Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sally Williams

    Magical Tatras

    This was a truly magical week in the High Tatras. So different to the alps, more of a fairytale setting. Apparently this was the best winter they have had in 7 years and we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Loads of snow, blue sky, and although extremely cold you don’t stand still long enough to feel it. If like me, you can’t face a whole week of skiing, then this is a great opportunity to try some different winter activities and really appreciate the scenery and culture in a place that is not spoiled by mass tourism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dog sledging was fantastic. It was a fun, yet relaxed experience. The dogs were so friendly, and obviously enjoyed their work, it was a pleasure to meet them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was an inspiration. He obviously enjoys his work and his mountains. It was a real pleasure to meet him, to hear his stories and marvel at his many talents.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Vegetarian options are limited but it is possible to make up a meal of starters and sides. We did find a restaurant with a lovely veggie pasta dish but it did get a bit repetitive! Possibly take a little more Polish currency and about €100 less than recommended. There is very little opportunity for gift shopping. The best places are the souvenir shops where you do the cross country or downhill skiing. There is no kettle in the hotel room so if you’d like a hot drink before breakfast (or any other time actually) suggest you pack a travel kettle. And take some tea bags! Don’t expect bars and restaurants like in the alps. The place is very quiet which we enjoyed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The thermal baths were a bit of a disappointment, more like a very busy leisure centre. But it was nice to soak in the warm water following two days of activity, once you’d battled through the crowds. Don’t recommend dinner in the hotel even after the long day out. Better to brave the elements again for a good meal.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Diana Maynard

    Fun way to try out a variety of winter activities

    This trip provided a great introduction to a number of different winter activities at a relaxed pace (the days were very easy - only a few hours' activity a day - with plenty of free time).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Discovering that being nearly 50 doesn't prevent you from learning to downhill ski for the first time! Also that dog sledding is so much more fun that you might think!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana was both extremely patient and efficient, coming up with alternative solutions when traffic and weather conditions prevented us from even reaching Zakopane for dog sledding. She also dealt with the one injury on our trip effectively. She was also very informative about each day's activities, making sure we knew what to bring and wear, and was very sociable. Nothing was too much trouble for her to arrange or advise on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a selection of warm clothing with a number of layers - some activities you'll get hot very quickly and might only need a base layer and thin jacket, while others needed as many layers as you could get on! The evenings are long and can be boring, as can some of the bus rides, so bring plenty of books etc. Don't be scared to try new activities even if you're an old codger - we all managed everything, with varying degrees of success but an awful lot of fun! Contrary to the advice I received from the Exodus "expert", do bring proper ski trousers as otherwise you may not get your normal waterproof trousers over your ski boots (I could not!). However, a normal waterproof jacket will be OK if you have enough layers, so you don't necessarily need a proper ski jacket, though it's useful if you do have one. Also, do consider spending a couple of days in Krakow before/after the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Due to not making it to Zakopane, we went dogsledding in Slovakia instead on our rest day, and in my opinion this is a much better idea. Also, don't go over New Year, as everything is extremely busy, including the roads, and it's a pain.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Tom Roberts

    Highlights of Central Europe

    This was a fast paced tour that covered features and cities of 5 countries. I found this tour to be very interesting and gave one an insite into this part of the world. I would recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard question, but I would say the time we spent Vienna. The history ,as we all know, is amazing and it was great to see firsthand thus very beautiful city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I found Peter to be excellent. He tried very hard to make our holiday as memorable as possible. Being a native to Slovakia, his knowledge of the history of the countries we visited was first rate. He was most helpful to everybody in this tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fast past tour covering some of the highlights of 5 Central European countries. This tour will provide you with a broad brush look and knowledge of these countries . In my case it has given me a reason for visiting some of the cities again to get a greater look at what they have to offer.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Anne Lane

    Excellent

    This trip was a challenging mountain walk with good mountain hut accomodation. Teresa was a great guide with Helena helping us slower ones. A great holiday even if I trailed 15 minutes later than guys half my age!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Rysy in Poland

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was helpful, informative, attentive and enthusiastic and a great trek leader. Helena helped Teresa as second professional guide . Helena helped me as I was slightly slower to reach the top of Rysy and back down again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be fit and able to trek well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The return flight was late for those having to return to work the next day
  • Reviewed September 2018

    Great Trek with excellent mountain facilities and excellent guides

    Our guides Teresa and Helena were excellent and did a great job of leading the group, encouraging where necessary and making sure the trek went smoothly. The trek was as described in the trip notes, challenging with some great scenery . The mountain huts were of a good standard, with good Polish food to help us refuel at the end of a tough day. The tacks were busier than I had expected, and at times did provide a challenge for the leaders to manage the flow of our party and other walkers up and down the chains. Overall an excellent trek

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Rysy

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent with a great sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the trip notes in advance and are well prepared for a challenging/ tough week of trekking.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Ingrid Crauwels

    Discover the history of Poland

    Poland is a beautiful country. When you are in the cities, you wouldn't think they only are free from the Russians since 1990. All cities are so clean, the buildings have been restored to their former glory. The motorways are excellent, what a difference with the UK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The museum of Solidarity, it is a must see.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a fantastic guide Jurek (Jerry) Sajkowski, he was so passionate about his country, could tell us all about the history of his country and was the most helpful guide we had since we have been travelling with Exodus (since 1991).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't book the Salt Mines in Krakow, but I would advise to book this excursion when you book the trip with Exodus, it is a more difficult when you try to do it in Krakow.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rebecca Smith

    A worthwhile trek in a popular Polish tourist destination

    I had a great 8 day trip with exodus. Thus was my first trip with exodus and I was very impressed from the word go. The walking is tough, but aslong as you're used to long walks with lots of ascent and descent you will be ok. Don't expect to lose weight on this trip, you will eat more food than you thought possible!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Rysy was a great feeling. To reach the summit we had a long steep ascent using chains for part of it, which made the feeling of satisfaction when reaching the top all the more worthwhile. We were lucky that the weather good and so the views at the top were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa was very helpful and always caring about the members of the group. She was able to organise any tours or visits we wanted for our free day in Krakow. During the trek she made sure she walked with different members of the group and got to know us all. She cared greatly about all members and it was a credit to her that everyone completed all 4 days of the trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All the mountain huts we stayed in had points to charge phones and cameras so don't bother taking loads of heavy solar chargers. There were great drying rooms, so don't bring loads of clothes, making your bag heavy, just wash your clothes in the huts when you need to! Bring earplugs - we stayed in a 12 bed dorm and one very very loud snorer kept some of the group up for most of the night!!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    jennifer turnbull

    highlights of central europe

    An excellent introduction to the countries visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tour leader, Peter, plying and explaining the flute.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very pleasant knowledgeable man, with a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No, everything was as expected. In my case Not a critiscm but a personal choice. I like to make early morning tea, only 2 hotels had a kettle and 2 had coffee machines in the rooms, so a kettle could be handy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tour ran Saturday to Sunday, I think an extra day would be useful, possibly in Vienna or a small place not easily accesible by 'weekend flights'
  • Reviewed August 2018
    David Hill

    Brilliant ... but

    I will deal with the 'but' first. This is definitely not a 1; leisurely; more a 2, moderate. The distances to walk are comparatively large and the surfaces (cobblestones mainly) are not conducive to fast walking even if you can, and, of course, as always, the speed of the group is governed by the speed of the slowest person. That said, it's a wonderful introduction to the cities and towns visited, their history and how their infrastructure works. The Tatra mountains are beautiful and welcome break. I will definitely go back to most of the cities. Each has a feel and charm of its own and, except Vienna, are cheap (for a Londoner) to stay, eat and travel in. This trip is great if you want to get a feel for central Europe; you see loads albeit the pace and itinerary don't allow time to dwell and ponder what you are looking at. You are in a region of wonderful and gory history and there are massive amounts to take in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No particular inspirational moment, but the feel of the central market area in Krakow and the salt mines do stand out.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter our guide was brilliantly knowledgeable (much more than the usual excellent Exodus guides), very personable, was always there to resolve the inevitable issues but not firm enough on timing leading to people wandering off to the shops etc. thus delaying the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a couple of good comfortable walking shoes; there's a lot of it, and a good water bottle. The tap water is fine and freely available. Its difficult to work out what cash you'll need; and there are several currencies. If you travel abroad check out the right debit card with no commissions and commercial rates and credit card for the same reasons. There are lots of ATMs and that way you can pull cash as you need it (always use a 'bank' atm to avoid the 3rd party charges) and decline 'their' exchange rate; and/or use your CC where you can (charged in local currency). It'll save you sizeable amounts and not leave you with unnecessary cash you have to swap around.
  • Reviewed August 2018

    A fascinating exploration of Poland

    I went on the Discover Poland tour as an Exodus staff member in July. It was my first trip with Exodus and I had a fantastic time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Auschwitz-Birkenau was something I will never forget. It was a challenging and incredibly emotional experience, but is something I think everybody should do if they get the chance.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was superb. He made sure that everybody was happy and well informed, both as a group and individually. Nothing was too much trouble for him, he made sure the tour ran smoothly, his knowledge of – and passion for – his country was outstanding and his fine sense of humour went down really well with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot to see and do on this tour, so prepare for fairly early starts each morning and a few long days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t miss the Solidarity Centre in Gdansk. It gives an incredibly interesting account of a hugely important part of Poland’s recent history and the fabric of its society today.
Call us on +356 21423994