Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Diane Humphreys

    Walking in Sardinia

    We saw many historical and cultural aspects of Sardinia that were a complete surprise to us and these were a bonus. The planned walks were stunning in their scope and very ably led by Albert, our tour leader. The weather was variable and greatly impacted on the activities so re scheduling was necessary; having said that, we missed nothing in the end. Being flexible is part of travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the gorge and the cave after much scrambling over huge rocks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was trustworthy, physically very capable and knowledgeable and patient with a diverse group of walkers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all weathers and be prepared to work with the weather.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    James Bennett

    Cycling in the bltkans

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trip despite the poor weather. Very engaging and professional crew

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of that very very very steep climb above kotor

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - however, not recommended for the occasional cyclist
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Scott Semple

    Spectacular trek with the best trek leader

    The trek to Machu Picchu in Comfort is very much a trek worth taking. Machu Picchu is very impressive as you might imagine, but somewhat overshadowed by the majesty of the Peruvian mountainside that you trek through to reach it. I was blown away by the views along the treks, particularly from Dead Woman’s Pass and our final campsite at 4000m. I do not normally write reviews and the thing that makes me want to is to highlight just how amazing our tour leader Cesar Smith (“Smithy”) was. I have never encountered a more friendly, informative and inspiring trek leader in all of my travels. Easily the best tour guide I have ever encountered. Smithy’s passion for his country, mountains and knowledge of historical contact are impressive enough, but his support for the entire group was outstanding. A few in the group struggled with some altitude effects and fitness. These members were sensitively supported by Smithy, whilst he also facilitated those of us wanting to trek faster to do so. Friendly and informative with a contagious passion for the trek, I cannot say enough good things about Smithy, our tour leader. If you have options of choosing dates with his involvement, he comes with my highest recommendation. In terms of the trip, there are parts that are physically challenging, so I would advise reading the training guide. My wife and I trained for the trip and were very glad we did.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up over Dead Woman’s pass and the last campsite and 4000m offered breath-taking views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot say enough good things about our group leader. Easily the best guide I have ever experienced. Friendly, informative without being overbearing. His passion for the mountains and the country of Peru is inspirational. His relationship with our porters one of mutual respect. Amazing knowledge and I genuinely warmed to the man to a degree which surprised me. One of the big highlights of our tour was the tour leader. Cesar Smith (“Smithy”) comes with my biggest recommendation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. Read the training guide. Those that had not did struggle with some the challenging sections of the trip. Dead Woman’s Pass is a challenge for most people, so do the training for the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed with the porter tea. Our chef Luciano demands specific praise. The food was excellent, and varied. The lead porter Alejandro, ran a tight ship, and each of the porters were constantly busy, supporting the entire group. A really inspirational bunch of lads. They had clear respect for our tour leader, who again, I simply cannot say enough good things about. If you have any choice in the matter, try to book a tour with Smithy as your tour leader.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Anne Scott

    Don’t miss the Inca trail with Smithy

    My husband and I travelled to Peru and walked the Inca trail. In over 20 years of travel (and having walked the trail before some 15 years ago) I have never before felt moved to provide a review. Of course the Inca trail and Machu Picchu were, as expected, amazing. The stand out factor was our guide, Cesar Smith aka Smithy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the hard work of the porters and kitchen staff as they all but ran up and down the mountainside with heavy packs as we struggled for breath with day packs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cesar Smith aka Smithy led the tour brilliantly. He provided support and attention for those who needed it, and freedom for those who didn’t. Smithy shared his passion for Peru, his pride in his heritage, and his love for the mountains in the most authentic way. And always with a good dose of understated humour. Easily the best tour leader I’ve had in over 20 years of travel. It would be worth changing the dates of your travel to be sure you get him as a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    ROBERT CARTER

    Enjoyed the visit to the Amalfi coast and was very glad I had signed up for it

    We arrived on a Saturday evening and on the first day, Sunday, went down to the harbour in Amalfi to get the ferry between Amalfi and Positano. It was pouring with rain to begin with but after an hour in Amalfi it cleared and became a clear sunny day, with a cool wind. It was an amazing experience going down the zig zag of the road down to sea level and the coast below, and better was seeing the coast from the boat, and enjoying the sights at Positano. Day 2 was very interesting going by bus first to Herculiun and then Pompii and being given a guided tour and seeing the depth of the excavation, and the details of the settlements which had been destroyed by the eruption of Vesuvius.The following day we walked the Path of the Gods and had a rustic lunch high above sea level with wonderful views of the coast before returning to the start.The rest of the week was filled with visits to other communities along the coast, with time to enjoy restful lunches, and local sights, seeing the scenery, and enjoying the sun until the highlight visiting Capri on Friday, and spending the day enjoying the sights there. A great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was testing to do the walk along the path of the Gods, but very worth while, with the wonderful views of the coast line, and this experience was repeated when we were visiting the isle of Capri.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He worked very hard to look after each and every person on the tour, and that all the arrangements, and transfers worked as smoothly as possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going on this tour it is a good idea to be reasonably fit and comfortable about walking about for two-three hours at a time

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Margaret Proud

    Walking week

    Great holiday, good walks

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great guide who brought the island, walks and its flora alive

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gordon Frankland

    A Very Mixed Bag

    Our first experience of Sicily so chose this holiday. It gave us a mixture of culture, Greek, Roman as well as modern. A variety of food and drink experiences as well as exploration of the countryside. The small group and an excellent leader made for very good holiday travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going to the top of Mount Etna in unseasonal snowy weather.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rosario was very well informed and caring. He conveyed his love of the area to the group. He obviously had made many contacts which enabled us as a group to participate with local people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really a relaxing week. Be prepared for a variety of activities from early morning until evening.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A positive experience for our first time with Exodus
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Grant Sykes

    The full Vietnam Experience

    This was a great trip, taking in a multitude of sights across the length of Vietnam, right from Hanoi in the north down to the Mekong Delta in the south. The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly, helpful and funny. The food was amazing, the hotels all comfortable. The sleeper train is quite an experience. Don't expect luxury - just a hard mattress and a bumpy ride. My group were well looked after the entire time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just walking around the cities and seeing how people live a totally different lifestyle half a world away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, friendly. Helpful, always ready to give recommendations on food options, restaurant choices or optional sights to go and see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book unless you can cope with high heat and humidity, and don't expect comfort and modernity from the sleeper train. Be prepared to go for some periods of time without access to a shower and for long walks. But it's all worth it to see the sights.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Carol-Ann Connellan

    Cinque Terra

    What an amazing time - from the lovely Moneglia (Piccola Hotel) to the amazing walks so expertly guided by Michela Wicks. It was really everything and more than we wished for. Would never have chosen to do it differently. No time was lost or wasted pondering. Our time there was precious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was super special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it with a guide. Your time there is precious. Go with those who know the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely a must do.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Roger Picknett

    Amazing trip !

    Well, what a trip that was ! An amazing experience made all the better by excellent organisation by Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching our goal of Machupicchu was my highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos Enrique, our guide & leader was phenomenal, he was not only very knowledgable about Peru’s history & the Incas but also very passionate about them too which made me even more interested. He is a true credit to the Exodus team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book & go ! You will not be disappointed
Call us on +356 21423994