Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Joan Murphy

    First Exodus Adventure

    Highlights of the Dolomites was a week long tracking holiday with one rest day, mid way through. the walks were varied in length, ascent and intensity. Each day was a different walk within the valley where we were based. We used the ski lifts to take us up the higher areas from where we started our walks and we usually walked down to the valley at the end where we would find a hostelry to quench thirsts and to discuss the days' highs and lows! We used public transport when required as well as ski lifts; the purchase of a pass for each form of transport certainly kept us moving smoothly , with no queuing" Our hotel was excellent with a wide variety of breakfasts and dinners. Food was in abundance! No one went hungry, unless by choice. The staff were friendly and always eager to assist when required.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day brought its own "moment" where you felt you had done or seen something special. Whether it was reaching the top of the mountain and looking out on the Dolomites or further afield to The Alps, walking through meadows carpeted with spring flowers, sliding down a snow filled gully on one's behind, jumping into mountains lakes, cruising down on a fly wire in silence, scrambling on steep paths, using a precariously situated toilet at 3000metres ...............

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert, our guide, was very knowledgeable and the group felt safe in his care. He let people go at their own speed, encouraging those who needed it and recognising those who wanted to stretch themselves and go faster. Albert knew the history of the area, could name the flora and the fauna. He had a great sense of humour and was a font of knowledge about all things local from best bakery to best hostelries on our bus routes!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Potential travellers should make sure they have decent gear, particularly socks and boots. Poles were also very useful, especially for hanging onto when you had run out of breath!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first organised walking holiday and was anxious on how I would manage on the walks and which level I should choose. However, as there were two levels (3&5), we were able to move between them if we wished, depending on the walk which was detailed the night before.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Debbie Tasker

    Memorable week in the Dolomites

    This was my second Exodus walking holiday and I had a wonderful trip in the Dolomites. The week was well organised with great leaders and a lovely group of fellow travellers. Having the choice of two walking grades is a great idea so you can see how you’re feeling each day and then decide which group to join. Each walk offered something new and the mountains are truly spectacular with amazing views. We were well looked after by the friendly staff at Hotel Enrosadira. If you enjoy the outdoors and fancy some mountain walking, I’d recommend this trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to pick out a single moment as I enjoyed every day (with the level 3 group), but a particular highlight was the morning walk down to Lago di Fedaia. We had a slightly earlier start that day but it was well worth it as it was so peaceful and tranquil that it felt like we had the mountains to ourselves. The longer walk on Thursday from Pozza to Penia was also special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were well looked after by both Albert and Martin throughout the trip. They are friendly, helpful, professional yet relaxed with excellent knowledge of the area. Albert led the level 3 group and he was attentive to the group’s needs and ensured everyone had a good time. I really appreciated his support in guiding me down the descents when my knee was playing up. Thank you both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take all-weather clothes as the weather can change in the mountains, along with sturdy walking boots and walking poles. Once there – enjoy every moment and soak it all up!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was good to be based in Campitello at Hotel Enrosadira. Stefano and the team were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and I appreciated the loan of the ice pack for my swollen knee. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food was great all week. It was a fantastic holiday – thank you!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jane Willock

    Fabulous holiday

    The holiday was very well organised. At the beginning we were met by one of the leaders at Venice airport, who accompanied us on the coach to the hotel. The hotel was comfortable, excellent food, and friendly staff. It was really good to have two grades of walks to choose from. Both had a good variety of fabulous scenery scenery and mountain experiences. The two leaders were very helpful, accommodating, competent and knowledgeable, and worked hard to make our holiday so wonderful. I would recommend this to anyone who loves mountain adventures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the amazing scenery, and the camaraderie of the group and leaders.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly and approachable. Knowledgeable about flora, fauna, geology, landscape and local communities. Very competent, skilled leader who worked hard to ensure that everyone was safe and enjoyed themselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fabulous holiday in stunning scenery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant. Thanks for a great time
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Michelle Burton

    Fantastic 1st trip with Exodus

    This was our first trip with Exodus, and first group-led holiday and we thoroughally enjoyed every minute. We had an amazing time, made some great friends and are already planning another Exodus trip next year. Every walk was amazing and each had its own unique points. A lot of us commented that we would not have attempted the walks on our own, but going with an organised group made everything simple, easy and enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were just incredible, photos do not do the mountains justice. I could have happily stayed on another week to continue doing more amazing walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our two group leaders - Martin and Albert were both superb. They were both excellent guides, very friendly, helpful, informative and good sense of humour. On the week we did, Martin led the Level 3 walks, and Albert did Level 5. Both were excellent leaders - giving enough attention to everyone in the group, and helping those who may have been struggling. We had a good briefing every evening after dinner for the following days plans which gave plenty of information for both levels. Neither let the weather dampen their spirits and were happy to continue regardless, which we all appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a fantastic trip, very well run, and both level 3 and 5 are great walks. Even in August, make sure you take all-weather clothes as during the 6 days we were there, we had 25C sunny days, as well as rain, and even snow with -7c wind chill !! But you will always wear walking boots as you'll need good solid support. Almost everyone on the trip had one or two walking poles each and they are really useful for both up and down hills. It is worth bringing waterproofs, warm layers, warm hat and gloves just in case ! There is normally a stop or two each day to buy food/drink when needed, but worth taking at least 1.5ltr of water and some snacks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was just right for our needs - great location for town and bus stops. Plenty of food at breakfast and dinner, and lovely biscuits provided when we returned back from our walks. Very helpful staff, and rooms were always cleaned well. The only downside was the rush when breakfast and dinner first open at 7:15am and 7:30pm. The hotel was full with our group of 20, plus a very large group of Spanish. Therefore there was always a queue for the restaurant to open, always a rush to grab all the food, and it made it feel unnecessarily rushed and uncomfortable. On the days we were catching the 8:14 bus, it felt very rushed to join the queue for breakfast at 7:15, so it would have been better if it could have opened at 7am. Likewise, it might have been better to stagger the dinner times for different groups as it was so rushed to get in at 7:30 for the salad bar. As all the mains came with veg served on a large tray by the waiters, it usually meant we got very little veg - usually 3-4 pieces which did not feel enough. A few people commented that the twin rooms were 2 separate mattresses, but joined together on a wooden base and could not be separated. Not ideal for 2 friends, or even 2 strangers sharing a room. These were just very minor points for some feedback, but it would not stop us recommending the hotel, the trip, or Exodus.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    James Baxter

    Great hikes in a beautiful part of the world

    A very enjoyable week's hiking in a truly spectacular part of the world. We had wanted to visit the Dolomites for some time and the Val di Fassa did not disappoint. The pretty towns and villages sitting in the valleys are surrounded by majestic mountains, not least the imposing Marmolada, and the backdrop is really is awe inspiring. The great advantage of this trip for us was the dual grades, enabling you to pick and choose a level 3 or level 5 walk. We chose level 3 on all but one of the days, and unlike level 3 walks we had been on in the past, they provided fantastic views of the surrounding area and a good amount of ascent to get the blood pumping. The level 5 walks tended to involve more ascent and fewer refreshment breaks, and also negotiated trickier ridges and ledges. All the walks made use of the excellent cable cars, chairlifts and gondolas throughout the valley to gain height as well the local buses. These got pretty busy since it was peak holiday season, so on a couple of occasions we made early starts to beat the crowds. Although breakfast was a rush, it was well worth it. The Hotel Enrosadira was clean and comfortable, although the rooms were quite small. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff made up for this, and the buffet breakfast and evening meals were very good indeed. The hotel was a few minutes walk to the centre of Campitello were you can find a supermarket, bars, bakeries etc. A special mention must be made for the mountain refuges, or huts. These are dotted about the mountains and both level 3 and 5 walks frequented these for refreshment and lunch stops. I was surprised at the standard of the food and facilities of these considering their remote nature. I recommend taking along some extra cash and trying out some of the local dishes, particularly the Kaiserschmarrn!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably standing at the top of the gondola from Canazei and seeing the Passo Pordoi to one side and the Marmolada and it's glacier to the other side, and all around the peaks of mountains stretching off into the distance.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders, Albert and Martin, were friendly, well organised and good company. They both had a very good knowledge of the area, and ensured that everyone was going at a pace they were happy at and everyone was accounted for. I think it is easy to underestimate the responsibility group leaders have, and both leaders were professional but were laid back and ensured we all had a good time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As with any trip involving rocky terrain, a good pair of stout walking boots and walking poles are essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The pizzeria we stopped at for lunch by Lago di Fedaia on one of the level 3 walks, probably the best pizza I've ever had!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Robin Pitcher

    Excellent Trip!

    One of the best trekking holidays with Exodus since I did the Haute Route 18 years ago. A good variety of hiking in amazing scenery including getting into some remote and barren areas. And led by two great leaders, Albert and Martin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Gary Roe

    A Great Experience in a Wonderful Part of the World

    This is a fantastic part of the world whose beauty was unlocked for us by this trip. The towns are picture-postcard and the mountains are unique and breathtaking. The hotel was good, clean and comfortable, if not quite spectacular. The food was excellent and the staff were really welcoming and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along a narrow ridge with steep drops of hundreds of feet on both sides. It felt both risky and exhilarating at the same time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both of the group leaders - Albert and Martin - were superb. They had a first class knowledge of the routes, the terrain, the region and its culture. They were always on hand to give us help and guidance on a wide variety of matters - those related to the walks and extra-curricular activities too. They had high energy levels and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were the main reason the trip was so enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for any kind of weather! We went in late August and the first two days we had unseasonal snowfall which created a good covering, including some pretty deep drifts up on the mountains. Plenty of layers, gloves and hats were all necessary. The next two days it was 25 degrees, so sun cream was essential. The next two, it rained pretty heavily at times so waterproofs were the order of the day. Be prepared for anything and take what you can reasonably carry. It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it - especially when you're 3000 metres up!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this holiday for anyone who wants to experience day-walks from a centre as opposed to point-to-point trekking. The Dolomites are like nothing I've ever seen and you never stop to marvel and the beauty that ambushes you whenever you crest a ridge or walk around a corner. Get stuck in!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ruby Vytelingum

    Dolomites

    Excellent trip in amazing backdrops mixed with some demanding pistes and terrain. Our guide Martin was very engaging, knowledgeable and inspired confidence. He had time for everyone, and modulated the group well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every moment was special, but getting to the top of Piz Boe and climbing Via Ferrata on a medium route (first time rock climbing for me) topped up the list for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martin was cool, very engaging/helpful knowledgeable and inspired confidence. He had time for everyone, and modulated the group really well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking poles even if you're an expert on all terrains. Dolomites is a bucket-list must do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Too much food and wastage at the hotel. I would suggest cut out one of the courses or provide options.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Debbie Henderson

    Fantastic!

    The Dolomites had long been on my list to visit and I was not disappointed! A photo opportunity at every turn. Flights from Gatwick to Venice were at good times. The transfer from Venice to Campitello was nearly 3 hours but with good weather and lovely scenery the time soon went by. The Hotel Enrosadira was comfortable and the food - lots of it- great. Getting around was easy after buying a lift/bus pass (76 euros). Our group got on well and there was always plenty of laughter and stories to tell in the evenings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the spare day I went up to Sas Pordoi...amazing rocky scenery. Just wish I'd taken my boots that day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides Albert and Martin really knew their stuff and made the holiday run very smoothly..great job!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy yourself!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed it all. Must see more of Italy!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Barbara Preneta

    Fantastic trip!

    The area was absolutely gorgeous, with one amazing view after another. We had a wonderful week of walking with a wonderful group of people of varying ages. Having the choice of 2 levels of walks was very helpful. Both 3 and 5 level hikes were plenty challenging enough for my husband and I in our late 60's. Leaders were great and hotel very comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Traveling up by cable car and then climbing further for amazing views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders, one for each level. They switch off for the entire week, rather than day to day as has happened on other trips we have taken. This worked out fine, though I think switching more often would allow both leaders to know all group participants better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring clothing for all kinds of weather! We used raingear, gloves, hats, multiple layers, shorts and short sleeves. Be prepared!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our third trip with Exodus. It was definitely not our last!
Call us on +356 21423994