Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

3259 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2020

    A highly informative trip that covers three states in south Inddiaa

    The trip covers a significant part of south India; our bus covered 2,800 km. At times, the trip seems rather rushed with only one night stays in some locations. This said, our leader Santo certainly got the best for us. Street food, a variety of hotels, different languages, beautiful green countyside, fresh fruits and vegetables, food not too spicy when requested, fantastic elements of the trip spent on boats etc. Exodus, as always, had all angles covered and we were able to enjoy ourselves, especially the walks and boat trips with interesting wildlife to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The houseboat trip was the highlight for me, sadly only one night on the boat, could have extended this!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santo was excellent. I have never had a better tour leader. He is so well-informed and is great company. Without him, the trip could not have beeen so enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do cover all angles as far as power connectors are concerned. The variety of sockets in hotels is nothing short of mind boggling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thr trip could benefit from one less location so that single night hotel stays are limited/avoided. The chances of catching sight of tiger are very slim indeed! The option to travel on the Miniature Blue Mountain railway was not offered. But, we did travel on a 1 metre guage railway.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Patagonian highlights

    This is a fab holiday to see the best of Patagonia in as condensed a time as possible. It's tiring with some long travel days but the highlights make it worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Three top days. 1 - The Mount Fitzroy Massif. It's s gentle walk apart from the ascent up the morraine (about 400m in 1 km which is tough). We had great weather and the views at the top make it worthwhile. The guides are supportive and encouraging. Expect to see condors and be refreshed by topping up your water bottle from glacial streams. 2 - The Perito Merino glacier. We were mesmerised by watching the glacier and saw a couple of carvings which sounded like gunshots. This is a relaxing day as you can go as far or little on the balconies to observe the glacier. Again we had fab weather which helps but isn't essential on this day. 3 - The Torres del Paine. We would say this is challenging in terms of the length of the walk and the climb at the end but oh boy is it worth it! If you are in doubt about your fitness level I wouldn't worry so long as you have staying power. Again the guides are patient and will go at your pace. We were really lucky with the weather again and the scenery at the top is amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Luciano was very enthusiastic and helped to make each day as rewarding as possible. He will make arrangements for those who don't want to walk and gives you alternative options. He was always there to help with any problems and advise on good restaurants. He's a meat man and loves his steak and will help you out with ordering if needed. He speaks a little quickly so you might have to ask him to repeat himself sometimes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went out a couple of days earlier than the rest of the group and had 2 days in Buenos Aires. We're glad we did this so that we could adjust to the time difference, get over the travelling and see something of BA before we flew down to El Calafate. Be prepared for WIND+++. Patagonia is like no other place I've ever been for experiencing wind. Although we had good weather you should expect rain, hail, snow and sunshine all in one day so make sure you have appropriate gear. There's not a lot of down time on the holiday but if you're prepared for that it's not a problem. We didn't get the option of walking on the glacier but had a lovely boat trip instead to see 2 waterfalls fed by glaciers. If you do this trip you don't need to do the optional afternoon boat trip on the day that you visit the Perito Moreno glacier. We found that most places in Argentina and Chile take credit cards and US dollars although you should be aware of the exchange rate to ensure you're getting a good deal. We changed our US dollars to Argentinian pesos at the airport on arrival for a reasonable exchange rate. You don't need many Chilean pesos and again you can get these when you cross the border into Chile. Chile tends to be more expensive than Argentina. It's usually better value to buy 1 bottle of wine between 2 of you in Argentina than 2 large glasses! If you're eating a steak ask for a tenderloin (our fillet). It can be divided between 2 of you if one steak is too big. The only reason we've given the holiday 4 starts instead of five is because we thought the food would be of a higher standard and one of the hostels had very dirty linen. However, this was changed immediately when we complained. If it was just based on scenery we would have given five stars. Although we saw lots of guanacos, horses, sheep and cows, it's not a holiday where you're going to spot a lot of wildlife.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! It's probably best to do some hill walking before you go so that the 2 big walking days aren't a struggle. We had a really nice bunch of people on the trip which obviously increased the enjoyment but you can keep yourselves to yourselves if you wish.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Totally fabulous

    We had a full tour with 16 people but our amazing guide Petro Pretorius ensured that everyone had a great experience. I won't repeat everything written in the other reviews - it's all true! You haven't lived till you experience a roadblock of a dazzle of zebra (yes, that's the collective term for them) or meet one of the big five lumbering around a corner in front of your vehicle, eat a 5-star braai meal (bbq but much more) cooked by your hosts in De Rust, gape at the astonishing stalactites in the Kango Caves, gaze from the top of Table Mountain or listen to an ex-prisoner describing life on Robben Island. In a relatively short tour you experience so many different types of scenery, flora and fauna and culture but in manageable chunks. Petro shares her passion for South Africa with you and gives you a full and honest account of the challenges faced by this wonderful but struggling country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Listening to an ex-prisoner on Robben Island. He worked in the kitchens but also studied for a degree while in prison and later became a diplomat. Now retired, he guides trips around the prison. 'This work helps me to heal'. We could ask him any questions we wanted and he answered them all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro was truly outstanding. Can't say more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay on for a few days afterwards if you can - there is SO much to do and see in Cape Town.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Wonderful Trip

    If you're looking for an interesting and informative trip, where every day is different, then this one's for you. The choice of accommodation was very good and definitely enhanced the group's overall experience. Living out of a suitcase isn't everyone's idea of fun but is necessary in order to visit the wide variety of sites across a large area. I'd recommend this trip to anyone wanting a moderately priced holiday in a culturally diverse country which is relatively close to the UK. Thank you, Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing stood out as being particularly inspirational but everything was enjoyable. The camel trips were fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leader Hamid and driver Reduan were excellent at their respective jobs, and very good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just look forward to the enjoyment of having everything organised for you.
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Can't Say Enough

    Complementing an already beautiful country with humble people was our guide Su, who created the best possible experience we could have. From the daily written itinerary with a full schedule accompanied by optional activities and restaurant options to the smooth efficiency to which she commandeered our group. This made it so easy for us all to get along and become friends. She was constantly working in the background to ensure the best possible experience for the us removing any possible travel stresses. We saw most of the major sites and traveled with many different exciting modes of transportation. So much was learned on this trip that we now have a thorough deep understanding and love of the country. Myanmar, still in its' tourist infancy, should not to be missed....especially via Exodus with great value and maximum benefit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was seeing the morning rounds of the monks seeking food donations and witnessing the local people who have limited amounts themselves still donate generously. Or seeing the temple donation boxes with much bounty everywhere we went. The humbleness of the people, while in their own daily struggles, have boundless compassion for others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above, I have been on many tours the world over and Su ranks #1 in all categories

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While the communication system is still in its' infancy, I had no problems with my TEP travel wifi which grabbed a strong signal everywhere, even in the remote villages. If you have gluten free allergies, it is very difficult to communicate this to the restaurants, even with a Burmese translation as they do not comprehend the scope themselves. She was caught off guard several times. She did bring gluten free soy sauce, Kari Out brand individual packets, which really helped a lot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first Exodus tour and we were the only Americans in the group of British and we had the most wonderful time
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Fabulous

    I loved very moment of this trip . Jordan is a country full of great sights and great people - lots of variety. Hard to know what was the best bit - Petra featured highly as did Wadi Rum but then so did Jerash. Tour leader Ibrahim gets it exactly right - gentle and guding leadership with expert knowledge of the history , archaeology and culture of his amazing country. A great Guy !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    that first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra was then surpassed by the Monastery - after 800 steps up!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    100% great guy !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers - 4 seasons in a day. Desert nights are cold !
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Fantastic experience

    Week long tour of western Cuba stopping off at loads of interesting and enjoyable locations: just some were Cienfuegos, Trinidad, pottery studio and 'have a go', Vinales Valley and tobacco/coffee plantation with fascinating demonstrations and of course not forgetting the wonderful Havana. Lovely places to stay and very very good food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Can't narrow it down to 1! but including visiting the traditional house of a couple who lived via their coffee and plant production, overwhelming hospitality of the places we stayed in, Cuban friendliness and seeing how they manage their lives so well despite some hardships.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous. The most informative, entertaining and helpful person we could have wished for in that role. The coach driver who took us everywhere was wonderful too, and made sure we never ran out of fuel!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to live out of a suitcase, it's not nearly as difficult as we thought!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would wholeheartedly recommend this tour. It gave us a great holiday, wonderful experiences and plenty of great memories!
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Amazing experience

    From start to finish, I cannot fault this trip. The temples and Ancient Egyptian remains speak for themselves and are stunning. I had no idea that they were so well preserved. But the trip was made especially enjoyable by our super efficient and friendly guide, Sayed. His commentary covered both ancient and modern Egypt, and I have been reading books about Egypt ever since!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun going down, while sailing down the Nile is quite magical. In the valley of the kings, being able to explore with very few other tourists, brought home the splendour of the tombs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed managed all the logistics to perfection, and at the same time shared his passion for Egyptology. He struck exactly the right balance between serious, informative guide and being friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cost of the optional trips does mount up - but most are really great experiences - so I would advise factoring them into the overall cost of the holiday before you go.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Excellent trip and guide

    Booked very late and was lucky enough to have single room option still available. The trip is superb. More than Petra. So much in one week and very well organised. We had every season going including snow on our week, and still had a dip in Dead Sea at the end of our holiday. Pack layers for jan feb trips, and a warm jacket! Our guide, Ibrahim was superb. Great knowledge, good fun, and helpful with useful advice. Pick your choice of walks in Petra as it is massive. My highlight was the walk to high sacrifice in Petra, stunning ,even with my dislike of open heights on one spot. I would recommend Jordan for it’s friendliness, people, culture and it’s a short haul flight to a completely different landscape/culture. Brilliant trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra high sacrifice walk. Jerash? So unexpected.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim is a real credit to exodus. His passion for his country and history is authentic. He loves his job. Something to be envious of. He is really knowledgeable about all the sites we saw. He knew how to bring the best out in the group. One of the best guides I’ve had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plan for four seasons in winter. I thought I was ridiculous taking a padded jacket to Jordan. Nope. I needed it for three days . Feb tour 2020. Lightweight walking shoes are a must.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Busy itinerary packed with highlights

    This is a busy itinerary that covers all the major sights in the 'Golden Triangle' of Northern India, plus two tiger safaris and Varanasi, in only 7 days off work. Most itineraries on offer for this part of the world won't give you so much in such a short time period. This makes it a great option for travellers with little time to spare and who want to see as much as possible of this part of the world. There is little 'down time' and it can feel a bit rushed at times, but for me this was far outweighed by the opportunity to see so much and visit places I simply couldn't have fitted in at all any other way. The trip was very well organised and run and I enjoyed everything we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal was so impressive - it really is worth seeing it in real life. Pictures and TV can't do it justice. The whole trip was worth it just for that. Seeing a tiger in Rathambhore was thrilling especially as many groups aren't that lucky (but the safaris are worthwhile and enjoyable in their own right even if no tigers appear). Varanasi was fascinating and an unexpected highlight for me. Also visiting the Sikh Gurdwara and its communal kitchens in Delhi was a really interesting trip and gave an insight into an aspect of a religion I knew little about.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very well organised and efficient. He did a fantastic job keeping a large group together and getting us through an incredibly busy and tightly timed itinerary in sometimes difficult circumstances. He made the trip run smoothly which must have been a mammoth undertaking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really does get very cold in February, particularly on the game drives and sunrise starts. You can't wear enough on the early morning safari to keep warm. So pack accordingly! Layers are best as later in the day when the sun's out you won't need your jackets. Most days you have access to a bus so can leave things like coats. European plug adaptors are the most useful to take and can be used in the majority of the hotels. The train does have power points by the bunks. You can purchase a chain and padlock to secure your bags on the train very cheaply at the station - so if you don't already have one, don't splash out in your home country on one. As with all Exodus trips, a softer, smaller bag will serve you better than a big hard suitcase, particularly when trying to fit it under the train bunk beds. There are a number of optional excursions and these aren't always listed in the trip notes. The cost was generally around 1000-1500 rupees per person for a group of 16. It would be higher for smaller groups. The excursions offered were a cooking demonstration on the first evening, a hot air balloon ride on the second morning (this would be more expensive than the cost above), watching a Bollywood film at a local cinema on the second night (this was about 700 rupees and was well worth it, really enjoyable), a sunrise cruise on the river in Varanasi to see the burning ghats (highly highly recommended), a trip to Sarnath on the second day in Varanasi (miss-able, but does pass the time if you don't want to wait around at the hotel), and a sightseeing trip in Delhi on the last day. You won't necessarily see the standard sights on the Delhi trip but the places we went were well worth visiting, especially the Gurdwara. If you do all the trips and eat with the group, you need at least £200 spending money. The shopping trips can't really be avoided despite what the trip notes say as they are done 'en route' to other things, although you can opt to stay on the bus if you prefer. Take a kindle or phone or something else to amuse yourself if that's the case. The items you see are all high-price and outside the budget of some travellers, so if you're going to have to watch your money and find temptation hard to resist, you might also want to sit these out. If you're a keen photographer or historian, planning ahead for your visits is a good idea as you'll get very little time at some of the sights - in particular, those in Jaipur, and Fatephur Sikri. Reading up in advance will help you make the most of the time you get and ensure you don't miss anything you particularly wanted to see/photograph.