Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Elizabeth Murphy

    Biking in Transylvania

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoyed every day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bottled water should be provided on a daily basis as I was not willing to drink the water from the tap. When I did ask, the water was provided.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Penny Poulin

    Cycle Romania

    I've been on quite a few Exodus walking and cycling trips and this has to have been the best so far This was down to several reasons. Firstly Romania is a beautiful country and the tour took us though some of the most scenic areas . Our guides Cristina and Liviu were fabulous. Knowledgeable about their country and relaxed and fun to be with. We stayed at some wonderful out of the way places and our hosts and food were exceptional. The group was the best! We laughed so much and we all felt we had found 13 new friends by the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the local people with a love for their country and a willingness to share with us their amazing hospitality

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Cristina and Liviu get full marks We all fell in love with both of them

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is very much a"get close to the real Romania" trip so make the most of it Dont drink the water!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The last day was a bit of an anticlimax as it involved a long bus transfer with a couple of stops at Vlads casle and another palace. Very busy with tourists and not really enjoyed by any of us I dont think We had so enjoyed the quiet solitude of the country I would have preferred a direct ride to Bucharest and then a slightly longer walk about before our last dinner
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Barbara Elliston

    Cycle Romania

    A wonderful trip exploring very rural parts of Transylvania - varying terrain - some stretches of unmade roads. Beautiful scenery and interesting visits to Monasteries and fortified Churches. No problem with the bicycles provided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through very rural parts. Meeting up with friendly hosts at the overnight stays in the towns and experiencing some of their culture and food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and knowledgeable and able to cope with all eventualities. The driver of the van was also very knowledgeable and very helpful moving luggage, mechanical issue with the bicycles and providing refreshments.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not many places to get cash out of machines so make sure you have enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although it was interesting seeing the outside of both Bran and Peles Castles and hearing about the history we did encounter a lot of traffic as it is a very touristy area and after the relative solitude of the tour I am not sure whether it should have been included. All the traffic jams meant that we got to the hotel in Bucharest rather late and did not really get chance to explore very much.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Barbara Elliston

    Cycling in the Transylvania area of Romania

    A wonderful trip exploring very rural parts of Transylvania - varying terrain - some stretches of unmade roads. Beautiful scenery and interesting visits to Monasteries and fortified Churches. No problem with the bicycles provided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through very rural parts. Meeting up with friendly hosts at the overnight stays in the towns and experiencing some of their culture and food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and knowledgeable and able to cope with all eventualities. The driver of the van was also very knowledgeable and very helpful moving luggage, mechanical issue with the bicycles and providing refreshments.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not many places to get cash out of machines so make sure you have enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although it was interesting seeing the outside of both Bran and Peles Castles and hearing about the history we did encounter a lot of traffic as it is a very touristy area and after the relative solitude of the tour I am not sure whether it should have been included. All the traffic jams meant that we got to the hotel in Bucharest rather late and did not really get chance to explore very much.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Laura Knapp

    Do this trip soon! Romania is fantastic!

    This is our 6th cycling trip with Exodus and it is one of the best. The route was wonderful with views of the Carpathians, fields of corn and potatoes and horses pulling carts. We are experienced cyclists and the 3/10 level lets one burn some calories but still leave time to visit monasteries, water-driven flour mills and fortified churches. It was good to know in advance that we might have to share a bathroom (4 times, but it worked out) and that the food is rustic home cooking (great cheese, cured meats, mashed potatoes, lots of tomatoes and cucumbers). Our leader, Tudor, was excellent. Remember to save time to do a free walking tour in Bucharest on the last day. Travel guides say that tourism in Romania is "budding"--do this trip now before the country changes!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Witnessing the beautiful rural life with an abundance of local crops. Learning the influence of Mongols and Turks, and the Silk Road from China, as this country is so far East. Riding alone on a country road with the yellow flowers all around.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tudor did an excellent job. He let us bike at our own pace which is very important. He had incredible knowledge and love of the area. Also, he put together a WhatsApp group for us (by individual consent) at the beginning. We could share pictures and get more pictures of ourselves. Why hasn't anyone thought of that before? Our driver, Livio was calm and capable. He would provide snacks such as chocolate from his Communist childhood and tell us the story. Or candy bars with the name of the nearby Fagaras Mountains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do this trip. Our group is still chatting and sharing pictures in our WhatsApp group because we just don't want to let go of the memories.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Irene Daniels

    Cycling Romania

    Brilliant guide Brilliant support driver Brilliant group Fantastic country - mostly in Transylvania Great bike Great accommodation Challenging but very satisfying daily bike rides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When one of our group (young female) stopped two galloping horses tied to a cart careering through a small village, even the owners could not stop them and were very impressed

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tudor was first rate; great leader, knew Transylvania's history and geography inside out. Great sense of humour, knew when to be serious and when to be light hearted Great with the slower as well as the quicker cyclists

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Superb trip
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Patricia H

    Great trip

    This was my first trip with Exodus and bike tour - but not my last. And I can only recommend it to anyone: a well organised trip, with great guides (Tudor and Liviu - both are always smiling and relaxed but well prepared). Tudor informed us very well of what is ahead and what to expect and Liviu took care of nice coffee and tea brakes (and nuts, chocolate, bananas etc.) waiting for us always in great mood. With both I would go on any trip as I felt well taken care of. And the group itself was nice too. Though I've seen more impressive landscapes n other journeys it was still unique - all the untouched lovely wild meadows everywhere - and the most impressive pottholes I have ever seen :-) ! With the bike the impression is uncomparable: the rustic land life, horses pulling carts and the little villages with old men and women sitting on benches in front of their houses waving with a cheerfull smile. very friendly people and hosts. Though there was a lot of meat it was not only meat - but don't expect to lose weight as you get a lot to eat, and I liked the Romanian Radler, nearly at every guest house you get free wifi. Don't take too much change - everything is cheap and even with tips I ended up with enough change, but as I will come back no problem. By the way: they have new bikes, so well equipped for the tour. But bring your gel saddle and enough sun screen and some mosquito repellent and your camera for lovely photos. I think the trip was more challenging than expected, less due to some gravel roads but with some climbs (e.g. 4 k) in the hot summer heat without any shade (I would recommend going in May or June).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit at the wool mill. And nearly every little village we passed with the bike. After the biking part in Viscri watching the cows, horses and goats coming back from the fields into the village and the visit at the local brick "factory".

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tudor (guide) and Liviu (support car) just great!!!!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    (See above and:) have your camera/mobile for photos any time that you don't have to stop to take photos. Be fit, especially for the climbs in the heat, don't underestimate it. Be aware that the guest houses are quite simple but they offer anything you need (always warm water, just be aware that is sometimes the opposite of what is indicated on the regulator), sometimes shared bathrooms and it is not always allowed to throw toilet paper in the toilet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this trip! You won't regret it.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Paula Walker

    Fantastic

    Just got back from an amazing week of cycling in this lovely country. Our leaders, Tudor and Livio were wonderful, so kind and considerate, so knowledgeable about this history and culture of their country, superb English, they made this trip fun and interesting. The cycling was challenging on varied road surfaces but the scenery, views of the mountains and seeing rustic farming methods, scythes, horses & carts etc more than compensated. At the end of a hot day of cycling Livio was there offering cold beer and watermelon. At each comfort stop he was there with coffee, tea, a sweet from the region and fruit. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was great, very clean and comfortable, and the hosts welcoming. As a vegetarian I was well catered for. I can recommend this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Viscri towards the end of the tour, watching the cows, horses and goats Being herded from the fields down the Main Street and finding their way to their own homes. An amazing sight. I was up at 6:15 the next morning to watch them all emerge from their homes and congregate in the street to away their journey back off to the fields. Each house in Viscr appear to own it’s on cow so there were quite a few.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tudor was amazing, so very kind and thoughtful with a lovely sense of humour. We pulled his leg about his pronunciation of a few words, but his English was very very good. And his knowledge of Romanian history was encyclopaedic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a gel saddle cover for extra comfort, and a tube of sudocreme. Romania is a very cheap country to visit, for a week I took out £120 for tips, a couple of meals out, drinks, ice creams and other incidentals...and that was plenty. Investigate Strava for your phone beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See Romania before it becomes more developed, already buildings for tourists are being constructed. And enjoy beer at 60p/ pint and ice creams at 40p/ cone.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    J T

    cycle romaina

    really truly surprising place quiet unspoilt clean friendly , good wi fi , mobile phone and yet really untouched by 2oth centuary cars a variety , and then the fortified churches we all yawn ,but with this trip each and everyone has its own special charm . Good varied acheivable ride in deepest quiet untouched country side

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    veskri unesco world heritage village

    What did you think of your group leader?

    radu was i think the best i have had so far

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    do not forget youre battery charger for camera i did and beelive me youll want to take loads of pics
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Roger Pattenden

    Fascinating glimpse of rural Romania

    Very good trip. The rides were through a variety of terrain and landscapes. On the first few days there were views of groups of local people working in the fields with only the occasional item of usually soviet era farm machinery to help. There were visits to interesting sights including many fortified churches the like of which we had not seen before. In the context of local overnight stays with which we are very familiar on Exodus trips, those on this trip were all good. The only slight downside for some was the local high fat diet (sausages, salami, fatty pork and pickled cabbage featured prominently ) and hardly any fresh vegetables for nearly all meals. But that was the local diet and was therefore the authentic experience we expected. It was interesting to see the contrast between rural Romania with its horses and carts and modern Bucharest which we explored at the end of the trip. The trip lived up to our expectations of seeing a rural way of life which might have been similar to the UK several hundred years ago.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the bakery where the wife made very good bread, in conditions which would give a public health inspector a turn, and where the husband used a cart pulled by a blind horse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was an excellent leader and Liviu was also excellent as helper / driver and picnic provider. Both spoke very good English, had a very good knowledge of Romanian history and were very pleasant company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for rather different food from a healthy UK diet.
Call us on +356 21423994