Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Barbara Williamson

    Cost Rica Coast to Cost

    The holiday provided a good insight into the diversity of the country. The visits to the national parks gave the opportunity to observe the natural environment and wild life first hand.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the Tourtuguero National park. The opportunity to see a sloth at close quarters and experience equatorial rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders were very knowledgeable about their country and the different environments we visited. They were proud and always willing to answer questions on any subject appertaining their country. The were excellent at spotting, pointing out and talking about the flora fauna. While on the walking itinerary they either took us on a route march or ambled along wasting time or cutting walks short.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you the main purpose for this holiday is the walking aspect give it serious consideration before you book as the majority of the walks fell well below my expectations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When I was booking this holiday, and it was advertised in your walking and trekking brochure I carefully considered the walking aspect and was consequently disappointed with many of the walks that were on offer. The Platanar Volcanic hike was ended before reaching the panoramic view although we had done most of the had climb. Walk from Miravalles along an unsurfaced road was as a route march which was also cut short. The most disappointing walk for me was on the last walking day 10 on trails around the Hacienda. It became evident from the start that the guide was wasting time as we were late starting and there was indecision about the route. The walk was given as a 9.3mile lasting 4.5 hours in the trip notes and after 4 hours we had only covered 5 miles. When I made my feelings felt to the guide he did suggest that we could do another 2 hours but as this coincided with the hottest part of the day and we had already wasted 4hours ambling along it was not really feasible. He then offered to take us for a walk on the beach when we arrived at Samara beach. Well the fact is I can do a beach walk any time on my own anywhere in the world and I would not pay for a guided holiday to do it.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We were sorry to hear of Barbara’s disappointment with the walks chosen as part of this holiday.  As a lot of the walks are focused on the flora and fauna of the area, guides are keen to point out what can be seen on the way, and this can mean that distances take longer to cover depending on sightings.  The overall fitness of the group and weather can often have an impact too.  As we always have two guides on this trip, we are reviewing how the walks are managed to potentially enable different abilities to walk at different paces, which we anticipate will prevent this being an issue going forward.

     

    Vicky Boughton - Product Manager for Costa Rica

  • Reviewed February 2019
    James Hall

    Walking in Costa Rica

    We really enjoyed this holiday. All arrangements worked smoothly. Katia and Eduardo our guides were excellent. The walking and opportunities to view wildlife were all as expected and we saw some great things.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing marine turtles in the water around us as we were SUPing at Samara. Kayaking in Totuguero was a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good indeed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good walking shoes essential. Remember that there are laundry options at a few places en route so you can pack light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walking was enhanced by being in a group that got on well together. Accommodation very good - but two of the lodges asked guests to wear wrist bands - would have preferred not to.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Arthur

    Costa Rica Coast to Coast

    For a walking trip the routes were very disappointing. Only one whole day and a half day walk were interesting. The rest were quite simply , boring! The trip started well but deteriorated as the journey continued.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The kayaking in Tortaguero and the zip lining.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Experienced, but had his own issues and agenda - could and should have been much better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are looking for good walking then this is maybe not the trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not our best Exodus Trip

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank John for his feedback. We are, however, sorry to learn of his disappointment with some of the routes on this tour, as every effort is made to include activities and excursions that are consistent with the overall trip style and nature of the destinations we visit, allowing our clients to get the most out of their time on holiday. Whilst we are of the understanding that dry weather and volcanic activity affected opportunities to spot wildlife, and that one of the trails was unexpectedly closed by the local authorities for maintenance, we have nonetheless reviewed this trip to look into ways the walks can be improved. Vicky Boughton – Product Manager for Costa Rica

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Ikuko Shiratori

    Do thorough research before you decide

    As a first time visitor, the holiday was a good introduction opportunity. But I’d have to be careful who to recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tortuguero NP. The most specutacular part of the holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our main leader was a superb leader. His warm caring personality really helped the team get on. His expert knowledge of birds was also very impressive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday felt like a geography trip, which is fine as long as you have a realistic expectation. There was one walk which was so unpopular we thought why we were doing this walk. Generally I am glad I could see things I wouldn’t have if I’d chosen places myself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In Hacienda hotel we had a broken shower in our room. Reported twice no action was taken. Bad management. The sandwich lunch at the same hotel was also terrible. Huge but bland. I don’t think anyone liked it. One thing I realised is that Costa Rica is so expensive you can buy only so much for £3500!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Barry Smith

    Overall a very good walk and travel through Costa Rica's diverse countryside

    The choice of places to visit on this trip was excellent and showed off the variety of climatic conditions, scenery, flora & fauna, and people that Costa Rica has to offer. The two knowledgeable guides informed us about Costa Rica's past history and right up to modern conditions found here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one moment. Just walking and travelling through Costa Rica's diverse countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two guides, Katia & Carlos. Both of whom were excellent with their people skills as well as there job as guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip consists of walking up to 10 miles in 30 deg.C heat. Make sure you are fit enough to do this and you will enjoy the trip. You can get hot sun then rain, so lots of sun screen and a lightweight waterproof jacket.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Advice to Exodus - You use United Airlines. They are not a very good airline for long haul flights. The transfer in Houston through US immigration & security is tedious. On the return journey the flight out of San Jose was delayed by 1 1/2 hrs, which only left 1/2 hr for me to rush through US procedures. I just made the connecting flight but my luggage didn't, causing me some worry at Heath Row. My luggage was eventually delivered to my home 3 days later.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Marilyn Boyce

    An amazing country

    This is a wonderful trip with so much wildlife to see and hear! .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Like the other reviews, kayaking in Tortuguera was my favourite part. It's one of those 'good for the soul' things where you feel at one with nature. Seeing a troop of monkeys crashing through the trees with a baby in tow was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro and Katia were excellent and attentive guides. Both are keen birdwatchers with a keen eye and encyclopedic knowledge. Pedro often organized an extra early-morning stroll to maximize our bird-spotting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate how draining the humidity and heat can be. A couple of the walks are on open rolling hills and the duration meant we were out at midday so take heaps of water. A camel pack is easer than water bottles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This really was an excellent trip and the accommodation far surpassed my expectations.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Mary Mckean

    Costa Rica Coast to Coast

    A fantastic experience with a great group of people. Loved most activities , especially seeing all the wild life while kayaking in Tortuguero Natioal Park. Climbing Cerro Chato was a challenge due to humidity, but very self - satisfying to have reached the summit. As a break from the hiking, getting a chance to do canopying and horseback riding, for me, was a must - do activity while in Costa Rica.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kayaking in Tortuguero, watching beautiful birds flitting from branch to branch, seeing three species of monkeys clinging from branches (some moms with babies on their back), being woken by the howl of the howler monkeys, climbing a volcano, walking in the rain and cloud forests to waterfalls and turquoise ponds, admiring the beautiful fauna, relaxing at beautiful lodges. I could go on and on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro was fantastic- very knowledgeable about all flora and fauna and passionate about his country. Great personality.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of sunscreen, a water bottle, a hat, insect repellant and expect to be challenged.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Costa Rica is a beautiful country with amazing wildlife. A must see!S
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Cheryl Mulholland

    Costa Rica Coast to Coast

    If you are from the northern hemisphere this is a trip that verify the wonderful pictures one sees of the tropics.. Also, it will introduce you to the unknown -- for me -- a cashew tree or a pineapple plant growing. All very exciting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Early Morning (6-8AM) boat tour at Tortuguera. We saw so much wild life & vegetation. What a wonderful start to our tour. Also at Tortuguera being educated about the green turtles was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, helpful, engaging, knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Big hats or umbrellas -- breathable clothing -- good sunscreen. If you do not regularly walk hills -- train before you do this tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try to get early start to your activities to avoid the mid day heat (as much as possible).
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Philip Arthur

    Costa Rica Coast to Coast

    A brilliant 12 days, with a feast of wildlife, walking, and relaxing in the company of our very convivial group of 7 plus excellent guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The start of the trip in Tortuguero..including the river journey to get there. The place is a real feast of new and exotic birds and animals; it set the bar really high for the rest of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro..he was really excellent. He had an encyclopaedic knowledge of all the plants, birds and animals, not to mention his country and it's history and geography. He also had a terrific sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take plenty of water on walks. Very hot and humid.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do go! An unmissable feast of wildlife.
Call us on +356 21423994