Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

558 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    Yet another great holiday organised by Exodus.  It covered everything, despite the rain!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having lunch with Tsunami victims - this was the best rice and curry conjured up in such a little space - it was like feeding the 5000, even though there were only 20 of us.  So much to choose from  Exodus have worked tirelessly to support these people and it is amazing how much can be achieved with so little.As well as this, the variety of the excursions was well received.  The group was great, as were the elephants, the wildlife - not to mention all the different types of birds - I've never seen so many kingfishers in my life, the locals and the changes in scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was great.  He showed us his country, a few dance steps and how to play cricket.  He introduced us to the Sri Lankan way of life including the local tipple - arrack - which readily flowed in the evenings.  A perfect tour leader who joined in the fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy yourself, but don't bank on the weather behaving itself.  We went in what was supposed to be the "dry" season, but it wasn't, so an umbrella will be a must!  Keep the salt sachets from the aircraft as this will come in handy to add to some water in a bottle for the jungle walk - a great remedy for leeches.  Opportunities are few and far between for shopping, so enjoy the sapphires, spices and oils.  Galle was great and cheap for shopping for scarves/clothes.  If you are thinking of climbing Adam's Peak to see the sunrise, make sure you consider this carefully as you will need to be fit and able to cope with lack of sleep and of course if the weather is bad you won't see the sun rise!  Climbing the Lion Rock gave a great view of the area.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait for the next trip!
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    SOUTH INDIA EXPLORED

    Great trip, plenty of variety,good food and hotels.Transport comfortable as some long journeys were made.Well looked after by the knowledgeable tour leader.Good contrast between temples,architecture, scenery and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thanjure temple at sundown.  Otters and wild elephants in Periyar wildlife park.Good cheap indian food.Friendly local people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gopal was knowledgeable on all aspects of India, from the thousands of gods to the present political situation.Always eager to please.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sterling as it is easy to exchange,best rates outside of hotels.Travel light with easily washed and dried clothing. You have to be willing to try curry, other foods are available but limited choice. Great for vegetarians.Speak to the local people. Western alcohol is expensive and not readily available. Local beer is fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very different from North India and well worth going to.If your schedule allows  think about having a day or so before and after the trip in Cochin. The Grand hotel has memorable food and it is easy to get over to Fort Cochin by ferry for 3 rupees.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TROPICAL SOUTH

     A very good introduction to India and I would recommend it to anyone. Very leisurely - perhaps too much time for 'shopping'. The secenry is ever changing from coastal plain with its noisy cities and town to the quite lush setting of the tea plantations in the Western Ghats to the stunning hurly burly of Madurai's Temple and back down to the relaxing Kovalam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the optional trip to Padmanabhapuram Palace and the tip of India.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. Very attentive, full of knowledge and being local to the area gave an added dimension to the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check your trip notes - ours were inaccurate.  Make sure they give you at least 2 hours to change planes in Dubai. All our flights left at least an hour late except for the crucial one back to Gatwick which left on time and we had been given only 70 minutes between planes.Don't expect western food. You are in India with its fantastic selection of local food. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Backwaters are lovely, but you'll only get 4 hours cruising. Too little for a wonderful area packed with interest.
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TROPICAL SOUTH

    We were looked after so well, our guide thought of everything. Exodus were well organised and prompt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting a Hindu temple with our Hindu guide who gave us so much infomation.Watching the sun go down from our houseboat on the backwaters. Beautiful. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was everything one could want from a guide. I liked the fact he was a local man and a Hindu so could give us so much infomation about the way of life there.He was very well organised and went the extra mile.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with Exodus, you will not be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely holiday giving a really good overview of what life is like in Southern India. With a few relaxing bits added.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THROUGH RAJASTHAN

    Rajasthan is a beautiful place to visit especially by cycle. Great experience and would recommend to anyone with a sense of adventure and experienceing the unexpected. The food, people and sights are vast and contrasting form place to place. The colours of Rajasthan are magnficient.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Taj Mahal is inspiring and beyond words.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    HarishKumar and Pramod are two great leaders who were able to provide guidance whenever required. Their in depth knowledge of the trip was extremely helpful and informing. They were always willing to help whenever it was required. I hope I will get the chance to travel with them again. Harish is a person who you can rely on and depend on making the ride enjoyable and the whole experience fascinating.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm clothes as it can get very cold at nite. Sweets, pens for the children you will pass on the roads. Beware of spicy food if you have a fragile stomach. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time for shopping would be advisable. To wonder the shops of Delhi would be nice as in the other major cities visited.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    A most enjoyable week rounding off the old year and seeing in the new one based at a lovely, traditional finca in the Andalucian countryside.  Good mixture of city visits and hilltop village walks not to mention superb food, stunning views and good company!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have been to this part of Spain on previous occasions and whilst it was good to revisit the beautiful cities of Cordoba and Seville, my personal highlights of the week were (1) the breathtakingly wonderful horse show at the Royal Andalusian School of Equestrian Art in Jerez and (2) the evening when three young local girls came up to the finca with their Spanish music CDs and flamenco dresses and performed for us - terrific, especially the dance to a Spanish version of "My Way"!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzie has everything you want in an Exodus leader - she is friendly, knowledgeable, considerate, ever ready to assist and fun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was probably not the best week to be visiting tourist attractions in southern Spain - on New Year's Eve in Seville for instance, most places were closed.  But the staff at Cortijo Rosario - Nieves, Maria, Rocio, Anna-Marie, Juan - made us so welcome and ensured that we had such a special week.  Cortijo Rosario is an Exodus gem and if you are not into city visiting, there are walking holidays based there too. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the free day (usually Wednesday) there are countless options - several of our large, multi-national group took the train to visit either Granada or Ronda (both highly recommended) whilst others went walking or just chilled out at the finca.  This is the type of holiday where you can do as much or as little as you please - idyllic!
  • Reviewed December 2010
    Anonymous

    FESTIVALS OF BHUTAN

    A fascinating place to visit - a really interesting "hidden" corner of the world that is well worth exploring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think just landing at Paro airport was amazing.  Quite apart from the actual descent, zig-zagging through the valleys (rather close to some very large mountains), it's like a fairytale scene when you arrive: beautiful scenery, amazing buildings, and everyone in national costume.  Not all airports are like this!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our local guide (Kinley) in Bhutan was fantastic - he knew everything about his country and made sure we saw whatever we wanted.  The Exodus team in Kathmandu were all very friendly and well organised too. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food in Nepal and Bhutan was all excellent, although you might be advised to stick to a mainly non-meat diet.  Bhutanese cuisine is renowned for its spiciness and the use of chillis as a main dish, not just as a flavouring.  There is no need to worry, though, if you don't like hot food as they don't serve this sort of thing to the tourists.  In fact, being a real spice fan myself, I had to plead with my guide to get local food!  Momos (dumplings) in Nepal are delicious, addictive and very cheap.  Also, the veggie curry I had for breakfast every day in the hotel in Kathmandu is one of the most delicious things I have ever tasted, even at 6am on my last day.  Note to non curry lovers - they have eggs, bacon, toast and muffins as well, if that's more your thing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only low point was the extension to Chitwan in Nepal.  We had hoped for a real wildlife adventure to round off our trip but instead found dingy, dirty accommodation and a handful of staff who couldn't really be bothered.   Maybe this was due to visiting out of season when the place was practically shut down: I wouldn't advise you to visit during the monsoon season unless you are a big fan of leeches.   It also took 8 hours each way to get there, so our actual time in Chitwan was rather more limited than we realised.  Even the frisson of a tiger loose in the village wasn't as exciting as it could have been.  Despite the whole village turning out to watch the government officers on elephants with their tranquiliser guns closing in on the tiger hidden in a rice field, we were shepherded back to our lodge.  I could go on but I gave much more specific feedback to Exodus on my feedback form, so I won't go on about it any more!
  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    FESTIVALS OF BHUTAN

    Fabulous! A once in a life time and a definite 'do before you die'.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to adiquitely explain! The people were the highlight. This country is still largely un spoiled by tourism, i hope it stays that way. The children have no fear of strangers and love to see thier photos on the back of your digital camera. We were welcomed so warmly and seen as a novelty which was lovely. The most powerful moment for me was being invited into a section of one of the monestaries which tourist arnt usually allowed into. It was beautifully decorated and we recieved a blessing from one of the monks before we left.The most peaceful moment was standing ontop of a mountain over looking the capital, Thimpu, surrounded by fluttering prayer flags.The most heart warming was being invited to our guides home to meet his daughter and see how Bhutanese people really live.Last but not least - arriving in Nepal to co-incide with Holi, one of the main Hindu festivals where people throw coloured paint at eachother.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. He allowed our itineray to be flexible and managed to meet our varied expectation and aspirations. He really made the trip worthwhile. In nepal we didnt really have a guide but we had a local rep who explained to us about the local area and how to get to the places we might want to see. He also arranged for us to do an extra guided tour of Baktapur which we paid for out of our spending money.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes for varied weather conditions - it was very warm while we were there (march depature) and i ended up having to wash most of my tops to wear them again. The temples and the festival require women to wear loose fitting clothes with arms covered to below the elbow. Skirts shouldnt be above the knee. Also do not wear hats at the festival or in temples as it causes offense. We were advised not to change travellers cheques at the airport which was a disaster. Most hotels dont hold enough funds to change travellers cheques of any size. This left several people in our group without spending money for most of the trip. My advise would be take US dollars which are widely accepted. Nepalese rupees are also accepted and change travellers cheques at PARO AIRPORT as you cant change them anywhere else easily. There was no problem with using travellers cheques in Nepal. In case of emergencies it is worth taking a first aid kit which has some steralised needles in it. That way if you need to go to hospital, for what ever reason, you dont need to worry about hygiene.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some people may be put off by the cost of travelling on this trip - once you visit the country you can see the value of trying to keep the numbers of tourists down and although the trip is expensive it wouldnt be anywhere near as enjoyable if thier small population was overwhelmed. Its well worth the money!