Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

186 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Kevin Munns

    You certainly won’t forget it

    The most appropriate comment I read before booking the trip, which turned out to be true, was “not for the faint-hearted”. Amen to that. It certainly was a memorable trip, but its probably an itinerary best suited to an 11 or 12 day tour, but crammed into 9 instead. I’m sure Exodus have a great angle on the market by doing so much in a trip that people only need to take a week off work for, but the 7 hour drive after landing for people who booked the group flight, three sunrise starts, another 5am arrival after a night on the train, all added together is a bit much for some people. What we saw was life-changing in lots of ways, especially the evening aarti ceremony in Varanasi, but who knows what else we would have noticed with a bit more sleep!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The aarti ceremony in Varanasi, an optional extra suggested by our excellent guide, was truly something that forced you to put your camera down and try to make sense of what was happening. Lots of other moments were incredible too, the Taj Mahal, walking aroung Jaipur for the first time, the Amber Fort outside Agra, etc etc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent. It was the end of the season and he had probably done a trip too many by this time, but his experience showed through at key moments, and made the trip for us. For example, advising us not to look towards the Taj Mahal before reaching the main gate, (the opposite of what the local guide was telling us), his knowledge of the best dishes in the restaurants we went in, recommending the aarti festival in Varanasi, sorting out sleeping arrangements on a train with 7 people in two carriages at one end of the train and 5 i a carriage at the opposite end.. the list goes on

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At the very least book one extra night in Delhi before the tour starts, or do what we did and book two. Don’t take the group flight.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tailor-made extensions which we added were absolutely excellent. Forget having a Goa extension (how many beach resorts in the world are there better than India, and why would you choose even a good one when you knew it would be full of Indian men?), have a 4 or 5 day Udaipur extension instead, with a few optional activities, but lots of time to walk around the old town as well and absorb the incredible atmosphere there.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jo Browning

    Fabulous trip

    A full-on, fast moving trip with many highlights and a fabulous introduction to Northern India - its sites, sounds, colour, culture, hospitality, food and so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal at sunrise does not disappoint but the evening prayer ceremony at Varanasi was truly inspirational - impossible to explain but I am still taking it all in one month later.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay made our trip. A shining example of Indian hospitality and courtesy. He wanted to make our holiday the best it could be for us. He was a master at keeping us on the move, without feeling too rushed, and at juggling itineraries to make every second count. He had fabulous knowledge, endless patience, great sense of humour and definitely went 'the extra mile' to make our visit so enjoyable. Thanks, Ajay

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be realistic - some things (weather, public transport) are beyond the leader/itinerary's control. Go with an open mind and you will see and experience masses. I took sterling and it was easy to change at hotels. Take binoculars for the game drives.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing trip...
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jane Bellworthy

    Guides make this type of trip

    Our guide Naveen Bazaz was simply brilliant. Knowledgeable, a good listener meaning everything we wanted to do he found a way for us to do it, a great planner/organiser. Excellent English speaker and very welcome since my Hindi is non-existent. I fell and hurt my ankle quite badly just as I was meeting the group. The help I received from Naveen was brilliant as it was from my fellow travellers. Out of the 11 on the trip, one was a nurse and one a physio. Whenever we came across some steps, one of the group would be there to help me. Thank you everyone. It was a fantastic group and I am sure I speak for all in that we gelled well and enjoyed each others company. Overall, the best holiday of this type I have ever had, despite the pain in the ankle!! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing tigers on two separate occasions. Boat trip on the ganges and placing memorials of flowers, with tea lights, on the water. Very atmospheric. Eating in a street food restaurant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simply exceptional. I can't emphasize enough how good he was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, definitely! Take a water bottle with a covered drinking aperture and even then rinse in boiling water once or twice during your trip. I feel this is why I didn't suffer from 'Delhi Belly'. If you buy water and it is sealed still pour into your own water bottle. Take a swimming costume! All hotels have pools and a swim after travelling was wonderful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would certainly go with Exodus again. in fact they would be my tour guide of choice from now on. Thank you everyone.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Caroline Foster

    Excellent Tour

    Loved every minute of this tour. The guide very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone of any age age wanting to see India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip on the Ganges, the evening one especially as the ceremony was just an experience I will never forget. Trying street-food and just having our guide walk us through the streets of Varanasi was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just a joy to listen to and I learnt so much from him. He was very helpful and got our whole group together so much that we have all become friends.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared and enjoy the experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you so much to Naveen Bazaz for everything he did and making this trip for me most enjoyable.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Samantha Cook

    Taj and Tigers!

    If you're short on time but want to see the key 3 of the Taj Mahal, Tigers and Varanasi this is the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two very big highlights - the beautiful Taj Mahal at dawn and being lucky enough to see 7 tigers in Ranthambore NP.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Naveen is an excellent guide and just a genuinely nice person. He dealt admirably with our mixed aged group and it felt like he was one of us and not just the tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a fast paced tour! It's not a physically demanding trip but in order to see Varanasi, Agra, Tigers and Delhi in such a short space of time there are many hours spent in a coach and many early starts. However the rewards and sights you see are definitely worth the effort!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Evelyn Alpert

    Amazing!

    This is a fabulous trip for those wanting to begin knowing and understanding India. We were a very small group of only 7 and our guide Krishna was exceptional. I could have done without the overnight train, but I suppose it is part of the experience, and you will survive it (bring earplugs!). I combined this trip with the tiger safari, which was a perfect way to experience different kinds of India. I hope to get back to India soon again, and won’t hesitate to go with Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Varanasi without a doubt!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna is the best leader ever! He’s knowledgeable, helpful, funny, energetic, and he treated us like grownups. He would offer us opportunities to do things “out of the box” which inevitably turned out to be fun with more local flavor. He’s a treasure and you should try to travel with him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather! It was much cooler than I expected, based on everyone telling me how hot India is.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Annie (Ann) Railton

    Never again!

    Having done the colours of Rajasthan in 2014 I was not expecting a lot from this trip as I had seen most of the major sites before, however a last minute illness stopped my friend from going so I did travel anyway. I have to say I was more than disappointed with the standards of the hotels, I can’t say given a choice again I would stay at anyone of them. There was also a great lack of down time, as a matter of fact there wasn’t any, it seemed like a very rushed trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting home!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gaj was helpful, friendly, not terribly informative, a lot of the specific sites we had other more local guides which was fine who always had a little extra to take us to, like a shop/factory.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have travelled a number of times with Exodus and have recommended them to friends but I think you have this trip wrong, very wrong. A long flight from the UK followed by a flight to Varanasi the next day followed by an uncomfortable and frankly unpleasant overnight train ride to Agra was just too much. Too much in too short a time. I think I need to start looking at other providers.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Be Clough

    Excellent

    A great taylor made trip, maximum of two nights in anyone place, most (2 exceptions) of the guides were absolutely excellent, one driver for all but the first 4 days. Good hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight for me was the Pushkar camel festival and on hindsight I would have had another day here.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had different guides in each location with lots of local knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a lot to do on an evening once you’ve eaten, take lots of reading
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Joe Crook

    Excellent introduction to India

    Delhi to Jaipur for Pink Fort Jaipur to Ranthambore to see a tiger - and YES, we did see a tiger, plus crocodiles and other stunning scenery and wildlife. Ranthambore to Agra - Taj Mahal - I thought I would be indifferent to this but was blown away - the visit takes you there at sunrise - before the worst of the crowds - stunning. Agra to Varanasi by overnight train - the train was a bit of a shock to the system but delivered us safely. Evening boat trip on the Ganges to see the funeral pyres and the religious ceremonies - thought-provoking and moving. Morning boat trip on a much quieter Ganges - Awe Inspiring - take the time to stop and think about where you are - and what this place means to so many millions of people - sunrise over the Ganges, from ON the Ganges - very profound moment. Another overnight train back to Delhi - we knew what to expect this time so less of a shock. Sadly train was delayed so the planned 12 hour trip took 20 - but the scenery is interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Floating on the Ganges watching the sun rise over the Ganges - I am not a person of faith, but I was struck and genuinely moved by how lucky I was to witness an event that would be life-affirming to countless millions of others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jatin - the fixer. Never flustered. Never impatient. ALWAYS with a solution - a real professional. Plus, warm and generous, well informed and very informative. Your first visit to India can be a daunting experience. Jatin was a reassuring and comforting presence, and, simply, a very nice man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive a day early. Many in our tour alighted from a 7 or 8 hour flight from the UK and got straight onto a 5 to 7 hour bus trip..... I'm very glad we had day and a night in Delhi before setting off on that one. Also, ensure you take plenty of anti-septic hand gel with you. I really don't know if they saved us from 'Delhi-belly' but if nothing else, it gives you great peace of mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm rather disappointed that when Exodus organised a transfer from the airport to the hotel, they charged me £41. When the hotel arranged a taxi back to the airport at the end of the holiday it cost 900 or 100 rupees - £9 or £10. I'm prepared to pay a little over the odds for the reassurance of being met and helped to find a car, but £41 does still feel at least twice what I think would be fair.
  • Ronish Baxter at Agra Tour

    I, Ronish Baxter was on Agra Tour in month of September, 2018. I like the place agra on the basis of heritage. There are a lot of old and ancient places to visit such as Taj Mahal, Buland Darwaza any more. I think if a person is religious then also anyone can go for agra tour because neat by Agra there is Vrindavan and Mathura where we can do our religious deed. As, we know Agra is famous for Taj Mahal which is in the list of seven wonders of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to Taj Mahal and I felt like heaven. It is true that it is Wonder of the world. White Marble, Awesome. No words to express my feeling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good and co-operative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, anyone can go for. It is economical and safe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for this pleasant trip ~Ronish Baxter