Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Katherine Morgan

    A great trip full of variety.

    A very busy trip with so much to see, it was my first time in Russia and this trip is an excellent introduction into its history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed Suzdal and Vladimir, a pleasant change from the big cities, a great opportunity to see some of the old Russia. The churches were all amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Artem was excellent, very well organised, thorough and extremely patient ensuring all our needs were met. Local guides were also good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light! The hotels never offer assistance with bags etc. Would also suggest an extra day in Moscow which we did, the group day was a bit rushed as there was so much to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you do the St Petersburg extension, which I highly recommend, make sure you take a direct flight there. We didn't and our luggage didn't come with us so we spent the first three days in our travel clothes.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Christine Mcdougall

    Amazing trip

    This trip is an excellent introduction to Russia. It is fast paced but this ensures you are able to see as much as possible. It was interesting to visit smaller towns of novgorod and Pushkin as well as Moscow and st. Petersburg.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was interesting but highlights were the hermitage, the faberge museum and the Moscow metro. All surpassed expectations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Artem was very good at organising us and in taking us to good places to eat. Very friendly guide with excellent English ( all our local guides were very good and knowledgable about the places we were visiting). I was surprised we did not have a tipping kitty on this trip as it makes everything so much easier.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take comfortable shoes for walking and don’t pack too much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a very good first trip to Russia. Hotels and restaurants were better than expected. If you have time to add a few days do so. It is easy to get around st petersburg and hotel staff are very helpful. Unfortunately I couldn’t do this as there was so much more to see.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Christine Mcdougall

    Fabulous tripa very

    A very good trip to a fascinating country. Trip covers Moscow, novrogod, Pushkin and st petersburg and is very busy. Great to see so many places in one trip. It was all fascinating

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all fascinating but the Hermitage and faberge surpassed my expectations. Trip on Moscow metro also fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Artem was very good. Trip was well organised and he selected a variety of good restaurants for us to try. The food was better than I expected. Very pleasant guide with excellent English. We didn’t have a kitty for tips (which I have had on past trips). I think this would have been a good ideal I really

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take comfortable shoes as lots of walking. You don’t need lots of clothes and avoid a heavy suitcase as you are on the move between towns.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed this trip. I have wanted to visit Russia for a long time. It is a good introduction to the country. If you can add a few days in st petersburg do so. I couldn’t do this on my trip but several members of our group did. Most restaurants and hotel staff speak English and you can get around on your own
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jane Howard

    25/05/2019

    This trip packs a lot into a short period of time. Be prepared to walk a lot and see a lot of art - all amazing. The overnight train trip is an experience, I didn't get a lot of sleep but I didn't expect to!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The faberge museum was fantastic, as was the Hermitage.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Artem, was knowledgeable and keen to ensure we had the best experience in Russia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be warned that on some days the lunch stop is late - 2-2.30pm - so packing a few muslei bars to keep you going might be an idea. Travel light - with all the moving around lugging lots of luggage is hard work.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Andrea Minney

    Two wonderful cities

    I loved the trip, just the right length for me, very busy with lots of walking but that was what I was expecting. Nice balance of free time and group excursions. Minimal additional payments required. Not too many early mornings. I was very impressed with the standard of accomodation. We ate as a group most nights and I enjoyed all of the restaurants selected, although we did not have to eat with the group I found it easier than researching my own places. The only part I would do without would be the overnight train, having done many overnight train journeys, I find they just make people tired, it is not an experience I ever enjoy. I would recommend staying longer in both cities before and after the tour, something I wasn't able to do, there is simply so much to see and do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved St Basils Cathedral, well worth going inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I liked Eugene, he was very organised and tried his best to keep our group together which was difficult at times. It was easy to say that you were going to do something alone rather than with the group and Eugene was helpful with suggestions of where to go. I liked this as we did not always want to go with the group. He was one of the best tour leaders I have had. He managed to get us around the majority of the sights despite the public holiday and road closures making it very difficult for him to arrange our schedule. The local guides were good but I found it very difficult to hear what they were saying as well as taking photos, it was impossible to do both, so I found I missed a lot of information. We used ear pieces in The Hermitage, which was much easier.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of walking, there is a lot to see in a short space of time and walking is the best way to see most of it. Avoid booking around the Russian public holiday on May 9th, there are many road closures around the centre of Moscow on three days for practicing military parades, then for the actual parade on May 9th. Red Square is also closed at these times, it means that some attractions are not accessible making planning of the tour very difficult. St Petersburg also has road closures over this holiday, meaning we took a different route into the city missing some key sights and activities had to be crammed into a shorter time period. I would have avoided these dates had I known.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    sandeep sahi

    Moscow to St Petersburg

    Thought it was a very enjoyable trip. So much to see and so much history. Russia isn't everybody's idea of a vacation, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought a week was just about the right time considering the distances covered.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed both Moscow for the Kremlin and Red Square are places I've wanted to visit from a young age and St Petersburg is a beautiful city - it's hard for me to decide between the two. If I had to decide, I did go the theatre in Moscow, which was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugene was a very good group leader. Conscientious and helpful at all time and engaging. Members of the group can wander off at times, so he had to be on his guard!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was mentioned in the trip notes that it would be advisable to spend extra time in St Petersburg - it's such a big city and so much to see.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mike Grady

    Cultural excellence

    Exciting tour of Moscow, Novgorod, Pushkin and St Petersburg. Great architecture, fascinating museums, splendid churches and friendly people. Weather was kind and walking in Moscow strenuous. Good hotels and restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summer Palace at Novograd and the Hearmitwge and Russian Museum in St Petersburg not to mention trips to Bolshoi and mariinsty ballet in Moscow and St Petersburg.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very helpful and affable The pace of walking tour was demanding and more attention needs to be given to group cohesion and mixed abilities. Made great efforts to engage and with better and timely communication has potential be be a really good tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check weather forecasts before trip and pack to cover as many scenarios as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic trip, learned a great deal about Russia and its history and culture.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Gillian Wright-Dixon

    Great country

    What a great place to visit. Seeing the Kremlin and St Basil's cathedral in Red Square, and the architecture of St Petersburg. Two completely contrasting cities and all within 8 days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Kremlin was a huge part of the trip I wont forget, especially seeing Lenin's tomb. Also walking around St Petersburg and marveling at the buildings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was a joy to oversee our tour. Julia was exceptional as a tour leader and met all of our needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take around 40,000 ruble (as of 2018 and if your not one to buy souvenirs). I took 56,000 and had 23,000 left over as I wasn't sure how much I would need. If you travel in early October the weather was very mild so you don't need many jumpers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just what a great country to visit. Very interesting. If you get the chance, go snd visit the cold war bunker in Moscow.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    John Devall

    Great trip for culture lovers

    A great trip to give you a taster of what Russia is like. There is so much culture whether you like history or the arts. There is a lot of walking, more than you would expect from reading the trip notes, but it is all worth it as there is something new and interesting around every corner. Moscow was a revelation so clean and not quite the grey and forbidding city it is sometimes made out to be on the news. All the sights are worth seeing and to be honest there is even more that cannot be crammed into such a short trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going to Red Square on the first evening. It took our breath away. It was beautiful and the cold clear night just gave it a sense of wonder.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugene was great. Nothing was too much trouble. He was always on time and described the itinerary in detail so there were no surprises. His English was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sturdy shoes there is a lot of walking. Ear plugs for the train.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is not the first time we have experienced an over night train journey and they are not as romantic as you may think. The train itself was noisy, not the people, and the movement can be disconcerting when you are on the top bunk. We have decided that this will be our last trip where we have to take an overnight train. We also think that St. Petersburg deserves another day. I know the trip notes advise that you can add extra days but one more day within the trip would be better served. Other than that this is great trip and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Paul Roberts

    A riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma

    This was an outstanding trip with a great itinerary expertly led by the Russian tour manager.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Suzdal with its Chekovian impressionist atmosphere. Alexander Nevsky Cathedral in Nizhny Novgorod. Tran-Siberian rail journey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding leader. Relaxed but utterly efficient. Eager to engage with all members of the group and willing to share real insights into the developments in Russia over the last 30 years. He made a great contribution to the success of the tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the Russian Standard vodka - it seems to ward off germs!
Call us on +356 21423994