Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Condon Corbett

    Amazing Sri Lanka!

    From the private pick up at the airport in Colombo to drop off at the airport things could not have gone more smoothly. The pace of the tour was excellent given its short duration. Accommodations were very good-clean, comfortable and well located. Sri Lanka is a stunning country with friendly people, beautiful scenery and an abundance of wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the top of Lion Rock (Sigiriya) to view the remnants of the ruined palace and the spectacular views of the surrounding countryside from 200 metres above. Magical!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Suresh was excellent. Very well organised, knowledgeable of his home country, it's history and different cultures which he imparted to us in an interesting and fun manner. I appreciated his somewhat sarcastic sense of humor as well. Schedules were well kept and adjusted as necessary based on the group consensus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take part in all of the included sightseeing and activities, especially the bike tour through the villages where you will be warmly greeted by the local children as you cycle by.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a trip of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Vietnamese

    This trip lived up to what it promised from the start to the end. It was excellent value for money and provided a real insight into this wonderful country and it's people. Our group consisted of 16 people, some couples, some travelling independently with a range of ages from the UK, USA and Spain. By the end of the two weeks we were all good friends. The weather started pleasantly warm, although very cloudy, in the north and steadily became hotter and sunnier the further south we travelled. Our group leader Anh Tran, who we knew as Viet, also helped to make this trip special as he worked hard throughout to provide us with information and guidance about the places we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the Vietnamese traffic in Hue was daunting but very rewarding once we had survived unscathed. This was due to the support of the additional leader and Viet who ensured the group were able to safely negotiate the large number of scooters and other vehicles which weaved their way around us. The visit to the Cu Chi tunnels was also fascinating and it was good to hear about the Vietnam War from a different perspective and witness the conditions that these people had to live in. Seeing the good nature of the Vietnamese people and how they make the most from the limited resources they possess makes you realise how fortunate we are.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Viet was full of enthusiasm and was always keen to share his extensive knowledge of his country and it's culture to the group or to individuals. As we travelled from place to place Viet had everything in place at the right time ensuring the smooth running of the trip. He even provided us with additional hand written notes of recommended places to visit or eat in our spare time. Throughout he displayed a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The train was a really good experience and although the noise and movement of the train was not an issue we did find the beds were very hard and the day that followed very long,

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only things that we thought could have been better were that after the meal on the boat in Halong Bay, it would have been good to encourage more socialising with some music or card games... This was also the case after the meal at the homestay on the Mekong Delta. The long day after the train journey could be better arranged. Perhaps, after going to the Citadel, it could be arranged to go to the hotel to relax by sitting around the pool or going for a swim as it would not be possible to check into the rooms at that time. Then have lunch at the hotel before going to the other places of interest later in the afternoon. The optional family meal could then be switched to the following evening. This would make it less tiring.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Peter Loughridge

    An excellent introduction to Japan.

    We have always wanted to visit Japan and this trip gave us a wonderful opportunity to visit the cities, rural areas, travel by train, experience Japanese cuisine and, best of all, explore by bike. The itinerary was varied and interesting. Onsens (hot baths) have to be experienced and helped relieve tired and aching muscles at the end of the day. We stayed in a mixture of modern hotels and the more traditional ryokans with tatami mats and futons. The Japanese people we met were always polite, pleasant and helpful. This was a travel experience like no other. Just do it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the first ryokan and learning how to observe Japanese customs in this environment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very well organised and efficient. Perhaps a little shy at first but this passed as the trip progressed and his confidence in dealing with the group developed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a fairly large backpack as there are two separate days when you don’t have access to your suitcase. Keep your evening wear to a minimum as many of the hotels and ryokans provide a yukata (a casual summer kimono). Be prepared for rain and low temperatures. Very little fruit available generally and virtually none at breakfast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Japanese drivers generally considerate and patient. We felt safe on the roads.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Hughes

    Everest Base Camp - a journey to heaven!

    This trip met and exceeded my expectations by miles! I have never seen scenery so beautiful in my life , it was truly wow! It was the hardest thing (trek wise ) I have ever done and breathing at times in the higher parts was tough but it was more than compensated by the experience. A big shout out to Bikash T ( TNT190427) who was a brilliant leader and encouraged us a long the way and ensured we paced ourselves the result of which we all made it to Base Camp! His team were all brilliant too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Base Camp after such a long journey to get there. I never thought in my lifetime I would see this and it literally took my breath away and was very emotional when I arrived!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated above Bikash was a great leader and was certainly always reassuring me whenever I had any nervous moments and was easy to talk to and great sense of humour too !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how tough this trip is. The more preparation you put into this , the more you will enjoy it. It is worth it! Also , it gets expensive to buy snacks the further you go up, I would recommend bringing energy bars etc from home it save you money. And, finally , when the leader says pace yourself , take notice, as walking too fast is not a good idea at that altitude!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip and life changing experience!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gina Crowcroft

    Great concept but, on this occasion, poorly delivered

    The basic trip concept is excellent. However, a group of 16 with only 1 main group leader was wholly inadequate - it meant that we had a lot of wasted time hanging around for the slowest person and our itinerary was unilaterally changed by the tour leader to ensure that the needs of the slowest person out of 16 was met. Unfortunately this meant that 15 out of 16 people were left short changed and did not get what they paid for. Additionally, most days we were rushed to ensure that the group lunched at a specific restaurant off the wall. Given that people would have signed up for this trip due to an interest in the Wall it seems strange that we were always being rushed everyday to get off the Wall. This meant that most days we could not linger and savour the amazing views nor take our time to get that non-touristy photo! We also had itinerary changes due to local factors. Whilst it is appreciated that these are unavoidable the revised itineraries, each time, resulted in less trekking time never more trekking time - very frustrating and left a feeling that we did not receive what we paid for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the less touristy parts of the Wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry is clearly a lovely guy and a more than adequate tour leader. I think if our group had been more evenly matched re fitness he would have been perfect. However, I believe he was too nice to actually deal with some of the issues on our trek and tried to please everyone but thereby actually not pleasing a significant number of the group. We had our trekking time severely curtailed by a combination of local reasons and a disparity in the speed between the fastest and slowest members of our group but this was not discussed properly with the group and conflicting reasons were given.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate the unrelenting steepness of the Wall trekking. Be prepared for a lot of "wasted" time away from the Wall due to where the restaurants are etc. It would be much better if picnic lunches were provided most days so that time on the Wall could be maximised. Be brave enough to question how the group kitty is used! Our bus driver ended up being tipped a huge amount (the balance of the kitty) due to our guide leader asking in front of the bus driver if it was ok to give him the balance of the kitty - strangely none of us felt that we could object! But we were all wondering why the balance of the kitty was not redistributed to us after a sensible tip taken for the bus driver.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary and execution of this trip could be improved by a few simple changes: 1. Packed lunches so that time on the Wall is not rushed 2. Two guides every day so that all members of the group could take as long as they wished on the Wall whether that being walking slowly or taking time to take photographs. 3. More information given about the Wall on a daily basis rather than just the last day 4. Changes to itinerary should always be fully discussed and explained with the group in advance
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Tom Wilkinson

    Varied landscape, interesting cycling, great food.

    This trip shows the lesser known parts of Croatia - Zagreb, the Istrian and plenty of pretty small towns and villages. Dipping in to Slovenia is a great addition too, broadening the experience and contrasting mountains with the sea. Some challenging sections of cycling make it all the better, adding a sense of achievement to the whole experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing everyone make the climb up one of the longer sections in Slovenia, celebrating with a silly picture by a statue of a local storybook figure. Everyone achieved more than they thought they were capable of when looking at the bare statistics and were rightly proud of themselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Allen was great, personable and efficient and keen to engage with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you do dust off your cycling legs before you go. The range of gears on the bikes means you can tackle everything, just pick a gear you're comfortable with and take it at your own pace. Water, breaks and words of encouragement are always on hand!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is always much more to these trips than it would appear. The cultural element, e.g the visit of Fuzine, the cuisine, the changing landscapes make it a great trip even for those who have been to Croatia before. Zagreb is well worth a visit too.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Geoff Waters

    Camino - Samos to Santiago

    A great experience, walking the last 100 km of the Camino Frances. Great scenery, good basic hotels with friendly staff and lovely authentic food. You can't beat a three course 'menu del dia' with bread and wine or water for only 10 euro. I walked with a group of 16 and we really enjoyed each others company. It rained for two of the six days but that didn't affect the mood. Longest days walk was 18 miles but with coffee and lunch stops it didn't seem that far. Last two nights in Santiago allowed us to unwind and really enjoy the old city

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving in Santiago with the rest of the group and standing in the square in front of the cathedral, congratulating each other on our achievement. Meeting up again with other pilgrims we had met on the trail, some of them had done the whole walk from St Jean in France. Lighting a candle in the cathedral and quietly reflecting on the trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was an excellent group leader. His daily briefings after breakfast told us what to expect that day and where the best coffee and lunch stops were. He was very knowledgeable about the history and architecture on the route, and made sure everybody enjoyed the experience to the full. He was always positive and professional and ready to help with advice and information. He also has a wicked sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't wear heavy walking boots, good walking shoes are more suitable. Invest in some good walking socks. The route is undulating not steep on minor roads and tracks and is easy walking if you are reasonably fit. I am 70 and had no problems at all with the walking or my feet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very impressed with the logistics of the whole trip. Airport transfers, hotels and daily luggage transfer were very well organised by Exodus and the whole trip went smoothly allowing all of us to enjoy the walking and scenery. Would recommend Exodus to anybody wanting to experience the Camino. I have really caught the Camino bug now and am planning to do the whole 500 miles of the Camino Frances next year.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    krystyna kiel

    Pretty territory

    Slower paced trip. Lots of free time. Highlights of Dalmatia coast

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walks along the sea

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very personable and involved. Went the extra step.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Compared to other Balkan countries, this is a pricey area. Prepare for crowds. I’d go off season, but then swimming in the sea would be challenging. Croatia is certainly ready for the tourist

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    B
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Marjorie Booth

    Way in excess of our expectations

    We were 2 sisters travelling together for the holiday of a lifetime. We knew it was going to be amazing but this trip blew us away. It is impossible to criticise any part of it. Our highlights include: the stunning beauty of the rice fields and the historical ingenuity of the Balinese people. The Flora was breathtaking. The walks were all different in character taking us through rain forests, jungles, paddy fields, cascading waterfalls - not to mention a climb up mount Batir to see the sunrise. A truly magical experience. An added joy was swimming off a beautiful white sandy beach - the most eastern point in Bali The hospitality and warmth we received from everyone was fabulous. The level of accommodation far exceeded our expectations. The hotels were very varied and traditional which added to the overall experience. We just must give a special mention to Wira our guide. Exodus is truly lucky to have him representing their company. He is a genuinely lovely guy who helped make out holiday perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is a difficult question as the whole holiday was inspirational. Having the opportunity to attend two private blessings in the Temple was incredibly moving

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above - excellent in every way. We will always remember Wira

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you hear that Bali has been spoilt this is only true in part. Off the beaten track where Exodus took us is magical

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy your trip
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jan Strasser

    A Great trip to celebrate a milestone birthday!

    We had a fantastic time with a great group of people walking along the beautiful hills of Tuscany - visiting quaint hilltop villages - viewing spectacular scenery and partaking in wonderful food and wine

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to name just one! I loved the hilltop villages but I also love Florence - something incredible to see around every corner!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz Proctor was our group leader and she is amazing! She knew so much about every single place we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking and great food and wine I highly recommend this trip
Call us on +356 21423994