Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sally Sanders

    Beautiful Croatia!

    We found this trip to be a great way to experience this stunning coastline and enjoy our first visit to Croatia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the first day’s 10km climb and enjoying a lovely cold beer. Lunch at the konoba Mate on the island of Korcula was a delicious experience and I don’t think we would ever have found this lovely rural restaurant on our own. Really enjoyed the wild flowers and butterflies. Being a part of and sharing so many great experiences with our group ‘The Bruised Peaches’!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was ace - he looked after and encouraged us, and with his cycling expertise, local knowledge and sense of humour helped to make this trip well organised, interesting and great fun too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend some hours in the saddle and do some training before you go - your bottom will thank you! Don’t expect great hotels but we found them to be adequate for this trip as not much time was spent in them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely visit Croatia again and will I am sure be booking another cycling trip with Exodos in the future.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jan Challis

    Beautiful Croatia

    Lovely mixture of cycling; some long hills but beautiful views from the top, fabulous coastal roads through pine trees and little villages. Travelling in June we cycled through wonderful flower meadows with the heady smell of rosemary in the air. Hotels are basic but adequate. Food and drink are about the same as UK prices. Our guide pick some great restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip to Mljet - very relaxing and peaceful once you get there (getting on the ferry with the bike is a bit of a mad scramble). The optional dinner in Korcula at the agrotourism was fabulous - amazing setting and great food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader - knowledgeable, safe, friendly and great fun. He made sure everyone was included. Our driver was a nice guy but pretty useless - he did very little apart from drive the minibus so Marin ended up doing everything else. He worked exceptional hard the whole week. Unfortunately one of our group had an accident on day 5 but Marin handled the whole situation extremely well and very professionally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wish I'd been able to have a extra day or two to explore Split. We had a 1 hour whistlestop tour and then had to get straight on the ferry. Buy or take food for the ferry as there isn't time to sit and eat a meal in Split.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With a group of 16 people there should been a second leader, or at the very least a driver who had some knowledge of the trip and provided the leader with competent backup. Our driver had no idea where to go; often we would get the meeting point to find he was parked somewhere entirely different. This really put a lot of unnecessary pressure on our leader and wasted time. The driver wouldn't help rope up the bikes, he had no idea how to detach the trailer and was difficult to contact (his phone was often switched off).
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Stuart Dickinson

    Croatia: Islands and Mountains

    A fine mix of culture- Dubrovnik and Split, with daily walks. Brac was a sample of Dalmatia's islands and Bol was both a quiet characterful resort, and ferry port. The long linking distances were made in a comfortable mini bus and the travel linked first rate scenic highlights. The northern Krka National Park with its superb waterfalls; and the sharp, bare fluted limestones mixed with rich pine and beech forests of the Paklenica National Park made a memorable finale. Our guide was excellent and the choice of restaurants for the evening meal together was generally much appreciated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The orchids that bloomed in dark pine forest- birds nest orchid and sword leaved white helleborine; and pyramidal orchid and bee orchid that grew on open limestone pasture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very warm and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for hot walking. When you are away from shady woodland it can be exposed take water and sunscreen and a hat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Slightly disappointed to have to provide our own picnic. In previous trips the leader usually shops and the picnic is shared out and carried by the party members. Not here.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    William Edginton

    Bosnia and beyond

    This was an enjoyable and illuminating trip, very efficiently run. Almost all places visited were worthwhile, with the possible exception of Budva. A mixture of lovely scenery (especially the Montenegro mountains), comfortable travelling and towns/cities attractive in themselves but with an extra layer of history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo - walking its streets, visiting its museums and mosques, taking views from its hills and remembering what they were used for, sampling its food and its vibrancy. But there were other highlights such as the view over Kotor Bay, the pleasure of seeing Mostar's restored old bridge from various angles including the top of a minaret and the traversing of a spectacular mountain road only just made passable through snowdrifts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can only echo the plaudits given to Sabina in other reviews. She just makes you happy to be in her country/region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The group hotel in Dubrovnik is on the outskirts of the new town and a bus (approximately hourly) is needed to get to the old town. Don't know about taxis but reception seemed to want several hours notice for a taxi to the airport. The old town is small and almost overwhelmed by visitors. Seasoned walkers may find the walks undemanding (can't speak for the walk outside Sarajevo - truncated because of the weather)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just for clarity, because of poor weather I chose to stay in Sarajevo rather than go with the group to Lukomir and so saw more of the city but none of the countryside. An extra day based in Sarajevo is the solution.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Chris Bridges

    Bosnia and beyond

    A great trip, scenically a good mix of coastal and mountain scenery, local culture well explained & a great introduction to this part of the Balkans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Sarajevo & learning of the history. Seeing the spectacular mountain scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was wonderful, her passion for her country & for tourism & conservation came through very strongly. She was well organised & a lot of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do this trip & learn about Bosnia & see the spectacular scenery.
  • Reviewed June 2019

    A must see trip

    I have just returned from the most amazing cycling holiday. This was my first holiday of this kind and was rather nervous being a single traveler! The rest of the group made me so welcome and I instantly felt relaxed and with friends. The first couple of days were rather tough cycling and I did get behind but with Alan's encouragement I caught up and had a giggle with the rest of the group. The countryside is amazing, the food was outstanding, loved it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to complete the cycling, although slowly at first I did manage to speed up with each day and felt rather fitter by the end of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic is an amazing guy, he encouraged us all every day and he is so knowledgeable and helpful. Even his jokes were quite funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont be nervous - perhaps train a little beforehand to get used to the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were not great but they did the job and the breakfast was okay.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Pamela Moore

    Fantastic Trip

    If you love glorious mountain scenery on every day of your journey then this is the trip for you. Every place we went looked like it could be an airbrushed postcard, yet the beauty was very real. The walks were lovely and not too difficult, although I do recommend bringing walking poles. I was fortunate enough to be in a group with Sabina as our guide. While I've never had a bad guide with Exodus, Sabina stands out as the best. She did a wonderful job of looking out for everyone in the group and making sure everyone felt included. Her love and knowledge of the Balkans really came through. Our driver was very skilled and he kept us safe on some narrow, winding roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In addition to the scenery of the Balkans, the history of this part of the world is fascinating. The scars of the war are still very visible on many of the buildings, especially in Sarajevo. I still don't understand what started the war or why the rest of the world looked the other way, but I think it's important to learn from situations like this. One of the dozens of buildings that was destroyed in the war was the City Hall of Sarajevo. I took a picture of the plaque on the outside of the new building and the last line reads, "Do not forget, remember and warn!" I shall never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was an outstanding guide. She did a great job of organizing the trip and everything went very smoothly. On one of our days when we were supposed to walk in the mountains, the weather did not co-operate. That's OK, Sabina made a new plan and we still had a very fun day. If I am fortunate enough to return to this part of the world I would love to be in her group again. I especially loved hearing of her personal experiences during the war.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'm sure the Balkans are great at any time of the year but I'm very glad I went in May. The days were warm but not too hot, nights were cool and wildflowers were blooming.
  • Reviewed June 2019

    Great way to explore Croatian Islands

    This was a great holiday with some challenging hills but no time pressure to get up them! The weather was awful for much of the week which was unexpected and made for some difficult cycling. However, we were well supported by our leader, Dino, and driver, Jadran, and never felt that we had to cycle in the rain if it was too dangerous. Some of the rides were a little short for a Grade 3 holiday but overall there was plenty of good cycling and time for sightseeing and swimming at the end of each day. There were lots of short ferry rides to add variety to each day and not too much time was spent on the bus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling part of the holiday started with a long climb on the island of Hwar, it was a steady hill and the whole group made it to the top for a nice lunch of traditional Croatian food. This was the first of many hills and gave a flavour of what was to come. The scenery was spectacular throughout the trip when we could see it through the driving rain!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Dino, was excellent. He was sociable and quickly got to know all members of the group. He organised the group in a laid back way so that not much time was spent on briefings but everyone had all the information they needed about the cycling each day. On the optional day he lead a small group of us on an additional ride which included some tough climbing. This was much appreciated as the suggested optional itinerary had been cancelled due to the weather. Our driver, Jadran, cold not have been more helpful and was a very careful driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of wet weather gear even if you are expecting sunshine. None of the hills are too steep, easily manageable for most cyclists. The handlebar bags are spacious but not waterproof, take a dry bag to line them with.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked a few more miles cycling especially on the last ride which was only 20km long through spectacular scenery.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Tony Hill

    Bosnia visited

    I was hoping to understand more about the recent war in Bosnia. I didn't learn much except that this is an extraordinarily complicated place the crossroads of Europe geographically and historically, that nationalism is toxic, and that efforts by internationalbodies such as the UN were incapable of preventing war and even genocide if one of the combatants decide on a course of action.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo, the resilience and friendliness of its people when important issues are still unresolved. It is a living, fascinating city. Montenegro and especially Kotor. An intact, walled old city on a harbour surrounded by steep mountains and with a fiercely independent history. The high mountains and deep river valley's of the countryside with remote villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was excellent. She was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and shared the remarkable history of her family to help us with understanding the rich cultural environment. Her warmth and humour helped bind the group together. Our driver Damen was very professional and soon gained our confidence with his driving on the steep, tortuous, narrow mountain roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Old men be warned, there are very few public toilets and stairs and steps are steep and rarely have handrails. The roads are unremittingly winding so bring a remedy if prone to car sickness. Read up on some history before going, it will enrich the experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to be amazed by the richness of the history and geography of this fascinating region and its people, and if your guide is half as good as Sabina you will have a lot of fun.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Smith

    Bosnia and Beyond

    I have just completed this Exodus tour of the Balkans, and I rate it amongst the best well rounded tours I have experienced. The itinerary was excellent. The bus and accommodations were very good. There was a very good balance of road time through breathtaking countryside, to walks, hiking and group meals experiencing local foods, to free time. Our driver was safety conscious. I would sign up for an Exodus tour again without hesitation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing the multicultural flavor of Montenegro, Bosnia and Croatia. Observing first hand how peoples of different faiths with a common history and language can work together for a better present and future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Sabina Sirco, made these countries come alive for us. She has a great personal understanding of the history, the social, cultural and environmental issues of the Balkan countries. Her passion and her depth of knowledge was inspiring, and her enthusiasm spoke to all the tour participants. There was a good balance of hiking the beautiful countryside, experiencing culture and historical sites, trying out local and ethnic foods, and laughing over shared meals. Sabina was always safety conscious. We felt privileged that she shared her own personal experience as a young girl living in downtown Sarajevo during the war. She earned the admiration and respect of the whole group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring good hiking shoes and a rainproof jacket.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus. You hit this tour out of the ball park.
Call us on +356 21423994