Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mary Tebb

    Great trip.

    We were a large group of 16 but all got on well. I would say this is a great trekking trip with a serious mountain to climb. Morocco is an interesting country with a very different culture to ours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a different culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhasan was really patient with us and made us feel very looked after and safe. He clearly wanted us all to experience the summit and enjoy his country. Despite being on Ramadan, we had no concerns about his ability as our guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do prepare physically for this trip as it is frustrating to be held back by slower group members who didn’t appreciate the leg work needed. We had a 12 hour walking day on the mountain so you should be prepared for that on mountainous terrain. Temperature ranges were huge on the trip from the high 30s in Marrakesh up to just above freezing overnight at Toubkal refuge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s Morocco. Accommodation is basic and toilets are usually the squatting type. Strengthen those thighs before you go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Amber Atouguia

    The most amazing experience of my life

    Going on this trip had to be the best decision I've ever made regarding a holiday. Everything was perfect- the weather, the scenery, the route, the accommodation, the food, the guides. I've never been trekking before or climbed a mountain or anything along those lines, the rating Exodus gives the trip for difficulty is very accurate. It was a challenging trip, with two 12-hr days of trekking (this only happened because the route had to be changed as the pass we were supposed to take was blocked by snow (we were also walking quite slowly as had an older gentleman in the group)) but it was certainly do-able and 100% enjoyable. The food was amazing the whole trip, the best food I have ever had- nobody in the group complained about the cooking, the portions were incredible also. There were 16 of us and there was always plenty of food available, they are very good at catering for different diets. Around 50% of our group was vegan or vegetarian (I am vegan myself) and I have to say I was worried before we started the trip that we wouldn't have enough food available but there were certainly enough! The guides and even the locals we interacted with were the most friendly group of people I have met, the were all lovely and easy to talk to- most had extremely good English and spoke around 4/5 languages themselves so very interesting and intelligent people. It also cannot be put into words or even captured in a picture how beautiful the Atlas mountains are, you'll just have to go and see them yourself!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of Toubkal was just incredible. After 4 days of walking, finally being up there was so fulfilling. It was amazing to think that 'I just climbed a mountain'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Lahcen Idblaaid really made the trip! He had so much knowledge of the area that you could ask him anything. He was extremely attentive throughout the whole trip, we never had to ask for anything because he would already have it covered. Even after our 12-hr summit day, when we got back to base camp he was running around making sure everyone had enough hot water for their tea etc- even though it was during Ramadan so he hadn't had anything himself the whole day. He also made sure that everyone was comfortable at the pace we were walking and that nobody needed any special assistance. When my auntie was struggling with the hills on a few of the days, he even carried her bag for her along with his own. He was altogether a very lovely and hardworking chap- I could not think of someone more deserving of a holiday themselves! Will definitely miss him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    They weren't kidding when they suggest you bring hat and gloves for summit days, I thought 'Nah I'm from England it won't really be cold' but it's actually quite chilly. Especially as we woke up at 5.00am to get an early start up Toubkal! I just wore my sun bandana instead of a wolly hat and this worked fine but I would recommend gloves, especially if you end up using crampons and ice axes as we did.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Paul Walter

    Amazing hike

    We had a great trip with a really good mixed group of people (ages ranged from 23 to 63). It was a quite a hard hike over mountain paths but the views and scenery reward your efforts at every turn. Being early in the spring season we encountered snow and ice on summit day but was provided with crampons and ice picks to help our assent. Climbing at altitude was very hard but the whole group made it by adopting a slow but steady pace and we had blue skies and great visibility at the top so could see for miles. It took us 7 hours to get up and 2 hours to come down and I would recommend building up your stamina before the trip as it is quite strenuous. The camping was good and the guides and porters did a great job. Temperatures vary enormously from day to day - we saw + 35 mid day and -10 at night - so take lots of clothing options, layers and the best sleeping bags you can afford (we hired ours). Overall a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summit day was great - starting at 5.30 am in the dark, watching the sun come up and finally summiting. Having to use crampons and ice picks was actually very interesting as well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was very good on the Mountain keeping us all motivated and together. Two of the ladies had some trouble along the route and the guides kindly took their packs to make sure they could complete the hike.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lots of layers and clothing options as the temperatures vary so much day and night. The best sleeping bags you can get are really worth it - some on the trip had the 'cheaper' 4 seasons bags and clearly they were not as good as some of the more expensive ones.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was better than I expected and I was really amazed at what they could produce in the middle of a mountain!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Paul Walter

    Amazing Experiance

    We enjoyed an amazing week in the Atlas mountains culminating in the climb to Mount Toubkal's summit. As it was snowy and icy on the peak we used crampons and ice axes but that just added to the overall experience. It was a very hard climb (9 hours up and down) but all of us in our group made it. The food on the trip was great and we were amazed at how such good meals could be made with limited cooking facilities (even freshly baked bread every day) and no-one got sick or had any problems. Camping at altitude was cold so make sure you take really good sleeping bags and have plenty of layers and down jackets for the assent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments including the summit, using crampons for the first time, clear blue skies, clean air and wonderful vistas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great in supporting us all and guiding us on the mountain.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of layers of clothing as it can be - 10 with the wind chill before the sun rises and we saw + 33 mid day so you need to be able to take off and put on clothing as required. Take the best sleeping bag you can get hold of as night temperatures in the tents are low.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Karen Reed

    Mera

    I had an excellent trip and was aware issues could affect the summit attempt and so made sure I enjoyed the journey. There was an unusual amount of snow and we were the first to go over the first pass, but the challenging walk to the start of the peak meant I was well acclimatised and practiced at walking in snow. Compared to other companies we had extra rest days and easy days which I feel helped me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up the highest mountain I've ever been up with even bigger mountains looming up even higher behind me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jangbu was excellent. He's extremely experienced having summited Everest several times, but he's also easy going and approachable. Another group commented that they were getting more information from his daily briefing to us than from their own leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Respect altitude. Do as advised, take it slowly, eat plenty, drink plenty and rest when possible. Also kitbag weight matters. The bags are carried by porters and another group had such heavy bags they had to wait up to 2 hours in cold, damp, clammy clothes while their porters struggled to carry their bags over a difficult pass.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a tough trek. You don't need to be super fit but day after day of walking takes it toll. Experience of long days of walking in snow can be gained from winter walking in Scotland, and I attended a mountaineering week at Glenmore Lodge, Cairngorms to get the mountaineering skills required.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Charles Bennett

    Mount Kenya Trek

    Great knowledgeable guides,, great team of porters and cooks, and a great group of fellow travellers. The walk in was fantastic with ever changing scenery. Summit day was hard work but worth every breathless step. The celebratory summit dinner, which clashed with my 60th birthday, was one I'll never forget thanks to my fellow travellers, the hotel staff, band and the dancers. A real night to remember, although judjing by the videos, my dancing might best be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summitting with all the team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Helpful and knowledgeable, and always happy to share his knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Philip Robinson

    Mount Kenya Ascent 27 February 2019

    Getting There - arrangements / bookings worked well Reception - as expected met and taken to Hotel Hotel - (Bantu Lodge) - very nice except inadequate hot water. The Ascent - Walking in and acclimatisation excellent - resulting in a successful ascent. Achievement - Met my expectations Weather - Very good which helped

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final ascent from Shipton Camp to The Summit arriving on the top at sunrise

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter is a safe, reliable and considerate leader available to all the clients. He was well supported by his assistants Sammy and David

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your footwear right. the upper reaches of Mount Kenya are light scree.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Arrangements for dropping the return king party at Jomo Kenyatta Airport were not good. Some issues are: The roads leading out to the airport are slow National security Concerns mean extra searches A lot of passengers returning to Europe on the midnight flights The tour schedule makes on line checkin difficult. One of our party was "bumped off" the Paris flight - though rebooked to Amsterdam Passport checking is slow . Tedious though it may seem I would recommend getting to the airport 3 hours + before scheduled take off. We arrived 2 hours 15 mins before and there were some nervous/anxious passengers - not the best way to end a holiday that was otherwise excellent. Also Safari land cruisers are not really suitable to transporting passengers to and from the airport.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robert Earnshaw

    Mt Toubkal Winter Climb

    Really great trip. All the other people in the group were lovely. Scenery and food fantasic. Mountain accomodation basic but more than adequate. Toilets could be better though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both main mountain days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and concerned for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some ice axe and crampon training and practice before the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robert Earnshaw

    Mt Toubkal Winter Climb

    Really great trip. All the other people in the group were lovely. Scenery and food fantasic. Mountain accomodation basic but more than adequate. Toilets could be better though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both main mountain days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and concerned for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some ice axe and crampon training and practice before the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robert Earnshaw

    Mt Toubkal Winter Climb

    Really great trip. All the other people in the group were lovely. Scenery and food fantasic. Mountain accomodation basic but more than adequate. Toilets could be better though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both main mountain days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and concerned for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some ice axe and crampon training and practice before the trip.
Call us on +356 21423994