Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

2409 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Yvette Fernley

    Kerala is a gem!

    Spoiler alert: your senses may never be the same again - but in a good way! We visited Kerala over 20 years ago, but only scratched the surface. Exodus is very good at stripping away all that is unnecessary, to enable you to connect with Kerala and immerse yourself into Indian culture. Throw into the mix a great bunch of fellow cyclists and you strike gold. We had a blast! The trip notes describe pretty accurately what you will see and do. Every day has new experiences. Cycling is a gentle pace and when you do hit a busy town you are shepherded through effortlessly by the two guides. Oh, and the food is seriously good. Cauliflower has never tasted so delicious. Let the magic unfold, but it will be over all too soon.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    More special moments than inspirational, including the warm welcome we received wherever we went and whenever the crazy people on bikes went past. Everyone wants to meet you and smiles are everywhere but there is only time to shout ‘ Hello’. Lunch in our tour leader’s home (see below). The trip on the houseboat was special. And we got to see an elephant in the road, yeh!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shibu goes the extra mile, including inviting us into his home for lunch involving the whole family. We were treated to a fabulous vegetarian meal on a banana leaf, prepared entirely by them all. Special shout-out to Shibu’s wife who was up at 4.00am to start cooking for us. His daughter and niece sang beautifully to us after the meal. They delighted us all. Shibu is responsible for designing the tour and has done so with great care and consideration to showcase Kerala and provide you with a great insight into its life, culture and landscapes. You could not put together an itinerary like this on your own; that’s what makes it special. His no. 2, Seekhar deserves a special mention: excellent English, knowledgeable and amusing, stopping the bus to rescue puppies lying in the middle of the road. All-round good guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Grab a bottle of your favourite tipple at the airport. Kerala is (partly) dry. Beer is cheapish, wine and spirits (where available) expensive. Take a lightweight cotton sleeping bag for the home stay, it may come in handy and don’t look too closely. On the last day cycling in Varkala, there are a couple of ‘cheeky’ hills to climb - be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go create some special memories.
  • Reviewed November 2019

    Wow. Loved every second.

    I'm recently back from the November trip. This was my third Exodus holiday. The other two were great, but this one took it to another level. Literally. Those climbs ..... Our tour leader, Loc, was brilliant. This was the best, and hardest, cycling I've ever done. I'm still proud that I managed every section without swapping the bike for the bus. Apparently, our group was the first for this trip where everyone cycled every section. We lucked out on the weather, and most road sections had been repaired (compared to the trip notes warning us otherwise), but I'm still proud of myself!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to cycle up such long climbs, motivated both by Loc (leader) and the rest of the group. The views were rewarding. I like to think all the motorcycle tourists who passed us were jealous. They certainly should be.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Seriously. For a youngish guy, he took control and co-ordinated us perfectly. Everything went to plan. One of our group thought cycling and taking photos at the same time was a fun way to break a collarbone, and the way Loc handled it was very comforting to witness. In fact, that comment goes back to the Exodus team in the UK too - they seemed to genuinely care.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The rest of our group seem to cycle up mountains for fun. Not me. I found it hard going, but managed it all. Do try and get in some hill climbs before you go. I did, and I tracked the gradient % so I knew roughly how hard each day would be based on the (very accurate) trip notes. Also, I was the only one not in proper cycling gear. My arse suffered because of it. Bring one or all of ... padded cycling shorts, gel seat cover, your own saddle. I did none of those which at least motivated me to stand on the pedals occasionally!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus, and the support team, planned this ride well. Not every hotel was spotless, but it was good to know that Exodus had scouted out the towns and picked the best hotel available. Bring plastic/washable sandals or flipflops (I have plastic Birkenstocks which I highly recommend) for the communal bathrooms in the homestays, and in case you end up wandering around Hanoi in the rain. I'm not sure what's going to happen with the Ha Long Bay part of this tour (or the HCMC to Hanoi one) as they seem to be simultaneously banning over-night stays on the boats (for pollution reasons) and turning Ha Long into some kind of awful theme park concept. If that happens, I doubt it'll be worth the 8 hour return bus trip.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Leesa Hodgson

    Tough but Rewarding

    A great trip with challenging cycling & beautiful views

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The encouragement of the group towards one another when cycling became difficult

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had great tour leaders in Sanjay & Manu they were lot's of fun and had great knowledge of the area & the culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for plenty of hill climbing, which done at a steady pace is achievable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip never to be forgotten. Even though we were off the beaten track for a few days, evening meal times were great fun and the food was excellent. Summary of our trip: We were very fortunate to have a fantastic group of 14 people to enjoy the sights and sounds of India with.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Paul Griffin

    Bay of Bengal to Arabian Sea in about 500 smiles

    This was such an excellent trip from start to finish. We experienced all types of weather from baking hot sun to cyclonic rain and along the way were constantly amazed by the friendliness and generosity of the local people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt the guided tour of the Madurai Meenakshi Amman Temple where we witnessed Bullock and Elephant in ceremonial costumes in a procession.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shekar was great, organised everything and sorted out a visit to a chemist for me when things got a bit awkward.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will drink a lot of water whilst cycling so take something to put in it for flavour as it gets a bit dull after a while.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Coralie Cubitt

    Cycling in Laos

    This trip delivered everything it promised and more. The scene was set on day 1 with our warm-up ride around Chiang Mai and a visit to to monastery where our guide, Rit, had spent 10 years as a Buddhist monk. We travelled through some breathtaking landscapes - kart mountains, jungle, paddy fields and wonderful villages where delighted children would run out to greet us. Chiang Mai and Luang Prabang were charming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The undulating landscapes in northern Laos especially on the Udomxai to Pak Beng day. Having breakfast in Pak Beng as we watched elephants bathing on the other side of the Mekong. Walking through the small streets of Luang Prabang.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit is an exceptional and inspirational group leader. His training as a Buddhist monk is evident in his calm and thoughtful approach and his endless patience. He responded to our endless questions with clarity, honesty and humour. He is an excellent cyclist but encouraged us to enjoy the ride and cycle at our own pace which alleviated any stress.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be reasonably fit to enjoy this trip. The most used word in the group was ‘undulating’ which was how Rit would always describe the next section we were to ride. It is quite hilly and the weather was often hot and humid. However, there was no shame at all about taking time out in the minibus. It is a wonderful trip and covers a lot of ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are one or two sections on very poor roads with a lot of lorries travelling between Thailand and China. We had been warned about this. Whilst those sections were sometimes unpleasant it is the only way to see the remote areas as there are few roads - and this is the reality of modern-day Laos.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Coralie Cubitt

    Cycling in Laos

    This trip delivered everything it promised and more. The scene was set on day 1 with our warm-up ride around Chiang Mai and a visit to to monastery where our guide, Rit, had spent 10 years as a Buddhist monk. We travelled through some breathtaking landscapes - kart mountains, jungle, paddy fields and wonderful villages where delighted children would run out to greet us. Chiang Mai and Luang Prabang were charming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The undulating landscapes in northern Laos especially on the Udomxai to Pak Beng day. Having breakfast in Pak Beng as we watched elephants bathing on the other side of the Mekong. Walking through the small streets of Luang Prabang.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit is an exceptional and inspirational group leader. His training as a Buddhist monk is evident in his calm and thoughtful approach and his endless patience. He responded to our endless questions with clarity, honesty and humour. He is an excellent cyclist but encouraged us to enjoy the ride and cycle at our own pace which alleviated any stress.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be reasonably fit to enjoy this trip. The most used word in the group was ‘undulating’ which was how Rit would always describe the next section we were to ride. It is quite hilly and the weather was often hot and humid. However, there was no shame at all about taking time out in the minibus. It is a wonderful trip and covers a lot of ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are one or two sections on very poor roads with a lot of lorries travelling between Thailand and China. We had been warned about this. Whilst those sections were sometimes unpleasant it is the only way to see the remote areas as there are few roads - and this is the reality of modern-day Laos.
  • Great trip

    This was a lovely ride through a beautiful part of Italy. I liked the fact that we actually rode the distance from one beautiful city to another (rather than bus transfers). This did mean that it was a rush to check in, shower and be ready to join Michele for the evening meal he organised each evening but for me, that was a price worth paying for the cycling place to place. I think Michele did well organising good, mid range restaurants. Our guide Michele's home town is Vicenza, so he knows and loves this region - especially Vicenza! The route was well planned to use cycle paths or quiet roads, so always a handy coffee and lunch stop.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not one moment to single out, but the cycling generally through such a lovely part of Italy was my highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was a very knowledgeable warm and inspiring guide. I believe he added greatly to the trip by his enthusiasm for helping us to see the best of his home region. As we were travelling to join the trip, I started coming down with a chest infection, and wondered whether I should opt for an electric bike. and having talked through the terrain with Michele, I stuck with a bike rather than opting for an electric bike. I was so glad I did but was wavering slightly. Having discussed what cycling we were used to, Michele encouraged me to cycle. It may have been easier for him to steer me towards an ebike, but he helped me choose what was better for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring your own snacks for during the day if that is important to you, but there are coffee stops along the way. We were very lucky with the unseasonably lovely weather, so my rain jacket was unused, although best be prepared in case.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The choice of hotels was a little disappointing, particularly ( sorry Michele) the one in Vicenza.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Stephanie Clare

    Excellent mix of history, scenery and cycling

    A great introduction to Jordan with the two main bases covered: Wadi Rum and Petra, with a healthy sprinkling of cycling in-between.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery in Wadi Rum closely followed by Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ab (Abdullah) was excellent: extremely knowledgeable, courteous, and with a great sense of humour. He was always approachable and understanding - nothing was too much trouble for him. Despite the unscheduled changes on our trip (a flooded hotel and an overnight change in law re cycling trips), he worked through these issues, communicating regularly, and we completed all the activities we were scheduled to do, albeit in a different order. He was incredibly hardworking and never seemed to be "off-duty". He was in every sense a true professional. For us, he made the trip and is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a couple we only spent 450JD (we didn't really buy any souvenirs as none of them really interested us and a lot of it was very similar). Our 3/4 season sleeping bags were unnecessary for Wadi Rum, just a liner or lightweight sleeping bag would have been sufficient when we were there in late October - check temperatures before you go for an idea. We didn't use that many of our own snacks as our guide was great at providing these and it was something different everyday. You don't need your own bike repair kit as the team mechanic is following behind you. As others have mentioned there isn't a huge variety in the food, but there is plenty to eat. Remember to take a water bottle, the one disappointing thing about Jordan is the amount of plastic rubbish you see littering the sides of the roads. Finally the cycling was more ascent and descent than we had anticipated from the trip notes. The cycle at Wadi Rum is flat, the rest isn't!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    David Couzens

    India Hill Stations

    Wonderful cycling, wonderful scenery and wonderful guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people on the trip. A fantastic group of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanjay and Manu were exceptional. Two fantastic leaders. If you're lucky enough to get them on your trip you'll have a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is tough but rewarding. Make sure you get plenty of hill climbing practice in. You'll also need to be confident in traffic as the standard of driving on India's road leaves a lot to be desired.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Lazzaro Amanzio

    Porto to Lisbon bike tour October 2019

    It was a great tour along Atlantic coast with good weather, many good views, excellent guide and driver and great&fun group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day we arrived in Nazarè with beautiful views of the ocean and of the beaches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruben (our guide) was great. Always smiling and having a good word for every person of the group. He supported the all group very efficiently and in a friendly/professional manner.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some bike training is recommended before to start the tour due to some hilly parts and eventually rent an e-bike to have full fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to mention Tiago (our driver) for taking care of all the logistics and food along the all week in a very professional and friendly manner.