Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mala Shah-Coulon

    Exhilarating trip

    Will be an unforgettable trip for me..watching. the live volcanoes was out of this world...while I knew it was a volcanoes trip rightly or wrongly I didn't expect that we'd see live volcanoes (thought it would be a big bonus if we did)..and of course the Gods had it all planned for us as Etna erupted too while we were there!.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up Stromboli Seeing eruption on Etna- what timing and luck.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was an excellent leader with good local knowledge that helped vary the itinerary sometimes eg taking a private boat rather than hydro foil

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While marked moderate in its level of challenge the walks up strombolli and Etna are relatively challenging. Some hill walking and gluts exercise wouldn't go amiss.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel in Catania is a dive and spoilt the end of what was an amazing trip. For the sake of 20 or 30 euro I think exodus coudl put us up somewhere a little better to end trip on a high. It wasn't just tired but had fundamental issues eg sewage smells in 1 room, blocked shower drainage in several. Trip notes should say that on arrival its a 2.5 hour drive to Milazzo. Many on our group didn't expect or realise this. You end up arriving at hotel past midnight...again this could be reviewed eg rescheduling to earlier flight or reconsidering order.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Katy MacDonald

    Fabulous

    North Cyprus is an overlooked destination. The history, castles and scenery are amazing. The walks are of reasonable difficulty due to the terrain, and for May the heat made it worse, but a fabulous holiday nonetheless.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The castles built into the mountains with all round views.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Water can be collected at breakfast so take enough bottles for a day plus one to leave in the room fridge. Gluten free diet was catered for but you have to double check everything as it is not well understood. I was served cous cous after they did a special GF starter for me... The walks can be done in trainers. My boots were delayed for 2 days by BA and I managed the most technical one in my trainers. Walking poles definitely help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The extra options for Wed and Sat are well worth it. There is so much to see on the island. Take some cat biscuits, they will join you for every lunch and although looked after by the villages appreciate a snack. For mobile coverage Vodafone include Turkey in the deals.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janet Bates

    Describes the holiday perfectly

    If you want a really relaxing entirely relaxing atmosphere with few tourists, then Evia is the place to go. The itinerary was varied and exactly as described. The family at the Galaxy hotel couldn't do enough for us. Their breakfasts are fantastic and grandad's home-made goat cheese legendary! It was a pleasure to stay there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Castello Rosso and the Roman columns and the lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere on an island that doesn't appear to have changed for centuries.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having Thanos with you, is like having a walking Google with you. His knowledge is incredible and his "elevenses" are delicious, not that we really needed them as the food throughout the trip was amazing. Thanos couldn't do enough for us and his enthusiasm was infectious. Having been to Paphos in Cyprus many years earlier, I had tasted "tourist menus" and didn't particularly like Greek food. This was an entirely different experience. Everything tasted wonderful. Don't think you will lose weight or even come back at the weight you started the holiday, unless you have got a will of iron. You will definitely have to diet when you come home. I can guarantee you will come back around half a stone heavier! The days really aren't long enough to fit in the great breakfast, Thanos's "elevenses" treat, the foot long lunch roll, the evening's five plus assorted starters, the main course and then the sweet !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going in April, my advice would be to take waterproof trousers as one day in particular, during our walk, it rained throughout. I would also recommend taking gaiters if you have delicate skin below the knees, as some of the gorse really scratches even though you may be walking in long trousers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having walked in the Lake District, I found the gorge walk scenery very similar. The only time you could take in the view was if you kept stopping, as most of the time you are having to concentrate hard looking where you are putting your feet and doing this for five hours downhill got a bit boring although the lunch stop was very pretty.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rod Ellis

    Aeolian Adventures

    A wonderful journey through north east Sicily and four Aeolian islands, mired only by some poor weather conditions at key stages of the trip. Our group of 15 got on well throughout and were unfazed by the challenges set by the weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many good points. Walking around the crater on Vulacano followed by an afternoon swim and a sppedboat ride to Lipari. Setting off early one morning to take a ferry ride from Stromboli to Panarea and walking to an ancient neolithic settlement above a deserted beach. Trekking through deep snow to within touching distance of the top of Etna, only to be thwarted by strong winds which prevented an assault to the summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Genny spoke good English and communicated well with our relatively small group. A vey engaging guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are two days scheduled on Stromboli. There is no organised activity on the second day before the late aftenoon 'summit challenge'. I took the opportunity to get an early morning return ferry ride to Panarea to see an ancient neolithic settlement along the coast, 30-40 minutes from the landing point(turn left when you arrive at the harbour and keep walking). Return ferry trip cost EUR20.80 but the site is free to enter and explore and has a couple of detailed explanation notes in Italian and English. Well worth seeing, but it's not on the Exodus itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was the key factor. The trip should have had three highlights (summits of Vulcano, Stromboli and Etna) but parts two and three were blighted by poor weather conditions. There was no 'fire and brimstone' or sunset at the top of Stromboli...just a shroud of mist. Very disappointing. Etna's summit challenge was curtailed by strong winds, making it unsafe for all but the most experienced walkers (plus heavy snow underfoot made for very slippery and wet conditions. But overall a very enjoyable and memorable experience.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Caroline Tutty

    Amazing Stromboli

    A great trip with some interesting hikes and lots of volcano information topped by the fantastic hike to Stromboli summit. After the quite tough trek we were rewarded with an amazing display from the old crater looking down onto the current active craters. Unfortunately we could not go to the summit of Etna due to bad weather and the lower level trek seemed a disappointment after Stromboli. Quite a lot of time to rest and sample local life between walks. Hotels were good apart from Catania which was poor and would have been better to be based in Lipari town as nothing was open on a Monday night in May in Cantena.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stromboli summit was a truly wonderful experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was brilliant, very caring and looking out for all members of the group, knowledgable about volcanos and the local area and a good sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothes for the summit
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Margaret Proud

    Walking week

    Great holiday, good walks

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great guide who brought the island, walks and its flora alive

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Carol-Ann Connellan

    Cinque Terra

    What an amazing time - from the lovely Moneglia (Piccola Hotel) to the amazing walks so expertly guided by Michela Wicks. It was really everything and more than we wished for. Would never have chosen to do it differently. No time was lost or wasted pondering. Our time there was precious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was super special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it with a guide. Your time there is precious. Go with those who know the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitely a must do.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sandy Hartley

    Walking tour

    Loved every step. Our super fit guide, Michela Wicks, did an excellent job keeping us all together, providing us with heaps of information and many laughs. Thank you Michela. You are wonderful.♡

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views, the degree of difficulty of crop growing in the area, the history, the buildings. So much more. I am in awe of this part of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was awesome. Thorough, organised, knowledgeable, interesting and lovely to chat too. I was sad to say goodbye.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a must. You wont be sorry.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Cowan

    Enjoyed but could be better

    Didn't get off to a good start because exodus didn't inform us and several others of an itinerary change, although some others in the party did hear about it. Although the reverse order for the visits is better we ended up with a 1/2 day on Paros with not much to do and no useful suggestion from the tour leader. He was generally a very good guide but occasionally not as flexible as one might wish. The walks were generally good and not hard apart from the odd steep climb. Just wish there had been more of them (see above). We were recommended to go to the buried town of akrotiri, which was well worth the trip together with the museum in Thira. Can't understand why Exodus don't make this part of the trip if time permits. If we hadn't gone we would have had another wasted morning on Santorini, to add to that on Paros. Hotel beds generally rock hard and in 2 out of the 4, some of the smallest shower cubicles we have ever experienced. I think we would have preferred to pay a bit more for a better hotel on Santorini & Paros Ferry journeys were always longer than anticipated but luckily weather was OK so we could go on deck apart from Naxos to Rafina on the catamaran where you have aircraft type seats

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walk on naxos

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above but generally good but did tend to lecture us a bit. Extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant. Could do with a bit more understanding on the needs of a diabetic in the group but soon caught on when we pointed out it wasn't a "gippy tummy" but low blood sugar. Probably helps that we are familiar with this condition due to previous job. Some small kindnesses to the group were also appreciated and he did try hard. But having him deal with other groups that exodus has in the region while guiding us was not optimal. Exodus need sto emply more staff to cover their local needs

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty to read for ferry trips, be prepared for hard beds. Good walking shoes a must but boots probably optional
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Deborah Longland

    A wonderful week walking in Northern Cyprus

    This was my first trip with Exodus having traveled many times with some of the competitor companies, and I was not disappointed. From start to finish the trip was wonderfully organised, problems which cropped up handled very well and everyone on the trip was well considered by our tour leader. A great base in Kyrenia from which to explore the island with some simply lovely walks high up in the mountains. The optional excursions were well planned and interesting and I took full advantage of these too. I would highly recommend the trip and hope to return to undertake another excursion with Exodus in the not too distant future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The longest day walking was on the Thursday where we did a 600 step up walk to see the island from 3000 feet up, 600 steps down followed by a fairly challenging 4.5 hour walk. Beautiful scenery, interesting plants, wonderful views and a slightly faster paced walk than on other days. The optional trip to Famagusta was super as we stopped along the way to see old roman ruins, a monastry and then our tour of the old city. Well paced, interesting and lots of fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer is a lovely man, very knowledgable in respect of history, plants, nature, the environment and the island which is his home. A considerate person as we were of mixed ages and abilities. He certainly made the trip fun and enjoyable for all. A great ambassador for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If people have knee, hip or joint problems then they will most likely struggle as some on our trip did. Not sure why some came along as it clearly was difficult for them and then this is tiring for others who have to wait, often in the heat. The days we went out in smaller groups, as some opted not to go, for me were better as we were all of the same ability.
Call us on +356 21423994