Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Peter Nelson

    Great trip, poor company service

    The trip itself was excellent. Run by a local company (Malabiu) the guide (Shaun) worked extremely hard and his side kick cook (Jona) were both very profesional and knowledgeable. Geology information was a bit sparse, but customs and culture info was very good. The small group gelled together well. Be warned they is a lot of travelling with many miles on Namibia style roads - basically very dusty and stoney dirt tracks. Food and drink is cheap in Namibia and the lodges are comfortable if basic. The main down side was the company (Exodus) which did not respond effectively to queries asked. Also did not pass on important information to the group guide which meant that arrangement were compromised. For 10 of us in the party there were five different group flights - not their finest hour. Overall, I would certainly recommend this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing lots of different animals in their natural environment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent knowledge and very professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above summary

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above summary
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jan Biden

    Excellent Trip

    Good company, good leaders, good food, good experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the family of sixteen lions playing at the waterhole.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was excellent. Understated but friendly, worked extremely hard, informative and a very good driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothing because sleeping in the tents was cold at night in June.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Geoff Culver

    A big and beautiful country with lots of wildlife and few people

    Some wonderful but stark scenery and plenty of wildlife. Expect some long drives on bumpy roads though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up the sand dune and a busy water hole

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. Very knowledgeable and trip ran like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prices for options and tips in the trip notes are out of date, so allow a bit more cash. Pretty much all the restaurants and shops take cards. Note that some EU passport holders will need a visa.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Donald Sandeman

    Excellent trip

    There are quite a lot of long drives on bumpy dusty roads but this is unavoidable with a trip that takes in so much of the country. The itinerary keeps you busy with a good mixture of culture and wildlife. Camp sites all had excellent facilities and toilets were first class. Tents were comfortable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha game park was fantastic and we were able to spot most types of animals. Floodlit water holes were excellent. Dunes, canyon and rock paintings also very interesting

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was excellent. A mine of information on every subject and always trying to please. His ability to spot wildlife from hundreds of meters away was astounding. Cook, Jonas had a lovely personality and created some fantastic dishes over an open fire

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to get dusty and windswept when traveling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only disappointment was the design of the truck whereby you were unable to see out the front. Felt that you may be missing some of the scenery
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Weller

    Namibia is fabulous

    This is an amazing way of discovering Namibia whilst getting some good cycling in under blue skies. The scenery changed constantly, wildlife was abundant and the geological features were astounding. This was not a serious cycling trip and the emphasis Was more on the wildlife and landscape. I would have given this trip 5/5 but was disappointed that one of the cycling days was completey cancelled and no longer takes place as the road is too busy and the FatBiking was about 5 miles for 2 hours not 22 miles for 3.5 hours as advertised. Since my main reason for going was the cycling this did marr the holiday a little however it was still fabulous and I would urge you to go, just don’t expect as much cycling as advertised. I am vegetarian and was well catered for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all but the highlights were the ever changing scenery and racing down the hill on hairpin bends on my mountain bike. Everyday brought something different and I wasn’t to go back!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans was extremely knowledgable about EVERYTHING! Wilidfle, geology, Namibian history and so on. He had a genuine interest in sharing this knowledge with us. He also got us to where we were meant to be and sorted out meals and accommodation effectively. Benson our driver, cook and tent erector was brilliant too. He was friendly, helpful, made amazing meals and drove well on some terrible roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware you will be getting up by six everyday for early starts, this was great as you got to see the sunrise but won’t suit everyone! Take wet wipes, after some rides you then Travel in the truck for a few hours in your cycling gear so good to have a refresh Binoculars are a must, so much to see, the lions we saw were amazing but those without binoculars couldn’t really see them. Camping temperatures varied so take a sleeping bag liner so you can just use that on warm nights and the sleeping bag for cooler nights. Take something you can use as a pillow, I didn’t but my lightweight down jacket did me proud.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was great but Exodus pleas amend the trip notes.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Louisa for her review; we are delighted to read that she had an enjoyable time, but are sorry that she was disappointed with some aspects of the trip.  We very recently amended the cycling on day 10 of the itinerary, having received feedback that the road existing Etosha National Park had become increasingly busy and therefore was not as suitable for cycling as it had previously been.  We will update the trip notes to reflect this, although we regret that Louisa was disappointed that this ride did not take place.  We were also sorry to learn that the fat-biking activity was shorter than listed; our local team have explained that the fat-bike operator will sometimes curtail the length of this ride, depending on individual group preferences.  Moving forward, we have asked the local supplier to ensure that both longer and shorter rides are offered to every group, which we hope will ensure future clients do not encounter similar disappointment.  We are happy to read that overall Louisa enjoyed her time in Namibia, and in particular appreciate her kind words regarding Hans, her tour leader; we look forward to hopefully welcoming her on another trip in the future.  John Penge – Product Manager

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Christine Glossop

    AZN

    Amazing desert sand dunes and night sky, astonishing ancient rock paintings, beautiful diverse wildlife

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking sand dune 45, rock paintings, black rhinos at night waterhole, elephants, and elegance of antelopes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Would have liked more info about various aspects of Namibia. But layout of minibus was counterproductive, as we were sitting much higher, leader was driving in separate cabin area, and spoke with microphone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check temperatures before going

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Minbus was not good design [see above]. Also the front window between driver and passengers was split in two horizontally, so we could see very little through the front, as top window was too high and bottom window was too low.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathleen Ramsey

    An exciting three-week trip

    This was a wonderful introduction to Southern Africa. Although there were some long days travelling, the constantly changing scenery in Namibia was a delight, and we gained an appreciation of the vastness and emptiness of the country. The bus was noisy but not uncomfortable, and with eleven members of the party, there was plenty of room for us to move around. We had a brief introduction to the Cape Town area, then travelled north firstly through farmland in South Africa, and then through the wonderful Namibian desert scenery before spending a few days observing the wild animals in Etosha (Namibia) and then in Chobe (Botswana). Victoria Falls made a spectacular end to our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My main reason for choosing this trip was to see the desert landscape in Namibia and visit Victoria Falls, both of which exceeded my expectations. The scenery in Sossusvlei and Deadvlei was spectacular. However, I was bowled over by the variety of wildlife we saw on game drives in Etosha, and very much enjoyed observing the interactions between animals at the waterholes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jonathan (our leader) and Molifi (our driver) made a good team. They were well-organised and despite being on duty virtually all the time, they were both unfailingly cheerful and helpful. They prepared some excellent lunches and suppers for us, and did their best to make sure that we got the most out of our African experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unemployment is very high in Zimbabwe and most people are very poor; we left all our partly-used toiletries, dressings, basic medicines and even some clothing to be distributed by a local charity. Had we realised how short most people are of basic necessities, we would have made sure we had more with us to leave there. Zimbabwe is expensive and cash is not available from ATMs. The border crossing into Zimbabwe was frustrating, and we had to queue for well over two hours in the hot sun. Make sure you are adequately prepared for the wait (sunscreen, hats, drinks).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The optional visit to a village settlement in northern Namibia was sobering but worth experiencing. On our free day in Swakopmund, we booked on the morning Living Desert tour, which was worth doing, despite the early start. We chose to go over into Zambia on our free day in Victoria Falls, to see the cascades from the other side. It was well worth the effort, as you can get closer to the falls and can climb down to the river side at Boiling Pot, as well as visit the top of the falls. Taking or hiring a waterproof can limit the extent of the inevitable soaking.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sheila Morrison

    WONDERFUL NAMIBIA

    What a fantastic trip. Our wonderful guide Ronney and his assistant Jonas who both knew all the best spots to spot wildlife (leopard inside a roadside sign) (Pride of 10 lions at a kill) but could also produce 5 star lunches at the roadside under the shade of a tree, effortlessly change rooms to suit my disabled husband, drive with the utmost skill on bumpy roads and have none of us complain and generally do their job at 110% Highly recommend a trip to this most interesting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a pride of 10 lions feeding on a kill (including 2 cubs) who then pottered slowly back to the shade of a tree right in front of our van. Amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was just FANTASTIC. Great at wild life spotting, orgainizing, lunches, bird identification, friendly, always around to assist if needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hot in February. Internet weather said 28-30c and 14 days of rain expected. One 10 minute shower and temps in mid 30's all the time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and visit this wonderful country for yourself. it is cheap to eat and drigk when you are there. Quality of lodges js fantastic with fridges, air con, pools etc.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Janeen Olsen

    Perfect relaxing holiday. Sit back and take in the views!

    I had initially signed up for the trip because it fit my travel schedule and I wanted to see the African scenery and animals, but I got so much more from the experience. I was amazed at how striking the landscapes were as we traveled through different geological features, deserts, rock formations, bush, jungles, and waterfalls. It seemed every 100 miles the views were changing. Even though the drives between camping sites were sometimes long, I was never bored. The animal drives did not disappoint, and to see a pride of lions in the natural environment is a moment that will stay with me forever. But beyond what I was looking at, I also felt I was able to relax, have fun, let my guard down, and just be in the moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing the animals up close, a hippo gracefully gliding into the water, a male lion gently playing with his 3 cubs, several giraffes awkwardly bending to reach the water, black rhinos at night at the waterhole. And zebras, and baboons, and so many birds I can't remember them all. Just a few of the memories I will cherish forever. So many sunrises and sunsets that took my breath away. The most surprising for me was Namibia because I really didn't have a good impression of the country before the trip and I didn't know what to expect. I was amazed at the variety of the desert landscapes. The enormous gorge of the Fish Canyon, the blinding white sands of the Etosho pan, the magical red sand dunes we slid down, it was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our 3 leaders were Jonathan, Andy and Sylvia. Each one was terrific in their own way. As one of the older, single travelers in the group, they really made an extra effort to look out for me and make sure I was comfortable. I had mentioned that I loved to start the morning with coffee just as soon as I woke up. Every morning afterwards Andy was up early and had the hot water going so I could have my morning coffee as soon as I emerged from my tent. I mentioned that I was having trouble with the zipper on my tent, the next thing I know Jonathan gave me his tent to use instead. When we put up and took down our tents, one of the guides always miraculously appeared to help me. Sylvia has a wealth of knowledge on the plants and animals and as she rode back with us, could answer our questions as we travelled. Perhaps the only advice I have for the guides is that sometimes they would give us a lot of instructions for the next day, times to be ready, things to bring, etc. that it was easy to forget some of the details and to be sure to remind travelers often.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring the best camera you can afford and know how to use. The opportunities for photographs are unbelievable. I left wishing I could have captured the animals better than I was able with my iPhone but fortunately some of my fellow travelers shared their photos after the trip. Bring a pillow and light blanket or sleep sack. Many nights my sleeping bag felt a little too warm and I was glad I had a light sleep sack with me. I used the laundry at the campsite but not all my clothes made it back to me. It is better to bring slightly older, worn clothes and shoes and gift them at the end of the trip instead of bringing expensive clothes. Bring US dollars for Zimbabwe. Coming from the US I had plenty with me but some of the other travelers were scrambling to get them in Namibia because the ATMs in Zimbabwe had run out of dollars. I had purchased an electrical plug for South Africa, but a UK type was needed for Zimbabwe and I could not charge while camping there. The vehicle as USB outlets so it wasn't a huge problem while we were on the road, but for charging devices I also found my external batteries invaluable. Wifi was available but slow, and even though I had a data plan, cell coverage was spotty and slow. I wish I had downloaded more audio books as reading on the vehicle made me carsick. Budget for activities in Victoria Falls as there is not much to do if you don't book tour activities. I did the white water rafting and helicopter ride, as well as evening dinner cruise and others in our group did everything from village tours, lion adventure and bunging jumping. All were fantastic. Finally, as for dietary restrictions, be very specific about what you do and don't eat. As an (almost) vegan I found they were able to cook for me without any difficulty and I ate very well on the trip, but the guides can't be expected to know what everyone will or will not eat unless you tell them in advance. So if you don't like fish, bones in food, mushy food, spicy food, processed foods, or mayonnaise, etc. just let them know in advance.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am really glad I did this trip and would recommend it as a leisurely way of seeing a lot of southern Africa. I was spoiled with a relatively small group of friendly travelers and our vehicle (named George), was roomy and we each had a window seat. Larger groups may not find the vehicle quite as comfortable. Expect long, relaxing drives looking out the window and admiring the views, and don't expect a lot of physical activity on the trip. If you want to see African animals is the wild, this trip is for you.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Tracey Lawrence

    It's not a holiday , it's an adventure!

    5421in across 5 countries (South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia). Cites, deserts, seaside destinations, vineyards and grasslands, national parks, rivers, waterfalls, boats, animals, birds, tents up, tents down, canyons, massive insects, being dirty, early rises for stunning sunrises and view points for reflecting the day as sunsets, incredible storms, an amazing group......it was one hell on an adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I just embraced the whole experience. Seeing lions again close up was just as exciting as the first time 6 years ago. The size and powerful spectacular Victoria Falls was breath taking and I recommend the helicopter flight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 3 leaders to 7 of us doing cooking and driving. All the leaders were friendly but Andy stood out doing the majority of cooking and driving. He was also great at animal spotting . My only comment would be that the guides did not talk much about the countries history and the people. Sylvia did open up when asked a question and was very knowledgeable, Jonathan came alive at Victoria Falls which was his home...just wish he had been that talkative and passionate throughout the trip. All meals in camp were varied and very tasty. They catered for all appetites and I couldn't fault the food prepared in camp and lunch on the road..... Just don't mention the mayonnaise 😂.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Comfy clothes for long drives. Our truck had plenty of USB charge points for devices. High strength deet. Expect to be dirty 😊 although facilities at all camp sites were sufficient. Whilst you are expected to put your tent up and down, we had a great group and all helped each other, as well as Jonathan and Andy our guides lending a hand. Take US dollars for Zimbabwe before you leave. No safety deposit on truck to use so we had to carry passport and valuable s at all times despite previous trips having had a safe box for use.our Expect early starts. the trip lacked engagement with people and culture.....but plenty of dramatic landscapes and wildlife.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Embrace and enjoy this adventure.....it was awesome!
Call us on +356 21423994