Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Chris Naughton

    Perfect holiday

    Hopefully you are lucky enough to stay at chalet chocolat with Ben and Zohi, nothing was too difficult and the food was exceptional. Our guide Sean was helpful and catered to everyone’s need and ability, allowing me to run ahead and made sure I knew where I was going. Everything was perfect and can’t rate this trip high enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views and the hikes are amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sean was fantastic and very knowledgeable. Was always up for a chat
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Robert John Ogden

    ??

    Good trip sightseeing and cycling

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very enthusiastic. Tried hard to please . Tour meetings long winded

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Easy cycling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Liam Gray

    Great trip

    Lakes beautiful

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through Switzerland

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptionalit
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sue Clarke

    Stunning views of the 4 lakes - best seen from a bike

    The lakes together with the historic villas and gardens are truly stunning so this is a very worthwhile trip. Fairly straightforward for a moderate grading although the optional first day hill climb took us all by surprise! The hotels are quite basic and we didn’t get a double bed at any point despite requesting it at the booking stage. Sara the leader and Alessandro our back up with the van, were both brilliant throughout - keeping a very mixed ability group safe and happy. Their enthusiasm was infectious even when we were all drenched on day 2. The tour of Lugano would have been far better with Sara or Alessandro than a paid guide who didn’t really tell us much and kept us waiting for lunch until 2.30 by which time we were all starving and completely missed out the chocolate tasting :-(. While the lady at Villa del Balbianello was probably the best local guide I’ve come across. Fab trip in all which could be improved with a few tweaks and some better accommodation. I felt we didn’t get the best Italian food until later in the week - a downside of eating out with a large group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the mid week trip to The Borromean Islands (Lake Maggiore) which is a non-cycling day - Isola Bella and the Fisherman’s Island are both wonderful. Also the last day at Villa del Balbianello with it’s very interesting villa and stunning gardens. These are both must see places. Most of the trip you are surrounded by stunning views and we took plenty of photos both from the land and the water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - 5 stars. Sara had some challenges on the way round but kept her cool and was professional throughout with a very warm and friendly manner. Sara and Alessandro made a great team and it was fun to be with them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are up to doing the miles indicated and the hill climbs as per the trip notes, otherwise it won’t be so enjoyable for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 7th cycle trip and my 10th Exodus trip. I would put it at number 5 of the cycling trips - behind the Amalfi Coast, Jordan, Northern Sardinia and the Dalmatian Coast.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Randall Hendriks

    Walking tour - Mont Blanc Highlights

    This was an outstanding trip. Stayed at Chateau Chamonix in very comfortable accommodation. The hostess and host (Sarah and Rich) were brilliant people. Very welcoming, organised, knowledgeable and great fun to be around. The quality of their cooking (especially Sarah) was second to none. It was like being in a Michelin star restaurant. Food quality was matched by the fun at the kitchen table, where we met wonderful people with similar mind sets. Jim, our guide, was also a sensational fellow. Our tours were organised carefully, were varied and Jim was extremely considerate to all on the walks, taking into account different fitness levels. He was also extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the terrain. We had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to do it again. Would highly recommend this to anyone with an outdoor interest (and have done so!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Daily magnificent vistas

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Exodus for a fantastic trip.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Ted Denman

    My first with Exodus Travels

    Exodus Travels was recommended to me and I chose this trip because it is a region of natural beauty and would enable me to make a good assessment of the activity levels. Trip information and fitness plan were very useful. Chalet Chamonix is a very good location; our hosts Sara and Richard were excellent; informative, good natured and food to "die for". Beyond all our expectations. Our guide Shaun Rhodes was very competent, unassuming but maintained a unity within the group which made every day a pleasure. We were very fortunate to have great weather, the views were stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The opportunity to view Mont Blanc from the air - paraglide.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Where to next?
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Great weather equals great views

    Good variety of walking on both the French and Italian sides of the Mont Blanc Massif with the added benefit of staying in a comfortable and well run catered chalet. All you have to do is turn up every day at breakfast time!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views every day, and also the moon rise over the Aiguille as we were there during the full moon phase.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was a good leader with a group of varying ability. Lots of local information and knowledge was imparted and different mountains and peaks pointed out. Practical information as to whether water could be replenished during the walk and so on was good. Yes you could come here and do the walks on your own but so much would be missed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are not long days (in late September lots of the lift infrastructure is closed which to some degree will limit what can be done - but to no detriment of the week) but in my opinion experienced walkers will not find it challenging. At the end of the season expect the differences in temperature to be quite wide from a frost in early morning to 20+ degrees C in the afternoon. Experienced walkers will probably want to go walking on their rest day and you would have time to do the walk from the Aiguille mid lift station to the Mer de Glace via Signal Forbes and have time to visit the ice grotto, have lunch at the Hotel Montenvers and catch a train down to Chamonix if you had a late(ish) paragliding trip booked. The walk is worth it alone for the aerial view over the Mer de Glace and you get the added bonus of looking over the Chamonix Valley at mountains you have or will be walking on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A large part of the attraction of this style of holiday is the 'group' and the catered chalet. The group was excellent and good fun. The hot tub at the end of the day was a great way to relax. Our chalet hosts were excellent producing what in my opinion was better food than in a lot of hotels so a big part in the overall success was down to Ben and Zohi running everything effortlessly (at least that's how it appeared to me). Zohi will also share recipes with you if there was anything that was a particular favourite! I left a clean plate every day - yum! Also if you need to know anything about facilities in and around the immediate area Ben and Zohi were a great source of information. The provided lunch which you put together at breakfast time is a great idea. I didn't bring or buy any additional snacks, nor did I need any.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sasha James

    Mont Blanc Highlights review

    Overall, I felt the holiday was a great experience - the walks were varied and the views we saw were breathtaking. The chalet was perfect, we were fed more than enough and the cake and the hot tub after each walk was the perfect ending to a day walking in the sun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The surrounding views, seeing Mont Blanc for the first time and of course, Lac Blanc. The treck up the mountain was definitely with it for the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was great, very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and the mountains. It was interesting to hear all about her previous experiences up the mountains etc, however it did sometimes feel the walks were a bit rushed and that we were on a mission to get back to the chalet for 4pm. It was a shame that we spent a short while getting up the moutain, to enjoy the views for a short time, i.e. Lac Blanc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you train and build muscle strength in your quads. Walking will seem much more comfortable when you're ascending as some steep areas can be difficult.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zohi & Ben were great hosts - hats off to them for all their efforts in making sure we were all fed and meeting any diet requirements we had. Thank you all :)
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mariana Kelemen

    Tour of Mont Blanc

    All went smoothly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Mont Blanc from Punta Helbronner cable Car station.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good judgement in all his decisions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read Exodus instructions carefully, follow them thoroughly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sarah Turner

    Enjoyable and varied trip.

    I have just returned from the highlights of Mont Blanc walking holiday. I can wholeheartedly recommend this trip, from the location of the chalet to the varied walks & excellent chalet hosts. The trip was very varied, each days walk was different, from a challenging climb into the snow line of les houches one day to the sunny, technically easier but longer hike in the Aosta valley to Courmayeur the next. Our guide Mark was very organised and kept to schedules he had planned wherever possible. I must particularly praise the chalet hosts Sarah & Rich, they did a fantastic job keeping us well fed, from the continental breakfast provision to the varied self service lunch selection, afternoon tea & cakes ready for you after a long day hiking to the absolutely delicious 3 course dinner. The dinners were a highlight for me as Sarah made each evening a ‘theme’ based on their travels which meant we experienced a wide range of cuisine. Overall a fantastic trip that I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to climb the slightly scary ascent on the Les houches day & my paragliding experience on the free day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark was very organised & adapted the walks for less able members of the group where possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip. Be aware that the Tuesday walk is a challenge if you don’t like to feel vulnerable on exposed, sheer drop areas of walks.
Call us on +356 21423994