Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Iolanda Jackson-Johns

    Good

    A very comprehensive tour where you get to see many of the best places in Croatia on the coast and Islands. Beautiful scenery with a picture around every corner. Very busy itinerary both the cycling and the travelling with not much free time so make sure sure you are prepared for this one - both physically and mentally. It was very hot when we were there so you have to factor in that you might be cycling big hill climbs in extreme heat and out in the heat all day, every day. There is a support vehicle if you need it but ours did not have too much in the way of aircon.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the uphill climbs (up to 10km long) in extreme heat without getting in the support vehicle

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, calm and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit on your bike before you go - not really a tour for those who just cycle to the shops at home

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Proud that I did it and many wonderful memories and friendships - THANK YOU
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Robert Wright

    A great week in the Mont Blanc area

    A fantastic week. The accommodation was top notch as were the chalet caterers. The description of the weeks walk was accurate sadly the weather let us down a little.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Teaching the aiguillette des Houches. Alt 2285m

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A fantastic weeks walking with our guide John Briggs. John proved to have in depth knowledge of the area. He was able to juggle the itinerary to suite the weather conditions. Our group was mixed ability and John set an appropriate pace and always seemed to be in the right place at the right time should anyone need advice, encouragement or just a little reassurance. His evening briefings were informative and gave us all the information we would need for the next days walk. Top quality guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you exodus, John and the ladies in the chalet for a great holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Nette Lowe

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    Had a wonderful week walking in the Mont Blanc massif. Everything was fantastic - the walks were thoughtfully planned and well guided, chalet was comfortable with amazing views, food was delicious and varied, company was excellent........and the weather was brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being up high!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Egle was an excellent leader. She adapted the walks to the ability of the group, made sure the pace was appropriate for everyone, is knowledgeable about the area and has a wonderful sense of humour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the rating of 3 is a little low for this trip and some walkers may be challenged if basing their decision on this rating.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    marilyn carroll

    Walking in wonderful Rodopi mountains

    A memorable walking holiday. The walks were through forests, gorges and beautiful wildflower meadows. Lovely views! A very pastoral feel to the whole holiday - and very relaxing. Yagodina is a small friendly village in a peaceful location. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Food was good - lots of local produce was used.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyone mentions the lunch stops - but it was so lovely looking at the wildflowers, the birds and the views. There are not many places left in Europe that are so unspoilt. We rarely saw other people when we were out walking. Finding bear paw prints on a walk through some woods was unexpected!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nelly was excellent. One of the best guides I have encountered on a holiday. She spoke English fluently and was a good communicator with the group. Her knowledge of the local flora and fauna was extensive. She gave us a lot of background on the history and culture of Bulgaria. She was very helpful and attentive to the needs of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I spent an extra day in Sofia and I can recommend this. There is a lot to see in the city centre. The Metro system is easy to use and cheap. Be prepared for showers when out walking and take lots of sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I had tried to learn a few words of Bulgarian before the holiday. If you are not flying direct to Sofia make sure you have enough time to make your connecting flight. One hour was not enough when flying from Manchester due to delays.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Angie Cutmore

    Inca Trail

    Brilliant from start to finish. This trip excelled my expections as I have never done an Exodus trip before. I am a keen fell walker but have never seen a such diverse beautiful countryside. From river valleys to rugged mountain tops. The second day was quite steep up dead womans path but well worth it. We always got plenty of encouragement from our guides Edwind and Anthony. They were very knowledgeable about all the history and flora and fauna. But the highlight is the Sun gate and your first veiw og Macchu Pichu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind was able to help and advise us of all the trip entailed. He was a really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to the Sacred Valley is worth a visit too whilst you are acclimatising.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Angie Cutmore

    Inca Trail

    Brilliant from start to finish. This trip excelled my expections as I have never done an Exodus trip before. I am a keen fell walker but have never seen a such diverse beautiful countryside. From river valleys to rugged mountain tops. The second day was quite steep up dead womans path but well worth it. We always got plenty of encouragement from our guides Edwind and Anthony. They were very knowledgeable about all the history and flora and fauna. But the highlight is the Sun gate and your first veiw og Macchu Pichu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind was able to help and advise us of all the trip entailed. He was a really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to the Sacred Valley is worth a visit too whilst you are acclimatising.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Ann Burnett

    Inexperienced guide

    I have had to give this trip a 2 star because of the guide, although I take no pleasure in doing this. He was inexperienced and quite unfriendly at times. This was my 6th Exodus trip and this was my worst ever guide by a long way. See group leader section.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I absolutely loved swimming in Aidarkul Lake and the desert scenery on the way to and from the yurt. I also loved Samarkand and particularly Shah-i-Zinda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Shakh appeared to be inexperienced, he lacked friendliness at times and he showed a complete lack of interest in the fact that I was very badly ill twice. I had arrived a few days earlier (as a solo female traveller) and the day before I met the group I suffered sickness and diarhoea. On first meeting Shakh at the group meeting I mentioned this to him and I could not believe the almost complete lack of interest. In fact, I thought this so unusual, that I repeated myself in case he had not heard. We later went on our tour of Tashkent and I very nearly fainted (as I had not eaten due to the bug). Again Shakh was barely interested, pointed to a door where I could reach the outside and left me to it. Only when the other members of the group asked me if I was OK did Shakh very briefly check on me. A few days after that the bug returned and I was up all night with the worst illness I have ever encountered. The next day I again mentioned this to the guide and he was still uninterested (and no offers of pharmacy stops were made). Other problems with Shakh were:- not having sufficient water for our group in the first few days of the trip (at the desert fortresses we had run out of water completely in the heat and we also run out of water in the morning at Khiva). In fact, at the desert fortresses, I asked Shakh where the water was and he snapped back that he had not picked up the 10 litre bottle yet. As we had driven from the airport at Nukus there had been plenty of opportunity to pick up water. After that I no longer trusted Shakh to provide water and just bought my own to make sure I always had a supply. I have been on 5 other Exodus trips and on all those trips the guide has eaten with the group and the guides have been good/fantastic. This guide did not eat with us on the first night in Tashkent nor the first night in Samarkand and on around 4 or 5 other occasions. He was not always very friendly or smiley, which I think is the requirement of a guide. In fact one time we passed him in the street during our free time and he did not even smile or acknowledge us. The restaurant chosen for our final lunch in Samarkand was appalling in terms of service and again Shakh sat at a neighbouring table. Some of our food took an hour and a quarter or more to arrive and no complaints were made by him, to my knowledge. Then when the bill came the prices had changed markedly, for example the soup price had increased by over 50% and all the other prices had changed. This situation was awful and was handled very badly by the guide. The coach was not always asked to collect us, e.g from right outside the airport, so we were left with quite long distances to drag our cases. This was not really a problem for me as I had a rucksack (albeit a heavy one) but some of the other travellers were in their 70's and I am sure they would have benefited from being picked up. Shakh gave out his mobile number in case of emergency, with instructions NOT to ring him at night. Whilst I am sure most people would not ring the guide at night, emergencies can of course happen at night. On a more positive note Shakh was very knowledgeable about the history and geography of Uzbekistan and I very much enjoyed his commentaries, especially when he told us about his wedding. He also improved as the 11 days progressed (except for the final lunch incident). However I think being completely uninterested in the health of your travellers is completely unacceptable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sadly a number of people in our group were ill. Take plenty of rehydration salts. The bread is at least delicious, so you can survive on that! Do get out for a walk in the area around the yurt. I had a couple of little walks and it was so peaceful and the wildlife great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary is great for this trip with a lovely combination of nature and cities. I would however definitely check on who is the guide.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    John Wallace

    A wonderful country - but an indifferent leader

    The journey, the country, the route, the accommodation, the food and drink - all faultless. However, one relies very much on the tour leader to provide insights, explanations and observations of their native country, in order to bring that country to life and bring greater richness to the experience than mere observation, as a visiting stranger, can rovide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling amidst spectacular scenery redolent of Middle Earth in a time of innocence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor. He did what he had to and no more. He kept a distance from the group, erecting an impenetrable wall comprising his mobile phone and an attitude that clearly communicated that it would be best for us if we didn't trouble him by talking to him more than absolutely necessary. He had no contact with me throughout the trip, and I felt too intimidated to dare to ask him any of the many questions I had about his wonderful country. I have been on many other Exodus trips on which the leader become a friend, adviser, support and encouragement - and all-around hero.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure that they get an Albania guide who truly loves their job - most of the Exodus guides I've encountered have given their hearts and souls to the execution of their duties.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope the gentleman in question can be persuaded to give more time to his paying guests and less time to his mobile phone.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sue Moody

    Calves of steel

    A fabulous week in the Cinque Terre - not to be missed! The uphill sections can be a slog but the views are so rewarding that it really is worth it. Walking between the villages of the Cinque Terre is the best way to see the beauty of the area and, on the less used paths, see fewer tourists! The group was great fun, we all got on really well. Hotel Piccolo offers great breakfasts and the rooms are clean and adequate - it's easy to find walking from the station.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the walk from Corniglia to Manarola. Once we were up on the path through the terraced vineyards, the views were spectacular and there was a real sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela is an excellent guide who checks on everyone and gives plenty of rest periods which are essential as there are lots of uphill sections, many with steps of varying heights and condition. She provides alternatives for people who do not want to the full walk every day as well as inspiration for the free day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you really don't like walking up hills or struggle with long down hill walks, this isn't for you! If you are fit but are slow either uphill, downhill or both - don't worry as Michela makes sure that the pace works for everyone and the views are superb and worth it! Moneglia has lots of restaurants with plenty of choice so if you don't want to eat with the group you have lots of options.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Moneglia is easy to get to by train and if you opt for land only, consider flying into Genoa and catching the train from there as I did. It's just as easy as travelling from Pisa. The hotel has an agreement with a private beach at Moneglia so you can use that for a discounted price, but on our trip there wasn't much time for swimming in the sea unless you did half a day of walking and caught the train back from the halfway point.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Amy Kuhn

    Great hikes + comforts of home

    This was my first trip with Exodus, but it won't be my last. From the moment we pulled up to the chalet we were greeted by our hosts Zoe and Ben who immediately grabbed our stuff and showed us to our rooms and made us feel right at home. The Chalet Chocolat is very cozy and homey with a view out the back that never gets old. Our hikes were terrific, challenging but so worth it. Every day was different. The terrain, the scenery, the challenges... and the views. Our leader, Egle was great! Fun, sociable, knowledgeable and very organized. We very much enjoyed her leadership and had alot of laughs along the way. The food is amazing. Having cake waiting for you when you get back from a long day of trekking is even better than it sounds once you've done it. And these are real homemade cakes that are to die for. 3 course meals every night? So spoiled!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think it was our 4th hike, up to Aiguillette des Houches. It was a big hike and our group had been struggling with altitude and general malaise. There is a section that is very narrow and tricky just before summiting and everyone got through it like a champ. Being up there all together was something special. Also, crossing a heavy flowing stream forcing us all to get our feet wet and Egle helping everyone across by standing in it and other members of the group assisting as well. Very cool.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Egle was a great leader. Smart, organized, sociable and fun. She kept an eye on everyone and always had our safety at the forefront. I would love to trek with her again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is still quite challenging physically. There are some significant ascents and descents on some tricky terrain and narrow passages. The altitude can also play a factor. Not to be underestimated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for a fabulous week!
Call us on +356 21423994