Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Geoff Holmes

    Great first trip with Exodus ( level 4 )

    A great introduction to rural Spain . We had hot sunny weather every day which made the walking days very enjoyable. The Accomodation was excellent too , with all the staff being friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the " Caminito Del Rey " made the trip for Me. The added bonus that we got to walk it with almost no one else in sight ( We were warned that it could be very busy ) was the icing on the cake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was a great group leader , very knowledgeable on the local area , wildlife and plants. He could not have been more helpful and answered all questions put to Him , or offered to find out the info if He didn't know it. His cheerful disposition really helped the group gel together from day one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    insect repellant required if eating outside in the evenings.......
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mark Weary

    Very peaceful

    This was a very peaceful vacation. Mike, our guide, was great. We had a great week. The hotel had a great food and a great view. The staff was very accommodating and a pleasure to talk with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The group we had was great. After a full day of hiking, it was great to hang out with them for an after hike drink and then again at the hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike was great. He was knowledgeable and very sociable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a very relaxing location and vacation. If you are looking for a town to explore and go out in the evenings, this is not it. If you want a place to relax and enjoy the week, this is definitely it.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Christine & Brian Manning

    Sunny Days

    A fantastic time walking in the area around the Cortijo Rosario & beyond. Each walk introduced a different vista into the experience & we saw lots of birds of prey which the leader Michael easily identified. All walks ended with a cooling beer or two which was well received. The accommodation was very good & the meals exceptional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was different & we enjoyed it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Michael Newcomb was very knowledgeable about the local area with respect to flora, fauna & history & shared this information in an easy manner. He was well organised & catered for all abilities within the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax & enjoy your time in Andalucia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The owners & staff at the cortijo were all very helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. Roger was an exceptional chef & his shellfish dishes were delicious. He also was very good at catering for all dietary requirements.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sharon Nicholls

    Walking in Andalusia

    Well organised. Lovely location. Excellent guide. Great value

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito Del Ray

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Went the extra 10 miles!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely use Exodus again!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Gail Madeley

    Walking in sunshine with great views, great hospitality and great food

    A week of blistering heat (even hotter than in England) in superb landscapes with great hospitality from the management team who had only taken over Cortijo Rosario towards the end of last year. Varied itinerary with different walks on each day. Food prepared by Roger was delicious and the vegetarian options were envied by the rest of the meat-eating group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing really stands out specifically as all days were great and varied so it would be unfair to choose anything in particular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was great - his enthusiasm and knowledge was excellent and even if Belgium beat England in the group stage of the World Cup this was taken in the spirit of the occasion as the owners of the cortijo were from Belgium, as was the chef who lived up to his promise of sangria if we ate dinner 30 minutes earlier so that the kick off was not missed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would personally like to thank Joke for meeting us at the airport when our flight from Birmingham was delayed and we knew we had missed the group pick up and to Alice at Exodus who kept us updated at all times - luckily I had turned my phone on when we landed and she managed to telephone us while we were waiting for our luggage to let us know that there was someone waiting for us.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Susan Leaford

    Everything that it should have been.

    A week walking in beautiful Andalusia, with a day in Seville as a change. Centre-based, so no packing and unpacking. Springtime, and the flowers were stunning. Walks varied, which was good. And with a likely bunch of fellow travellers, as ever with Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ohhh - Sorry --- I know that the walking was excellent, the flowers stunning, the drives terrific, and the food just marvellous, and Seville's the City of the Season, but for me - even with all of that - the highlight was probably pushing back the bolts on the kitchen door in the morning, and taking my tea out onto the terrace to watch the sun rise, listen to the birds, watch the mists evaporate, and just generally take my peace before the day. And yes, I can feel my cheeks smiling as I type this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Personable, informative, well organised, and good team skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only that there's not vast amounts of down time, so don't bother taking too much in the way of extra books etc.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Brian Muir

    Walking in Andalucia

    A fantastic holiday superbly guided by Michael . Loved every minute from start to finish at the Cortijo Rosario. The staff and Roger the chef looked after us superbly. The accomodation is idyllic with fabulous views over the olive groves to the mountain of El Penon . Although the walks were relatively easy they were interesting and scenic and the walk in the Caminito Del Reay was breathtaking. The group of 10 were a great bunch ,got on with each other very well and were a pleasure to be with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Caminito Del Reay. Exhilarating .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Hanscomb was excellent in every way. He was informative and passionate about the local area and led the group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Cortijo Rosario is a wonderful place run by lovely people and is a great place to relax before and after walking. Roger the chef cooked some fabulous food and kept us going with his tasty packed lunches on the walkes
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Helen Belcher

    Amazing trip

    This was an amazing trip .The guide, Alejandro ,was excellent and took us on some fantastic walks through carpets of wild flowers .The accommodation was comfortable and although it wasn’t luxurious it met my needs .The food was abundant and tasty .The people in the group were great fun .Thoroughly recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    TheCaminito del Rey walk and the walk through the national park on the final day .The sunshine and the flowers .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alejandro was excellent .He explained the routes of the walks carefully and was attentive to every walker. It was great that he socialised with us in the evening .What a nice guy !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try and book a direct flight .We didn’t enjoy changing planes in Madrid...very stressful when we nearly missed the connection.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best Exodus trips that I have been on .
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Linda Bradshaw

    Wonderful full of surprises

    This was my first time travelling solo I was so lucky to meet a group of 8 who were great company & good fun. Alex, our guide, gave us a warm welcome & we soon felt like old friends. The Cortijo was a perfect place to stay with views over the village in a peaceful location. The walks were spectacular, fantastic scenery & with help from Alex we identified many wild flowers it was like a nature trail. An ideal time to visit & I will certainly return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise over the hills with the cuckoo calling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was the perfect group leader. He was charming considerate, very informative & shared his love of nature with us. We were a happy group had lots of fun & laughed a lot. Thanks to Alex for making it so special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be pleasantly surprised when visiting this quiet corner of Spain. It has so much to explore & enjoy. A real delight for nature lovers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When can I return?
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Marilyn Spencer

    Flower filled meadows

    An excellent, varied itinerary encompassing the different aspects of the area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camenito del Rey. The flowers, possibly at their best due to the past few weeks of cooler and unseasonably wetter weather giving flash floods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a very experienced guide which showed in his daily manner and dealings with the characters and fitness levels of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make a firm request for bed type selection. I asked for a twin room. My husband and I had to share a very small double bed which affected our sleep quality. The owners of the property were not helpful although there was the possibility of replacing a double bed with 2 singles from the store. In my opinion single beds pushed close together are a better option when running group holidays therefore giving the option for singles or couples to share a room comfortably. There was no hand soap. Take your own. Don't expect the bathroom to be cleaned in the week although the towels were changed mid week. Drainage problems in the showers in rooms 1,2,3.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Chef produced excellent food in great quantity. Nothing too much trouble. Loved the continually available fruit, biscuits, tea, coffee and all important water to refill water bottles. Honesty bar - great. Faith in humanity. Good library for onsite reading....... if you find time. Buy your pre booked tickets online for the palace and cathedral visits in Seville. Huge queues.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Marilyn for her feedback. We were pleased to read that she found the itinerary to be excellent and varied, but we are very sorry to learn of her disappointment with the size of the double bed in her room and that she experienced issues with the bathroom. We are of the understanding that the hotel’s owners tried to find an alternative room with a more suitable bedding situation, but we remain sorry if Marilyn felt that more could have been done to assist. We have been advised by the hotel’s owners that the bathrooms are cleaned every other day, but we regret that Marilyn found this to not be the case. The hotel’s owners have also informed us that the drainage issues in the bathrooms have been looked into and fixed, which we trust will improve the experience of future clients. Monica Princic – Product Manager for Spain

Call us on +356 21423994