Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Geoff Culver

    A weeks walking in Corsica

    A pleasant weeks walking on a mixture of forest and more open trails. Hotel is pleasant. The evening meals were better than the very bread heavy breakfasts and pack lunches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk up to the Bocca Palmente coll and the Anglais Falls on day 6.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knows his stuff. Set the right balance between knowing were everyone was and letting people go at their own pace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hotel does not have any air conditioning or insect screens, so bring a plug-in mosquito coil. Be prepared for some fairly steep and loose rocky trails on some days as per the trip notes. I was very glad I had my walking poles with me for the descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been nice to spend more time above the tree line, but that would have significantly increased the amount of ascent and thus the trip grading.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    peter winter

    A great weeks walking

    The guide , the party and the walking was excellent. Very well pitched as a level 3. The hotel structure was fine but the food was the low point of the holiday. There was not even a bar in the hotel. Breakfast for all 7 days was a hard boiled egg, a slice of formed ham, a croissant and a decent supply of baguette...every day

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the higher walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jan Emms

    Great walking in spectacular Corsica

    Corsica was beautiful in the late summer sunshine. The hiking was as described in the trip notes and I felt appropriately prepared for the level of walking. Good central base and excellent use of the trains to allow a varied set of walks. The last two walks were outstanding, though there wasn’t a day I didn’t enjoy. Hotel was basic but adequate with welcoming hosts. I would definitely do a similar trip again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the views were remarkable and cooling down in the mountain streams.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sebastian was outstanding. Obviously enjoyed and took great pride in sharing his love and knowledge of Corsica. Went beyond his responsibilities and was a real asset to the trip- Exodus you should use him again!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you carry enough water and if you do need extra supplies bring them with you- no shop in village. The level descriptions are accurate- so do some training to get to the suggested levels. ENJOY!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Graham Bell

    Corsica is the perfect hiking and holiday destination

    Corsica is an absolute gem. The trip was exactly as described, and it just makes me want to go back!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having been to Corsica before, I chose the trip as a way of introducing my son to hiking holidays and as a way of sharing one of my very favourite places. He loved it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martin is great. Relaxed and somewhat understated. Just right.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes! The notes for this trip are really very good. When it says you should have a reasonable level of fitness and that the paths can be steep and rocky, it means exactly that. It is at the challenging-end of a “moderate” trip.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mark Simmons

    Invigorating walks in unspoilt hills & mountains of the beautiful island of Corsica

    Everything came together for this trip - Martin, our excellent leader, a group which gelled, wonderful scenery & walks that were just a bit of a challenge for someone used to walking in the Pennines! If the weather was hot, there was the option of a cooling dip in a mountain stream at the end of most walks. The free day allowed everyone to choose either to visit Ajaccio by train or just have a relaxing day in Bocognano. The hotel Beausejour was basic but provided everything needed after a day of trekking in the hills! Recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say as there were so many highlights. A sense of achievement after climbing the higher trails, being rewarded with outstanding panoramic views. Loved swimming in the mountain streams at the end to cool off!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martin was an experienced leader with detailed knowledge of the trip & the terrain through which we walked & he was calm & patient with everyone, with lots of ideas for those taking a day off fdrom walking or heading off on a trip on the free day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles really do help as some ascents & descents are steep. Large water bottles needed & swimming gear is a must if you want to go for a cooling dip after a long day of hiking!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy Corsica - it's beautiful!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Dale O'Dwyer

    Corsica hiking

    My wife and I had an outstanding time on our hiking trip in Corsica. it was great fun getting on the train in the mornings and off to hike a different area of the island. Our guide Sabastian did an outstanding job of taking care of us and guiding us through his part of France. He took great pride in showing us the countryside and informing us of the local history. We also were impressed with his knowledge of the birds and vegetation of the area. The kikes were challenging and provided a great perspective of the terrain of the island.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to see the vast terrain of the island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I was extremely impressed with Sebastian, his knowledge of the area was impressive. Having a local guide really added to our experience. His ability to meet the needs of a wide group of folks surpassed my expectations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Com prepared for some great hikes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation was adequate and the meals were great, it would be nice if there was a little more variety for the lunches.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Barb O'Dwyer

    Terrific Hiking Trip

    Our guide Sebastian was outstanding. He was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of Corsica as well as the history of the island. He has a great sense of humor which makes any trip more fun. The train is super convenient for the trip. Easy walk from the hotel and usually a short train trip to another village and then a hike. Excellent variety of terrain and views. Usually around 5 hours on the trail each day. Good hiking boots and poles were much appreciated. The accommodations and food are adequate and serve the purpose well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hike on the last day is a very challenging climb where you are rewarded with stunning views at every turn.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't let the moderate accommodations steer you away from choosing the trip. The entire trip is brilliant from start to finish.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    SUSAN WILLIAMS

    beautiful scenery and varied walks

    First time in Corsica and was surprised by its beauty and the variety of walks along wooded valleys and mountain climbs in starker scenery above the tree line - not just the GR20. Enjoyed travelling on the scenic railway and we had a great group and guide. Modest accommodation more than made up for by the views from the hotel, friendly owner and the hearty food. Would recommend going in June when its still very green and lots of wild flowers on display.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing the final walk which had some wonderful views at the summit, for the heavens to open 20 minutes from the hotel with our first rain all week and a dramatic thunder storm to completely soak us and turn the roads to rivers and remind us how quickly things can change in the mountains and the power of nature

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was his first trip as lone guide for Exodus and he proved to be responsive to the group offering different alternatives, great company and very adaptable. Also brought his extensive medical knowledge, which always helps!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Apart from the rest day you are very much away from towns and shops so make sure you have Euros in cash, bring any medication, toiletries etc... you think you will need and if you like to have cereal for breakfast bring your own! (I preferred the wonderful croissants!)
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Alan Palmer

    Corsica Hiking

    Well balanced group and trip in good location for trains to hiking trails. The first days route was poor especially in comparison to the rest of the days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I do a lot of hiking in different countries so it is difficult to say there was an inspirational moment. However, this was my first group hiking trip with a leader and I would do it again.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, Tom was more like a group member. He was in control in a relaxed way, explained the route and we were able to walk alone or with other group members.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Judith Argent

    Wonderful walks from the railway

    A varied set of walks in a beautiful green island. Woods, rivers, waterfalls among the mountains. The walks weren't crowded and we were mostly the only walkers on the trail.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the mountain rivers to cool down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tom was a first time guide and he led us in a relaxed, friendly manner. He was always keen to hear our opinions about the routes we took.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a travel kettle to make tea and coffee. The lunch baguette is enormous and full of as many fillings as you could want. You can also take 2 pieces of fruit. Dinner was always plentiful and tasty. Try to speak a bit of French - it is always appreciated.
Call us on +356 21423994