Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

78 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2015
    Janel Hannis

    Sun, sea and cycling

    A wonderful cycle through some rugged unspoilt and undeveloped countryside and coastal routes. Averagely moderate grading with a couple of tougher hill climbs, but these were quite short in distance and not sustained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camadarie of the group, fantastic banter and mock rivalry with a ladies' race for several kilometres. The scenery was stunning, but by the time we reached the hotels in the evening which had pools it was too late to use them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giovanni and Michele were good and took care of us with fantastic stops for fruit, snacks and plenty of chilled water. Both were very personable and cheerful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yep, do ask whether a meat/fish option on the menu includes any carbs or veg, as inevitably it doesn't, which means one lacks in energy the next day! (surprising for Italy I thought!). I personally dispense with cycle shorts and pads as cycling more than about 3 consecutive days in the heat has the same effect as nappies!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd like to see more standardisation between the tours, such as handing out emergency contact details, the hotel name, address and phone number, as well as a daily route card so that if someone is left behind, at least they can work out where they are and which road to take, or be able to phone for assistance. There was nothing on this trip, except the personal phone numbers of the tour leaders, but these were useless if you don't take your phone (which is often the case when one is on holiday and wants to get away from it all). Even a sticker on the bikes with a phone number would be useful.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    John Bailes

    Cycling the Southern coast of Sardinia

    The scenery was outstanding and June was the perfect time to go - hot, but all manageable. Most of the group were perfectly happy with the off- road cycling, but we didn't take to it so well having really only ridden on Tarmac at home. Having said that, the vast majority of the cycling was on the road and the coastal hills and downhill runs were more exciting than difficult. Our guides were very caring and worked really hard to make sure we had everything we needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the villages and towns always places you nearer the local people and their cultures, but the scenery made the trip for me personally. Visiting the beaches and the salt pools added to the variety of the Mediterranean countryside and a stop for photos of Sardinia's flamingos was always going to be a treat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mikele and Giovanni were very caring and attentive to our needs and worked hard to ensure the whole group were together at important points/ junctions. Their local knowledge was extremely comprehensive and this added to the whole trip. We have to especially thank them for their thoughtfulness towards ensuring that those with special diets were catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If it wasn't for the fact that there is so much to see and do in the world I would do it again. If you are thinking about doing it and it all seems within your range, then do it! You will not be disappointed and the coastal scenery in June is beautifully colourful. Be mindful of looking after yourself in the sun( although it wasn't overpoweringly hot ) and you will enjoy the company of like-minded cyclists.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation was excellent and the food throughout tasteful. We were in the company of a good crowd ( we all got on very well) and were fortunate in having Lucy from Exodus in our presence as she was doing her first Sardinia trip and proved to be excellent company .
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Martyn Duffy

    Wonderful Sardinia holiday

    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It had a great deal to offer- nice cycling (fair bit challenging but not too difficult for a reasonably fit person), lovely views on the coast, interesting archaeological sites, excellent, top-class guides, generally nice Italian food, good hotels, vary nice group of fellow cyclists, lovely beaches, swimming pools at some hotels, comfortable hotels, etc

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was most pleased by my cycling performance. I am 70 and due to have my hip replaced in September. So I was very chuffed by the strong performance I put in on all of the hills. Didn't get off and push on any of them!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leadership of our group was equally shared by two men: Michele Zucca and Michele Queresimin. I have nominated both of them for the Leader of the Year Award because they were superb and equally deserving of that award. They worked their socks off to make sure that our holiday was successful, from start to finish. Very sociable and humorous. Made sure that we stuck to our well-planned and interesting itinerary. Kept us safe and sound, by giving timely warnings of "dangerous, busy roads ahead" , coming steep descents etc. Very much alive to our possible needs and requirements. Always offering choices and possibilities. To think of what it would have been like to do this holiday without them (self guided?) is too horrible to consider.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Louise Poirier

    Biking Sardainia

    Biking Sardainia is a moderate challenge if you bike regularly. The countryside and the view points are gorgeous. The beaches in May are empty and the water cool but ideal for a refreshing swim. I had the best spaghetti and pizza of my life! Viva Sadainia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing in a very hot temperature an 8 km steady steep hill...the most difficult moments are always the most inspirational ones. J'aime les parcours qui offrent des defis...et les montées sont parfois difficiles en Sardaigne. MIs c'est ce qui rend le voyage inoubliable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had to guides with totLly different styles...and that was great because we could relate to one of them depending on our spirit of the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Biking or taking spinning classes is a must to fully enjoy this trip. And don't forget your bathing suit...the beaches are exceptionnal.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Denis Halpin

    Cycling in Sardinia

    Some challenging and some easy-going cycling in a very interesting part of Italy.The coastal scenery was impressive,the food was varied and always enjoyable and the company was great! and then there was the swimming!! Our leaders were fit ,competent and informative and complemented each other nicely. Oh!did I mention the weather? Warm and dry,hot at times,great for cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing solid historical remains of cultures which existed 2-3 thousand years BC.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders who brought a great mix of knowledge, experience, enthusiasm and conscientiousness to a group whose ability and age range varied.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn, at least, a few words of Italian,make sure you've got your sun cream (or block) and practice braking with your right hand !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was a great introduction to a familiar yet somewhat unique part of Europe.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Karen Clark

    CYCLING IN SARDINIA .... JUST DO IT!

    What an amazing week both on and off the saddle. Spectacular scenery, breathtaking views, beautiful beaches, warm seas,varied rides, great company, good food and drink, all coordinated and managed expertly and professionally by Michele and Giovanni. The support vehicle driving with us was a bonus, the orange bus appearing in view, Giovanni or Michele greeting us with support and a smile, some interesting local knowledge and water and food supplies (or a lift for those who wanted one) was always a reassuring sight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beaches, the coastal views, satisfaction when finishing the climbs, exhilarating downhill stretches with many switchbacks, the company, the hotels, the pink flamingos, the ferry rides, the table football competition! ... Basically, I just loved the whole trip!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Giovanni .... what a perfect team! They work tirelessly (24/7) and seamlessly together, skillfully anticipating the group's needs. Lovely touches such as the fruit breaks at the exact time that you need them, water as you approach the top of a long climb ... Very different personalities, these guys provide a great mix of fun, exuberance, local knowledge, care and support etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss this trip! Do some hills training before you go or Days 3 and 4 will be quite challenging but the other days are a wonderful mix of undulating mountain roads, providing some exhilarating descents (watch out for the bends!) ... Take insect repellent, the mozzies feasted on us, but only on the first day when we were in the wetlands area.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wish I still in Sardinia ... Book this trip, you wont be disappointed ... I'm planning my next tour already
  • Reviewed April 2015
    John McAleenan

    Super cycling in Sardinia

    Action packed, value for money week of perfectly balanced activities led superbly by Michele and Giovanni. Cycling Sardinia allowed my wife - casual cyclist - and I - wanna be Tour de France cyclist - to both enjoy the trip fully. Even the modest weather did not detract from stunning scenery, great food and drink and patient drivers. Add a great group of fellow travellers and what's not to like? All guided to perfection by the Maglia Rosas of Michele and Giovanni.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to pick one.... Michele getting up at 6am to take me up and down extra hills. Left in moonlight, returned at sun up for breakfast, shower and another idyllic day on the bike - and Strava records. Brand New! Giovanni taking time out from his private time to show us round his home city - Chapeau. Both helping me when I lost my mobile. Together they managed to get it returned - intact! Watching 16 strangers become friends. I would (almost) share my last Rolo with them!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Giovanni were the dream team. By swapping driving and cycling each day no-one got tired of the company and we were treated to different perspectives and interests. Their choice of dining spots were excellent and how they managed to keep control of us after so much wine is a gift!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its cooler than you think at night/morning. It was windy - and that can be demoralising so be ready. The bikes are excellent but cycle shorts are a great help. Diet before you arrive because you will eat and drink like royalty.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait for trip number 5!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Simon Guinn

    Cycling In Sardinia

    A great way to see Sardinia. The cycling was a great mix of easy flat, challenging climbs and some amazing downhills. A great group contributed to some great laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the longest hill then feeling the adrenalin of the downhill ride after. Oh and mustn't forget the flamingoes! Excellent accommodation, brilliant food

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele and Giovanni worked tirelessly to ensure everybody had a wonderful experience. They both gelled very well with the group, their level of knowledge and organisational/communication skills were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in April and whilst the afternoons were pleasantly warm, the nights and mornings were cold so bring suitable clothes for the evenings. Other than that, don't worry if you're not super fit, the vehicle support is excellent if you don't fancy the climbs.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Dave Thomas

    Cycling in Sardinia

    I had a really fantastic week! Lots of great rides through breathtaking scenery – a couple of challenging climbs, lots of brilliant descents, great swimming at lovely beaches, fab food, good company and lots of laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Giovanni and Marco's sudden, unexpected picnics; pretty little towns: Carloforte, Calasetta, Pula; a fantastic storm over the sea at Nebida; flamingoes!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were really lucky to have both Marco and Giovanni – they are great guys and they did a fantastic job. They know so much about the local area, and the best places to go and they made sure that everything went really well. They are great company, too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to train to do this holiday, but if you do a few shortish runs and a couple of climbs then you'll enjoy it even more.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys cycling, swimming and good food!
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    Review of Sardinia Cycling trip

    A fantastic week of cycling. Well guided, plenty of interesting sites and great accommodation. The weather in the last week of October was perfect for cycling and Sardinia is the best 'new place' I've visited in a long time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the 6km climb and everyone cheering each other on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco and Giovanni were excellent guides and they created a brilliant atmosphere for the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spin classes and regular running before the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The best cycling holiday I've been on..lovely destination, great guides and group of fellow travellers