Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

60 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    A fantastic trek for anyone passionate about mountain walking. October was an ideal time to travel with a crystal clear sky, warm days and naturally chilly to very cold evenings.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching ABC ( Annapurna base camp ) The mountionous surround was spectacular. Sunrise and sunset not to be missed.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent. A professional leader. His foremost concern was always on the safety and wellbeing of the group so that we could enjoy the trek to the max. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness is important. Ensure a wardrobe that suits very warm days and eventual very cold evenings  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The assistant guides were excellent and should be recognised for their endurance, safety mindset and care of the group. Porters were outstanding! these wonderful athletes should be constantly recognised for their endurance and modestly - wonderful!I would strongly recommed this holiday. Any solo traveller should have no concern about any aspect of this active holiday. Go for it!! 
  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    A hugely rewarding trip. Be prepared for very basic accommodation. Physically challenging but worth every bit of effort and hardship to get to the top.  We all run out of superlatives to describe the landspace and scenery but suffice to say you cannot fail to be hugely impressed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Annapurna base camp was a massive achievement for us all.  As a group we all got on very well and the spirit of the group helped us all up.  The base camp at Annapurna is absolutely stunning and the day spent wandering around the base of the mountains will live long in my memories.  Another great moment was the first hot shower after reaching the top ! I really needed that !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was passionate about the spirit of the mountains and beauty of the environment and it was a joy to have him as our leader.  He knew exactly what to do when people needed his help or advice on the trek and its no coincidence that we all made it.  We also had some really great guides who were happy and smiling people who were helpful and always lifted the spirits of the trekkers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You really have to be prepared to rough it during the trek.  So long as you dont mind the odd squat toilet, sharing a room for a few nights and being cold then you'll get on fine. It's worth it !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like walking and beautiful landscapes you have to think about doing this trek. It's 100% worth it.
  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    An outstanding trip that highlighted the magnificent range of beauty of the Himalayas.  Challenging but throroughly enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Annapurna Sanctuary surrounded by snow capped mountains provides for me the highlight of the trip.  The sunrise provides the icing on the cake.  In addition the farmland and the tropical rainforests provide a real insight into some of the wide variety of ecosystems in this wonderful country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group was brilliantly led by Prasant who provided excellent leadership.  He is very knowledgable about the area and showed a very caring attitude to all members of the party.  In addition his sense of fun and humour ensured we had a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit!  With one stretch of 3,700 stone steps and many thousand more you need to be certain that you can cope with these demands and also the altitude so slowly slowly is the answer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip whether you have been to the Himalayas before or not.  We had been to Everest Base Camp already and although Annapurna is not so high it is very varied and very beautiful.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    This is a fantastic trip to a really special part of the world. Stunning scenery, lovely people, a good physical workout, and an insight into mountain life. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky enough to have clear skies and a full moon at Annapurna Base Camp - a truly magical sight. From day 1 the scenery was spectacular. I hadn't appreciated how fertile the region was before going so was amazed by the forest, rivers, waterfalls, and of course the expected magnificent peaks. Sunrises and sunsets along the way with clouds and mist made for some dramatic views. Sunrise at Poon Hill was stunning. I'm glad we were right at the beginning of the season for this as it felt busy enough but I understand gets about 10 times busier at peak times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 guides - Hari and Indra. They were both excellent, couldn't do enough to make sure we were all looked after and OK, and had a great sense of humour too. They paced the trek perfectly meaning none of the group had any problems physically or with altitude. And I loved being woken up with a cup of tea every morning!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it now! Take twice as much memory for your camera as you think you'll need. I guess I'm at the extreme end but I took 1600 photos... Sigg water bottles make for great hot water bottles at night when it gets a bit chilly. The trek itself has quite a few steep ups and downs (most of which are stone steps) as you make your way across valleys. There's not really any such thing as flat on this walk so if that's not your thing then perhaps not the best trip. But the guides pace it really steadily so plenty of time to catch your breathe and enjoy the scenery. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I like to travel to new and different places, but if someone told me I could only go back to one place every year from now on and that place had to be Nepal I'd be really happy. I'm already thinking about seeing the Annapurna region in spring when all the flowers are out... 
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    Its an honnor and privilage to trek through one of the most beautifull parts of the world .allmost untouched, by what has become the rat race which we call home today ,the slow pace the fresh air the fresh food the friendly people ,god Iam ready to book another trip . WELL DONE EXODUS. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Undoubtedly 4.30am annapurna sanctuary ,a moonlight night, the surounding peaks a pearly whitebacked by thousand of stars with a silence you could almost here ,I felt like the only  person onthe planet .in a phrase (MAJESTICAL SERENITY.) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Indra Sunuwar Top Man always on hand to help or inform .a real guides guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, dont um and ar book.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    The panaroamic view from Poon Hill at sunrise was amazing.  During two weeks trekking we experienced life in the mountain villages and saw some great views.  Unfortunately due to snowfall and the resultant avalanche risk our group did not make it to MBC or ABC (so we didn't actually see the Annapurna Sanctuary), however we went on a revised route at lower elevations instead.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the sunrise at Poon Hill was the highlight (as we didn't make it to MBC or ABC).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prem our group leader was brilliant, supported by a team of three guides.  The whole team was very knowledgeable and friendly, and the trip was very well organised.  Safety of the group was also viewed as a priority, with the difficult decision of changing the route and not making MBC or ABC being taken due to the high avalanche risk. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I've never used trekking poles before, but found these very helpful on the many stone steps (both up and down) this route follows.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    Challenging enough for me. Amazing mountain backdrop walking through terraces and tiny villages, with the most excellent guides going - I cant praise their input too much - just a superb experience and this trip has helped my understanding of Nepal and its people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The total kindness, generosity and respect that the guides and people we met showed to us and to each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, best ever, capable in an emergency and totally trustworthy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare properly for the trip and keep luggage to a minimum, its unfair for the porters to be weighed down with unnecessary stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I`d do it all again tomorrow if I could afford to!
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    Wonderful walking in forested and farmed mountainsides.  Superb views from Poon Hill at sunrise, and expertly led by the guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Being on Poon Hill at sunrise (since we didn’t get to MBC or ABC).  Taking the time to stop and soak up the atmosphere of the mountains – all you have to do is find a gap in the walking group, or take a moment in the afternoon away from the lodge to sit, watch and feel the presence of the mountains. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prem was outstanding!  Probably the best group leader I’ve had.  Always thinking ahead so that everything ran smoothly for the group, from organising rooms, porters, and food to our change of plans following the decision not to attempt to reach ABC.  Very knowledgeable and easy to talk to, he always has a smile and a desire to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your time, enjoy, stop to look and listen.  There is no rush at all; it’s a sensible itinerary with ample time to look for wildlife en-route or get to know your fellow travellers.  Be prepared for all weathers in one day, and take sensible boots to help give good grip on snow and ice on steep trails.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

      We didn’t get to ABC or even MBC.  This was disappointing, but the whole group understood that our safety was more important than trying to reach the objective.  Bad weather had caused a lot of new snow and resulted in many avalanches – we saw several in a few minutes and had to cross one debris fan.  It was obviously too risky to continue.  It’s a shame but as Prem said ‘that’s nature’.  He arranged a slower exit from the mountains that took us to some pretty and interesting villages.  Having been to the Everest area a couple of times, there are some distinct differences between the Annapurna area and the Khumbu region.  There are more terraced hillsides, more wildlife, and fewer monasteries and prayer flags in Annapurna, and the area is more geared for tourism – the lodges are all great, but for me a little too comfortable with standardised menus and some with plastic chairs and even umbrellas.  I think it is a more popular trekking area and as a result has more home comforts on offer.  Maybe that’s a good thing for some, but personally I prefer the charm and relative remoteness of the Khumbu where life is slightly more authentic and you have to fit in to the environment, rather than the environment being tamed for your convenience. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    One word sums this trek up: AWESOME! This was my third visit to Nepal, yet it never fails to delight, excite, challenge, reward and de-stress me! Having been to about 50 countries - I would say that the scenery at Annurpurna Base Camp (ABC), surpassed my own expectations and was glorious... an amphitheatre of some of the world's most dramatic, highest and prestigious mountains, in beautiful sunshine, moonlight and storms.. A rewarding trek to get reach ABC through valleys and hillsides, forests, snowdrifts, stark mountainscape and in some awesome company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The evening thunder and lightening storm at ABC was PINK! The mountains were lit by icredible pink lightening - I never knew existed! ...One of our trekkers was scared of the storm, so we sang songs from 'The Sound of Music' to comfort her.... 'raindrops on roses...'!! This was also a highlight as everyone a the Tea house joined in and we had a jolly good sing song! I slept outside - took my mattress outside at ABC and viewed the mountains by moonlight from my sleeping bag... an awesome experience!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dawa Lama was a brilliant leader, very knowledgeable, good leadership skills, good fun, and had a caring attitude, jollying people along and ensuring everyone was included and had a good time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yeah, please take everything on the kit list - including waterproofs! I made the mistake thinking that it wasn't monsoon yet so waterproofs would not be needed - given my previous treks to Everest Base Camp where they were not. Nepal has different climatic regions - prepare for all eventualities. In addition, take ear plugs and a head torch so that you are not so disturbed by snorers and can share rooms without waking people when you need to use the loo in the night.. It gets cramped at Base Camp and rooms are shared, but with so little space to put your kit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have done both Annurpurna Sanctuary and Everest BC treks, if you are trying to decide between the two - Everest offers more history and scenery on-route, whereas Annurpurna is probably a slightly easier trek, yet the scenery on route is not as profound, yet the rewards at Annurpurna Base Camp are phenomemal. Serious advice would be to do them both!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA SANCTUARY

    For a mountain lover this trip is a must do. From day one there are views round every corner until you reach Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) and the mountains are there in front of you,behind you in fact all round you. Magical. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were unfortunate in that it was cloudy when we reached ABC but the following morning the sunrise was stunning and made it difficult leave the views and start the long trek home. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prasant Subedi was a superb leader in that he quietly got on with his job of keeping everybody informed as to what we were seeing and what lay ahead which together with his knowledge and enthusiasm for the area made the trip. His support staff were again well organised and very attentive whilst we were on the trail looking after our safety and welfare. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a few long days especially especially when the weather turns damp and windy as it did on our trip at the end of October. The good thing was that by then we were well aclimatised and arrived at our nightly destination tired and damp but contented. Follow the pre-trip instructions and you won't go far wrong. Whilst you can charge your batteries (Camera and mobile) at the lodges it is recommended that you carry spares as the cold can drain them quite quickly.