Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Judy ONeill

    Amazing adventure even though the weather was unusually cold with a mixture of rain, sleet, and snow

    Excellent trip with Exodus. This was my second adventure with Exodus and this one was all that the reviews say. Sara was excellent ! She was very patient, even taught some of us new hiking skills. She kept us all motivated throughout the days despite the weather. Sara was brilliant with her switching up the routes to accommodate the unusual weather keeping us all safe and comfortable as possible. It was fun , challenging, and I would like to do it again with sunny weather. The group was awesome and were fun as everyone kept each other motivated and laughing. The food was wonderful and plentiful. Sara does such a great job of handling all the details and making it a true holiday! I loved not having to plan "where and what to trek and what & where to eat"...a real treat not to be "in charge". My daughter a mother of two young children and I her mother really appreciated the true challenging "holiday" from our many responsibilities back at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sara helped me as I was ready to give up the first day. But she dropped back with me and taught me how to go at my pace not the pace of the group. I was struggling with "breathing" when I was trying to rush to be with the pack when going straight up hill. We live on a flat island so not many opportunities to train for uphill climbs. I found the upward climbs a little tough but the downhill grades were a breeze. . With her patience and guidance I was able to do all the hikes and enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment. "Elvis" helped me not go down the wrong path so if in doubt follow the dog Elvis!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Has an amazing spirit and wonderful leadership skills. She is the best guide I've encountered to date. Hope to do more trips with Exodus in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack the rain gear as you may need it! Also the gloves and hat were a blessing for this unexpected chilly and snowy weather.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lesh Karan

    Exceptional tour leader/guide

    Despite the weather, which could have put a real damper on the trip (pun intended!), the trip was made exceptional by our guide, Sara Bull, and the fabulous people we had in our group. I would recommend (and do) any tour that Sara is leading. The farmhouse and surrounds are stunning, too - quintessential Tuscany. And the food cooked by Angela and Flora, delicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sara Bull - how she understood everybody's needs and catered accordingly - from the gear to the trekking and even the food. Sara is encouraging and supportive. A wonder woman, really. She also made sure my dietary requirements were met - and that the food for me was just as delicious too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above. :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please read the trip notes and bring the trekking gear requested. It's not a walk - but a hike up mountainous terrain, so you need proper hiking boots with a good, non-slip tread and preferably waterproof. Waterproof pants and jacket also worthy to bring. And poles.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elizabeth Plumb

    Walking in Tuscany.

    Great week despite the weather! Sarah was an excellent guide. She knew the area extremely well and was able to make adaptations to the walks depending on the weather and confidence of the group. The farmhouse was comfortable with great food. The make you own packed lunches also worked well. Would definitely recommend this trip, but if I was going again, I would probably go a bit later in the year when the weather is more likely to be settled. A trip to Lucca on the free day would be my suggestion. A lovely little town, compact with plenty to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed being guided by Sarah, over the rocky scrambling part of the walk to the rock arch. I would have been nervous, but Sarah was great at confidence building and got us all through it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah was the best group leader I have met. She was very quickly aware of everyone’s abilities and managed us very well. She was very knowledgeable about everything and I felt very safe with her. I would chose any trip I knew she was going to be leading in the future!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the walking is quite steep, but manageable if you are reasonably fit. I would go in June or September rather than April when we had very mixed weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All well organised, including the office staff. We changed our flights a couple of times which seemed to cause no problems. I wonder if some trips should have a Manchester group flight as out of 13 of us, only 2 people came on the group flight from London. 8, came from Manchester!
  • Reviewed May 2019

    What a wonderful introduction to Walking Holidays and this region of Tuscany!

    This was my first experience of an organised walking holiday and I can’t say I was disappointed. Stunning scenery, delicious food and marvelous company. The weather left a little to be desired but didn’t really spoil the week at all. When we weren’t walking we were looked after by Angela and her team at Braccicorti. Always a warm, welcoming smile and sometimes a chat over a cup of tea! The accommodation in the farmhouse is simple but comfortable and warm, with plenty of communal areas to discuss the day’s activities or find a quiet corner to just relax. I love my food and I loved the fare dished up during the week. Traditional, homely, delicious and plenty of it. I have got to give a special mention to our Tuesday guide, Pierluigi, whose enthusiasm, in the face of lashing rain, knew no bounds. And finally, our wonderful guide for the week, Sara, who had a wealth of knowledge about the area’s history and geography as well as its flora & fauna. Her leadership throughout the week made it for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although the scenery was stunningly beautiful with so many Instagram worthy vistas, it was the people – group members, our hosts and Sara our guide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can i say...Inspirational. A wealth of knowledge and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and make sure your fitness is up to muster. Although nothing extreme, there’s a fair amount of altitude to be ascended.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy…it’d be hard not to!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jan Grace

    Fabulous!

    I would recommend this trip to anyone. A level of fitness is a must - certainly more than a few brisk walks around the block - it's challenging but rewarding! Sara - our guide - was absolutely amazing - calm, knowledgeable, patient, kind, tough. She looked after us as a group and individually - nothing was too much trouble. The farmhouse is amazing and the family who prepared our meals were so welcoming, kind and fun! The meals by the way - beautiful simple, rustic, locally sourced food - every evening we ate at the farmhouse was a treat! The idea of being able to create your own lunch from the choices laid out was a brilliant idea and you were able to take as much or as little as you wanted. Breakfasts set you up for the day! The accommodation is lovely with real charm and plenty of warmth, heating, drying room, roasting fire in the lounge when cold and a swimming pool with amazing views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many - the walks up the mountains, the valley walk, trip into Lucca - a beautiful roman town with so much history and beauty. Meeting so many interesting and kind people who made the week that bit extra special. A superb guide and the kindness and friendliness of the family

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A....MAZ...ING! There are not superlatives to describe Sara - it will be difficult to find a better guide on any future trips - that's for sure!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the advice on the web-site - the right walking gear and walking poles are a huge asset for this week. There are 2 tough walks but certainly do-able and worthwhile - I felt a real sense of achievement at the end of the week in spite of a wobble on day 2!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for the experience. It will remain with me for quite some time to come. Thank you to the other people who joined the group and made it a week to remember...…..
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Regine Page

    I would do it again!

    An unknown region of Italy, mountainous and craggy, with peaks still covered in snow at the end of April. Although the weather was predominantly grey and wet, we made the most of it, and it was a wonderful week. In fact, the last walk was enhanced by the fog that gave the forest a mysterious and mystical atmosphere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We walked to the rock arch of Monte Forato, a stunning wonder of nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is better than excellent. She is an extraordinary being, very inspirational. From the minute we met her at the airport, she was attentive to all, caring and adjusting to the needs of each individual in the group. Every stage was explained in advance, choice was given but wisely directed, her advice was gently given. I thought I knew enough about walking, but I learned more about using my walking poles, protecting against ticks, etc. She was eloquent when communicating the beauty of a place, a corner of the world she deeply loves. She has a great generosity of spirit, and no one in the group felt left out. Encouraging and motivating calmly. You could go to the end of the world with her. Pier Luigi took over the guiding for a lovely valley walk, when he explained the history of the Garfagnana and the customs of the region, while visiting villages. I enjoyed his company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are moderately hard, so take walking poles (some might be available on site) and good walking boots. Do not forget your rain gear!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Braccicorti agriturismo lodge is very welcoming. Angela and her team prepared delicious evening meals with local products. For lunch, no slab of bread and cheese, but an array of freshly made salads, local cheese, pesto.... As we were there at Easter, Angela offered a large chocolate egg which was shared between us, made of excellent dark chocolate. Honey came from the hives in the garden. Excellent wine. All to make a wonderful ambiance and camaraderie.
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Delivered as advertised, enhanced by the weather and autumnal colours. Excellent.

    A holiday that very much delivered as per the trip notes, with the varied hikes only being enhanced by the great weather and autumnal colours in the forests. A well established trip with a very experienced group leader and a good bunch of fellow travellers. For me, staying in one location is a plus, with only short minibus journeys required to reach the start point for each hike. And that one location was a lovely, relaxing one. The hikes themselves were of the activity level expected and challenging enough for the group. The rewards were great - generally involving walking through colourful beech or chestnut forests before reaching ridges and peaks with stunning views. Few other hikers were seen throughout the week. The hikes on days 3 and 7 stood out for me. All of the group visited Lucca on the "free day", which was a good choice, with plenty to explore for a good few hours. The trip also introduced me to the life of those living in the area, including exploring towns and villages. As would be expected, there are plenty of churches and other religious features.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick out one inspirational moment. It was more about the collective week and the varied experiences. But as noted previously, the hikes on days 3 and 7 were delightful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Clearly very experienced and able to handle any apparent eventuality (not that we really had any of significance). Worth noting that (due to EU driving regulations, I think) she was with us for four of the six whole days, plus the two travel days. She lead on all of the mountain hikes, and did so very well. For me, she did dwell too much on what she'd done over the years for the trip and for previous travellers rather than let us judge her on first hand knowledge. Maybe some like to hear this, but it was not for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You might be able to come up with an "essentials equipment" list more appropriate than the one provided. Towel and swimming things are only necessary if you intend to swim in the pool, and that it's open. I happily wore hiking shoes, not boots, and walking poles certainly near essential for many of us of a certain age. You most likely will need to carry 2 litres of water on some hikes. Visiting Lucca does seem like the obvious choice for the free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Could more be made of day 8? There are plenty of hours between leaving the farmhouse at 9:30 and checking in for the group flight at approx 16:00. Our group were taken into Castelnuovo di Garfagnana for a few hours, but it doesn't offer a great deal. Perhaps direct to Pisa would be more worthwhile.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mark Booty

    Excellent trip

    It was a fantastic trip with some relay amazing walks and views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains the open space and the views are breath taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The views the open space

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    it was perfect
  • Reviewed September 2018

    A Truly Fabulous Walking Holiday

    This was a fabulous trip from start to finish. Beautiful and diverse scenery, great walking, great weather, and a great guide (Sara Bull). The grounds and views from the farmhouse at Braccicorti are stunning and it really is a great escape from the normality of everyday life. It was lovely to be able to relax in the pool after a day's walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the ridge walks and scrambling so my favourite walking days were Monday when we did Dead Mans Belly and the Valley of Hell, Tuesday when we did Monte Tambura and Thursday when we did Monte Prado and Monte Cusna. Essentially I loved it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is an excellent guide, she goes above and beyond, although I think we were quite an easy going undemanding group. She's very knowledgeable about the local area, history and culture, and is a lovely person, really easy to talk to and get along with. She also does a lot of other high altitude treks so if you're interested in other trips it's worth picking her brains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If like me, you're not a fan of a continental style breakfast, bring some snack bars. You may also want to bring ear plugs for the night in the refugio. And remember to bring your swimwear for the pool.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Simply brilliant trip all round and I'd recommend it.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sarah B

    'Happiness from small things'

    ' 'Happiness from small things' is what we want to give our guests; peace and tranquillity from our countryside, and company with which to discover the secrets and beautiful areas of Garfagnana' so says the Agriturismo Braccicorti website - and this trip provided just that. I was a little apprehensive initially, never having done an Exodus trip before and because my own level of fitness wasn’t what it had been and should have been. Yet, those apprehensions dissipated when I met the group and discovered Tuscany. Great company in my trekking companions and leader, and kind hospitality from the family – an enjoyable and memorable break overall (despite the pain in my knees!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just stopping and taking in the breathtaking and spectacular scenery of the region, whilst walking or relaxing at the farmhouse. (and finding out that one member of our group had scaled Everest - three times!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz excelled at every level. In addition to being immensely knowledgeable and organised, she was incredibly industrious, understanding, caring, funny, helpful - and very, very patient! It was very evident that she was passionate about the region, the walking/activity and her role. I cannot believe she eats cake! A worthy runner up for the Tour Leader Awards in 2014 (check out the Exodus website!) – but very much a winner in 2018 ;-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore any apprehensions and go for it! Take mossie repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As others have commented - perhaps the trip could be extended to ten days? Or offer some dates for a ten days.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106