Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jane Wilson

    Beautiful scenery

    Lucky to have so much snow making the scenery very beautiful. Challenging walks led by very good guide, sara, she worked very hard to ensure everyone was supported and also to find us safe routes as high avalanche risk this week. Stunning region, will definitely return. Hotel clean and comfortable, breakfasts and packed lunch great with good choices. Evening meals good most nights. Spa was very welcome at end of the day. Our group were all lovely we had a great week. Enjoyed the free day trying cross country skiiing. Snowshoeing is great way to explore mountains and challenge yourself. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All walks were good and reaching the peaks were a highlight, Bonnerhutte 2340m,and Durrakopf 2275m,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was great very experienced and interesting to learn from. She works very hard to ensure all have a great holiday

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to do some hill walks to prepare
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Graham Bothwell

    Excellent Week

    After problems with avalanches around the Brenner Pass and subsequent rail journey, we enjoyed great scenery, weather and had the benefit of a knowledgeable leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Grade 111 snowshoeing in new deep snow requires plenty of energy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt the group benefited from the knowledge, experience and fitness of the leader.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Andy Longden

    So good we’ve done it twice!

    The perfect antidote to overindulging over Christmas (although don’t expect to lose weight)! Spectacularly beautiful scenery with some of the finest mountain walking in the world. Conditions can vary - we had reduced snow levels, but that just meant we donned universal crampons (provided by Exodus) and headed up into the hills on good trails. The walking is well graded, increasing (a little) in difficulty through the week. The hotel offers superb accommodation and exceptional food. It has a small, well equipped wellness centre and gym, and offers spa services (massages were highly rated by those who had them).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is always enjoyable when the group reaches the highlight of a walk - often a summit. The top of Monte Piano is an interesting place to visit as it has many remnants of the vicious warfare during World War 1. Another great moment was reaching the summit of Durakopf under cloudless blue skies - genuinely spectacular, and I’ve been on a lot of mountains...! Then again, the hot chocolate I devoured in the Taistneralm hut was absolutely historic in every sense...!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is an exceptionally capable, professional and likeable leader - one of the best we’ve travelled with. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and she gets our top marks for attention to detail. I was particularly impressed with the care she gave to one or two people who needed minor medical care - she got them back on track as quickly as possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although not a highly graded trip, snowshoeing and winter walking can be quite physical so reasonable fitness will allow you to enjoy it to the full. Expect anything from the weather - warm hats, mitts, down jackets are essential, but it may on occasions also be warm. The trip notes are comprehensive and accurate. You will have a free day during the week and it’s worth giving that some thought as there are many options, including downhill or cross country skiing, walking, interesting museums or just relaxation. We think this is a jewel in the Exodus portfolio - we’ve done it twice now, and I wouldn’t hesitate to book it again in the future.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Sonya Bartley

    I amazed myself every day!

    Learning to snow shoe was simple, but for the first two days I also had to learn how to pick myself up. My feet felt huge. The walking was exhilarating and the views spectacular. I began to understand the mountaineer's drive to be in that terrain. At times I was overwhelmed with the effort it took for me to reach my destination but always felt happy to be participating. Different group members were warm and encouraging. Our guide was OUTSTANDING. I was a teacher and I appreciated all of the incentives Sara used to help me not only finish my walk but enjoy it too. A fantastic and memorable week! Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a vertiginous mountain track and realising I'd almost completed it without calling for my husband.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara always described what we would be covering each day. She instilled trust and confidence and loved and knew the mountains. She gave clear instructions and was able to help us with old and new injuries. Sara was OUTSTANDING.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I feel you have be cardio fit to do this week. Arms and legs are utilised all day!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Elaine Richards

    Effort rewarded

    Being complete novices my wife and I were just experimenting with this trip. We are so glad we did. The walks are all pretty challenging stuff but the rewards of the effort put in are more than ample reward. We were fortunate enough to get a pretty good week, some snow, some blue skies and not too cold and the Dolomites definitely showed us their best face. We are in our early sixties and walk regularly and found the walks doable but not easy. You get out of this holiday what you put in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the summit of Durakopf and being completely surrounded by snow covered mountains against a clear blue sky takes some beating but there were many other moments like that. Every day provided something new and even more amazing than the previous one. The sense of achievement we, and the rest of the group felt on reaching our targets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It is quite hard to explain how much Sara makes this holiday. She is all the things a guide should be, knowledgeable, helpful, caring and extremely competent but the whole is so much more than the sum of the parts. With any reasonably competent guide this would be a good holiday but Sara takes it up a notch and to a different level. Excellent does not do her justice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are a fit and able walker and the snowshoeing will come naturally. Read the trip notes and kit list thoroughly and ensure you follow it. Bring a camera or you will regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We take a number of holidays this is the best one week holiday we have ever taken. Learning about the area's history (particularly the First World War) was an interesting bonus.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Hebe Pritchard

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    We have just returned from the Snowshoeing holiday In the Dolimites. We had not been snowshoeing before , others in the party had. Our guide Sara ,was fantastic at bringing the first timers and the experienced along at a pace that fitted both. She was amazing at helping individuals, encouragement and delivered everyday on a challenging walk with a spectacular visual reward at the end and "feel good" personal achievement factor. We felt Sara was super woman, she looked after our welfare and wellbeing constantly and her attention to detail and our safety was amazing. The hotel for this trip was also great. Small and very friendly with great food and facilities to relax with after the days physical challenges. Particularly special beds! Essential at the end of an exercise filled day. We thoroughly enjoyed the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the" top" of mountains and finding only ourselves for company and peace .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sara, our guide, did an excellent job of working out our fitness levels and choosing the walks appropriately . We did feel there were people in the group fitter than us, but Sara made it possible to achieve the same walk at our own pace with seemingly no physical effort on her part guiding from the front and encouraging at the back! We came home with a huge sense of achievement . I do think to really enjoy this holiday you should feel comfortable with eight- ten mile walk. But, I think each group is well assessed for its potential and walks chosen accordingly. Obviously the further you walk the more you gain from the fantastic scenery . If you are looking for a strol in the park , maybe this one is not for you.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Morag Leaver

    Snowshoeing in the Dolomites

    A great week. Challenging at times, but so worth it to experience raw nature and incredible scenery and views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Monte Piana and thinking about the 14 000 soldiers lives that the mountain had claimed during World War 1 due to the fighting between the Italian and Austro-Hungarian armies and the inhospitable conditions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sara Bull, was truly exceptional and inspirational especially when I was struggling with some of the uphill sections. She showed me how to reduce my pace to a quarter of what I thought I should be doing and this set me in good stead for the remaining walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Kronzplatz offers long wide pistes for exhilarating downhill skiing on the free day. Take the short train journey from Villabassa to Perca Ried (3 stops) where you will find on the station platform a ski rental shop (19 euros for one day rental of skis, boots and poles and you can leave your walking boots in the shop), a ski pass ticket office (55 euros for a one day pass) and the cable car to take you up the mountain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first taste of snowshoeing and it won't be my last.
Call us on +356 21423994