportunity to see 3 countries! Great leader!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While sad it was wonderful to bear witness to the relatively recent history of both Cambodia and VIetnam and also great to see the lovely welcome we got!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I returned from Sri Lanka in October and thought the legendary Suresh was thee best Guide ever, Where to start with Is!! She was just fabulous! She looked after us so we’ll and was always one step ahead in organizing everything. At the border crossings she brought pens for filling out the forms and even spelled out the names of the hotels that we had to put on the forms. She stopped the traffic with a firm hand which made us feel very safe but she was always very gracious in her acknowledgment of those that stopped! Her Tinglish (English) was excellent and she was never off duty. She never stopped and was unfailing courteous at all times! The support team in the three countries were great too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat! The cycling was very doable but oh soooo hot!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Philip Morley

    A must for new travellers to this region

    As a second time traveller to this area I had seen many of the sites by coach. Cycling is so much better allowing time to absorb the many natural wonders and culture with the wind through your hair. Our tour leader, nick name IS, a fully committed Thai lady, gave 110% to everything for the group, including the 2 boarder crossings that looked like something from a James Bond film!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having seen many of the natural wonders previously, and an appreciation of the countries history, for me the stay over in the Mekong delta Homestay was my highlight. This was tailored for our group only and included a ferry transfer, evening cooking lesson and traditional entertainment with musicians and dancers; an evening of great memories.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ,”IS”. Was inspirational. As said, she gave 110% commitment to the group ensuring everything was in place, put in place or corrected where found wanting. I can’t sing her praises enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, please check with Exodus shortly before departure that all travel documentation is in place, particular if flying with Malaysia Airlines. We had trouble at check-in and we’re not allowed to board until we had signed an Airline Waiver of no responsibility; this caused some angst and was embarrassing holding up other travellers in the check-in queue.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the issues at check- in on departure, everything ran extremely smoothly; this was due to the efficiency and committment of the tour leader. The only other point is that some hotels outside of the main cities were wanting! Mainly due to plumbing issues, i.e. blocked toilets and flooding bathrooms. We had to change room once and others in the group similarly.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Virginia Morris

    Wonderful contrasting country cycling

    This tour gives a great overview of the 3 countries visited with differing food, landscapes and people. Our group was small (only 9: Brits and Americans) which gave us a very close bonding time together and our leader 'Is' was outstanding in her warmth, compassion and sense of humour. The pace was faster than expected and yet although we cycled further than I have experience of, it was completely manageable and I was never tempted to get on the bus. It's hot and sweaty but virtually flat the whole way. There is more traffic and car fumes than anticipated and it felt a bit risky at times, but 'Is' had her eye on us the whole time with help from the crew. The food is wonderful and as a gluten free vegetable lover I was in heaven. There really is no need to bring anything extra except perhaps a bag of muesli. The cycle snacks are never ending and delicious. Culturally, we were indulged in many new tastes, sights and sounds from spiders, silk worms, frogs, rats and snakes to be eaten in the local markets to fabulous home cooking in the home stay. We toured Angkor Wat in its splendours over 3 days and enjoyed the boat ride in Cambodia and the homestay in Vietnam. Entering Vietnam, we experienced the New Year celebrations in a riot of colourful flowers and local costumes and decorations as well as some evening shows. We enjoyed every aspect of the trip and followed straight on to the Exodus Cycle Vietnam trip. This was totally manageable and I recommend it as a way of enhancing the experience if you can manage that amount of time and expenditure (see my review for that trip too). We loved the time spent in Saigon and also had a few extra days in Bangkok at the start to acclimatise to the time zone difference and the weather. The hotels along the way can be basic but all are clean and comfortable and most have swimming pools. Laundry is easy to do. Leave space in your suitcase for shopping. There are lots of possibilities along the way for cheap and colourful clothing, crafts and food items. The history of war can be hard to digest and the visits in Pnom Penh quite devastating. But we were taken for lunch to a community restaurant project rehabilitating street children, which was so uplifting that we could see how the people have moved forward from their dark history with quiet hope, endurance and humility. We have so many great photos and memories but are already thinking about where to go on our next adventure. A big thanks to 'Is' and Exodus for this great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hearing about the Cambodia history and seeing how the people have forgiven though not forgotten all their strife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic in every way

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need to take snacks along. Don't take too much clothing and leave space in your suitcase.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Grant & Paula Reed

    First multi day cycle trip & certainly not the last!

    This was an excellent trip which has certainly encouraged us to look at another cycling holiday. Our guide, Rit, who was with us from Bangkok to Saigon was excellent, forever patient, informative and professional, he was a pleasure to be with. As we entered Cambodia & Vietnam we were joined by local guides for the journey through their country & they were also equally professional, as were all members of the support teams. Their humour certainly assisted us through some warm days.The cycle days were split quite well, with timely stops with lovely snacks & drinks supplied in some memorable settings. The trip covers some of the iconic places to visit in all three countries but also includes quite a bit of low key mixing with locals which was equally memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst Bangkok, Ankor Wat, Seim Reap, Phnom Penh, Mekong Delta & Saigon are certainly places to tick off a ''must visit'' list, some of the cycling through villages, stopping at local establishments & the general friendliness of the locals was equally inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit was brilliant, as were the local guides who assisted in Cambodia & Vietnam. The bus drivers were always where they should have been & the cycle support team were very supportive! We appreciated the Exodus leaders more so after joining another trip with another company immediately after this & had a very poor, disinterested leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would both consider ourselves fit despite being in our 60's. However don't underestimate the first three days; 28 miles, 55 miles then 52 miles is quite a challenge especially in warm conditions, fresh onto a new bicycle. Put the miles in before you go & you'll benefit. DEFINITELY take cycling shorts!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst we did have free evenings, some group members mentioned that another couple of free evenings (without an organised meal) wouldn't go amiss. Everyone mixed well & we met some lovely folks but being together from first thing in the morning to last thing at night on so many days could have been cut back slightly.
  • Reviewed January 2019

    WOW brilliant trip

    It was a brilliant trip . Very well run. The cycling was varied from long straight roads in Thialand to rough tracks along the Mekone valley . It was my first cycling trip and I'm now looking to do another. The support from the team was excellant , I was often near the back of the ride and thier was always a team member with us. . They were very supportive and encouraging . The bikes were well serviced. The stops for snacks had lovely fruits and drinks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ankor Wat was the best site we saw. The best cycling was along the Mekone river , along rough tracks through villiages . You got the real sense of the place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rik was brilliant , always thier to support and encourage.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes stated that the speed would be 8-10 miles per hour , I was at the back of our group and I was doing an average speed of 12-15 miles per hour , the lead pack was even faster.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Gill Fowkes

    Excellent trip and experience with a brilliant tour leader - Nuts

    This trip was a great experience and the best cycling holiday we have been on to date. Our tour leader Nut was outstanding, he could not have done more to ensure everyone on the trip had a great holiday, we could not rate him more highly. The trip itself was well thought out and we covered so much in just a few weeks. The highlights included: Cycling in Vietnam, particulalry down the muddy tracks! the homestay in the Mekong Delta, the Killing Fields and the variety of food in each country. I would recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of all the people, the greetings from the local children and seeing Ankor Wat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was an outstanding tour leader, he thought of everything, he gave attention and checked on all group members and worked really hard to ensure that everyone had a great holiday. Looking after a group of 16 with a variety of needs and abilities is no mean feat and he handled it brilliantly, we could not fault him and he had a really positive impact on the enjoyment of our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip it is a really good mix of cycling and sightseeing. Read all the info sent by Exodus and you will be well prepared.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Barry Ford

    Outstanding adventure

    There will simply be not enough space to detail all the great experience we had on this trip. Firstly our guide Nut, was outstanding and he ensured we that we covered off of everything that was available to us. Sights, sounds, experiences, feelings, emotions, tastes and the list goes on! Apart from a positive sweeping endorsement about this trip, below are a handful of highlights as felt by us. 1. Nuts food recommendations. 2. The Killing Fields in Cambodia. 3. Saigon. 4. The Thai/Cambodia crossing. 5. The greetings by all the children in Vietnam. 6. All the sights available to you whilst riding a bike. 7. The amazing support staff. 8. Majestic temples. 9. The accommodation in Phnom Penh. We highly recommend this trip to anyone who would like a unique adventure through Thailand/Cambodia and Vietnam. If you are not a bike rider thou, best you do some preparation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Venturing through the Temples and understanding their existence and history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding, we cannot speak more highly of Nut and the job he did. We thank him for making our trip what it was. My partner Kym is vegetarian (no seafood) and Nut ensured she was catered for and in fact opened up many options that she had never tried or thought about. Thank you Nut.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    pay your money and go!!!! Just do a bit of bike training.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No we just cannot wait to do the Hanoi to Saigon ride.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106