Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jennifer Whittaker

    Morocco

    I thoroughly enjoyed the trip as we had so many places to explore and to learn the history and culture of the country. The scenery was so diverse and in all towns and villages we were met with smiles. Families invited us into their homes and treated us to delicious meals which was very special as it was during Ramadan . Our leader was very helpful in telling us the best places to eat and drink. The only downside was the mini bus that we had to travel in as it was quiet cramped and uncomfortable and on the days when the journey took 10 hours it felt like torture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Camel trek which was so much fun

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Youssef was a great leader looking after us all and listening to anyone who had a problem. He had to be creative at times during Ramadan but he always came up with a solution

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Carry an inflatable cushion
  • Reviewed June 2019
    David and Louise Simpson

    Experience Morocco!

    A brilliant trip which covered a lot of the country which is an exciting place to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding camels in desert, walking in Atlas Mountains, souks in Fez, visiting local families, local hamman in mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, but could have given more information on long drives even about the country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even though it is a Premium trip, places to stay where not special but ok for our needs. Minibus for 15/16 people far too small and on the very long journeys it was pretty uncomfortable but we survived!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Morocco is a country with friendly people, sights and sounds and experiences everywhere and this trip covers so much. Would recommend (if transport was improved) for anyone.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jane De Vries

    Superb family adventure

    We booked a private tailor made slightly shortened 6 day Camels and Kasbahs itinerary to fit with the half term school holidays of our teenage children. It was a really excellent adventure and introduction to Morocco, starting in Marrakech, crossing the High Atlas Mountains to the Sahara desert and back to Marrakech. We really felt like we got to know the essence of Morocco in a relatively short trip, and also felt safe at all times thanks to our superb guide Abdul and very safe driver Moustafa. We definitely intend to return to this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights were staying and stargazing in the remote Berber village of Tighza in the High Atlas Mountains, bargaining for a carpet in the remote desert town of Rissani and camel trekking and climbing the sand dunes to watch sunset over the Sahara in Mergouza.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Abdul was insightful, humorous and spoke perfect English. We learned a huge amount from him about the culture and way of life in Morocco. Moustafa was our friendly and very safe driver, transporting us in a comfortable air conditioned minibus. We were very well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring head scarves for the desert, or you can buy them en route. Stock up on small value dirham notes and coins for tipping along the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mary Tebb

    Great trip.

    We were a large group of 16 but all got on well. I would say this is a great trekking trip with a serious mountain to climb. Morocco is an interesting country with a very different culture to ours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a different culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhasan was really patient with us and made us feel very looked after and safe. He clearly wanted us all to experience the summit and enjoy his country. Despite being on Ramadan, we had no concerns about his ability as our guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do prepare physically for this trip as it is frustrating to be held back by slower group members who didn’t appreciate the leg work needed. We had a 12 hour walking day on the mountain so you should be prepared for that on mountainous terrain. Temperature ranges were huge on the trip from the high 30s in Marrakesh up to just above freezing overnight at Toubkal refuge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s Morocco. Accommodation is basic and toilets are usually the squatting type. Strengthen those thighs before you go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Amber Atouguia

    The most amazing experience of my life

    Going on this trip had to be the best decision I've ever made regarding a holiday. Everything was perfect- the weather, the scenery, the route, the accommodation, the food, the guides. I've never been trekking before or climbed a mountain or anything along those lines, the rating Exodus gives the trip for difficulty is very accurate. It was a challenging trip, with two 12-hr days of trekking (this only happened because the route had to be changed as the pass we were supposed to take was blocked by snow (we were also walking quite slowly as had an older gentleman in the group)) but it was certainly do-able and 100% enjoyable. The food was amazing the whole trip, the best food I have ever had- nobody in the group complained about the cooking, the portions were incredible also. There were 16 of us and there was always plenty of food available, they are very good at catering for different diets. Around 50% of our group was vegan or vegetarian (I am vegan myself) and I have to say I was worried before we started the trip that we wouldn't have enough food available but there were certainly enough! The guides and even the locals we interacted with were the most friendly group of people I have met, the were all lovely and easy to talk to- most had extremely good English and spoke around 4/5 languages themselves so very interesting and intelligent people. It also cannot be put into words or even captured in a picture how beautiful the Atlas mountains are, you'll just have to go and see them yourself!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of Toubkal was just incredible. After 4 days of walking, finally being up there was so fulfilling. It was amazing to think that 'I just climbed a mountain'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Lahcen Idblaaid really made the trip! He had so much knowledge of the area that you could ask him anything. He was extremely attentive throughout the whole trip, we never had to ask for anything because he would already have it covered. Even after our 12-hr summit day, when we got back to base camp he was running around making sure everyone had enough hot water for their tea etc- even though it was during Ramadan so he hadn't had anything himself the whole day. He also made sure that everyone was comfortable at the pace we were walking and that nobody needed any special assistance. When my auntie was struggling with the hills on a few of the days, he even carried her bag for her along with his own. He was altogether a very lovely and hardworking chap- I could not think of someone more deserving of a holiday themselves! Will definitely miss him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    They weren't kidding when they suggest you bring hat and gloves for summit days, I thought 'Nah I'm from England it won't really be cold' but it's actually quite chilly. Especially as we woke up at 5.00am to get an early start up Toubkal! I just wore my sun bandana instead of a wolly hat and this worked fine but I would recommend gloves, especially if you end up using crampons and ice axes as we did.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Tim W

    Remote trekking at its best

    Adventure holidays don’t get much better than this. Inexpensive, nearby (three and a half hours from London Gatwick) yet it feels like you’re a world away from home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights include trekking through beautiful remote locations, reaching the top of one of the highest summits in the region, bathing in a natural series of rock pools, viewing a myriad of stars and galaxies in the clear night sky and learning the ways of Bear Grylls from our dear mentor James. He was one of the four Brits in our group. We were also fortunate to have one Belgian and a married couple from Australia. We were all strangers when we touched down in Agadir but we bonded almost from the get go.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group was led by the Lahcan, an expert guide who explained where we would be trekking. We all came to appreciate his wisdom, experience and good humour as the days rolled by. He showed us the way as we headed up, up, up and then down, down, down pointing out the landmarks and of course dangers along the way. He treated us to nuts, dates and tea and fascinated us with tales of local lore. He was also supported by an attentive team – which included an excellent chef (Hassan), driver, two marvellous mules and their handlers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    By day we trekked through remote landscapes; climbing up rugged, barren rocks and back down to lush irrigated green valleys. Some of the walks were challenging and we encountered ever changing temperatures – so layers of clothing were vital. On some of the nights we struggled to sleep in our tents due to high winds; but we were always happy. Trekking gives your body and brain a work out, but make sure you read the small print: this adventure is an eight day detox. No need to be afraid... it will reawaken your senses and make you feel alive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Anti-Atlas area is a Berber region, made up of sparsely inhabited villages – each one with a mosque – and the women who live there grow argan, wheat, barley, olives, figs and almonds. In recent years the men have increasingly gravitated to larger cities where they can find work to support the families they have left behind. During our week we were fortunate enough to meet some of those who have chosen to remain and maintain a nomadic lifestyle with their sheep and goats in the remote mountains. I should also add that we didn’t see any other tourists while we were out in the wild. Along the way you’ll see areas rich in minerals. The Anti-Atlas region contains sources of copper, manganese, gold and silver as well as strategic metals such as cobalt, tin and titanium. On our way to the top of Jebel Aklim we saw wild rosemary bushes, which Moroccans use in their tea along with bay leaves and mint. We were even lucky enough to sample argan oil with fresh bread at Fatima’s house in the village of M'dint, or City of Cats (oddly, no cats were to be seen when we were there). Fatima also gave us some honey circa 2019 and 2018 as well as mint tea (which Moroccans like to drink five or six times a day with an abundance of sugar). The tea itself, we were reliably informed, derives from China. At night we glamped in tents and were treated to amazing dishes with fascinating flavour combinations made from ingredients sourced fresh from markets every day. There was also plenty of tasty food at breakfast and lunch; and if anyone was hungry there was always afternoon tea and a tasty snack when we reached camp at the end of each day. In the evenings we were served a real treat as far as the night skies were concerned. The lack of air and light pollution meant we could see a myriad of stars and galaxies. It was then time to retreat to our tents to begin knocking out the zzzz's (apologies once again for my over amplified efforts). The final night ended in comfort at a beautiful Riad with swimming pool, restaurant, wi-fi and ensuite bathrooms. A long soak in a hot bath is the perfect antidote to a week in the wild with nothing but wet wipes. I returned to the UK reinvigorated and ready to reconnect with the real world. Undiscovered Atlas is a great team adventure and I would highly recommend it. I may never have the good fortune to meet any of the members of my team again but I would consider them friends for life.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Paul Walter

    Amazing hike

    We had a great trip with a really good mixed group of people (ages ranged from 23 to 63). It was a quite a hard hike over mountain paths but the views and scenery reward your efforts at every turn. Being early in the spring season we encountered snow and ice on summit day but was provided with crampons and ice picks to help our assent. Climbing at altitude was very hard but the whole group made it by adopting a slow but steady pace and we had blue skies and great visibility at the top so could see for miles. It took us 7 hours to get up and 2 hours to come down and I would recommend building up your stamina before the trip as it is quite strenuous. The camping was good and the guides and porters did a great job. Temperatures vary enormously from day to day - we saw + 35 mid day and -10 at night - so take lots of clothing options, layers and the best sleeping bags you can afford (we hired ours). Overall a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summit day was great - starting at 5.30 am in the dark, watching the sun come up and finally summiting. Having to use crampons and ice picks was actually very interesting as well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was very good on the Mountain keeping us all motivated and together. Two of the ladies had some trouble along the route and the guides kindly took their packs to make sure they could complete the hike.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lots of layers and clothing options as the temperatures vary so much day and night. The best sleeping bags you can get are really worth it - some on the trip had the 'cheaper' 4 seasons bags and clearly they were not as good as some of the more expensive ones.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was better than I expected and I was really amazed at what they could produce in the middle of a mountain!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca L

    Brilliant trip - would definitely recommend

    Undiscovered Atlas was a brilliant trip. 5 days without internet or phone reception, and just endless, beautiful scenery. Lahcen was a brilliant guide, and the chef Hassan whipped up amazing meals in the middle of nowhere. I definitely didn't expect 3 course lunches and dinners which were all superb. The walking was great, really varied landscapes, and there was a great sense of achievement at the end of the day when we made it to the camp. Whilst it was April, the weather was definitely changeable, with thermals needed one day, and the next hats and suncream. Make sure you take clothes for all weathers. Views were spectacular, so a good camera is definitely worth taking along.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was a great team spirit, which made the whole tip extremely enjoyable, and lots of memories I won't be forgetting any time soon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lahcen was a brilliant team leader; knowledgeable, interesting, funny and concerned for all of us when we were walking.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Paul Walter

    Amazing Experiance

    We enjoyed an amazing week in the Atlas mountains culminating in the climb to Mount Toubkal's summit. As it was snowy and icy on the peak we used crampons and ice axes but that just added to the overall experience. It was a very hard climb (9 hours up and down) but all of us in our group made it. The food on the trip was great and we were amazed at how such good meals could be made with limited cooking facilities (even freshly baked bread every day) and no-one got sick or had any problems. Camping at altitude was cold so make sure you take really good sleeping bags and have plenty of layers and down jackets for the assent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments including the summit, using crampons for the first time, clear blue skies, clean air and wonderful vistas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great in supporting us all and guiding us on the mountain.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of layers of clothing as it can be - 10 with the wind chill before the sun rises and we saw + 33 mid day so you need to be able to take off and put on clothing as required. Take the best sleeping bag you can get hold of as night temperatures in the tents are low.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Vivienne LOWERY

    Imperial

    Morocco is a great country with lovely people. Marrakesh and Fez were the highlights. Our guide, Mohammed, was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tanning in Fez. It made you realise how lucky you are!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing, very knowledgable and kind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware there are long days in the minibus.
Call us on +356 21423994