Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elaine Willett

    This trip was awesome. One of the best cycling holidays I've done. The contrast in the scenery that you cycle through is amazing; mountains, passes, vineyards, the coast fabulous. Wine tasting at the end of a ride. Oh and the penguins!

    Great cycling, quite hilly but stunning, very varied. Great accommodation and very varied. Loved the penguins.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The penguins waddling down the street holding wings!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was amazing

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are quite a few hills so I would advise getting a few of these in before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go go go
  • Reviewed April 2019
    lyn Morrow

    cycling the cape and wine regions

    It was great trip thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery along the coast was stunning. Accommodation was wonderful the bus and bikes in very good condition.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of the passes without stopping along the way. Also the group support and that of the our leader Warren

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Warren was exceptional. He was passionate knowledgeable easy to approach for a chat and of course very conscious of our safety at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the moment holidays don't last forever.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    David Barker

    Wonderful Country, Wonderful Ride

    A challenging ride, for a rating of 3, through the beautiful countryside and coastline of this small part of Africa. Stopping for a few tastings of wonderful wines and visiting many iconic landmarks along the way. Add to this the natural enthusiasm and deep knowledge from the guide and a lovely group of people to share - this really was the most memorable and amazing trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride from Simonstown to Cape Town on the last day. The climb through Chapman's Peak, the crystal clear Ocean, the lovely beaches with waves breaking were all amazing - then to finish by cycling past the 12 apostles and ending at the hotel was both inspirational and emotional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was very knowledgeable, has a deep love of the country and clearly is a very accomplished rider. He went out of his way to accommodate the little things that such a tour inevitably brings (a late request for optional trips, additional sections to ride, additional wine tastings etc) and did this with his full enthusiasm. Thank you for making this a truly memorable holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is relatively hard ride for a rating of 3. This should not put people off as there is full vehicle support, but ensure the training has been done and be prepared to hop on the vehicle at certain times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy this lovely country.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Keith Dipper

    A really amazing trip

    The route of this tour encompassed all types of terrain which provided stunning views. The accommodation mainly in guesthouses was so much more interesting than staying in posh hotels. The tour guides took us to some really good restaurants and were informative and helpful adding substance to the cyclin.g

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cape of Good Hope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ensured the tour went off smoothly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    TAKE factor 50 suncream

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A gazebo would have been nice to,provide some shade when we stopped for refreshments
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Keith Dipper

    A really amazing trip

    The route of this tour encompassed all types of terrain which provided stunning views. The accommodation mainly in guesthouses was so much more interesting than staying in posh hotels. The tour guides took us to some really good restaurants and were informative and helpful adding substance to the cyclin.g

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cape of Good Hope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ensured the tour went off smoothly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    TAKE factor 50 suncream

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A gazebo would have been nice to,provide some shade when we stopped for refreshments
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jill Baker

    Ride those coastal roads!

    Stunning cycling on rugged coastal roads, spectacular gorges, though balanced by less inspiring cycling alongside wheat fields on long straight undulating roads. Some cycling on main roads with hard shoulders. Overall, cycling is a great way to see the area. Plenty of wildlife seen, land based: springbok, ostriches, blue cranes, hawks, buzzards, antelope, hamsters, tortoise, and the big 5 wet ones: penguins, seals, dolphins, sharks and whales. The wine estates were pristine, wine tastings were slick. Also plenty of craft breweries for the ale drinkers. The friendliness and service at all restaurants, cafes and accommodation was excellent, with a real desire to please.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. sat on a rock next to the ocean watching the sunset over the water at the most southern point, Cape Agulhas (though this was not on the itinerary; i was late to dinner). 2. cycling Clarence Drive and Chapman's Peak along the coast, simply stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was a great leader, very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Adonia was also great, sharing the driving and cycle leader duties. The tour was very well organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your wits about you in the city/towns, there are those waiting to take advantage. Use caution at cash machines, don't trust anybody, even if in uniform.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jessica Rutledge

    Cycling, wine and Food!

    This was a wine and culinary cycling adventure. The landscapes were breathtaking and our guides informative and attentive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Cape summit. Those views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was an excellent cyclist who saw to everyone’s needs. He was knowledgeable and taught us about the communities we were visiting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes... some on our trip were surprised by the number of winery stops, cycling distances and meals included (but there were no surprises...)
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Peter Eggleston

    A great holiday/adventure

    Our first Exodus trip, and what a wonderful experience. The accommodation, cycling, trip leadership and support were all first class. There are two elements out of their hands - the flight (in our case with BA on superannuated 747s) and the people who pay for the holiday. Our tour party was excellent, a great and disparate group of interesting and enthusiastic people. The less said about BA's performance the better. If we'd been unlucky enough to have been booked on the Thursday flight back to

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Three unforgettable moments: A whale watching trip from Hermanus that was the best (of quite a few) I have experienced. As my wife (who suffers from sea-sickness) said, I don't think we need to do one of those again. I can't imagine it could be bettered. Arriving at Barrydale after a longish bus transfer from Stellenbosch and a "undulating" 60 odd km ride everyone was quite tired and too late for the planned brandy-tasting. The recipe for a grumpy evening was complete, but instead it was the making of our group, bonding over a really good meal. The whole party getting to the summit of Chapman's Peak just before lunch on the last day's cycling at the same time after one of the most beautiful morning's cycling I have ever experienced. The shared experiences are the best.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was excellent. He was always enthusiastic, determined that we should eke out every last experience available to us, and always knowing where they could be found, whether it was a venue for our evening meal, a walk to a viewpoint (when we were all tired and were less than enthusiastic ourselves) or a drive to a local beauty spot for a pre-dinner G&T. His team, Bradley and Voyu were similarly motivated to go that extra km to help us all enjoy the adventure as much as possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! I doubt that you'll regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cycling is challenging in parts, as much due to the wind as the gradients, but you can do it! (and if you can't the bus is not far behind you!)
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jenny Martin

    A stunning holiday!

    If you're looking for a great mix of exercise, wine-tasting, wildlife spotting and camaraderie, this is the trip for you! As this was our first organised holiday we approached it with some trepidation, but our expectations were surpassed many times over. Every day brought new experiences - different landscapes and vistas, unfamiliar but delicious wines, the highest quality local dishes, friendly hosts and quirky accommodation, and a developing bond between all participants as we slogged up the inclines and sailed down the descents.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many highlights over the 10 days to mention here, but the satisfaction of riding over majestic mountain passes to be rewarded with beautiful vineyard visits, seeing whales, sharks and penguins up close in their natural habitat, and swimming in the Indian ocean were some of the best.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Peter, really went the extra mile to make our trip special. He offered numerous little add-ons that were hard to resist, e.g. a hike up to a view point overlooking the Whale Coast in Hermanus, and G&Ts above Cape Agulhas at sunset. We left South Africa with so many special and unique memories thanks to the hard work of Peter and his team, Bradley and Voyu.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do get reasonably fit for this trip as, although the distances aren't massive, the route is undulating and, at times, hilly, and it can be windy. You will enjoy it more if you do. You also need to factor in the wine-tasting - this is bound to make your legs a little heavier in the morning! Be open-minded about the accommodation - our hosts offered comfortable, quirky rooms that gave a fantastic flavour of local life. I will never stay in a chain hotel again!
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Cycling The Cape And Winelands

    A wonderful cycle trip and an excellent introduction to the Cape (and South African wine!). Some great cycling (Franschheok Pass, The Whale Coast) mixed with plenty of wine tasting and a day's recuperation whale watching in Hermanus. The cycling itself is graded as moderate though a grading of moderate/challenging would be more appropriate, especially if you are not a keen cyclist.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the Franschheok Pass. After having to walk up hills in Central America 18 months earlier it felt wonderful to be the first of the group to reach the top!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was an excellent tour leader and interacted with everyone in the group. A wealth of knowledge and nothing was any trouble for him. Our second guide/driver Adonia is a great guide in the making.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The afternoon trip to the game park was, sadly, a bit of a let down with very few animals visible.