Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony White

    Disappointing

    This tour has all the makings of something special, but fails to deliver. Amritsar and Golden Temple fantastic, Partition Museum shut and if you want to visit the Wagah Border ceremony, then it will need arranging and cost extra ( why is it not included?). Rushed visit to Mcleodganj, staying in Citrus Hotel which needs a thorough deep clean ( dirty, unchanged sheets and filthy pillows). Andretta homestay pleasant although very wet and cold, pottery shut. So what is there to do there? Long day travel to Mandi; didn't see anything of the town and it's "80 temples". Group ate in Raj Mahal Palace; 50% I'll following day. Rooms dirty and bathrooms filthy. Drop this hotel from the itinerary! Shimla is highlight of the mountains and was as good as expected, although the weather was very cold and wet. Unfortunately Silverine Hotel is not heated, so wet clothes need drying out in front of 2 bar electric fire supplied on request. Shimla Toy Train a great experience. Overall, the poor hotels and some long uncomfortable days on the road dragged down the overall ambience of the tour. Finally, the constant noise, dirt, poverty and litter take over one's senses. India will sink under its own litter problem, which is piled everywhere. I have done extensive tours around the world, most of them a wonderful cultural experience. This, alas, is not one of them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Golden Temple, Dalai Lama Temple, Himalayan views, Shimla.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not the inspirational leader that other tours have had. Arranged transport and meals ok, but limited information and descriptions in many locations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour is overpriced for the standard of hotels offered and content. Entry fees to the 50% of museums that weren't shut are cheap in India. This is mid-priced tour that provides some very sub-standard accomodation. Advice; try another tour.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Rob Gilbert

    Mountains temples and hill stations

    The highlight of this trip was the golden temple Amritsar and Taj Mahal, of which i had to pay 140 euro extra to do this...hotels in most places were below standards with filthy bed linen, mould, no heat, hanging wall sockets galore..as i was single supplement, it seems i got the raw deal in most places we stayed....mandi hotel, maharaja palace, should be dropped from this tour....worst place ever!! Asif was pleasant tour guide who did his best to keep things going but with programme changes and making alternatives, proved difficult. All in all, a very disappointing trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting golden temple and Taj Mahal, which i had already seen before

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was a good guy who tried his best to please a lot of grumpy tourists who felt they were not getting what they signed up for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yea like the previous lady said on her review early 2019....dont do this trip
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Sue Butcher

    Disappointing

    Sadly I can not recommend this trip. The guides we had were not up to Exodus standard and often no local knowledge. I came home with little new knowledge of Indian history, culture or customs. The transport was dangerous and uncomfortable The hotels were of a poor standard and at times filthy dirty The trip notes do not give a realistic impression of the amount of travelling undertaken, often for little reward. Eg “drive through a tea plantation” which we did with no explanation, stopping or photo opportunity! And frequently arriving at our destination late There was often no choice over where we could eat our evening meals due to the isolation of the hotels a fixed dinner was often only available at a fixed price

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of the rural mountain women The of beauty of the golden temple ar Amritsar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not enough knowledge or experience. Anxious

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t go on this trip
  • Reviewed November 2018
    sue hodgson

    Northern India

    A wonderful trip exploring Northern India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the orphanage in McCleod Ganj. Golden Temple, Amritsar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonam was a very organised group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local guides, supporting Sonam, were not of the usual Exodus standard.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Dave Butterworth

    A pleasurable assault on one's senses....

    A crazy, exciting and fascinating trip to Northern India. The trip was amazing, full of surprises, and took us into lesser known areas and small villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights and so many experiences, ranging from Kulfa ice-cream brought to our hotel one day, to advice on the best place to purchase a singing prayer bowl, to a visit to see His Holiness the Dalailama.....and loads more too! Much of the trip was off the beaten track and I felt we were honoured to be able to meet some truly lovely people at various places en-route, including at a Tibetan children's orphanage and a village with it's own health centre, recycling project, and support for women.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Phillippa, has, along with her family, lived in India for many years and consequently has acquired a wealth of knowledge and contacts, which assured us of a very full experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is described as leisurely...it is however "full-on", with some very early starts on occasions. Overall, a fantastic, rewarding experience not to be missed! Dave

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go there! You won't regret it!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Roslyn Hayles

    Mountains,Temples and Mystics

    A fantastic trip which covered so many religions, landscapes and local rituals. An off the beaten yrack tour with a lot to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely The Golden Temple in Amritsar closely followed by the Delai Lamas temple in McCleod Ganj.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phillippa was fantastic. Her knowledge of the area was outstanding. She was always helpful and organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip. You won't regret it.6
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Jim Clarke

    A tour of contrasts

    A tour of northern India which really offers you two very contrasting experiences of this amazing country. Starting in the Punjab at Amritsar with the Golden Temple you get to sense the devotion and frenetic energy this place creates; moving up to the mountains you experience a totally different way of life as seen through the lives of the different communities, contrasting completely with the tourist hotspot that is Agra and all its sights to end with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The major tourist sights do not disappoint, living up to expectations and not being spoilt by seeing some of them again after 30 years but it was the mountain sections of this trip that really inspired me. The rural villages and shrines that we spent time in on the way up to McLeod Ganj and Dharamsala showed a way of life that had not changed; the Tibetan communities we spent time with revealled an insight to their nature and aspirations - the opportunity to attend an audience with the Dalai Lama was an unexpected bonus, the more because it is not available generally. Shimla was a gem, if cold at night and the descent to the Plains an experience to savour on the 'Toy Train'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jeremy, Philippa's husband, was a real find. Stepping in to cover the trip he revealled a depth of knowledge and understanding of India that rivalled that of Mark Tully! The perfect guide, he negotiated the difficulties encountered on the trip with consimate ease and when faced with a real crisis created by the government decision to demonitarise the large currency notes at 3 hours notice, his experience of living in India for so long proved invaluable in easing our way through the remainder of the trip. A true scholar and a gent as well as a brilliant travelling companion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In November bear in mind that the mountains are cold at night though quite warm in the day so layers are in order. Many of the hotels have their own quirky hot water systems so make sure the porter who brings your bags to the room shows you how to turn on the boiler if it is room based - sink plugs are also not to be relied on so bring a travel plug!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent trip that gives a real insight into the India that is away from the tourist route but also incorporates major sights, a superb balance of an itinery that needs to be experienced.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Kevin Edgington

    Truly epic trip through the holy places of Northern India... "Indeed"

    This was a truly spectacular trip introducing us to some utterly enchanting, captivating and magical places. It really felt as if we were off the beaten track until the last couple of days when we arrived in Delhi and Agra. We visited many small, beautiful, authentic Indian villages where the only tourists that were ever seen were probably on this trip! We visited many temples from various faiths, some of the tiny Hindu temples were amazing, including the rock cut temple at Masroor. But others were just as spectacular including the Tibetan temples in McLeod Ganj, and we finished in Agra to visit the Mughul monuments including the spectacular Taj Mahal. Visiting so many small places off the beaten track really allowed us to experience the amazing, beautiful, open hearted people of India, which was one of the highlights for me. The Viceroy's Toy Train from Shimla to Kalka was also a amazing experience. A highly recommended trip , and a perfect introduction to an awesome country away from the hassle and chaos of the tourist hot spots.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most amazing part of the trip for me were the visits to The Golden Temple at Amritsar on the very first night and subsequent first morning. It is a spectacular place, a fabulous building but it is the people that really made it come alive! Thousands of beautiful friendly, colourful, happy Sikhs undertaking their pilgrimage to their holiest temple. They were so welcoming, and it was an extraordinary introduction to the colour, warmth and joy of India. We were befriended by so many people, and found ourselves regularly asked to be in photographs with other visitors. The kitchens were also amazing, hundreds of volunteers helping out, absolute chaos and noise in total synchronisation as everything was cooked and cleaned up in no time for sittings every 15 minutes or so. It was the perfect way to start the trip on a high! I will never forget this wonderful place and its wonderful people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa was absolutely amazing. As a long term resident of McLeod Ganj she knew the various cultures inside and out, introduced us to some wonderful intimate places off the usual tourist trail. We visited the Tibetan Nunnery, and a local health centre doing great things, both places where Philippa herself worked and volunteered. She had a amazing knowledge of Buddhism as a practitioner and also the other faiths that added real depth to our visits to the many temples and holy places. A fabulous tour leader. Can't thank her enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's not an arduous trip in terms of physical exertion but there is a fair amount of travelling on quite small roads in the north of the country, short distances can take quite a while to cover, some days we were travelling for 5/6 hours although there were regular breaks. The food was fantastic and there were few issues in the group with upset stomachs. Some of the hotels were less than spectacular but the worst is likely to be changed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a brilliant trip, with an amazing leader, and a great group of people. A highly recommended to introduction to India, that has only fuelled my desire to return! Soon!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Jane Spooner

    Mountains, Temples & Hill Stations

    An excellent trip providing an insight into north western India. When we reached McLeod Ganj it was as though we'd crossed the border into Tibet. We met very few western tourists until Shimla and Agra. The Toy Train from Shimla is superb. This tour was exceptional due to Philippa's in depth knowledge and contacts.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our first magical glimpse of The Golden Temple at Amritsar at night sparkling in the lake

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Philippa was an excellent leader. Having lived in India for 30 years, her knowledge and insight into the country was exceptional. She also introduced us to many of her interesting friends which provided experiences we wouldn't have had on a standard tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can get a better exchange rate at money changers rather than at Delhi or Amritsar airport. Many of the hotels don't have heating in the bedrooms so take warm clothing if travelling during the winter months.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Sarah Clachan

    Quart into a pint pot

    This holiday of 2 weeks fitted so much in, we felt we had been on at least 4 separate trips. Even for experienced Indian travellers, this group tour is recommended as you just would not know about all the amazing places visited along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the Golden Temple at night was extremely moving, it was very peaceful and visitors were welcomed without question.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent tour leading from Philippa Russell. She is very generous in spirit and a mine of information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take mosquito repellent.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106