Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Brian Bullingham

    Primates and Dragons May 2019

    A well organised trip. The chief guide was excellent as were all the additional guides. The accommodation was first class with a variety from Eco Lodges to top hotels. The tour was arranged to see the maximum sights during the 3 week period - but at times there seemed too many options and a slower pace would have improved the trip. Of necessity there were lots of internal flights that had to be endured! As a group we all mixed in -we varied from 3 couples and 6 singles but all meals etc. went well. An enjoyable trip that ticked all the photo opportunities with a blend of local culture for interest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most hilarious moment was during our watch of the Orang-utangs when another visitor had left his back-pack open and this was spotted by a sharp-eyed male who shot down from his tree, snatched a crisp -packet from the bag and shot up another tree where he ripped open the packet and starting eating the crisps - never underestimate the intelligence of a primate!! My other memory is of the traffic and the number of mopeds all overtaking cars and lorries with abandon and with no overt action from the car,etc. being overtaken - a lesson in politeness for Westerners!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elly our group leader was very efficient and got us in a group to the right place at the right time - no mean feat considering all the different ways of travel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a poncho as it can rain heavily.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Rebecca Fawcett

    Amazing wildlife

    A fantastic holiday, you see and do a lot including the two main highlights of the trip (Orangutans & Komodo Dragons) in a beautiful country. The trip is very well organised so it's not too hectic or tiring but full of great experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Orangutans. There was a moment when a baby was one tree away from it's mother and the mother reached her hand out for the baby to take before helping her swing into the other tree. It was such a human-like moment between a mother and child, wonderful to spend time with such a beautiful species.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elly was brilliant, every things she did was to ensure we enjoyed the trip and made fantastic memories. She kept an eye on us all when snorkelling, ensured we had the best photo opportunities and gave us ointments to put on sunburn when needed!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a t-shirt / rash vest for snorkelling, the sun is incredibly strong and it's very easy to get burnt.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Isabella Campbell Harry

    A wonderful guide and very well organised trip

    The trip was very well organised and the local guides were incredible. Although the trip is only 2 weeks long we were able to pack a huge amount and sample the diversity of Indonesia, with some level of flexibility. From the Orangutans in the North to the Komodo dragons and Manta rays in the south. This trip has it all and so much more. It was amazing to respectively see these creatures in the wild. Elly, our guide, is filled with so much joy and enthusiasm. It was lovely that although she has done this trip many times, she is filled with just as much awe as us tourists at Indonesia's natural world. We could have perhaps done with a little less time in Bali but other than that I have no complaints! I hope one day I will be back and be able to visit the local people I can now proudly call friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming with the manta rays was extraordinary.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Rita Jones

    Amazing adventures

    This trip packs in so much. Close encounters with orangutans, Komodo dragons and an amazing amount of marine life on the best coral we have ever seen. All the hotels used were lovely with nice pools to relax by. Our guide Elly was lovely and local guides on trips couldn't have been nicer. Wonderful food including an amazing jungle picnic. Really felt well looked after on this trip. Wish I could go back right now!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to select one....there were so many! Being so close to a huge but very placid male orangutan and his family. Especially when he stood up and wanderered about on two legs so close to us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was lovely. Very caring to the whole group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Volunteer to sleep on the deck of the boat. Cabins are a bit stuffy in the heat. Take your own towels on board. Jungle treck needs a reasonable level of fitness but you can go as slow as you want. Plenty of guides around to help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On Summatra we had a lovely village walk including time spent talking to the schoolchildren. It would have been nice if we could have helped the local environment as we walked round e.g a voluntary litter collection .
  • Reviewed November 2018
    simon cappin

    what an amazing trip

    This was an exceptional trip. Our guide Elly was very caring, had a great sense of humour,was incredibly well organised and ensured everything went smoothly.The itinerary was extremely varied but the pace of the trip was not too frenetic. The hotels were all very comfortable with lots of character.Seeing orang utans in the wild was a real highlight( saw 6 in total) in the jungles of Sumatra. What I particularly enjoyed was snorkelling in the seas off Rinca and Komodo.Whilst I primarily booked the trip to see the Komodo dragons the quality of the coral and abundance and variety of fish was magical.I have snorkelled and dived all over the world and this is the best I have ever seen.Swimming with 10 Manta rays was absolutely incredible.I would definitely recommend this trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming with manta rays

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have suitable sun protection for snorkelling .Buy an underwater camera

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend extending your trip to include Mt Bromo and Borobudur in Java and booking the rafting trips in Bali.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Kev Sheard

    Superb wildlife and varied itinerary

    This is a highly varied trip which includes a number of iconic species (Orangutans, Thomas Leaf Monkeys, Macaques, Komodo Dragons) and great scenery alongside local culture and beaches. I was initially worried about the amount of internal travelling, but it was broken up quite nicely and didn't make things tiring at all. The leaders make a point of saying animal sightings aren't guaranteed, but we saw lots.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The jungle walks in North Sumatra were the true highlight of the trip for me, meeting the Orangutans and Thomas Leaf Monkeys. The people of N Sumatra are also extremely friendly, and clearly enjoyed meeting us as much as we did they; that was really inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elly was superb, nothing was too much trouble for her, and she always went the extra mile to make our holiday special and share her knowledge and information. In each area we used local specialist guides, who were without exception ultra friendly and helpful.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Andy Stroud

    Amazing wildlife

    I really enjoyed this trip and I was very lucky with all the wild life I saw. The people of Indonesia are really friendly and it was great to see so much of the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wild orangutans and komodo dragons in there natural environment was unforgettable

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group leader was Elly. She's great, very passionate about Indonesia and its wildlife. She was always happy to help with any thing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your into photography but want to travel light this may help. I took my DSLR with just a zoom lens 300m for the wildlife, my compact for everything else and my gopro for a few videos. On one of my free days I went on a quad bike tour in Bali. It wasn't on the list of things but Elly sorted it out for me. I definitely recommend doing this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip, You will love it 😁
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dave Renvoize

    Hectic but very rewarding trip

    This trip fits a lot in to the two weeks but delivers some very special experiences with both the orangutans and the komodo dragons so it is well worth the hardship of some early starts and long travel days. The accommodation is generally good although the boat is rather basic, but this is a small price to pay for the excellent snorkelling and komodo dragon sightings that the boat makes possible. The food on the boat is both tasty and plentiful and the crew very obliging. Overall this is an excellent trip and a rare opportunity to see both orangutans and komodo dragons as well as experiencing life in three areas of Indonesia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first sighting of the orangutans was soon after we started our first jungle trek and was a special moment, especially as they seemed so comfortable with us being so close. This was just the beginning of our trek and was followed by many more sightings including some very playful infants and an impressive mature male. The komodo dragons were no less impressive and watching a female dragon who was guarding her nest full of eggs erupt in to action to chase off another dragon who was looking to eat the eggs is a moment that I will not forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elly was an excellent leader. Good company, very professional and a capable problem solver as well as being around when ever she was needed, including some late nights when the group went on from the evening meal for some music and beers and Elly made sure we all got home safely!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its generally hot and humid and we had nightly heavy rain when in the Sumatra jungle so a light weight waterproof jacket/poncho is useful. Pack light and get laundry done half way through the trip in Sanur, the Swastika bungalows did a good job with our laundry (24 hour turn around) for very small cost. Take a t shirt or rash vest for the snorkelling to avoid sun burnt shoulders and a torch or head lamp for the boat at night (generator off at night by group decision to enjoy the silence) and in case of power cuts in the other hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Susan Parsons

    Primates & Dargons of Indonesia

    An excellent trip seeing the highlights of Indonesia - both animals and scenery - plus the tourist areas of Bali.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Gunang Leuser National Park seeing the orang-utans and other primates. The rangers are very knowledgeable and know the history of the individual orang-utans in the area. The three days on the wooden boat in the islands of the Komodo National Park adjacent to Flores. Some wonderful sunrises and sunsets. Seeing the first Komodo dragon walking across the path in front of us on Rinca - giant lizards with a rather nasty bite! The snorkelling was superb - I've never seen so many different types of fish or so many of them on the coral reefs. Apart from when some of us snorkelled off the boat at Manta Point, the water was very clear.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two - Elly in North Sumatra; Wira in Bali & Flores. Elly is a very experienced tour leader and provided much useful practical knowledge i.e. you should wear decent walking boots/trainers in the NP with long trousers tucked into socks. It was steep in places and slippery (we had very heavy rain) and there were leeches! She was good company and we learnt a lot about Indonesia from her. Wira wasn't quite as practical, but was very enthusiastic and arranged 2 birthday cakes. He was also a dab hand with the first aid kit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The boat isn't big and has very little storage space, so leave your big bag at the hotel in Labuan Bajo and take just what you need for 3 days. Do take a T shirt to swim in whilst snorkelling/taking the dinghy to the beach - it is hot! As a group we decided to dispense with the air conditioning as it meant running a noisy generator all night; most of us slept on deck - much cooler and very peaceful when there weren't other boats running their generators. Do take walking boots/trainers on the central Bali day - it's quite steep descending to the lava fields. The Swastika Bungalows offered a 24 hour laundry service, or you can get your laundry done by one of the local stalls, just outside the hotel. This was halfway through the trip, so worked well. Hardy, the supermarket very close to the hotel, sold just about everything, including the local Hatten wine (very drinkable).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The travelling days were long - the drive between Medan and Bukit Lawang was 4 1/2 hours; moreorless a full day flying from Medan to Bali; slightly less between Bali and Labuan Bajo. Sanur is very touristy - far more so than I'd thought it would be. Ubad less so; the stall and shop keepers were slightly less pushy.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Carol Taylor

    Orangutans, dragons, volcanoes and culture

    The best bits of Indonesia in a whistle stop tour of this friendly and vared country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Encountering semi-wild and wild orangutans in their natural environment. Closely followed by boating around the islands of komodo national park to see the awesome dragons.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Always available and willing to help and sort out any problem however big or small. When food was served cold in one hotel, she could be heard berating the staff in the kitchen from the other side of the restaurant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for hot humid weather and some tough jungle treking to see the orangutans. However there were always plenty of guides to ensure everyone, from the sure footed to the less fit people were able to navigate all terrain. Indonesian food can be spicy and with lots of activities, a number of short haul flights and 2 days on a boat you should take along some immodium just in case. No Delhi belly in our group though. If you can a night or 2 in Kuala Lumpur or Singapore on the way out and an extra few nights in bali at the end will help spkit the long journey. If you can't, be ready for fast transfers at Kuala Lumpur airport. The trip is well worth the long journey though and don't let this put you off this amzing trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic trip for anyone who is willing to put a bit of effort into their wildlife spotting, it will definately reward you with plenty of wildlife sightings making the effort well worth while.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106