Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

150 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2018
    Sabina Heywood

    Truly magical experience

    This trip is a fantastic way of exploring northern Finland. The activities throughout the week keep you physically active so it's an ideal holiday for people who enjoy that! It's a beautiful location and the scenery took our breath away on several occasions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the activities included are fantastic but our highlight was actually going on our own 10k snow trek with the snow-shoes. There's lots of information at Basecamp provided. The dogsledding included in the Exodus package was another highlight! We also chose the full day of dogsledding but the included option had better scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bjorn is fab - lots of knowledge and a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a hairdryer if you use one...they have them at Basecamp but you have to keep returning it. Your own base-layers, hat and face buff are useful too. The wifi didn't work at Basecamp but it wasn't a problem for us as we used our 4G.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were slightly worried about being surrounded by kids who were also at Basecamp for their Finnish Family Week...but they did a great job of splitting up the two groups whenever activities were involved. Our meal times were the same but there's a lot of segregation so you don't have to be sitting with children should you not want to. We missed the optional Ruka trip and did our own snow-shoe walk, which was brilliant. Unless you want a ski lesson or try snow-mobile, Ruka is worth a miss.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Annie Beecroft

    A magical wilderness that stays with you long after you have left it behind

    If you want to run away and have an adventure then this is the ideal escape for anyone looking to be part of a small group and experience new things. I am not a fan of the snow but there's not one moment that I would have changed. Prepare to be challenged, Prepare to Laugh and Prepare to be full of glorious memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I paid extra for the Husky Dog sledding optional activity. I feel so blessed to have been able to be part of a fun, small group of people that helped make this day so Magical. The natural beauty of the surroundings felt like you are first people to touch the landscape. This will stay with me forever. We sledged over a lake and it was a pinch my self moment. It was perfectly stunning. If you do this, stop and do a 360 degree look around.The lunch by a open fire that was prepared for kindly by the leader. It tasted great and felt like luxury. The Dogs were well behaved. I didn't expect this day to make me smile as much as it does and it's nearly a year since I visited. The other moment that makes me smile and laugh was tree hugging. A small moment. Fat Biking in Ruka. You hire the bikes and it is a lot of fun!. There was no obvious bike trails in Ruka but that didn't stop the enjoyment and thrill of cycling in the snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julia is an Angel. She is an outstanding group leader. She has a wonderful kindness and sincerity. She fun and attentive. She is serious. If you were to get lost in the Finnish wilderness then you would want her there by your side as she fills you with ease, excitement and wonder. There's nothing that she wouldn't do for a person in her group. Thanks is a small word but I'm not sure it would have been half as much fun with out her help guidance, enthusiasm and support.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I remember going to the travel agents and said that I'm looking for an adventure. I'd always wanted to go to Finland. I said to the travel agent that, if this Finnish wilderness week accepts a non skier than I will pay the deposit instantly. This holiday was booked once the reply came in that it was OK. It was worth the 20 year wait to visit a small part of Finland. There are times when you need to think about all options. This trip isn't one of them. Cease this wonderful moment because it does honestly stay with you and it becomes a travel highlight The only thing that you need is a passport and some spending money. Be open to the optional activities because the only thing that is difficult and challenging is working out how to spend your freed time and then trying to fit it all in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was a solo traveller. The small group that I was part of was a joy and a privilege to be part of. If I spent time on my own then it was simply by choice. I just remember laughing with them during that whole week. This started the moment that I got on the plane from the UK. The food was wonderful, the cocktails fun!!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Heidi Dempsey

    Fab Trip -Just Book It!

    The trip was recommended to me by previous travel buddies and lived up to all expectations. The scenery is beautiful, the accommodation great and very warm and the equipment provided is superb. Although you try lots of activities there is plenty of time to chill out and you aren't expected to be up too early so definitely a holiday to recharge the batteries. There is lots of food and always tea, coffee and squash on the table if you are chilling in the lodge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many! But seeing the Northern Lights appear above the trees as we did the nighttime snowshoe walk in the forest was totally amazing. I also really loved the dog sledding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonja was brilliant. Very knowledgable, fun and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff at base camp were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is lots to do but also plenty of down time so time to chill. The optional activities are expensive but definitely worth choosing some. I have never been skiing so had a shared ski lesson in Ruka which was definitely worth the money. If you don't want to spend too much there are walks and fat bikes too. Make use of the sauna and hot tub and do roll in the snow after jumping out the sauna it's not that bad. Also pack very light you really don't need much for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A brilliant trip and very much recommended.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Rod Whitaker

    Great fun and so beautiful !

    really great week with an interesting and varied group of people. The clean air, beautiful fresh snow, pristine scenery, great home made food and the daily exercise made for a really good healthy break from the stresses of work !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    chillin with the group around an open fire and doing the midnight walk in total darkness through the forest !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juuli was absolutely fabulous, patient, informative and always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble and she works incredibly hard for very long hours to make sure everyone is fully looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light ! the lodge and accommodation is really warm and cosy so just t-shirts required ! extra base layers are a good idea as you will need to change after most activities, bring some cosy slippers for the lodge especially the evenings so there no wet boots being walked through and if you like a big mug of branded tea then bring our own cup and bags !!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    enjoyed this trip so much, make sure you make use of the sauna and hot tub
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Bonita Rayner-Jones

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    Beautiful Oulanka National Park in March, got to see the Northern Lights and experience the basics of snow shoeing and cross country skiing. The activities were very good and the group leaders. Very remote location with just a few people at the Base Camp. Accommodation very basic which lets down the whole experience unfortunately. No comfy chairs or sofas to relax in after a day of activities. To relax you were either bolt upright at a wooden dining table on a hard wooden chair or laying down in a dark wooden lodge. First time an aeroplane seat looked so inviting at the end of the trip. No fresh fruit all week either. Go for an active break, definitely not for rest and relaxation as the accommodation is too basic in the winter to accomodate this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Oulanka National Park is beautiful, great snow conditions and forest all around for snow shoeing and cross country skiing. Getting to see the Northern Lights was magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader very nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As stated above, accommodation very basic. Take fruit with you and some alcohol as average bottle of wine was Eur 27 at the bar and there was no fruit all week. Also no food provided on both plane journeys so grab some food at the airport. Take your own thermal underwear and socks. Also your own hats. Everything else provided. Definitely do the Ruka trip as its a fun place and skiing is very good there.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Richard Hillman

    Fun in Finland

    This was very enjoyable holiday. It didn't matter that I'd never done any type of skiing, dog sledding or snow mobiling. We were taught how to do each of these activities. See the Northern Lights was a bonus as there is no guarantee.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Northern Lights and the dog sledding with huskies. Finishing the week with a campsite fire was a nice way to conclude the holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the leaders were friendly, accommodating and enthusiastic. This was true of all the staff at basecamp. Juuli was happy to spend time chatting with us and obviously enjoyed her job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make the most of the free time. There is quite a lot of free time but you are free to use the snowshoes, cross country skis and sledges whenever you like. You might want to bring a few travel games for the evenings. You really don't need to bring many cold weather clothes. I was provided with good quality inner and outer gloves, a hat, boots, 2 layers of thermals, waterproofs and a head torch. If you want to sleep in the quinzee a sleeping bag and mattress are also provided.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 31 of us on my trip which is many more than there would normally be. This didn't adversely affect the attention we received but it did mean it took longer to get to know the fellow travellers which meant the group felt less intimate. However, that really is my only grumble and it is a minor one. Otherwise there was near to being the perfect trip. The activities were varied and exciting. The food was plentiful and more varied that other reviews had led me to expect.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Clare Day

    Enjoyable

    This holiday was a great opener for those who have little or no experience at previous winter sports. I really enjoyed the Husky sledging and snow shoeing was more fun than I anticipated. Very cosy accommodation and although the food was not in anyway gourmet it was what I expected for a Nordic menu. (Would be nice actually if you could include a cookery lesson as a optional extra) Would defiantly recommend as a winter holiday if you want to try a bit off everything and once you have had a lesson you can be as active or lazy as you like.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Defiantly the husky sledge, have always wanted to do this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teddy (Bjorn) was very informative and consciencious of the needs of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of books, or games, helps especially during the dark evenings.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Angela Speed

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    A beautiful journey of snow filled landscapes and frozen lakes. Looked after from arrival to departure. Delicious hot food every day and competent friendly and efficient staff

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Storytelling in the dark by leader Henri. One seriously creative and skilled guy like a great teacher one never forgets the

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dedicated and hard working to ensure we were all looked after at all times. Incredible knowledge on all levels yet humble and funny. Someone I will never forget and use as an example of goodness and kindness yet strong and inspiring

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! Experience the challenges and embrace the Finnish culture and hospitality

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I shall go back again. I must!Ex38Q
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Claudia Schmid

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    A week in beautiful and snowy Lapland. It's great to try different activities and get away from it all. With the New Year's Special group we stayed in the "Logging Lodge" which is deep in the forest; far away from the next village.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the ice climbing wall. Plus the husky and snowmobile safaris

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Henri and Miriam were absolutely great! Very knowledgable, good company and they spent hours on the phone to arrange everything!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're at the Logging Lodge, bear in mind that it's a 45 min drive from Basecamp. And if you're at Basecamp, there might be a family group staying there at the same time (I preferred the peace and quiet of the Logging Lodge!)
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Brian Crockford

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    I loved this holiday. Finland in the snow was gorgeous and I enjoyed the mix of activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had a 2 hour (?) Huskie sledging trip as part of planned activities and we enjoyed it so much we booked the optional day sledging trip. It was absolutely magical and I can honestly say it was one of the best holiday days I have ever had. Beautiful scenery, lovely dogs, well organised and a very tasty lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bjorn (Teddy) was lovely. He was very chilled but organised and very knowledgeable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have two quibbles about the trip, which don't reflect on Oulanka Basecamp: 1. My boarding pass for the flight out and the return had the wrong name printed - my traveling companion's surname was used instead of mine. Fortunately I was still able to go through security and board without any problems. 2. I was very disappointed to discover that we shared the hotel with an Exodus family group holiday as I had thought I was booked on an adult only holiday. It wouldn't have been a problem if there had been more than one public room - one room was used for meals, relaxing and drinking - and if some of the children had been better behaved. There is only so much shouting and screaming I can take.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Brian for his review and we were pleased to hear that he enjoyed the trip overall. We are aware that a family group was also staying at Basecamp the week this departure of our Finnish Wilderness Week visited, and whilst groups do not usually do activities together and mealtimes are normally staggered, we have updated our trip notes to include details of when two departures may be at the property at the same time (during some school holidays) so that clients are aware of this in advance.

    Paolo Bonato - Product Manager for Finland