Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

150 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Very varied trip. The chance to try out a variety of winter skills in stunning scenery. Oh! And Northern Lights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dog sledding trip through a wonderful forest was the highlight for me - even better than seeing the Northern Lights on 3 nights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had several leaders - Bjorn and Martii - were the main ones. Both were excellent teachers and added quite a bit of humour to their lessons.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a travel kettle for your room. Best to take thermal underwear but all the other equipment was in excellent condition.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have done a fair bit of travelling but this is one of the best trips I have been on.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Great winter holiday away from the madding crowds with lots of new experiences and activities to try

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky sledding through the snow-clad treesAn amazing Northern Lights display before spending the night  in a Quinzee snow shelter while the outside temperature was -20C

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had no Exodus leader but the Basecamp staff were very friendly and spoke very good English. Slightly disorganised at times but always helpful with lots of useful and interesting information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although all clothing was provided, we found particularly the base layers weren't always well-fitting so preferred to use our own.  It was too cold not to wear several layers and if the base layer was baggy or a bit short etc, it had a big impact on overall comfort and keeping warm.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We chose this holiday as we had skiied before and wanted a change but didn't know what activity to choose. Finland appealed as it was a bit off the beaten track, and the Wilderness Week offered lots of different exciting activities. We also really hoped we might see the Northern Lights, which we did!Several activites are included in the trip price but there are a lot of optional extras which we found quite expensive. Instead, we found there were lots of opportunities for self-guided day, half-day or evening trips from base using the provided snow-shoes or cross country skis. The routes were not particularly promoted/explained by the staff, but they can be found on the map boards located by the base and on the lake-shore by the village.  Having cross-country skiied before, we particularly liked the three ski trails that went out from the base, although they are apparently only prepared as ski routes from mid-February onwards.There were two Exodus holiday groups staying at Basecamp at the same time, our Wilderness Week, and also a snowshoe week group, so the group size for meals etc was around 36. Some activity groups overlapped with theirs. The holiday itinerary should be used as a guide only, as some activities such as husky-sledding have a max group-size of 5-7 so some people were allocated different times/days to those stated on the itinerary which in some cases meant people did two activities on the same day, creating an additional "free day" to amuse yourself.The food was lovely, featuring lots of tasty elk and fish, and just what was required after an energetic day in the cold. Lunch was provided at base every day for an additional cost of 11 Euros per person. You could get a packed lunch for the same price, or just take your own lunch snacks with you (there are no shops apart from the base reception which sells various food items).Our best day was the last free day where we did the optional full-day husky expedition, which was brilliant. The weather was beautiful (if it had been snowing hard it might have been less pleasant) and the dogs loved every minute. Lunch by a fire was provided and the food was extremely nice. This day was well worth the extra cost.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    I really enjoyed the weeks activities, I had been concerned about my fitness levels before I went on the trip but as the sessions were usually half a day this was not a problem. All the activities were well supervised and mostly well organised although as nearly all the group wanted to do the whole day optional dog sledding it did give the organisers a few logistical issues.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery in the national park was stunning, we were lucky enough to have sun shine on the day we tried the dog sledding and it gave the park a magical quality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Although Teddy was our designated leader for the week we were looked after by a team of individuals all of whom were great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to try a selection of winter activities then just book this trip it is alot of fun. Just make sure you check the trip notes for the additional extras as these are expensive and so is the alcohol - 5 Euros for a can of local beer and 21 Euros for a bottle of wine.There is no need to worry about packing any winter gear other than your thermals as the rest is supplied for you although I may have been more tempted to sleep in the quincy if I had taken a winter coat and pair of waterproof trousers with me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thoroughly enjoyed my week away, it had been over 15 years since I had been on a winter holiday. The snow shoeing, cross country sking, dog sledding, quincy building and ice climbing were all throughly enjoyable and I did find muscles I forgot I had by Saturday morning. This did stop me from going on one of the optional snowshoeing trips, but I spent an enjoyable couple of hours with 2 other members of the group cross country skiing around the lake which was great.I have to say I was a little disappointed with snow shoeing as for some reason I did not expect it to be quite so noisey which means you don't get to see/hear much wildlife when walking through the forests, unless of course you give yourself lots of time and have lots of long stops. All in all a very good trip. 
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Such a beautiful winter paradise. Just point your camera in any direction and click.A great range of fun activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The magic of the wonderland of the Oulanka national park. Husky sledding  - the amazing snow scene - stunning sculpture-like landscape - the beautiful dogs.Cross country skiing - an achievement that I learned a few basics and managed to keep upright!   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martti gave clear instructions for all the activities and shared his knowledge and enthusiasm of the country with us throughout the week. He was well supported by all the centre staff team.All the staff provided over and above service to fit in everyone's needs and preferences eg for extra activities and timings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It does work out quite expensive with the additional activities.However, if you want a special winter holiday, this is the one! 
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Great week that allowed the group to be as active as they wished. Amazing food and lovely, warm accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many although the memory of trekking through the forest at night to make and throw a snowball of " wishes" into the rapids will stay with me for some time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marti was great - passionate about the Park and ensuring that everyone enjoyed themselves in a non competitive environment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Took me a full week to recover in return to the UK!!! I was shattered but it is really up to you how much activity you do on free days and afternoons. Extra activities are a tad expensive so be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any doubts, just go for it - an excellent taster of many winter activities in beautiful surroundings.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    We chose this holiday as it gave us the chance to try out lots of new activities so even if we didn't see the Aurora Borealis, we'd have a great time. We had high expectations of this holiday - and it exceeded them all!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Hearing the cry 'Northern Lights! Northern Lights!' at about 1230 a.m., scrambling into our clothes to run down to the lake and watching the Aurora was fantastic.The brilliant blue sky against the almost lunar landscape of the Riisintunturi National Park on our dog-sledding trip. Cross-country skiing through the woodsThe Little Bear trail - a great morning of walking with some of the other members of the group: beautiful scenery, lovely companyThe guided trek to Castle Rock - the guide's knowledge really added to our enjoyment 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teddy/Bjorn was brilliant: good fun, knowledgeable, great teaching manner. All the staff should be commended for their work - always smiling, ever helpful.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You really don't need to take very much luggage at all - we used our own thermals, socks and hats but everything else we used belonged to Basecamp. Do take a belt. If you want to take photos of the Northern Lights, you'll need a camera that you can set to an exposure of 30 seconds to a minute.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our best holiday ever. We're still smiling!
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    A great trip to try various winter-activities and return feeling healthy (if tired!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional full-day dogsledding into the National Park for a feeling of true wilderness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teddy was a very relaxed and helpful group leader - ably assisted by the other staff at the lodge.
  • Reviewed February 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    An excellent holiday providing an introduction to a whole range of snowy activities in a stunning location. The only problem is it ends too soon and then you have to go back to the real world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to pick from. I loved the variety of activities and the scenery and surroundings were just out of this world. It really is a magical location, whether you're walking through the forest on snow shoes, x-country skiing over the lake or hanging on as the huskies or reindeer take you on an adventure.I didn't expect to have so much fun shovelling snow all day to build a quinzee, but it was great fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teddy/Bjorn was an excellent group leader, very enthusiastic about his job and all the activities. He was always friendly and helpful, as were all the staff at Basecamp. You couldn't ask for better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    After spending a whole day building your quinzee you really should stay the night in it - when will you get another chance to sleep in a snow cave? Be prepared to spend some money on the optional activities - it might seem expensive but it's worth it. And make use of all the equipment in your free afternoons. The 'Little Bear Trail' is a lovely walk to do on snow-shoes with some great views. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were unlucky and didn't get to see the northern lights but I'm not too disappointed - it gives me a good excuse to go back again!
  • Reviewed February 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Wow....... That all that comes to my head when I think of this week, holiday set in a amazing environment, participating in varied activities with awesome people. Waking up in a snow cave to silence, crawling out to be greeted to a frozen lake covered in snow.......bliss

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky sledging through blanket of white snow and all you can hear is the dogs sprinting is breathtaking, feels like your in a dream and you don't want to wake up from it. Whereas snowmobiling over a frozen lake is different speeding up and down hills and just feeling the adrenaline of your in control of this machine is amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bjorne aka Teddy is very good at his job, knew so much information about the surrounding areas, history of the country and the activities participating in. He became one of the group rather than a leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to spend money, a lot of extras but so worth it!! Also even though they give you thermals I would advise brining some of your own stuff as well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make the most of every seeing your there, go sledging its free and fun! Hit the hot tub and sauna you'll need it after a day of activities, and make sure you do a sauna snow roll! And a optional activity that's a must is a full day huskies! Expensive but worth every single penny! You can never get bored of those cuties
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    Lots of well organised, interesting activities in outstandingly beautiful surroundings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is impossible to pick one thing. The sense of achievement that came from mastering (in even the loosest sense of the word) a wide range of new activities was addictive, the fresh clean air was exhilerating and the sense of peace in the surroundings as well as the complete lack of light pollution was completely relaxing. The perfect package.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, helpful, fun. Outstanding

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pack too many clothes, for the daytime activities everything is provided.