Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Charlie Miller

    This is not for the faint hearted

    Getting out of Vienna went pretty smooth for me ( but not for everyone ) and the run up to Bratislava went well apart from terrible wind and rain, Hotel was good but didn't let you check in until exactly 3pm ( on the dot ) The next few days you dotted back and fore between Slovakia & Hungry and you were never really sure where you were, Hotels all a good standard but all the people on trip in different hotels which is a pain, getting in and out of some the places wasn't easy and you need to be good at map reading as instructions very confusing. Day 3 i think it was was very much dirt tracks and farm tracks and with all the rain it was mud and lots of it, ( hard going ) there were also sections of main road which are pretty broken up at the edges, you dont spend much time on or near the Danube but there is still lots to see, but no cafes or places to get hot drinks or snacks. This is a lot harder than Passau to Vienna. Please note this is note an Exodus trip and you end up with company euro cycles who were very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of lovely places and most of the people are nice, i think Bratislava was high light but weather was just lashing down so hard to say, as weather in Budapest was great but to many people and traffic a nightmare

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not Applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are 4, 3 corner hotels in Budapest and the one i had wasn't on the map supplied, Traffic in Budapest a nightmare, hotels pretty good standard and people all very nice, but can be a bit strange.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When you are in Slovakia you can use euros but when you cross the river and end up in hungry they are reluctant to take euros and if they do they give you change in HUF and exchange rate varies from person to person.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Charlie Miller

    Very beautiful and easy

    A wonderful trip on perfectly manicured cycle path and very very flat, short hops each day and its an ideal beginners trip, a couple of bike ferry crossings which break the day up and the ferry goes when you get there and if you miss it then its back in ten minutes. Hotels were of a good standard and a real mix and match and you just never sure what you going to get or if any of the people whos on your trip will be there or not as they seem to put everyone in different hotels if possible. weather wasn't great when we were there and some nasty wind and rain, and i imagine this would have been even better in nice weather, Please note its self guided and not run by Exodus travel and the company werent even to sure who Exodus were, but it still all went smooth.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sights and sounds and the photos dont do any of it justice, Melek Monistray was really pretty amazing, but so was it all really, it was like turning a page in a book and everyone ones as good or if not better than the last.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not Applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you look for an easy run then do this as there is nothing taxing or difficult about this and the cycle paths are perfect.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Karol Zemek

    Not recommended for complete beginners

    The trip was enjoyable overall, but as a complete novice to skiing, I struggled. Almost everyone in the group had some experience of either cross-country or downhill skiing, and the pace of the group was understandably set by them. As such, those of us with no experience had to learn very quickly, and I could have done with more practice and training before heading out on the less basic routes. The end of the week in particular was very tough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a good trip for people with some experience of skiing or for those that can learn quickly.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Cathie Cowell

    Cross country skiiing

    Excellent group, the leaders had extensive knowledge of the area and the sport. Liz was a thoughtful encouraging and inclusive leader. No complaints at all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful, awe inspiring scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not fault her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    DAVID BELL

    Excellent week in Dobbiaco

    A great week's cross country skiing in Dobbiaco. Sunshine and blue skies were great but the snow was getting thin by the end of the week. Hotel was very good. Excellent breakfast buffet and plenty of choice for the evening meal. Wellness suite was great to stretch the muscles after a good day skiing. Efficient bus service to get to different ski areas each day and only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The skiing was very good every day but my best memory will be having a coffee by the lake above Dobbiaco which is very beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders as this was a Level 1 and 2 holiday. Alex led our group and I found the pace and the teaching perfect. He knows the area very well and was able to choose good skiing every day despite the worsening snow conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of thin layers as the start of the day may be cold but once the sun gets up so does the temperature. A close fitting light rucksack is very useful to carry water, suncream and the layers you remove.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our third ski week in Dobbiaco and the scenery is so beautiful I hope we will be back again.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jim Watson

    Fantastic two weeks. I could have stayed longer!

    This was my fifth trip to Dobbiaco, the first as an absolute beginner. The trip was as enjoyable as my first. The first week was grade 3/4. The second was grade 2/3. A hard first week with long days. The second week was more relaxed with more time for a hot chocolate and a sauna on returning to the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing down the Kreuzburg Pass. A really interesting 5k snowplough.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz and Ingrid were both excellent as usual. A great combination of providing instruction at an appropriate level and good encouragement. They looked after the health and safety of the groups while at the same time encouraging the participants to stretch themselves. They are both relaxed and sociable: They are good to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Dobbiaco is the ideal location for beginners with the Arena complex the ideal location to begin skiing safely. More advanced skiers can stretch themselves to their full ability in a variety of different locations. If you can manage go for two weeks. You will want to stay for longer as you become immersed in the culture of the area. Make sure you go for a hot chocolate in the cafe across the road from the hotel. My favourites were the white and the chilli versions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is excellent with a fantastic spa. The hotel staff are relaxed, friendly and efficient. They even provided good porridge at breakfast! Perfect for a Scotsman.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sonia Barber

    Cross country skiing Dobiacco

    Endless snow covered trails, rugged beautiful scenery, great company......I didn’t want it to end! Possibly my 8th time in Dobiacco but still inspired on new trails and forever in awe of the views. Love going back to the Hotel Tschurtschenthaler which is always welcoming and well situated with plenty of food. How long until next year?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the blind skiers enjoying their environment on cross country skis with their guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Liz and Ingrid worked tirelessly together to make the trip the best it has ever been. I’m forever in awe of their fitness and skiing skills and I had an amazing time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you go on the right grade holiday for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please could Exodus try a trip for touring grade 3 cross country skating style skiers such as myself.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Clifford Kienlen

    Prague to Budapest

    Exceeded expectations. Great guides, driver and fellow cyclists. Tour is an interesting combination of rural and great cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our last meal as a group. Good companions

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent combination of cycling know how and narrative about the history of what we were seeing which included his experience of living under communism. I think he should make sure group is engaged before giving a briefing. Saying “ Gather around the map. I want you all to know where we are going.” once or twice would make all the difference. As well, if possible face people on the bus when relating some interesting history or giving some crucial information. Otherwise some miss key parts of what is being said.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Kick back and enjoy.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Phil Goyen

    Prague to Budapest ride

    Great ride through the rolling hills of Czech of republic and on through to Austria, Slovakia and Hungary. Many interesting stops along the way. Glad I did some training before the ride as we had some windy days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding along the old Iron curtain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Dana were great. I required my brakes to be switched to accommodate my hands and even though I had some bike problems and switched three different bikes, Peter gladly switched for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training, will make the trip much more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thought everything was well organized but personally would have had shorter stops along the day and arrived at the towns earlier to enjoy more of the towns.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Tom Roberts

    Highlights of Central Europe

    This was a fast paced tour that covered features and cities of 5 countries. I found this tour to be very interesting and gave one an insite into this part of the world. I would recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard question, but I would say the time we spent Vienna. The history ,as we all know, is amazing and it was great to see firsthand thus very beautiful city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I found Peter to be excellent. He tried very hard to make our holiday as memorable as possible. Being a native to Slovakia, his knowledge of the history of the countries we visited was first rate. He was most helpful to everybody in this tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fast past tour covering some of the highlights of 5 Central European countries. This tour will provide you with a broad brush look and knowledge of these countries . In my case it has given me a reason for visiting some of the cities again to get a greater look at what they have to offer.
Call us on +356 21423994