Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

46 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2016
    Elizabeth Lafferty

    Walking in Sardinia - May 2016

    This trip has the right mix of walking and free time. Two days walking, a sightseeing day and a free day and then two more days walking. As we arrived early on the Saturday and departed in the afternoon the following Saturday it felt like a longer holiday than a week. I loved the countryside, olive trees, farmland, mountains, incredibly beautiful beaches and crystal clear water, fascinating caves, lovely people, very kind and hospitable people. The family who ran the hotel were very welcoming and obliging and made our stay very special. The food was excellent and we were very well catered for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the walk to the Gorruppu Gorge and the walk up to Tiscali. Lovely shady paths through trees and great views. Also enjoyed the clambering over rocks. I really enjoyed the visit to the Grotta del Bue Marino. We went by boat on our free day and the cave is amazing! On the same day enjoyed a fish lunch and Vermentino (white) wine in the restaurant at Cala Gonone, overlooking the beautiful bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was cool! A fun personality and very polite and helpful. Kept everyone well motivated and was always attentive to individual's needs and kept the group together. He helped organise other activities for the free day and was always around if needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sardinia is a lovely island. May was ideal for walking, not too hot and lovely weather. Bear in mind that the walking is on quite stony paths so have robust footwear with you and socks that wick.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd go back to Sardinia, it's very relaxed and it's just what I needed.
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Peter Winter

    Walking in Sardinia

    A very full week with excellent walking....possibly too much food!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and personable
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Brian Churchill

    walking in Sardinia

    this was our 10th holiday with Exodus and as usual everything well organised at the resort. Good hotel with good food. Well varied walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting a great and varied group of people. Its the people that can sometimes reset your life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader however I consider that local leaders often add more to the holiday with their local knowledge of the area, culture and history.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We wre not happy with the late change of flight times considering we had to pay early to secure the flights.
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    A lovely Island. Great scenery,food and wine. The walks to the Gorge and to Tiscali were very interesting and well worth the effort. I enjoyed to day sightseeing, we ended up on a beautiful almost deserted beach. The hotel was very comfortable, with excellent food, the only downside was the lack of any outside gardens to relax in after the days activities, though there was a terrace.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The high sides of the Gorropu Gorge were awesome. Grotta degli Ispinigoli was well worth the visit with its huge column and the Bue Marino Grotto too. The climb to Tiscali was tough in places but well worth the effort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was excellent. Very helpful, patient and sociable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like the med with scenery, peace and quiet, good food and wine , then this could be the place for you. I would love to go back and see more of Sardinia as this trip concentrates on a very small area of the island.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    Group had a wide range of walking ability so may make sense to have 2 tour options graded accordingly. That way clients get an idea how hard the tour potientally could be. Also might be an idea to quote approximate mileage/kilometres the walks are likely to take for the average walker as well as the estimated time which is presently given.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gorrupo Gorge lived up to the hype.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric Woolley was very good and helpful. If he didn't know an answer he made sure he found out and advised us asap. Not a grumble but we thought his timing was sometimes awry for the walks. An hour became an "Eric hour" - usually about 65 or 70 mins. Not a problem as the group found this amusing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles could be more of a hindrance on the rocky slopes up to Tiscali. Many group members without poles found the going easier using both hands for leverage than those with poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would have been nice if the hotel had a swimming pool.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    Great walking, stunning views, amazing blue sea ... and way too much food!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scrambles up and along quite rocky paths to get to some stunning views on the walk to Tiscali.  The Gorrupu Gorge was amazing too.  Really enjoyed the hike along the coast on the last day - more great walking and fully justified the HUGE gelato I treated myself to at the end

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were a wide range of walking abilities in the group - Eric had a difficult job balancing the hares vs the tortoises, but managed to keep us together ... at least for the scenery and food stops though not always when walking on a clear path!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were really lucky with the weather, it was never less than 25C.  I was fine with walking trainers (Reeboks).  It was too warm for boots but they'd give better ankle support if needed.  Likewise take poles if you find them helpful, but I personally find it easier to negotiate rocky scrambles on all fours (where poles would get in the way)Walking sandals (Tevas and co) would be OK for the first day walk (all on roads), but no more than that.Main thing is to be prepared for some extended stiff scrambles (up rocky / bouldery paths) - the first part of the Tiscali walk and then the climb up to Tiscali are the worst - but generally the walking is pretty much on the flat.  I thought the first 2 days were more "A" grade because they were on paths / roads without much scrambling (unless you went up Gorrupu Gorge).  The last 2 walks were more "B" grade because of the more difficult terrain, but much more interesting because they were point to point rather than out and back along the same track.I was worried I'd struggle with an A/B grade walk because I'd done almost no walking the previous 2 months due to the dire weather back home and was fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take clothes with loose waist bands.  There's no shortage of food on this trip, and the staff at the hotel were great with the dietary requirements of the group (veggie, gluten free...)!  I don't think any of us lost weight.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    Sardinia has great beaches and mountains.Wonderful people and food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the sea after a gruelling walk.A beautiful blue green sea,transparent water and gentle warm sea breezes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was very kind and tried hard to meet the individual needs of all the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The rock is hard ,sharp limestone .Even the experienced hikers found the walks demanding.Would suggest Exodus reconsider reclassification to Moderate.Make sure walking boots are tried and tested with some heavy duty plasters. The walks are mainly linear and flora and range of wild life limited.The hotel was excellent -providing wonderful food and a relaxed family atmosphere. If you are interested in the history of the island then read up before you go as the local guides can be difficult to understand and some have a limited knowledge of the archaeology . The locals are friendly and helpful.They will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy all aspects of Sardinian life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The success of this trip depends on the dynamics of the group.If they are supportive ,inclusive and have a great sense of humour then you will have a great time.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    An excellent trip with variety, it ticked all my boxes with great mountain scenery and walking, archeology, lovely beaches and at that time of year (Spring) a mass of coloured flowers everywhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think my favouite was the Gorropu Gorge, but also loved the Tiscali walk, visiting the Blue Marino Grotto on my free day and the mass of Spring flowers and in particular the spectacular orchids.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was a good leader, but he did not have a great Knowledge of Italian which I think would have been useful on occassions. He was shadowed by Christine, who will do some of the future trips and she speaks Italian fluently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I did not have a problem with any of the walking and bit of scrambling on the Tiscali and Cala Luna walks, but some in the group were not so happy and there was a discussion at the end of the holiday whether it was slightly undergraded and whether some parts of the itinerary should be modified. To my mind it would miss out some of the best bits, so I think the holiday should stay the same and perhaps modify the grade slightly if felt necessary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have been on the Evia and Amalfi holidays which are the same grade, but slightly easier, as I like a sea and mountainous holiday in the Spring when it is green and floral, and Sardinia was my favourite.  As a Coeliac I would recommend this holiday to anyone requiring a gluten free diet as the Hotel S'Adde went out of their way to provide for the diet.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    Fantastic walks, all of them interesting, excellent guide and lovely food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final walk along the coast to Cala Luna followed by an afternoon on the beach and boat trip back was the highlight for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rudy was an excellent group leader, very organized and helpful and great at keeping an eye on all members of the party

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring boots and shoes, the walking is quite varied and you don't need boots everyday

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a great holiday - book it
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN SARDINIA

    A chance to do some lovely walking and meet some like minded people. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the last 3 walks in particular, each offering a chance to experience different aspects of the area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader did a fantastic job making sure that all group members had a good time/had their needs considered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dorgali is only a small town so be prepared to make plans to either explore further afield or take books etc. entertain yourself on the rest day.