Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Robert John Ogden

    ??

    Good trip sightseeing and cycling

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very enthusiastic. Tried hard to please . Tour meetings long winded

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Easy cycling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Liam Gray

    Great trip

    Lakes beautiful

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through Switzerland

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptionalit
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sue Clarke

    Stunning views of the 4 lakes - best seen from a bike

    The lakes together with the historic villas and gardens are truly stunning so this is a very worthwhile trip. Fairly straightforward for a moderate grading although the optional first day hill climb took us all by surprise! The hotels are quite basic and we didn’t get a double bed at any point despite requesting it at the booking stage. Sara the leader and Alessandro our back up with the van, were both brilliant throughout - keeping a very mixed ability group safe and happy. Their enthusiasm was infectious even when we were all drenched on day 2. The tour of Lugano would have been far better with Sara or Alessandro than a paid guide who didn’t really tell us much and kept us waiting for lunch until 2.30 by which time we were all starving and completely missed out the chocolate tasting :-(. While the lady at Villa del Balbianello was probably the best local guide I’ve come across. Fab trip in all which could be improved with a few tweaks and some better accommodation. I felt we didn’t get the best Italian food until later in the week - a downside of eating out with a large group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the mid week trip to The Borromean Islands (Lake Maggiore) which is a non-cycling day - Isola Bella and the Fisherman’s Island are both wonderful. Also the last day at Villa del Balbianello with it’s very interesting villa and stunning gardens. These are both must see places. Most of the trip you are surrounded by stunning views and we took plenty of photos both from the land and the water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - 5 stars. Sara had some challenges on the way round but kept her cool and was professional throughout with a very warm and friendly manner. Sara and Alessandro made a great team and it was fun to be with them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are up to doing the miles indicated and the hill climbs as per the trip notes, otherwise it won’t be so enjoyable for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 7th cycle trip and my 10th Exodus trip. I would put it at number 5 of the cycling trips - behind the Amalfi Coast, Jordan, Northern Sardinia and the Dalmatian Coast.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sara Condy

    Wonderful cycling around 3 lakes in Italy and a one day ride into Switzerland

    Excellent new trip, up to Exodus usual high standards. Fantastic guides, easily amongst the best in my four cycling holidays (just one other trip with Exodus).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Boat trip to Borromean Islands including Isole Bella.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francesco and Sara are a dream team. I could not fault them! Thank you so much for your care, hospitality, humour, expertise, support and hard work and positive energy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read other reviews re. traffic in some parts of the cycling.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Simone and Bruce Kuklinski

    Absolutely Superb!

    This trip was in celebration of our 20th wedding anniversary and suffice it to say, it was a wonderful holiday. Gorgeous scenery, great food, lovely wines, great camaraderie, excellent guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was full of inspirational moments; however, some do stand out: having a nun as a barista at the spiritual retreat, the hundreds of richly-coloured umbrellas suspended over the streets of Pietrasanta (I think this was the place), the tour of the Borromean castle, grappa-tasting, the wonderful lunch of delicious cheeses, cold meets, pear jelly, and wine tasting at the locanda, our visit to Lugano, as well as our stop at the Villa del Balbianello. The list is long but those are some of our favourite and most inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leaders, Sara Giorgini and Francesco Cavallone, were absolutely superb in every way. They were well-prepared, professional, extremely knowledgeable, helpful and supportive, and clearly have a passion for cycling and working with people. From the moment they greeted us at the airport to the time of our departure, they were thoughtful, kind, joyful, and patient. They work well together and make an excellent team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If travelling in July, pack light clothes as the heat and humidity is quite high. The cycling is not extremely technical. There are some hills; however, most of the course is relatively easy cycling. Unfortunately, the days seem to fly by so try to take time just to soak everything up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our second trip with Exodus and we are hooked! Can't wait for our next adventure!
  • The best trip yet.

    Having now completed nine trips with Exodus this has been one of the best, and of the European trips it is the best. Beautiful scenery, enchanting towns and villages, wonderful food and lots of Gelato.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational due to my fellow travellers, fun and laughter all the way, how lucky I was to be a part of it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francesco and Sara were a good as it gets, not just leaders but a part of the group. Great to be with and they obviously enjoy their work.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling isn't too hard (but this means different things to different people), so for anyone who has a good level of fitness it's fine. The only advisory note is that you need to be confident of occasionally cycling on busy roads.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    robert seatter

    Cycling the Italian & Swiss Lakes

    Absolutely great group - I knew some from an Exodus trip to Puglia 2 yrs ago, led by fun and engaging leaders, in a lovely part of the world. Some quibbles about the route, but overall a great time. Thank you Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Last couple of days were the best: cycling along the border of Lake Como on winding. charming roads with breath-taking vistas More of this pl!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - Francesco was our main guide, supported by Sara Francesco was charismatic, fun and engaging, but also clear and serious when he needed to be Both guides joined in with everything and made the group go with a swing Big thank you to both of them!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not a difficult trip - v few hard or arduous climbs, and not long distances I wonder if the rating is correct? More an easy than a moderate?

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Re the route, I could happily have done without the Swiss section - a lot of cycling on busy roads, to cross the border for a few hours into Lugano which is v expensive and not especially interesting Would much rather have spent longer in Italy Re group mgt, I think guides cld be better briefed at the beginning by Exodus on protocols for taking groups on the roads over a week ie always have a back sweeper, divide groups into smaller groups to aid traffic flow, give each member of group a daily map to take with them so we are not constantly asking 'how much further to next stop? etc' The guides absorbed this quickly when we told them, but if they had this as part of their mgt training it wld have been helpful As an ex language teacher, I do also wonder if you could perhaps help yr guides more with v specific vocabulary eg cycling parts/route instructions/health & safety, rather than leaving them to find their way round this?
  • Reviewed May 2018
    John and Sarah Halpin

    Stunning scenery

    Smaller towns of northern Italy with wonderful people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding right along the edge of the lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francesco was such a positive, good natured personality who went above and beyond to make everyone happy. This is no easy feat for a group of 13 from ages of mid 20's to mid 70's. Sara was the steady reliable backup that kept our gear and bikes moving.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The May trip is preseason and a little quieter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although a moderate rating be prepared to ride in traffic with some hilly terrain.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Gloria and Martin Douglas

    A great cycling trip

    A really enjoyable trip to a beautiful part of Italy. Our excellent leaders Franchesco and Sara made a huge contribution to our enjoyment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the backdrop of the snow covered Alps beyond the Lake Maggiore and Lake Como

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. From beginning to end they were determined to make sure that everything went smoothly to the customer's benefit. They handled any problems with skill and good humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit and prepared for some traffic.
Call us on +356 21423994