Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

118 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Stephanie Clare

    Excellent mix of history, scenery and cycling

    A great introduction to Jordan with the two main bases covered: Wadi Rum and Petra, with a healthy sprinkling of cycling in-between.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery in Wadi Rum closely followed by Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ab (Abdullah) was excellent: extremely knowledgeable, courteous, and with a great sense of humour. He was always approachable and understanding - nothing was too much trouble for him. Despite the unscheduled changes on our trip (a flooded hotel and an overnight change in law re cycling trips), he worked through these issues, communicating regularly, and we completed all the activities we were scheduled to do, albeit in a different order. He was incredibly hardworking and never seemed to be "off-duty". He was in every sense a true professional. For us, he made the trip and is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a couple we only spent 450JD (we didn't really buy any souvenirs as none of them really interested us and a lot of it was very similar). Our 3/4 season sleeping bags were unnecessary for Wadi Rum, just a liner or lightweight sleeping bag would have been sufficient when we were there in late October - check temperatures before you go for an idea. We didn't use that many of our own snacks as our guide was great at providing these and it was something different everyday. You don't need your own bike repair kit as the team mechanic is following behind you. As others have mentioned there isn't a huge variety in the food, but there is plenty to eat. Remember to take a water bottle, the one disappointing thing about Jordan is the amount of plastic rubbish you see littering the sides of the roads. Finally the cycling was more ascent and descent than we had anticipated from the trip notes. The cycle at Wadi Rum is flat, the rest isn't!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eileen Cowling

    Wadi Rum and Petra cycling

    We throughly enjoyed our cycling trip to Jordan. Gave us a fascinating insight into a completely different culture. Unique and amazing cultural sights and enjoyable cycling through stunning desert landscapes. Our guide was excellent and gave us so much information on Jordan. Hotels and food generally OK. Although we would recommend this trip it is more of a sightseeing tour with opportunities to cycle rather than a predominantly cycling trip. There is quite a bit of coach travel but this is well worth while to see the breath of the country covered by the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra, floating in the Dead Sea and the overnight stay and jeep ride in the Wadi Rum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable and keen to inform us on the country. Worked very hard to ensure we enjoyed our trip despite some issues that arose that were outside his control. Socialable and engaging with the whole group. Went that extra mile.b

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring Mosquito spray for the overnight stay in the Wadi Rum. Think about buying a Shemagh (traditional bedouin headdress), as well as being stylish it's very effective in keeping the sun off when walking around.
  • Reviewed September 2019

    Bit rushed trip

    Jordan is very nice place while choosing this trip i was expecting to enjoy scenery as well but there were very few stoppage in this trip. Although all arrangements was good and we enjoyed cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Petra Treasury
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Shane Shudra

    Beautiful Cycle Trip Through Jordan!

    Petra & Wadi Rum by bike was an amazing journey through Jordan's stunningly beautiful desert landscape, on very quiet roads. It was quite challenging in late May with the heat, but so rewarding!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the second cycling day from Mt. Nebo down to the Dead Sea. It was a spectacular 30+km trip mostly downhill that really left me speechless! I purposely fell behind the group so I could enjoy the amazingly stark scenery with no one else around! Including virtually no vehicle traffic! Once we got to the Dead Sea, we spent time floating in the Dead Sea. It couldn't have been a better day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was good. He was not the regular leader for the cycling trips, so I feel he didn't take into account what cycling or more active groups needed or wanted. Snacks and water not quite as readily available as usual on Exodus trips, looked at us funny when we wanted to walk instead of taking taxi's, things like that. That being said, he was a very knowledgeable man and very passionate about his country. I learned a lot!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! Jordan was amazing! Such a wonderfully compact country with some truly breathtaking scenery!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Kelsey Baron

    Stunning roads to bike on!

    You can't beat the scenery on some of those rides, my goodness. It really takes your breath away. The roads barely have any cars on them as well so you really feel like you are on your own. Starts off easy and gets harder, worth all the effort!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Desert night at Wadi Rum. It was so amazing to pull out the beds and sleep under the stars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was okay. I felt like we never knew what was going on it was always a surprise. It made it difficult to plan ahead and be prepared. There were a few times when I didn't pack correctly for the day because he never took the time to explain some of the small things. For example, our day at Petra. It was really hot so I didn't want to carry my backpack, so I used a spybelt and my pockets and carabiners to carry water, sunscreen and money. He had told us we'd be doing lots of walking so I made sure to wear the right shoes. However as we are unloading from the bus he hands us a bag which contains our lunch in it. He says to hide it when we go through security - well I didn't have a backpack to put it in! I wasn't the only one who didn't bring a backpack because we didn't know we were going to be carrying stuff. We made it in okay but then I spent the first 3 hours of my day carrying a plastic bag full of stuff and my sandwhich spend many hours in the sun before I tried to eat it. It is a small thing forsure, but his heads up the night before about the fact that we should bring a backpack because we would be carrying our lunch and would need to hid it would have gone a long way to make my day more comfortable. This is just one example of many days where similair things happened. There were other times when the water bottle was empty or he stored it somewhere in the hotel but didn't tell us where so I'd end up having to buy bottled water anyway. He told us that he is not the usual guide for this trip and had only guided 1 cycling trip before. I wonder how different my experience might have been with an experienced cycling guide. My friend who had done this same trip last year suggested that we ask the guide to organize Shisha for us for our night in the desert, which his guide had done for them. It sounded like a great experience to be under the stars, listening to bedoin music, drinking sweet tea and smoking shisha. I talked it up to a few people in the group and we were all excited for this opportunity. So I asked our guide if he could help us organize this and he said "we'll see". Needless to say, the desert night came and went and he never got us anything. Not only that but he didn't bother to tell me that he wasn't able to organize it. Communication was lacking with him. Perhaps if I had known he wasn't going to put in the effort, some of us could have maybe tried ourselves to organize it. I do feel like I missed out that night because I had gotten so excited about it and he let me down. Overall you could clearly tell he was knowledgable and passionate about Jordan and its history. I just felt he lacked good communication and going the extra mile for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are no panier bags! So bring a bum bag.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip overall! Thank you.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Philip Warner

    Our wonderful journey through Jordan.

    An excellent,well organised cycling tour in a very welcoming and interesting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To me there were a few inspirational moments on the tour. The mosaics and the whole interior of the “Church of the Map”at Madaba was very inspirational. Again,Petra and camping out in Wadi Rum was quite inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Ab (Abdullah ) was excellent. He was always pleasant,had plenty of patience and hard working.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In winter months you need clothes for all types of weather. When walking to the water at the Dead Sea,I would recommend wearing sandals or some sort of rubber shoes because the layers of salt are quite sharp underfoot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thoroughly enjoyed the tour from start to finish. We had an excellent tour leader, bus driver and cycling guides. Whenever we were cycling we had a tourist police escort. The police were also quite friendly. We had more lunches than was advertised in the trip notes. Ab kept on feeding us with snacks. Beside the cycling, the tour was quite varied. There was a lot of walking, some quite strenuous at Petra,whilst it was quite relaxing at Aqaba..
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Anastasia Kondylis

    Jordan Cycle Tour

    The trip was a good way to see a lot in a short amount of time, but rushed. There weren't many moments to stop and take in the scenery or actually fathom where you were and what you were experiencing. The cycling was incredible and the main highlight. We cycled through remote areas and experienced scenes that we would have otherwise not had opportunity to see. The experience in Wadi Rum was somewhat disappointing and lacked the unique cultural experience. The food that you receive in the Middle East caters for all food types and is delicious, but we were not given the opportunity to order our own meals, which caused a few issues if you are constantly eating bread and rice all you want is a bit of vegetables.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling throughout Jordan was incredible. The views were spectacular, the cultural side of being able to see the Jordanians way of life and how they live was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a real let down and really ruined the trip for many of us. As someone with such an important role on a trip such as this you can really make or break it. He had obviously done this several times and seemed rather disinterested and unexcited, not giving much more than was necessary and didn't go out of his way at all. He rushed when there wasn't need to and took more time when wasn't necessary. We would be all standing waiting to cycle and he was either having a coffee chatting to his friends or having a smoke - a real annoyance. He didn't cater for any dietary requirements and the lunches that we received for shocking in comparison to the amount that we paid for meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are wanting to exercise and travel this is a good way to do it, we cycled and walked a lot. You meet extremely interesting people and learn a lot about yourself.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Guy Dixon

    petra and wadi rum by bike

    Petra and Wadi Rum were the highlights, and the basics were covered in terms of being met at the airport etc., but we lost one day due to bad weather and the following day, despite excellent weather. Aqaba is very much a Russian holiday destination these days and we found the coral and snorkeling disappointing and surprisingly expensive. Nevertheless, Petra is impressive, as is the Wadi Rum desert. The hotels were OK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was friendly for much of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid Aqaba if you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it rains, the tour leader should have a plan B. This part of the Red See is definitely not one of the best diving sites in the world.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mike Henderson

    Wonderful Jordan

    This trip is a wonderful way of seeing most of the important sites in Jordan with a bit of cycling thrown in! Please note it’s not really a cycling holiday as there are quite a few bus transfers, one of which was over 6 hours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many-floating in the Dead Sea, seeing the Treasury in Petra, snorkelling in the Red Sea, riding a camel in Wadi Rum. Every day had a highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on many Exodus trips and all the local group leaders have been excellent but Eddie in Jordan was outstanding! His organisation was faultless and he spent a lot of time informing us about Jordanian history and culture. It was also a pleasure to meet his wife at our farewell dinner. FIras ,who was our cycling leader, was also outstanding . He was very safety conscious, honest about the route ahead and very encouraging to the less able cyclists. We also had a Tourist Policeman with us all week and whenever we were cycling we had a police escort!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just bear in mind that cycling is not a major part of the trip but , if you want to see the best of Jordan, then this is the trip for you. A reasonable degree of fitness is needed for the cycling as there a few challenging hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip exceeded my expectations and I’m now an expert on Jordanian culture!!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Evans

    Amazing adventure

    This was a busy , varied and hugely enjoyable trip . Eddie and the team looked after us brilliantly and gave us access to amazing places

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting Mefle the last remaining inhabitant of Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was very knowledgeable and great fun too