Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

60 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    Very enjoyable holiday; nice people, good guides (excellent in Cambodia) and all went according to plan.   Would have preferred less time in Hanoi, which was cold and (for me at least) not very interesting, and an extra day either in Hoi An, Halong Bay or Siem Reap.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise at Siem Reap - not part of the Exodus tour, but our guide organised it for a group of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader in Vietnam was a very nice man, knowledgable and helpful.  However his command of English was a little hard to understand at times.  I was impressed at his coolness under fire (literally) when the hotel at one destination (on the Mekong River) caught fire in the middle of the night.   He found us alternative accommodation at 1 am in a nearby hotel.The group leader in Cambodia was very good indeed.  Pleasant, local, very knowledgable and excellent English.  Helpful above and beyond what was strictly necessary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check which hotel is being used on the Mekong Delta trip - if it is the one with Golf in its name, then don't go - this was the one that caught fire.  The smoke alarms didn't work, and the hotel staff were no-where to be seen.  I have no idea who would have got us out of our rooms if our tour leader hadn't come along and called us.  The fire was actually in the disco in another part of the hotel, but the corridors were full of smoke in the main hotel.  Also disco (before that) was thumping away till at least 12.30 (time of the fire) and showed no sign of stopping.  All our rooms looked towards the disco/town, and none had river views, whatever the Exodus brochure claims.  Hotel pool was also closed, due to broken tiles on the bottom, staff unfriendly and unhelpful.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Thank you for your valued comments. Please be assured that Exodus regularly inspects all of our accommodation choices and ensures that they comply with local laws and regulations regarding fire safety. We are currently investigating what happened on the evening of your stay and have changed the accommodation in Can Tho for future trips.

  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    Both countries amazing, with wonderful people and cultures.  The sense of humour, culture and history are well worth the trip and definitely warrant another trip at some stage.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Choosing one would not be easy, hence the following represent the best of both countries in terms of scenery, history, culture and the people of the countries.Ha Long BayHoi An Cu Chi TunnelsAngkor Wat + other temples 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader (Bon) has been the best leader I have had on a trip.  He was knowledgeble, funny, always had lots of stories, and was always prepared to do what we wanted to do as a group.Bon is also very helpful with all things local and promoted the idea of us spreading our custom around a number of shops as oppose to all of us going to just one shop when buying things.  He also made sure we as a group made the decisions on where to go or what to do, but also helped out if you wanted to do something different as a individual. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only advice is be prepared for the humidity and heat in South East Asia, if you have a good guide then not much can go wrong.  Also when crossing the roads, which look daunting, just keep walking slowly, as stopping in the middle of the road causes more confusion.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    The was a very enjoyable trip that was full of fun and interesting activities. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Halong Bay was particularly rewarding and the scenary and experience was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour guide couldn't do enough to ensure we had a safe, comfortable and enjoyable trip. He recounted many personal and fascinating insights that made the trip and the places we visited come to life. A great guy and a pleasure to have his company thorughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a long flight so be prepared ... bring plenty of insect repellent ... sign up to the extra activities that Linh arranges they are great fun ... expected it to be very hot and wet so bring change of clothes and take advantage of opportunities to get clothes washed

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a premium trip so flights were used instead of bus ... this is highly recommended. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    A whilstle stop tour of the highlights of Vietnam - with each destination having its own character.  Served with great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best bits:The trip was worth while for the food - which was very fresh and tasty.  The market trips were very interestingShopping in Hoi AnThe contrast of Angkar WatThe Vietnam War Museum & tunnels in SaigonMeeting the rest of the Group!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dzung was outstanding as a tour leader.  He went the extra mile at every opportunity to make sure that everybodies expectations were met.  He was immensely professional but also relaxed & smiley. Dzung made a good trip great and is a great ambassador for Exodus. Thank You.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is leisurely but there is a lot of travelling around so there is not much opportunity for a lie in.  The Vietnamese seem to get up early, so the hotels were often quite noisey first thing so bring earplugs.  Have lots of space in your luggage for the shopping!Road crossing freaked a few people but you soon get the hang of it.Consider booking your flights separately - the eight hour layover in KL made for a long flight home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary for the trip altered in line with feedback from previous trips - thanks to Exodus for listening. 
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    Comfort and variety, well paced

    I had wanted to do this trip for some time, and specifically chose it to avoid any long bus/train journeys. I enjoyed it greatly, particularly thanks to Dzung, the tour leader, who made an incredible effort to ensure we all experienced whatever it was that had drawn us to Vietnam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling for 4 hours in the countryside surrounding Hoi An in a small group with a local guide (organised by our TL) who knew his ways through the many waterside paths. It rained but that made it a truely Vietnamese experience.The variety of food available. The cooking school in Hoi An was enjoyable and a nice inclusion.Kareoke with some of the group in Saigon; organised by our tour leader in a private room place which also had good food and cheap beer. The Mekong Delta - I knew little about it before going and the various boat trips took us to see a variety of industries and environs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. Dzung is one of the best tour leaders I have experienced, and mature beyond his 26 years. He established early on what sort of experiences, food etc that we were all interested in and made sure we were given the opportunities we sought.My only disappointment with the tour leading is that Dzung was left behind when we left for the last 2 days in Angkor and the "tour leader" in Cambodia was sub-standard - basically he was a historical guide who did not look out for us at all. It was a flat end to what had been a good tour, and given it was the most "deluxe" type of Exodus tour, it seemed mean not to keep the Vietnamese tour leader for the last 2 days to ensure the group ended on a "high".

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect Halong Bay to be the highlight; it's a mass touristy experience and care for the environment seems minimal. The water was full of floating rubbish and the boats didn't appear to have holding tanks or the courtesy not to run noisy generators all night. Eating out in Vietnam is cheap so order more than you think you might eat and share some of your "finds" with others in your group.Try to take lots of US$1 notes if you can get them as they are useful for tips, purchases etcDon't sit at the front of the bus if you are a nervous passenger as Vietnamese road usage is scary! I didn't take the group flights, and the others complained about them (seat size, route and stopovers). I paid a bit more to fly via Bangkok, but it saved me 8 hours travelling on the way home, so I thought was money well spent.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Earlier reviews mention going to a beach and it looks like Exodus removed that component, which we didn't miss at all. Personally I would have liked to spend another day in the Mekong Delta area as a contrast to Saigon and Hanoi, but overall the timings weren't bad, aside from the 2 days required to "do" Halong Bay. This was a confortable tour with good hotels, nice breakfasts, a big bus (in Vietnam) and enough free time to do our own thing as well as see the "must see" highlights with the group.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    This trip gave a good overview of the country, its history and culture.   Doing a multi stop trip afforded us some quality time in each location, we were able to absorb the different atmosphere between north and south and see the things we most wanted to

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    difficult to decide on one, but enjoyed kayaking in Halong bay, looking around Hoi An, the Cu chi tunnels and war museums in Hanoi and Saigon.  Angkor Wat complex was also clearly in a league of its own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, helpful and wanted to help us make the most of our stay in his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only to choose carefully between the different types of holiday available from Exodus in Vietnam.  There are many ways to see the country and you have to work out your priorities and work this in with the travel arrangements 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    An excellent introduction to fascinating countries. Vietnam was very special with wonderful people and great food. Cambodia and Angkor Wat was simply amazing. Guides great, very warm and welcoming and made the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first glimpse of Angkor Wat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In Vitnam the group leader made the trip and literally went the extra mile every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light and take as few clothes as possible. Plenty of laundry opportunities

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We've already booked our next trip!
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    Really good trip. Got see to a lot in a short space of time. Tour leader was very good and had a great group too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong bay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its cold in feb in the north!
  • Reviewed March 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    An excellant trip which I would recommend to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed the boat trip on Halong Bay and the cookery lesson.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. A top class leader. It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary when we were away and he made it a special event.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be cold in the North so go prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be good if a cycling half day in Hoi An could be included. We did it alone and really enjoyed it. A local guide would have been well worth it.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC VIETNAM & ANGKOR

    This trip is a great taster for Vietnam and Cambodia.  There are parts which can feel a bit rushed (see additional comments), but overall the pace is fairly relaxed and yet still covers most of the top highlights of the region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The temples at Angkor are incredible.  Pictures don't give you a real idea of the scale and just how many there are.  That stop alone makes the trip worth it.In Vietnam, Halong Bay has spectacular scenery and is a real highlight.  I also enjoyed the food, in particular the lunch that our tour guide organised with a host family.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders in Vietnam and Cambodia were excellent.In Vietnam, Triet organised plenty of extra activities and was genuinely interested in showing us plenty of authentic Vietnamese culture and way of life.In Cambodia, Thy was a wealth of information and even stayed on to take my wife and I round further as we stayed an extra day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Change money in Vietnam - the rate offered even at the hotels was about 10% better than what I got this end before going, and they don't charge any commission.  Everything in Cambodia is priced in US dollars.Spend an extra day or 2 in Cambodia after the trip.  The temples are massive and you could easily spend 3 days going round them.  Also means you'll be there on a Saturday night and can go to the Beatocello concert at the children's hospital - a very worthy cause.Do get your tour leader to take you to the Cu Chi tunnels outside Saigon - worth the visit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's been mentioned in other reviews, but Mui Ne is still not worth the more than 10 hours round trip on the bus.  It would have been much better to have more time in Saigon or the Mekong delta, both of which were a bit rushed.