Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sue Kos

    Amazing

    My husband and I did this tour for our anniversary and it was better than expected. We experienced local markets, local food and adorable little towns each day. Each hike had very difference scenery too. It’s was surprising. Our guide Isabelle was amazing as well. We called her Mary Poppins because every day she pulled something new out of her nap sac for us to try and it was always local. It was wonderful. She even baked us a cake for our anniversary. The hikes themselves were rated well. There were some inclines that put you slightly out of breath and declines on rocks so you just have to be careful and take your time. But I wouldn’t call this strenuous. We loved it and can’t wait for our next one!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When Isabelle pulled a home baked cake from her nap sac for our anniversary

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isabelle was outstanding. She was very kind and patient and knowledgable about the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Follow the trip notes and bring everything it recommends. Don’t leave anything out. They are all listed for a reason and we needed it all
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Tim and Therese Passlow

    Walking in Provence...Amazing!

    This was our first Exodus experience and it exceeded our expectations. The accommodation in Greoux les Bains was very comfortable, staff friendly, breakfast great. Great dining experiences there and other restaurants within close proximity. The walks were all unique and different and not too challenging. The scenery was unbelievable and our guide Isabelle was first class. She was super knowledgeable, passionate, friendly with a great sense of humour. She was also very patient and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our picnics under her guidance were always a highlight. To our delight, we had a lovely bunch of like-minded hikers on our tour. We would have no hesitation recommending this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the all the walks, but our favourites were the Verdon Gorges and the hike from the village of Moustiers Ste Marie. Scenery was breathtaking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As alluded to above, our guide Isabelle was first class. She was super knowledgeable, passionate about the local culture and the environment, friendly with a great sense of humour. She was also very patient and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our picnics under her guidance were always a highlight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are considering doing this trip make sure you pack your bathers as the swim in the pool each afternoon was a great way to finish the day, before dinner.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea SULLIVAN

    Wonderful trip of discovery and friendship.

    My first trip to France and walking tour with Exodus the trip exceeded my expectations having the most amazing time ! We were a small group of 5 and lead by our lovely guide Isabelle tracked through such beautiful countryside , up and down hillsides to reach our destination of which was always a breath taking view! It did rain , and I'm glad it did because our alternative excursion ( Botanical museum with medieval gardens & Abbey) was just perfect ! Beautiful villages, great Autumn colors, wonderful food, great company, laugher, picnics and more ! Now to decide which tour to do next .......

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many !! the day trip to the Verdon Gorges will certainly remain as a highlight ! Picnic at the chapel of Sainte Maxine de Callian high on the mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot say just how lucky ( Exodus too) to have Isabelle as our guide. Friendly, considerate of everyone's needs and her lively stories gave us a wonderful insight into the history of France and her people. Her passion and love of Provence was infectious!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I thouroghly recommend adding plenty of steps into your daily routine before the tour, of course good walking shoes well worn in ! Take a travel journal and maybe pencils or painting kit ( small travel watercolor) to record your memories!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Grant Howell

    Great Time in Provence

    A wonderful week hiking in Provence, headquartered in the lovely village of Greoux-les-bains, with a great guide taking us to various interesting and walkable places.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most inspirational to me was our day in Moustier- Ste.- Marie, where we hiked into the edge of the Alpes and had lunch behind the mountain in a lovely meadow. We then descended down an old Roman road to the town.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Isabelle was not a very good leader.........she was terrific! A lovely person, thoughtful, kind, joyful, very competent and a great story teller with lots of topical stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat. We took a spray bottle of water to mist ourselves and cool things down in 30+ degree hiking weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our second Exodus tour and we're 2 for 2! Two great hikes with great leaders.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Patricia Alton

    TEA180915

    I enjoyed the week in Provence.It was my second trip with exodus and I found the hiking challenging especially Thursdays hike it was exhausting in the heat.I loved visiting and hiking through Forcalquier and the village of Moustiers Ste Marie and our guide Isabelle made the holiday as she is so knowledgeable about the plants and trees and looked after all of us so well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved hiking around the Verdon Gorge and visiting Forcalguier and Moustiers Ste Marie.I enjoyed eating out at different restaurants but with a large group trying to get separate bills was always a problem.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isabelle is an excellent group leader.she gave each of us a detailed and photographic account of what was in store for us for the week.All the walks and terrain the surrounding areas etc.she had put in booklet form in a folder for us.She had a box of dried fruit and nuts and seemed to know when to distribute them when are blood sugar was low due to the hiking in the heat.She is kind and had other treats for us native to the area.I personally think Isabelle makes this trip by her knowledge of the trees and plants her enthusiasm and knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would tell potential travellers that the hikes are challenging especially when it’s 30degrees and above.Thursdays hike the steepest is a real killer not for the faint hearted.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is one thing that spoilt my trip and it’s when someone who was willing to share and no one wants to share with him and he ends up with his own room and didn’t pay the single supplement.This guy has done other trips with exodus and knows the score a total chancer he was grinning ear to ear.The single supplement for France was 350pounds which I found hard to raise so feel this is very unfair and has put me off doing more trips with exodus.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Susan Sargeant

    Highlights of Provence

    A beautiful part of France, and varied walks taking in local village life, markets, river walks and gorges plus some very steep hillsides over difficult terrain

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Quinson and the Verdon lower gorges

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isabelle was delightful, friendly, knowledgeable and looked after us so well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some very steep ascents and descents over very rough terrain

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lovely and comfortable hotel in a delightful, castle topped small hillside town with a choice of good local restaurants. Restaurants were not cheap, but excellent food. The swimming pool was such a treat on hot days
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Carol E

    Walking in Provence

    Had a wonderful walking trip with local guide Isabelle, who enthusiastically shared her vast local knowledge of the area, villages, and way of life in Provence. Hiking enjoyable ( rated 2, poles not essential, not exhausting or steep), excellent breakfast at hotel, various group dinners suggested that were delicious, wonderful day off with bus ride to Aux-en-Provence followed by thermal bath spa visit.... I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Of course the beauty of the area, the variety of hikes, and delicious meals were well appreciated, but the most “ inspiring “ was the generosity of our guide Isabelle, who made the trip so special with her humor, stories, extra local treats during hikes, and genuine concern for the group participants.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Like I said, Isabelle was a gem!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are a REGULAR walker/ hiker, this trip will be enjoyable, easy paced, not very physically challenging. The walks are paced for enjoyment, stopping to “ smell the lavender “, take in the views.... Good hiking shoes advised. Poles were helpful at some brief downhills, but not essential ( like they were for Corsica rated 3 hike!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this trip. Went in September, weather great, but lavender fields already harvested.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Anne-Marie Bennett

    The highlight was Provence

    Excellent hikes in beautiful countryside and scenic villages, lovely food, and a great group of like-minded and good humoured travellers made this trip special. But it was our joyful and good humoured guide Isabelle who ensured our journey flowed everyday, offering generous food and restaurant tips, extensive knowledge of each village, combined with a generosity of spirit which enabled us to immerse ourselves in the gems around every corner that Provence has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking up above the village of Moustiers Sainte Marie and looking back towards the village.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Isabelle was great. She ensured our journey flowed everyday, offered generous food and restaurant tips, extensive knowledge of each village, combined with a generosity of spirit which enabled us to immerse ourselves in the gems around every corner that Provence has to offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great and diverse trip for people who like to have a base and do day trips. The diversity of the area really lends itself to centre based trips.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Cheryl Friscia

    A magical experience

    This was my first time traveling alone to France and I couldn't have had a more wonderful experience. From the moment I met the group at the airport to my return to the U.S. The hike each day was more beautiful than the last. Our tour guide Isabelle was fantastic. She was from the region and shared all kinds of tips and history. She interacted with the whole group and made the experience special for everyone. As a woman traveling alone, I felt safe and made so,e wonderful friends alongside the way. I highly recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking up some of the most beautiful mountains and seeing the surrounding areas from the top. Walking down the mountain on the road that the Romans built. I was awestruck. There were so many moments during the trip that I just couldn't believe I was hiking in such a beautiful country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isabelle was absolutely incredible. She made the entire trip. She was friendly, personable and told such wonderful stories about the region. I loved that she joined us for dinner a few of the nights and was always pulling goodies and bits of information out of her bag. She made sure that everyone was taken care of and did research for us on transportation, sites, etc in the evening after she went home.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are making your own travel arrangements be sure to coordinate them with the group that is coming from the U.K. Otherwise you will have to take a cab, which is very expensive at about $150 euros or take a bus which can be a little confusing and inconvenient if you don't know the area. People in the local villages may speak a little French but not as much as if you were in Paris or another tourist area. As a single woman traveling alone, I felt very safe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for such a memorable experience.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Becky M

    Awesome Adventure!

    This was a great holiday! I've been on 5 other Exodus holidays and this trip ranks at the top. I had so much fun! Great hikes, great food and great fellow hikers made this trip unforgettable!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do to the hot weather, Yves decided that we would like the planned day 7 hike on day 1. Oh boy....it was the day of lavender. Beautiful! It took my breath away with how gorgeous the fields were. I felt on top of the world as I have always wanted to be in this beautiful scenery!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yves was awesome! He took care of us. He gave us great tips for hiking, encouraged hydration, and he is very knowledgeable on the region. He gave us a great packet on our first day with wonderful information such as maps, an itinerary and information on restaurants in Greoux Le Bains (our home base). He also graciously booked restaurants for us for our dinner meals. All the restaurants were delicious! Remember that dinner is not included on this trip, but also you are not required to eat at the restaurants as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great holiday! You should go! You will love the villages Folcalquier, Moustier and of course Greoux Le Bains. They are gorgeous! But of course you will love the Verdon Gorges as well! The hikes are very nice! I enjoyed all of them. For me, the hikes were not too difficult, but there are a few scrambling bits. Yves will help you! The distance hiked is pretty accurate on the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am very glad I booked this trip. I had a lot of fun. My group was spectacular. I am honored to have met every person that was on this hike with me. : )
Call us on +356 21423994