Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jennifer Whittaker

    Morocco

    I thoroughly enjoyed the trip as we had so many places to explore and to learn the history and culture of the country. The scenery was so diverse and in all towns and villages we were met with smiles. Families invited us into their homes and treated us to delicious meals which was very special as it was during Ramadan . Our leader was very helpful in telling us the best places to eat and drink. The only downside was the mini bus that we had to travel in as it was quiet cramped and uncomfortable and on the days when the journey took 10 hours it felt like torture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Camel trek which was so much fun

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Youssef was a great leader looking after us all and listening to anyone who had a problem. He had to be creative at times during Ramadan but he always came up with a solution

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Carry an inflatable cushion
  • Reviewed June 2019
    David and Louise Simpson

    Experience Morocco!

    A brilliant trip which covered a lot of the country which is an exciting place to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding camels in desert, walking in Atlas Mountains, souks in Fez, visiting local families, local hamman in mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, but could have given more information on long drives even about the country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even though it is a Premium trip, places to stay where not special but ok for our needs. Minibus for 15/16 people far too small and on the very long journeys it was pretty uncomfortable but we survived!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Morocco is a country with friendly people, sights and sounds and experiences everywhere and this trip covers so much. Would recommend (if transport was improved) for anyone.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Vivienne LOWERY

    Imperial

    Morocco is a great country with lovely people. Marrakesh and Fez were the highlights. Our guide, Mohammed, was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tanning in Fez. It made you realise how lucky you are!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing, very knowledgable and kind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware there are long days in the minibus.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Vivienne LOWERY

    Imperial

    Morocco is a great country with lovely people. Marrakesh and Fez were the highlights. Our guide, Mohammed, was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tanning in Fez. It made you realise how lucky you are!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing, very knowledgable and kind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware there are long days in the minibus.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jacqueline Menniss

    Full on trip with lots to experience

    Prepare for long days, early starts, long bus journey's and a full itinerary - but be rewarded by great varied scenery, busy bustling medinas with their labyrinth of noisy disorientating souks, to the tranquility of the Atlas mountains and the spectacular desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be the desert - the camel ride through the sand dunes to the Bedouin tent was magical and a great experience. Loved the High Atlas mountain stay meeting the locals and being invited in a home for a simple meal - the berbers were so friendly and welcoming. Really enjoyed the hike through the High Atlas mountains with great views. Enjoyed free time by the sea in Essaouira - a chance to relax and wander the souks which were a lot more peaceful than busy Marrakech.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was a great guide - competent and knowledgeable with a great love of his Berber heritage and culture which he shared with us. He kept us safe and took us to lots of different places to eat, recommending what we should eat and avoid. A lovely man who encouraged us to ask questions about life in Morocco, it's people, culture and religion. He knew everyone. Thanks Abdullah.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some reading and preparation before you go especially if you haven't travelled much outside of Europe. This 'premier' tour is not premier by British standards. The accommodation whilst reflecting the Moroccan experience of riads and kasbahs looks lovely and exotic, in practice they are often very basic with hard beds, faulty equipment, poor plumbing and not cleaned to the standard you might expect. Once you accept this - immerse yourself in its difference as they are beautiful. The people on the whole are very welcoming and friendly especially in the rural areas but you will experience poverty and sights that you may find uncomfortable - but this is Morroco - prepare to experience all it has and you will have a great time. '
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Alys Shale

    A great trip

    This was our first trip with Exodus and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We chose this particular tour as it included fewer big cities and more of the Atlas mountains, which we were keen to experience and the smaller group size of 16 was certainly an important factor. There were quite a few long minibus journeys but we were prepared for that. However, the scenery was wonderful and the riads/hotels sometimes a bit flakey but fine! Our guide was good with a great sense of humour, and we met a friendly and fun group of people. All in all, a good tour and we shall be considering Exodus for our future adventures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Travelling across the mountains and seeing the valleys below, lush and green, quite a shock from the desert we might have expected.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good fun and well organised. Took good care of us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are some long road journeys. The minibus seats 16 - the back row is raised and the front row is very close to the driver's bench seat, so leg-room is limited and uncomfortable for taller people. This also means that the shorter amongst us have to be in the back row more often, and it can be difficult to see out.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    sue lockley

    Highlight of Morocco

    I enjoyed most of the holiday but would have like to have stayed in a Essaouira another night and one less night in Marrakesh at the end of the trip as it was lovely by the beach and very relaxing after a lot of driving. The mountains were great, Fes and many other places were great, very interesting trip. I did not like long hours in the mini bus but it was part of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the Mountains and gorges, Fes was also very interesting in the old and new part of the city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good group leader, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful when I was not well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great holiday to see Morocco, but if you do not like travelling hours in a bus it could be too much especially when you feel rough!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were very good and the amount included in the trip was all in all very good.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    GRAHAM CLARKE

    Highlights of Morocco - Premium

    A good overview of the country taking in the major sights and attractions. Due to the geography of the country there were a some long drives but these were broken up by stops and we were travelling through some spectacular scenery in some cases.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a number of course, but for me personally it was the ascent from Gorge du Todra and the walk in the Atlas mountains from Kasbah Oliver. Marrakesh is quite mad but that was expected. The camel ride into the desert campsite was a new experience also.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammad was excellent: he was ever helpful, kind and considerate with a good sense of humour as well as a good knowledge of the country. I should mention also Yussef (not sure of spelling) who drove us safely the whole time particularly on the winding mountain roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Hotels were not the best I have ever stayed in, they were sparse in most cases and not always warm we went in February; that is all there is in many places but at least they were clean. Do take heed of the packing list and take warm clothes; fleeces, gloves,hats etc. It can get very cold at night and in the mornings before the sun gets up especially in the mountains and in the desert camping. If you are intending to do the walk up the Gorge du Todra then a walking pole or poles would be very useful and Exodus could well add this to their packing list.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A memorable trip.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Maria B

    COLD country with the hot sun

    Overall, a good "Highlights" trip, but some of the distances between the "Highlights" are long - there is probably not much can be done to reconfigure that, given the geography. Also, don’ be fooled thinking Morocco is a hot country. It is a COLD country, with a hot sun - in winter months, (we visited at the end Feb/early March) it can be very cold in the mornings and evenings/night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The desert sky at night – wow! No light pollution, and a wonderful view. The camel ride to get there was great too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Guide Mohamed was very good – informative, polite, considerate and with a sense of humour. And thank you very much for the cake on my birthday – a lovely surprise!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that hotel gradings in Morocco may not equate to the same in the UK. When it says Premium, the hotel won’t necessarily be 4*! The standards (eg. maintenance of buildings - dodgy sockets / broken mirrors etc) may not be what you would expect. The travel times given in the trip notes might be misleading – when there are lots of stops for breaks en-route, the journey will (obviously) take longer. So to manage expectations, the travel times are probably just road travel times, and participants should be prepared for late arrival at some destinations. I didn’t feel it was a problem, as I was happy to have the breaks and enjoy the journey, and don’t understand what the rush to get to destination was. Top tip: Don’t wear your good mesh-top walking shoes/boots in the sand dunes! The beautiful sand is like powder, and your shoes will fill with sand in the structure of the shoe, which then squeezes your toes – and is almost impossible to get it all out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We travelled in late February/March, and the rooms in the Kasbah Oliver in the mountains were very cold and wind blew through draughty windows. Thermals are a ‘must’ at night. The Kasbah Oliver had nowhere outside that was partially protected from the sun in the day (at least, I didn't see anywhere). An awning for the roof terrace or outside the front entrance terrace would be good. The trip notes said we would need a towel at Kasbah Oliver, but this was actually provided.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Janet Godwin

    Multi coloured Morocco...

    Could not fault the tour. Wonderful experience, excellent tour guide Yeoseff and driver Mohammed. An absolute assault on the senses. Crossed a variety of terrain: gorges, dessert, oasis, mountains, plains, dams, lakes, villages, towns, Medina's, souks... Never boring. Temps cold in mornings and high in afternoon made an interesting challenge.The pretty constant lack of hot water and completely erratic heating was counteracted with a warm welcome and absolute charm everywhere we went. If you are travelling in January take your thermals! It was very humbling to be cheerfully offered tea and cakes by a Berber mother with a babe on her back who had just hauled water up the mountain on a donkey and entertained by her son spinning his prize possession a spinning top. The house was freezing but her and her son's smile electric. We should all be thankful for what we have. Thank you for such a mind blowing and beautiful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk across dessert to Berber village.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, calm, professional, unflappable and constantly charming and vigilant. Thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather, take thermals if winter. Don't grouse about lack of water n heat, go with the flow. Don't suspect the lovely Moroccoans, it's very safe and the hospitality amazing. Don't expect high quality food but there is no lack of it. Everything is carbohydrate heavy and they may not drink but their drug of choice is sugar!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go it's a magical place.
Call us on +356 21423994