Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

552 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2020

    Busy itinerary packed with highlights

    This is a busy itinerary that covers all the major sights in the 'Golden Triangle' of Northern India, plus two tiger safaris and Varanasi, in only 7 days off work. Most itineraries on offer for this part of the world won't give you so much in such a short time period. This makes it a great option for travellers with little time to spare and who want to see as much as possible of this part of the world. There is little 'down time' and it can feel a bit rushed at times, but for me this was far outweighed by the opportunity to see so much and visit places I simply couldn't have fitted in at all any other way. The trip was very well organised and run and I enjoyed everything we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal was so impressive - it really is worth seeing it in real life. Pictures and TV can't do it justice. The whole trip was worth it just for that. Seeing a tiger in Rathambhore was thrilling especially as many groups aren't that lucky (but the safaris are worthwhile and enjoyable in their own right even if no tigers appear). Varanasi was fascinating and an unexpected highlight for me. Also visiting the Sikh Gurdwara and its communal kitchens in Delhi was a really interesting trip and gave an insight into an aspect of a religion I knew little about.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very well organised and efficient. He did a fantastic job keeping a large group together and getting us through an incredibly busy and tightly timed itinerary in sometimes difficult circumstances. He made the trip run smoothly which must have been a mammoth undertaking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really does get very cold in February, particularly on the game drives and sunrise starts. You can't wear enough on the early morning safari to keep warm. So pack accordingly! Layers are best as later in the day when the sun's out you won't need your jackets. Most days you have access to a bus so can leave things like coats. European plug adaptors are the most useful to take and can be used in the majority of the hotels. The train does have power points by the bunks. You can purchase a chain and padlock to secure your bags on the train very cheaply at the station - so if you don't already have one, don't splash out in your home country on one. As with all Exodus trips, a softer, smaller bag will serve you better than a big hard suitcase, particularly when trying to fit it under the train bunk beds. There are a number of optional excursions and these aren't always listed in the trip notes. The cost was generally around 1000-1500 rupees per person for a group of 16. It would be higher for smaller groups. The excursions offered were a cooking demonstration on the first evening, a hot air balloon ride on the second morning (this would be more expensive than the cost above), watching a Bollywood film at a local cinema on the second night (this was about 700 rupees and was well worth it, really enjoyable), a sunrise cruise on the river in Varanasi to see the burning ghats (highly highly recommended), a trip to Sarnath on the second day in Varanasi (miss-able, but does pass the time if you don't want to wait around at the hotel), and a sightseeing trip in Delhi on the last day. You won't necessarily see the standard sights on the Delhi trip but the places we went were well worth visiting, especially the Gurdwara. If you do all the trips and eat with the group, you need at least £200 spending money. The shopping trips can't really be avoided despite what the trip notes say as they are done 'en route' to other things, although you can opt to stay on the bus if you prefer. Take a kindle or phone or something else to amuse yourself if that's the case. The items you see are all high-price and outside the budget of some travellers, so if you're going to have to watch your money and find temptation hard to resist, you might also want to sit these out. If you're a keen photographer or historian, planning ahead for your visits is a good idea as you'll get very little time at some of the sights - in particular, those in Jaipur, and Fatephur Sikri. Reading up in advance will help you make the most of the time you get and ensure you don't miss anything you particularly wanted to see/photograph.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Stunning trip

    I was well impressed with Sri Lanka - charming people, friendly and calm perhaps due to the widespread effect of Buddhism. Our well planned route took us inland, through the mountains and round the south coast with expert guide Nalaka, so we got a great overview of the island. Lovely hotels, most with pools, and superb food - buffets with the chance to try everything mixed with home cooking on banana leaves. We had the opportunity to travel in different ways - rafts, bikes, jeeps and trains; we saw wildlife close up, especially elephants of course, crocodiles, monkeys and a wide range of birds; and we explored some incredible historic sites. A very memorable and fun trip with a lovely group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was particularly inspired by the view from the top of Sigiriya rock in the early morning mist, the folk museum and the life of Martin Wickramasinghe and the cheek of the monkeys!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nalaka was an excellent tour guide - charming, well organised, informative and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No real need for adaptors - most hotels have sockets which take UK plugs. Walking boots are pretty useful - the Horton Plains track in particular is rough. And 'temple clothes' are needed - even just a sarong which can cover the legs or shoulders and old socks to wear on the hot rocks.
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Lindy Fozard

    An amazing country

    Recently returned from a wonderful trip , travelling with a friendly set of companions and Kibrom as our guide. It is a deeply spiritual country with amazing scenery and lovely people. The accommodation is generally good although not everything works ! The Ethiopians don’t have a culture of eating out so restaurants menus are simple and somewhat repetitive - and I didn’t really like Injera which is a classic staple in the Ethiopian diet. Our guide was very knowledgable especially about the church and Ethiopian history and it was interesting to discuss cultural differences with him, which often challenged the Western way of looking at life. Some of the days are very long , with early starts , toilets in restaurants can be a bit grim and you have to accept that “ bush stops” ( girls to the right and boys to the left ) are often required . I think the Exodus assessment of activity levels is an under estimate and a reasonable level of fitness and agility is required especially as many of the sights are at high altitude which can make you feel tired and breathless with minimal activity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the mountains, sitting with the baboons, and the walk to the waterfall on market day. We were humbled to be part of the Timkat festival and share in the excitement and fervour of the local people.The boat trip on Lake Tana was very relaxing and enjoyed stopping off at monasteries hidden on the islands.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kibrom was very knowledgable and once he got to know us was able to share jokes and stories about himself and his family . I wasn’t at the Timkat accident( when a neighbouring stand collapsed with multiple injuries to local people) but I gather he got everyone to safety very quickly. His religion is clearly very important to him and he was able to talk about the churches in great depth.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are lots of visits to various holy sites - so please bear that in mind when you book if you are not particularly interested in the religious part of the trip . You need to be fit and agile as lots of climbing up and down steep rocky paths, walking poles are a good idea. The suggested amount of spending money on the Exodus trip notes is too low, most people ended up looking for an ATM ( not that many available) Food , drinks and shopping are not expensive but there is a strong tipping culture .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Addis Ababa airport is very security conscious, we had to go through security checks 3 times. Don’t buy water in the departure lounge to take on the plane- there is another security check to get to the departure gate , and the water is confiscated immediately ( even when the bottle hasn’t been opened) Tourism is in its infancy and we feel privileged to have visited when we did.
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Rosemary Sampson

    Ethiopia in Depth

    Overall, it was an interesting and very enjoyable experience. Our guide, Yitbarek, was very well organized, knowledgeable, and his love for his country and people shone through. Scenery was spectacular. Hotels, food, and wine ranged in quality, but I went knowing Ethiopia’s infrastructures were poor as were many of the roads. Timket was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Timket festival.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Well organized, calm, and accommodating when possible. As stated in Summary, his love for his country and people shone through.
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Nigel Pitt

    Ethiopian tour

    A very enjoyable tour. An interesting and beautiful country. The Ethiopians were friendly people. Our Tour Leader Yitbarak was a very good Leader all round. The hotels were better than I expected. The Group was congenial. My most enjoyable group tour so far.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The joyful exuberance of the Ethiopians participating in the religious processions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good all round.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stomach upset minor but pack some immodium !
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Dorothy Latimer

    Ethiopia in Depth: Timkat Festivsl

    Interesting itinerary but too many long bus trips. Could have been better if bus trips were separated by days or stopped for more breaks. Simien mountains day were wonderful, would have liked longer there. Following day was a long day to Axum and the following day we visited the stelae - would have preferred to have a short walk included into this. Could have shortened the 2 days through Tigrai to Wukro and Mekele. A very long day with wonderful scenery but would have appreciated more and longer stops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk up the Simeon mountains and the Lake Tana visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good and pleasant but would have preferred much more information during the long bus trips. He did not have or did not use a loud speaker until more than half way through the trip. I would have liked much more information about the country during the long bus journeys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of very long bus trips!
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Angela Coates

    Ethiopia, everything starts from here...

    Ethiopia is a truly unique. Everything begins in Ethiopia. The trip takes you through the historical and cultural aspects of northern Ethiopia - tracing the beginnings of Christianity through different empires and kingdoms. The natural environment is spectacular and the long drives are simply a pleasure as you take in the magnificent scenery - when you step out and walk through it and meet the local flora and fauna - it just increases the impact - the Gelada Monkeys are a highlight for sure. This trip requires physical fitness to fully enjoy what it offers - if you are lucky enough to have this and have the chance - take the opportunity to discover a truly amazing place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Participating in the religious celebrations - Ethiopians are welcoming and inclusive and they love it when you join in - so join in with an open heart. The people for me were the absolute highlight. The monasteries on the lake are incredible - I could have stayed there for a week! The churches in Tigray are also spectacular - well worth the climb - you will be rewarded. All the stories - this is a land full of human history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kibrom happily shared everything with us - the history, culture, religion from the past to the present. He was funny and warm and is a great ambassador for Ethiopia. I am happy that he was our guide because of his knowledge and care - by the end of the trip we were a big family - a good group leader and a good group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip from my point of view is very comfortable - all the hotels were clean with good facilities. The trip notes were also correct and explained what to expect - so there are long drives and you do need to be physically fit to participate in everything that is on offer. Take the advice of the guide - they are there to ensure you enjoy your trip fully. Go now to Ethiopia - it is wonderful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The departure that I went with was witness to an accident at the Timket celebrations in Gonder. This was very upsetting. In these moments you learn a lot about life, your place within it and the resilience of the Ethiopian people. I have total respect for the Ethiopian people, they are proud and strong. I also want to acknowledge those that lost their lives during the ceremony, I will hold them in my prayers. This event should not deter any future visitors and my comments here are not to meant to cause concerns - but to acknowledge what happened and recognise that life continues.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    John Gilligan

    Orthodox Christmas in Ethiopia

    Ethiopia is not like any other African country. It is Orthodox Christian by choice not conversion and had no colonial period. It's modern economic development is astonishing with people being lifted out of poverty before your eyes. It is still strange and erratic at times - they turn off the internet from time to time - but the scenery is astonishing and the people generally welcoming and pleased to meet you, even if the children have all figured out that tourists mean rich pickings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were there for the Orthodox Christmas which was truly memorable as tens of thousands converge on churches to celebrate. Crowd control is minimal and the experience is a full-on sensory assault.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guides are excellent and almost by osmosis you learn about why this country is unique, culturally and geographically.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Food is either Ethiopian and odd to a Western palette (dals, stews and dips with thick sourdough pancake - and what exactly is "fasting food" anyway?), or Italian inspired and absolutely fine. Beer is excellent and cheap and gin essentially all but free. Hotels vary from "pretty good" to "you could do better if you tried a bit", but anyone who goes expecting western chains is going to the wrong place. Fascinating.
  • Reviewed January 2020

    Colourful Rajasthan

    I went on this trip with my family and we all enjoyed a lot. The trip was amazing and we actually saw different colours of Rajasthan. We enjoyed most in Ranthambore and we are again planning to go Rajasthan in upcoming holi.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ranthambore
  • Reviewed December 2019

    Mind Blowing Trip

    A completely enjoyable excursion which worked out as expected. We went out the way where we can see all the little "incidentals" which make the excursion, for example, tile making, rubber tapping, rice and spice plantations. The quality of the lodgings was amazing. On the off chance that you have three weeks to spare and need to see the highlights of South India, this is the excursion for you. Far reaching inclusion of the primary temples, royal residences, hill stations and different attractions of the area. Despite the fact that the excursion packs in every one of the sights, it didn't feel hurried and there is sufficient time left allowed to investigate without anyone else. South India appears to be substantially less frantic than the north and the food is astonishing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Backwaters in Alleppey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was very nice and friendly.