Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Richard mackenzie

    Great holiday

    Had a great trip as a lone traveller I was a bit apprehensive on the food as dairy intolerant but the chef's were really good and the choice for me was really good. The only downside was that some people got jealous of the special desserts they made for me each day (as well as soya ice-cream) We had a great group and had lovely sunny weather although a bit hot on a few days Conditions were great the first 2 days then a bit warm Skiing was harder than a remembered but enjoyable Hardest bit of the trip was knowing what and how much to wear I packed lots of thin long sleeved items and a few bike tops which proved very useful. I found liner gloves were really helpful too

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being out and about each day in the beautiful countryside

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary and albert were great. Not sure they were too impressed by the groups skiing skills, but they changed and chose a good variety Evening films and entertainment were an added extra, and gave me some knowledge of the region

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Liner gloves really useful as well as a selection of hats Mary had a cap on which would have been helpful to take with me. Buff was also really handy,so have a few of these Accomodstion had a drying room which worked well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Robert Dredge

    SOME GREAT, SOME NOT SO

    First the good. One leader was beyond outstanding and really showed empathy, knowledge and understanding and really took everyone to a higher level. The food and staff at the accommodation were exceptional. The accommodation itself a bit cramped but adequate. Overall accommodation was very good and not. problem. The ski hire equipment was very old and dated, but worked OK. Transfers were efficient and pretty timely. Now the not so good. As excellent as one leader was the other was beyond poor. No empathy, limited apparent knowledge of technique and minimal interest in teaching beyond follow me and catch up sometime, even if you fall and are struggling-you were left on your own which affected confidence of some less confident people.. Annoying that I was told in answer to specific request to fly from other than Gatwick that it was not possible( as were at least 2 other couples) on arrival in Oslo we waited for others to fly in from Manchester and Edinburgh. Petty but annoying-expectation that all may be required to buy own wax throughout the week . Surely at £1500 it could cover £50 a season for leaders to have this-in the event the good leader did wax skis when out if she saw it was needed. Quite. bit of pressure put on to attend the evening lectures etc-which were variable in relevance and quality.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing with Ilse Alt

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilse -as above beyond exceptional in all she did, attitude, patience, knowledge and ability to improve me, as well s enthusiasm for country and magnificent guiding. Other leader was simply indifferent at best and seemed uninterested and not up to the job.( a view shared by others). She showed no interest in teaching or looking at individuals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check who is leading the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This really was a holiday of 2 halves. Early part really frustrating and unsatisfactory. Change of leader meant 2nd half was outstanding. Staff and food at resort should be commended.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Stella Thompson

    Off track cross country skiing at it's best

    This is some of the best off track cross country skiing you will ever find. A wonderful wild environment, with varied terrain and a variety of challenge, the best leaders you can ever meet and a great place to stay with a lovely friendly atmosphere. It is very special. I would have given up years ago if I hadn't come here and have been coached to steady improvement over the years. I have been on other holidays with other leaders, but no-one has ever come up to the standard of Ilse and Mary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting high up on a bright day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you get the grade right for you!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Louise Holstein

    XC Skiing Norway

    Really great trip thanks. Lovely location, excellent guides who were terrific hosts as well. I feel transformed physically and mentally after this fantastic break.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Ilsa's proud face as I skied down my first big slope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing and inspiring

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come ready to be tired and happy at the end of each day
  • Reviewed January 2019
    AnneFleur van Diem

    Fab Holiday!

    I loved everything about this trip. The accommodation was cozy and the beds incredible. The food was delicious, fresh and plentiful and the surroundings stunning as they only can be in Norway

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the plateau, in the high w8nds, snowshoeing through the wilderness. It was too dangerous to ski so Ilse and Mary took us out for a snowshoe instead and it was a brilliant hike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The local guide for this trrip is simply incredible. A true coach, she knows exactly how to get the best out of people, always being patient and working with everyone individually, even in a group environment. She's very attentive and just a lovely person. She should be guide of the year as I have yet to meet anyone that would surpass her in guiding, teaching and general personality..

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go. You'll love it!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    stella thompson

    Cross Country Skiing at Kvitavatn, Norway

    This is an amazing place to learn to ski and to ski. The Fjellstue is friendly and has a great atmosphere and is perfectly set up for you to ski from your door, out into the wilderness. There is an excellent network of tracks, but the leaders offer mainly off track and with great skill and knowledge will take you away into the remote rolling hills, among the trees and above the tree line, offering fantastic guiding and tuition. I would have given up cross country skiing probably if I hadn't come here as the support and leadership is second to none. Perfect for both beginners and for those with experience and skills. I have been back for many years, as have many others who come here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Doing two routes with Ilse that she had never done with groups for many years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders are superb

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never skied before go for a beginners group. Work on your basic fitness before you go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Gold star
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Helen Flint

    Kvitavatn - Cross Country Skiing

    This trip had everything I was looking for, fantastic location with a 360degree mountain panorama, classic Norwegian lodge accommodation, healthy yet plentiful food and great leaders. The leaders were effective at developing our skills, in a fun way, yet appreciating we are on holiday. Once our skills were developed we were taken to some fantastic off the beaten track locations. I have never had so many 'wow' moments and taken to lunch spots to die for! The 'apres' ski was varied too, a combination of informative talks, films, a fun quiz and slide show of the weeks pics. Fantastic trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to a high point up a frozen waterfall and having the most amazing, unspoilt views and no one else in sight!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Helpful, knowledgeable, patient, informative, caring, effective.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a range of clothing because it can either be really warm or really cold. Take a thermos Flask - hot drinks are essential. You don't need to take a lunch box as plastic bags and cling film are made available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would really recommend this trip if you have never done cross country skiing before.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Melanie Gibbs

    The Best Holiday Ever!

    A great way for a complete beginner to experience cross country skiing and make lots of progress in a short time. We were tutored for nearly 6 hours on each of 6 days so even a complete novice and scaredy-cat, like me, was able to have enough skill to safely negotiate different types of terrain within a couple of days. You WILL fall over, which is fun in the soft snow (although sometimes hard to get back up from) but does hurt a bit on the hard, prepared tracks. The scenery was fantastic, I never felt cold because we were active, and the company was incredibly friendly and supportive. We were with our group (14) for meals, warm up/down exercises and in the evening but we divided into 2 (ability) groups to ski, which worked well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all of it, from first learning to snowplough through playing on the sparkling, crisp, virgin snow on the lake to touring and seeing the beautiful views from the higher terrain. Picking up speed on the prepared tracks and successfully cornering for the first time as well as traversing down through deep snow were thrilling (even though I am not a speed nor thrill seeker and would dread downhill skiing).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary and Ilse were completely dedicated to making our holiday the best it could be. I was very impressed with the amount of attention we each received and their skill in coaxing the nervous as well as challenging the talented, so that everyone got the most from the experience. They were very professional, knowledgeable and great fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    What are you waiting for? Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Kvitavatn Felljstoge is very efficiently and well run, comfortable but not luxurious. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was very good quality homecooking and plentiful. There will definitely be something you like and can eat on the menu and you will not go hungry!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Victoria Harris

    Wild and wonderful

    Just back from an amazing way to spend New Year. I was slightly hesitant that skiing may not be my thing but it's so accessible to get involved even for the complete novice. What great fun...I've never fallen over so many times and my knees are still bruised but it was worth it! The lodge and the couple running it were so hospitable, the facilities simple Scandi 'hygge' and there was nothing more pleasant than a hot sauna to warm up in at the end of a day in the cold. As a veggie, I was also pleased with the care and attention to providing protein rich options for dinner - the food was hearty and wholesome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As an absolute beginner, staying upright on a small slope was an amazing feat. Snowshoeing up to the top of the plateau and seeing the wilderness for miles around Spending New Year in the snowy wilds and with such great people!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Illse and Mary were really great at coaching us in less than favourable conditions and keeping the options open to all abilities and inclinations for activity. They also provide evening 'entertainment'..but I will keep the content a surprise!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take the advice of others and pack a bottle or buy supplies in the duty free at Oslo when you land. Drinks are available at the Lodge with high Norwegian tax added! I packed way too much, inside the lodge is super warm and cosy so a t-shirt is fine. Cosy boots useful for traversing between lodge and sleeping hut as are some sort of mini-crampon overshoe as it can be an ice-rink out there! Bring an extra towel you can use in the sauna...bikini's too if you don't fancy going native. A flask and sit mat are essential but you can borrow one if you forget them. Extra snacks are good to pack for when you need a burst of energy out on trail Hiking clothes are perfect unless you're extra sensitive to cold. I just wore merino long johns with trousers over the top and a couple of merino base layers, a wind proof top and a lightweight hard shell.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't deliberate - if you like snow, then this is for you! :)
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Tania Banotti

    Cross county skiing in Norway

    Kvitavaatn is a great location. Frozen lakes, forest the mountains and the Hardanger plateau right in front of the lodge where I stayed were beautiful..

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probabaly day 3 when I thought I had finally cracked the whole cross country skiing lark. I hadn't but it was fun trying.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary our English guide was endlessly patient. Learning cross country skiing is bloody hard and frustrating at times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring slippers as the Norwegians ALWAYS take off their shoes when they enter the lodge from outside so it's preferable to wandering about in your socks. Bring wax earplus because you share a room with 3 other people and there can be snorers amongst the group....
Call us on +356 21423994