Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Clifford Kienlen

    Prague to Budapest

    Exceeded expectations. Great guides, driver and fellow cyclists. Tour is an interesting combination of rural and great cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our last meal as a group. Good companions

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent combination of cycling know how and narrative about the history of what we were seeing which included his experience of living under communism. I think he should make sure group is engaged before giving a briefing. Saying “ Gather around the map. I want you all to know where we are going.” once or twice would make all the difference. As well, if possible face people on the bus when relating some interesting history or giving some crucial information. Otherwise some miss key parts of what is being said.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Kick back and enjoy.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Phil Goyen

    Prague to Budapest ride

    Great ride through the rolling hills of Czech of republic and on through to Austria, Slovakia and Hungary. Many interesting stops along the way. Glad I did some training before the ride as we had some windy days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding along the old Iron curtain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Dana were great. I required my brakes to be switched to accommodate my hands and even though I had some bike problems and switched three different bikes, Peter gladly switched for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training, will make the trip much more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thought everything was well organized but personally would have had shorter stops along the day and arrived at the towns earlier to enjoy more of the towns.
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Cycling in four wonderful countries

    This was my second Exodus trip and it was great as the first one. Dana was delightful, always willing to assist you with any request. She was assisted by Lubos. A very good driver and mechanic, always with a smile in his face. We started the trip in the busy city of Prague , after a few days in the city I was so happy to get away. We got to the lovely town of Cesky Krumlov, it was a very relaxing day. After the first day the cycling got more challenging, we cycle through the hilly countryside. It was beautiful but really hilly. I’m not that good at hills since I lived in “FLAT” Florida. All the cities we stop in the Czech Republic were memorable; Trebon, Telc, Mikulov. I will love to visit them again. The tour of the winery in Mikulov, so much fun. The Czech Republic beer and ice cream unforgettable. The cycling tour of the city of Vienna is a most. And in the afternoon go and jump in the Danube. The ride from Vienna to Bratislava was beautiful, a very long relaxing ride.Then we’re in Hungary, time go so fast. Finally the magnificent city of Budapest. Just AMAZING!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On day six on our way from Telc to Mikulov (a very hot day) we stop in a small river and Dana and some of us jumped in the water. It was so hot that we didn’t care. It was fun...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana was excellent. Since she was the only leader in our group she was always making sure that everybody was accounted for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy your trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Almost all the riders had issues with the bikes, chains coming out. Maybe the Company should consider new bikes.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Liam Curran

    4 capital cities and 3 currencies in just 10 days.

    First few days of cycling are quite difficult as there are a lot of hills. For the rest of the trip the cycling is mostly very easy and flat. You will visit 4 countries and have to get used to managing 3 currencies. Food is fresh and portions are big. Bratislava is by far the smallest capital on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling from the hotel in Vienna directly to the hotel in Bratislava in a day. Not difficult but very statisfying.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Prague go a few days early, as there is not really anytime to sight see on the trip. There are a lot of hills on the first few days. Even though you will say in 3 and 4 start hotels they tend not to have any soap or shampoo in the rooms.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Keith Lumley

    Excellent First Trip

    This was my first Exodus trip and wasn’t sure what to expect. From the first day of arrival the Exodus team Peter and Danke were exceptional in every aspect of the planning, logistics and guidance through the trip. The equipment (cycles) and were high quality and fit for a dual on and off road experience. I’m so impressed by the trip and the support that I have plans for two further in the next 18 months. A truly inspiring experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cohesiveness of the guides and our group on tough days where the weather was poor and the terrain challenging. We all stayed together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was exceptional in terms of his support, knowledge of all locations and accessibility for all group members for the slightest thing. He really showed exceptional professionalism and commitment throughout the tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Feel free to take your own seats and pedals as that’s where you spend most of your time riding! Comfort is critical so use what you are used to. Also check the temperature ranges to ensure you have suitable clothing to accommodate those changes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have no hesitation in recommending Exodus and would be happy to receive queries from clients regarding this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Carolyn Jacobson

    Best Holiday For a Long Time

    First time in Europe and first Exodus trip. Fantastic!!! We loved the itinerary and where it took us. The backroads through farmland, orchards, vines and forests were just sensational, so picturesque. Had to keep pinching myself that this was real. Dana and Peter, our guides were awesome, and the bikes were great. The few times they let us down Peter was able to get them going again or swap it out for a spare bike on the trailer. The accommodation varied from basic to very well-appointed, but the beds in every one were as comfortable as ours at home. All in all we learned a lot of history, enjoyed sensational company with our 11 fellow bike riders and relished in our first taste of Europe

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to finish each day of the ride, unscathed (not one bingle for any of our group) and without getting on the bus whilst the others finished the days ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana is a legend! She is a fantastic cyclist and guide. Her depth of knowledge around the history of each of the towns and cities and countries we visited was tremendous, She is well suited to this work.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!!! You don't have to be a Le Tour experienced rider, just average and you will be fine. The knowledge that if it does get that little to difficult the bus will meet throughout the day to pick anyone up. It was apparently unusually hot for June, however as northern Australians, our heat tolerance is reasonably high. Some of the others struggled though, being prepared with a hydration backpak would be a very good addition to your outfit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really couldn't fault anything that we did. We loved the local restaurants that Dana chose for us, the extra riding tours in the larger cities took us to places we would not have found otherwise in the short time we had in each. There was one thing that we would suggest Exodus changes; that is the hotel in Budapest, not for the rooms or location, but for the breakfast hall. It was like a feeding frenzy with the amount of tourist buses that came and went whilst we were staying, very difficult to get a table and as hard as the staff tried to keep up, it was a bit of a nightmare.
  • Reviewed September 2018

    A great cycling holiday

    This is a wonderful trip through beautiful and historic villages, town and the cities of Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest. And a beautiful countryside between vineyard, sunflower fields and a peacefull forrest. Our guides Dana and Peter was excellent. Great humor, knowledgeable, friendly and a rock on the bike.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the wine cave. A very fun evening with tasted of many good wines.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana, Peter and our driver was very good and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip if you have any interest in central/eastern Europe. The countries have undergone a fantastic development after the cold war and the fall of communism.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jim Callahan

    A terrific cycling holiday

    This is clearly a carefully chosen itinerary made up of backroads through picturesque country side, forests, along rivers, across plains, through sleepy country towns and into the big cities of Vienna and Budapest. There are plenty of opportunities to sample local produce and learn about the history of this part of central Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the night in the wine cave sampling local wines with the vigneron himself, a jolly old fellow. Vienna was gorgeous, as was Bratislava and the southern part of Czech Republic, including Cesky Kromlov and Telch were superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides Dana and Peter were informed, friendly and professional, but the atmosphere was casual and relaxed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The days are generally light-moderate cycling for someone who cycles reasonable regularly and has moderate aerobic fitness and strength. The longest day approx 70km of rolling hills was a solid workout. Recommend this trip without hesitation.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Andy Beaumont

    If you like historical buildings/towns this is a brilliant trip

    The cities, towns etc we visited were amazing. We started in Prague which is a popular resort, so popular I was glad to get away. But then on the first day we arrived at Cesky Krumlov, (didn't he use to play for Chelsea?) which is an amazing Gothic town and a UNESCO site, I'd never previously heard of , but could easily return to and spend a long w/end there imbibing some of the excellent Czech beer. There is an optional walking tour of the town which is well worth going on. The next town we reached , Trebon, was also very interesting, and well worth a walk around. And then came another UNESCO , Telc with yet another fantastic cobbled town square. A couple of days later we arrived in Vienna which just shouts opulence. Do go on the optional bike tour of the city as it gives you a good idea of where to head to when you get free time. A couple of us went to a classical concert (not usually my kind of thing) in one of the large churches where they played classical music's greatest hits (Vivaldi etc) and where the acoustics are simply amazing. Oh, and don't forget the cakes to die for or of ! We then got to Bratislava, another interesting place where the leader takes you on another optional walking tour; worth taking again. Eventually we arrived in Budapest and by this time I was beginning to suffer from cultural overload but managed to squeeze in a visit to the parliament building and the basillica before retiring to the bar. Oh , I nearly forgot the cycling bit of the trip; it's graded as 3 but could easily be a 2 as there were very few hills ; a considerable amount of the time is on cycle-only tracks which is great if you want to natter to your fellow cyclists but does mean there is only a limited amount of vehicle support. The trip notes say there is only 10% without vehicle support but it was considerably more than that . Fortunately, the vehicle war around when we rode through an almighty thunderstorm when the hairs on your head stand up , then curl, and possibly smolder, even for the'follickly challenged' like myself . Also, there was the fact that there was no "tail gunner" mechanic, which meant that if there was a mechanical, the whole group had to stop whilst running repairs took place. The bikes themselves, were more "upright" than I am used to but proved to be very good for my back ; unfortunately they seemed to be prone to the chain coming off and jamming ; couldn't possibly be anything to do with the ability of the cyclists themselves !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Cesky Krumlov was a total surprise and absolutely stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader , Dana, was good ,giving lots of info on recent and distant history of the various places we visited (which in itself is quite remarkable as we went through 4 different countries) and booked up some good restaurants to eat in at the end of the day. It was hard work for her as there was only her on the cycling bit, and the driver of the bus seemed a bit lacking in motivation although he knew his stuff about the bikes.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Vanessa Andean

    Beautiful riding and excellent guides

    This is a wonderful trip through superb countryside stopping in lovely villages, towns and of course the cities of Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest. Our guides Dana and Peter were the best - knowledgeable, friendly, capable of fixing any problem. We would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the beautiful forests of Czech Canada

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip if you have any interest in central/eastern Europe
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106