Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

160 Reviews

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Anonymous Anonymous

    Super trip - bucket list complete!

    Great trip - every aspect of the trek was well organised. This is a 6 day trip (not 11 as advertised since that includes 4 days of travelling/arriving plus 2 days where you have to do your own thing in Cuzco). The guide was really knowledgable and the trek was challenging but enjoyable. The support (porters, cook etc) are amazing. Suggest 4 season sleeping bag as a minimum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving to Macchu Picchu - did not have view from Sun Gate but had the benefit of a second day at Macchu Picchu so all good!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgable and supportive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    4 season sleeping bag. 2 walking poles. 1 rain poncho.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Sarah Skinner

    Inca trek, a must for anyone who enjoys trekking.

    A seasoned Exodus traveller, this holiday was the best so far! The trek was brilliantly organised, walking over 4 days, we arrived to see an almost empty Machiu Picchu. Our guide Reny was fabulous, and had a great knowledge of the trek and the Inca history. The group had a fantastic atmosphere. I would highly recommend this trek to all it was hard work but really really worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Sun gate after 4 days walking and the monkey steps!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reny was fantastic, he ensured a group atmosphere. As someone who had done the trek a few hundred times he really knew the way, and was so supportative when the it was tough. As well he had a fantastic knowledge of the Inca history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sign up and do it, it is really worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Smile for sun!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Booty

    Machu Picchu

    A fantasic trip with some great sites of historic interest and great views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Machu Picchu from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was helpful and knew a lot about the area and its history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Altiude sickness and a lot of walking involved.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Daisy Teoh

    Experience of a Lifetime

    The Inca Trail tour was the perfect organized group. We had 6 people in our group and 1 guide. It was the perfect number. Not too many, not too few. I originally picked the trip because of the itinerary; I liked that you had 2 opportunities to see Machu Picchu. That's a definite advantage. The first afternoon, when we arrived, it was cloudy and became more and more cloudy. But the 2nd day when we went back, it was a perfect blue sky day. The weather is always changing. The Trip Notes are accurate that you just have to dress in layers and be prepared to constantly remove and add layers. The hike is not easy. If anything, I might rate it a little more difficult. It's also hard to prepare for, especially if you live at sea level. The hike is a challenge for someone who exercises regularly, but our guide was very accommodating and gave us breaks as much as we needed. Still, we were always on schedule with where we needed to be. The altitude and lack of oxygen was probably the most difficult part. But it was all so worth it. And it feels great to accomplish something that you know you worked hard for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't pick just one moment. Every moment was special. Every moment you looked up (from focusing on the stones in the path), it was awe-inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best par of the experience was our guide. Frank went above and beyond to not just take care of us show us a good time, but he really took interest in each of us individually. He genuinely enjoyed taking us on an adventure. It wasn't just a job for him. He took us into his life, his background, his culture of the Sacred Valley. He took us back to what it was like in the time of the Inca's. He didn't just lecture us on history, he relived their beliefs and ways of living, and he used the trail, the ruins, the flora, the fauna, the landscape to take us to another world. And then, he was just plain fun. He sang and danced, he was always full of energy. He simply knew how to have a good time, and his enthusiasm was infectious. He ensured we each had an experience of a lifetime.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be open to new experiences. Eat whatever is put in front of you. Bring lots of layers. Be prepared to take them off and on constantly. Drink lots of water. Sun screen and bug spray. Just keep applying, over and over.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Peter Rogers

    Fantastic Inca Trail

    This is a fantastic trip, it was well organised from start to finish, some of us were a day late arriving in Cuzco due a disruptive passenger having to be taking off the flight in an unscheduled stop, but the staff in London were really good at rearranging flights and keeping up to date with what was going on by email. Julio, the guide, was on hand at the hotel when we arrived to give us a tour of Cuzco in his own time, as we missed it the previous day. what made this trip really special was the other people on the trip, they were very friendly, and gave me lots of encouragement when walking up dead woman's pass, I found the walks very hard, but with help and lot of encouragement from Julio i made it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the trip was inspirational, the views were great, especial walking the cloud forest. but the highlight was arriving at the sun gate to over look Machu Picchu in the brilliant sunshine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio was a great leader, this was my 7th trip with exodus, and all my guides have been good, but Julio was a cut above the rest, he was friendly, easy going and nothing was to much trouble for him, and I don't think I would of finished the trek without his help and encouragement. His knowledge of the Incas and the Inca trail was excellent, I would also like to thank him for the football match that was played between the trekkers and staff, that was played at 3900m, it was great entertainment and every body enjoyed it. I would also like to thanks Rosa, the assistant guide, as I was slower than the rest of the group, i was normally at the back, it was nice to have Rosa to keep me company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it !!! its a great week, but be prepared, I found it very hard with the heat and the altitude, but saying that I really enjoyed the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to say a big thank you to the porters and the chief, The porters did a great job carrying all the equipment, they were always cheerful and very friendly, without all their hard work this trip would not be possible, I would also like to thank the chief and assistant chief for the fantastic food the produced with such basic cooking equipment.
  • Reviewed August 2017

    The Inca Trail - Amazing.

    I did The Inca Trail trip as a solo traveller and cannot recommend it enough! Our group, expertly managed by our Tour Leader Dennis and his second in command Javier, enjoyed everything this trip had to offer. From sightseeing and sampling wonderful local cuisine around Cusco to following the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, it was awe-inspiring each step of the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's a tough question as there are jaw dropping sights at every turn. For me, the first nights' camping. Coming out of my tent and looking up to a stargazers paradise. Ink black sky with millions of stars. Breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dennis was amazing. 10/10. He is a magician with multiple hats: tour guide to doctor, food enthusiast to mentor, photographer to comedian.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it now. Do your research and bring proper attire. You will be walking 6-7 hours per day so make sure you have comfy and durable boots that you have worn it. I travelled in August and it was cold at night so layer up. Bring a full change of clothes for going out for dinner (if you can fit in your bag) for the night in Machu Picchu town.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book it.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Allison Legge

    Wonderful and magical adventure with Exodus

    We did the Inca Trail trip with the optional Amazon extension. The whole trip start to finish was professionally managed by insightful and knowledgeable guides - the excellent Julio and Shandy. The rest of our group were lovely and we enjoyed their company on the trip immensely. The trail is reasonably hard for an experienced hiker because of the altitude but we were all encouraged by the guides to walk at our own pace which really made the trek up dead woman's pass a fun and enjoyable experience with a guide always behind us as a back marker never hurrying us. All the guidance received about the day ahead and advise on the trek from both guides was spot on they made our trip trouble free and a real adventure. The chef and porters were amazing hard working people and made the trip feel like luxury. Anyone wondering about whether to book this trip should just go ahead and book it! You won't regret it! You need to be 'half fit' for the hike to enjoy it and make the most of it. I cycled 15km 3 times a week and a longer ride once a week of about 50km and found that enough to make the hiking enjoyable and not too hard. The Amazon extension was very good and we enjoyed it. Coming from South Africa and being people who have been on safari several times meant that we were slightly under whelmed by the wildlife but all the same enjoyed the experience of being in the jungle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day 2 hike up Dead woman's pace with my partner and friend was wonderful. Walking at our own pace, stopping to enjoy the view and each other's company was special and made possible by Julio and Shandy who quietly walked behind us never hurrying us. A wonderful day in a fantastic trip. Thank you!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio and Shandy were superb. Real professionals that dealt with all manner of issues quietly and professionally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book this trip!! Peru is fantastic and an unexpected delight. We loved Lima too it's well worth 2 or 3 days before you arrive in Cusco to see the sights and enjoy the fab restaurants.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Many thanks for an adventure of a lifetime would do it all again at the drop of a hat!!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Jennifer Alexander

    Book This Trip Now!

    What an amazing trip! I cannot thank the Exodus team enough. This really exceeded my expectations every Inca step of the way. The tour guide was amazing, the porter team could not have looked after us better, and the whole experience was fantastic. The trek is tough, but so rewarding. Getting to the top of dead woman's pass on day two made me feel like Superwoman! The country of Peru is so beautiful that the views brought tears to my eyes. I cannot recommend this trip enough - just book it and see!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up the steps to the Sun Gate to see the first view of Machu Picchu made us all cry in awe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dennis was outstanding! He was supportive, knowledgable, and felt like an old friend- I can't thank him enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the notes! Walking at high altitude is tough so you need to prepare properly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would do this again in an instant! It was amazing.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Aled Wright

    Inca Trail

    The whole experience from beginning to the end was amazing. The experience was also made all the better having a guide like Mike Gamarra. His knowledge and passion for the Inca Trail and its history was unquestionable. He also brought us all closer as a group, and also made us all, including the chaskis, feel like a family. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking through the rain to finally reach the sun gate for the sun to come out just as we had our first sight of Machu Pichu

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike Gamarra was a perfect guide. Made us all feel like a family. His knowledge and passion rubbed off on us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it, you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Bryony Cork

    TPT170421

    My first trek and first Exodus holiday and it couldn't have been better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping above the cloud forest

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant! Tomas had so much knowledge of the area and history of the Inkas. He made everyday something different and couldn't do enough to help