Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pamela Marshall

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    Hi - as a single female traveller over 60 years of age I really enjoyed this holiday. Accommodation was quite basic, but this was too be expected and food showed much creativity but the company was enjoyable and activities varied and very interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite activity was the husky sledge rides and seeing all the dogs in their natural surrounding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great - she couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be wary of your own capabilities. On my free day off I chose to do a 6KM hike with a younger and fitter member of the group ; I think I would have been okay had we not cover the distance up to the highest point of the resort in 2 hours - however I've since suffered a repetitive calf injury and am still suffering 5 weeks later. Great views though and wouldn't have missed the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If booking this holiday think about the weather - winter months means cold weather, shorter days and a better chance of seeing the Northern Lights. April is early spring, the snows are melting, lighter, longer days but probably no Northern lights.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alice Nimmo

    Finnish Wilderness Week 14th-28th

    I really enjoyed the trip and it was Greta to see the transition from winter to spring as we were the last trip of the season. The most enjoyable part was the husky ride, so much I went twice. But also, Elina and Ismo really took care to make sure we enjoyed Finnish traditions, and we cooked pancakes and bread on an open fire as well as quinzee building and first aid in the wildness. I would definitely recommend this trip of you want a jam packed holiday and to tick off a few things from your bucket list. The guides are fantastic and you really feel a sense of being in the wilderness, especially of you are staying in the loggers lodge

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do selling and baking bread on the fire

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was fantastic, so friendly and knowledgeable, she loves the first and nature and is so open minded. Ismo who helped her was also fantastic and he had a lot of knowledge about Finnish traditions and nature

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect 5 star accomodation as one of the people did when I went, she was shocked, bit I was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting mountain hut standard

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was spectacular and it was fantastic to experience delicious traditional Finnish food and drink
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Matthew Handford

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    I loved this trip. It was a chance to head to the frozen north (Finland/Lapland) in April and take part in a range of outdoor activities such as snowshoeing, x country skiing, downhill skiing and dog sledding. It was also great to go out in the wilderness and have a chance to see wildlife and perhaps the Northern Lights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What was special was a combination of things - a social group, feeling I could at least begin to get the hang of activities such as skiing and dogsledding, generally travelling around the Oulanka National Park area by road whilst seeing all of it covered in snow and getting to meet the huskies and reindeer. I also had the chance to take off on my own in the afternoon into the wilderness which gave me a sense of exploration!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina is a very good leader and had us clearly organised everyday. She took us out snowshoeing and showed us cross country skiing. Else kept us well fed from the kitchen and took us out on a night walk with the snowshoes. Both have a lot of local knowledge and were very social, as part of the group. Elina also organised us with the most outdoor kit I have ever been given on a trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a week where there is a lot of choice as to what one can do. Hence, perhaps, it helps to have some preconceived ideas as to what one would like to experience from the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a rare trip in that I would really like to do it again. There is always the argument that there are too many places in the world to visit and hence it is not worth returning to the same one. However, this trip takes place in different locations in the National Park and it is possible to do different activities over the course of the week.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    G S

    Fantastic holiday full of fun and laughter in Lulea, Sweden

    Accommodation at Pine Bay Lodge set on the shores of a frozen lake were excellent. I loved the fact that we were the only guests there. It was so quiet and peaceful. The meals were delicious and nicely presented. Most of the activities took place in the mornings so there was plenty of time to do some exploring ourselves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the activities were full of fun and laughter. I particularly loved the 4-man dog sledding, this was hilarious, i think we took off at 100 mph, we screamed and tears fell with laughter. The snowmobiling was fantastic too; what an experience to snow mobile across the frozen sea. Three course meal by candle light in Tipee on frozen sea was awesome; just a strange feeling to think we were sat on the Gulf of Bothnia! Icing on the cake was rushing out after dinner to see the Northern Lights, wow they were spectacular and lasted for hours. Another inspirational moment was going on the hovercraft and seeing cars drive on the ice road across the frozen sea. These are memories to treasure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was an outstanding leader, his knowledge of outdoor survival skills was excellent. He had a good sense of humour and took really good care of us making sure we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Eric was also a fantastic cook, the meals he cooked us on the open fires were scrumptious. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Andrious was also an excellent leader who accompanied us snowmobiling and took us ice fishing; shame we didn't catch anything but what an experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Know what settings to put your camera on to take photographs of the Northern Lights before they appear!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every minute of the holiday; it was just magical.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jane Ungemuth

    Best Holiday Ever

    This was our first time using Exodus travel and we recommend them 100%. The whole experience was positive from our first contact on the phone to Exodus to waving our fellow travellers off home at Heathrow at the end of the week. Pine Bay Lodge in Lulea was delightful, the guide for the week Eric was informative and helpful, the food was outstanding and all the activities were great fun. Perhaps the highlight was seeing the Northern Lights a rare but magnificent experience. We shared the week with like minded people whose company we throughly enjoyed and had a good laugh with. We have come home with heaps of brilliant memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fellow travellers and the Northern Lights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Full of local knowledge and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope I've said it all!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Janet Powell

    Swedish Lapland Activity

    A wonderful trip, a great introduction to winter activities at Pine Bay Lodge. The accommodation is warm welcoming and friendly, and has scope to dry any damp clothing. The equipment they supply is excellent, the food delicious, if almost too creamy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Was coming outside after supper to see the Northern Lights over the buildings, with pinks and blues dancing in the sky, as well as the traditional green lights. Oh, and the dog sledding was just amazing, 90 minutes of fun and high speed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your goggles.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robin Rawson-Tetley

    Absolutely brilliant

    This was my first time in Scandinavia and I absolutely loved it. The Swedes were fantastic, the food was excellent, the accommodation was of a very high standard and in a lovely setting by a frozen lake. The activities were all great fun (it's hard to pick my favourite between dogsledding and snowmobiling across the frozen sea!). There was still a good amount of relaxing downtime, but with something new to do every day. I enjoyed every minute of it and would unreservedly love to visit again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a 3 course dinner cooked on an open fire outside a cabin in the middle of the frozen sea, the northern lights appeared for us, it was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was a wonderful character, funny, personable and really knew his stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It got down to -37C at one point in our trip, so take a couple of pairs of gloves for under your mittens and plenty of thick socks as the cold really gets you on the hands and feet. Ski goggles are handy for the dog sledding and the snowmobiles. Don't bother changing any money - you can pay for all the optional activities and any drinks/extras with one card transaction at the end of the trip when you leave. Contactless and card payments are accepted everywhere for everything.
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Wonderful wilderness week

    My friends suggested this trip to me and although it sounded amazing I was a little cautious but went for it and I am so glad I did! The whole trip is just one fantastic experience after another. The weather was incdredible especially the -32 that warmed up to only -7! The scenery is stunning without exception and thats just the start. Ignore the neigh sayers about the accomodation and food. The chalets are lovely, cosy, comfortable and very warm. It's so serene in the morning its wonderful, I woke up to that amazing woodland view, peace and quiet and the occasional squirrel coming for food. The food is great and plentiful and filling just with a big grpup like ours (32 people) you sometimes have to queue to get it. Try not to be too British expecting a hot cup of tea each morning. I took my own kettle and onlu used it twice. The kit is great and does the job perfectly and the room floor dries things out very well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to name just one but the husky experience is unforgettable. Being driven by those beautiful dogs across the amazing landscape under an epic clear blue sky was just jaw dropping especially when they turn around and look at you if you dare apply the brake to slow them down. Actually getting to see the northern lights was truly memorable. Standing on that frozen lake in the middle of the night just watching the display in awe inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was wonderful. She explained everything well and really encouraged you to want to try that bit harder to get the hang of things. She mixed with us and seemed to really enjoy her time with us as much as we did with her. Special mention to Andrea who came to Riisilntunturi National Park with us. It was her day off and she had never been so came as back stop guide and was lumbered with the daft set messing about, she laughed so much I hope she enjoyyed it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Throw yourself into it, and you really should give the sleeping out in the quinzee a try its crazy but fun. As with other advice you don't need much so dont overpack. If you wear glasses and want to keep your face warm, try to find something tight fitting over your nose becasue as you breath the moisture in your breath feezes on your lenses. If you like a drink perhaps pick up a bottle or two up before you get there it is quite expensive at the camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and enjoy it, we went as 3 friends but made great ones when we got there, we even had people wishing they were in our group we had that much fun. Falling over is fantastic, getting back up again is hilarious!
Call us on +356 21423994